DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Migita U.S. Patent Application 2011/0058303 (hereinafter “Migita”).
Regarding claim 1, Migita teaches a substrate fixing device (i.e. wafer support member 1)(fig.12)(refer also to electrostatic chuck 200)(figs.15 and 16)(refer also to [0132]) comprising: a base plate (i.e. base 3)(fig.12); an adhesive layer (i.e. first layer 91 and second layer 92)(fig.12) provided on the base plate (implicit)(refer to fig.12); a heat insulating layer (i.e. fourth layer 94)(fig.12) provided on the adhesive layer (implicit)(refer to fig.12); and an electrostatic chuck (i.e. insulating layer 5 and heat equalizer plate 15)(fig.12)(refer also to electrostatic chuck 200)(figs.15 and 16)(refer also to [0132]) provided on the heat insulating layer (implicit)(refer to figs.12, 15, and 16), wherein the electrostatic chuck includes a base (i.e. insulating layer 5)(figs.12, 15, and 16) and an electrostatic electrode provided in the base (i.e. electrode 21)(figs.15 and 16), and wherein the heat insulating layer has a lower thermal conductivity than the base and the adhesive layer (refer to [0064], [0102], [0103], [0106], [0109], [0111], [0128] and [0129]).
Regarding claim 2, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the adhesive layer is equal to or larger than a thickness of the heat insulating layer (refer to [0130]).
Regarding claim 3, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 1, further comprising a heating element (i.e. heating resistor 23)(fig.15) provided in the base (implicit)(refer to fig.15).
Regarding claim 5, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer has a laminated structure in which a second adhesive layer (i.e. second layer 92)(fig.12) is laminated on a first adhesive layer (i.e. first layer 91)(fig.12)(refer also to [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 5, wherein the first adhesive layer is formed of an adhesive having a higher elastic modulus than the second adhesive layer (refer to [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Komatsu et al. U.S. Patent Application 2013/0148253 (hereinafter “Komatsu”).
Regarding claim 4, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 1, further comprising: component layer (i.e. layer 5a)(fig.16) provided between the base (i.e. layer 5b)(fig.16) and the heat insulating layer (refer to bonding layer 90)(fig.16); and a heating element (i.e. heating resistor 23)(fig.16) provided in the component layer (implicit), wherein the heat insulating layer has a lower thermal conductivity than the insulating resin layer (refer to [0064], [0102], [0103], [0106], [0109], [0111], [0128] and [0129]); however, Migita does not teach wherein the component layer is an insulating resin. However, Komatsu teaches wherein the component layer is an insulating resin (refer to heat resisting layer 24)(fig.1)(refer also to [0025]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Migita to include the insulating resin of Komatsu to provide the advantage of using a material capable of withstanding the heat generated by the heating element without damage or excessive expansion.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takemoto et al. U.S. Patent Application 2018/0047604 (hereinafter “Takemoto”).
Regarding claim 7, Migita teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 1; however, Migita does not teach wherein the adhesive layer and the heat insulating layer annularly expose an outer peripheral portion of the base plate, and wherein a sealing material that covers an outer peripheral surface of the adhesive layer and the heat insulating layer is provided on an annularly exposed region of the outer peripheral portion of the base plate. However, Takemoto teaches wherein the adhesive layer and the heat insulating layer annularly expose an outer peripheral portion of the base plate (refer to seal member 50)(fig.7), and wherein a sealing material (i.e. seal member 50)(fig.7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the adhesive layer and the heat insulating layer (implicit) is provided on an annularly exposed region of the outer peripheral portion of the base plate (implicit). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Migita to include the sealing material of Takemoto to provide the advantage of preventing the insulating layers from being subjected to plasma that may lead to erosion (refer to Takemoto [0061]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838