DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (2025/0024291) in view of Edge (2018/0098279) OR Jiang et al (2018/0249283).
Regarding claims 1 and 8. Hwang teaches an apparatus, comprising transceiver (figure 5, 0006, 0014- UE comprising processor, memory and transceiver), and a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a request for location information from a location server, wherein the request comprises a plurality of accuracy criteria and (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS));
determining, by the processor, one or more location estimates, each of which satisfies a (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS start with minimum (e.g., least stringent) to preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS)) and
reporting, by the processor, the one or more location estimates to the location server (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS start with minimum (e.g., least stringent) to preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS)).
Hwang does not teach periodic reporting.
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hwang to include periodic or trigger reporting information in a location request message as taught by Edge OR Jiang thereby providing for more efficient location reporting and saving on UE processing.
Regarding claim 15. Hwang teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a location server, a first request for positioning an apparatus from a location services (LCS) client, wherein the first request comprises a plurality of quality-of-service (QoS) criteria (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – a server (e.g., LMF) receives an LCS service request from a location service client (LCS) client wherein the client provides QoS information and request location information on the indicated QoS level. In this case, parameters transferred from the LCS client to the LMF may include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152 – LMF receives, from an LCS client, an LCS request including a multiple QoS class indicator, and corresponding multiple accuracy and response time information, 0153-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the3referred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part);
transmitting, by the processor, a second request for location information to the apparatus, wherein the second request comprises a plurality of accuracy criteria (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS));
receiving, by the processor, one or more location estimates from the apparatus, wherein each of the one or more location estimates satisfies a (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS)) and
transmitting, by the processor, at least one of the one or more location estimates to the LCS client (0006-0008 – and to transmit, to a LCS client having requested a service for positioning, 0146 – a server (e.g., LMF) receives an LCS service request from a location service client (LCS) client wherein the client provides QoS information and request location information on the indicated QoS level. In this case, parameters transferred from the LCS client to the LMF may include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, 0149 – the LMF may transfer the location estimate that suits the measurement result to the LCS client, figure 8A and 0152 – LMF receives, from an LCS client, an LCS request including a multiple QoS class indicator, and corresponding multiple accuracy and response time information, 0153-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part).
Hwang does not teach the first location estimate is reported in a first report and the second location estimate is reported in a subsequent report (e.g., periodic reporting).
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hwang to include periodic or trigger reporting information in a location request message as taught by Edge OR Jiang thereby providing for more efficient location reporting and saving on UE processing.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 17. Hwang teaches wherein the one or more location estimates comprise one or more first location estimates, each of which does not satisfy a most stringent one of the accuracy criteria (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS)).
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 18. Hwang teaches wherein the one or more location estimates comprise a second location estimate which satisfies the most stringent one of the accuracy criteria (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS)).
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
Regarding claims 5 and 12. Hwang teaches terminating, by the processor, the reporting of the one or more location estimates in an event that a termination condition is met 0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria), 0146 – wherein the plurality of QoS levels include a QoS class, a horizontal accuracy, a vertical accuracy, and a response time, figure 7, 0148 – and if the measurement result satisfies the accuracy value of the QoS, the UE transmits, to the LMF (e.g., server), the corresponding measurement result and/or a location estimate, figure 8A and 0152-0156 – server instructs the UE in multiple QoS level accuracy information and the UE sends the location estimate to the server with an indication of what QoS level measurement is satisfied and in case the measurement does not satisfy the preferred QoS level, the UE determines whether the measurement satisfies the accuracy of the highest level next to the preferred QoS level and if the measurement satisfies the next highest QoS level, the UE includes an indicator for the satisfied QoS level. In case the two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS level may be indicated, and in the case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the intermediate QoS level may be indicated, figure 8B and 0157 – if not satisfied in a state where two QoS levels are pre-instructed, the UE may include, in the LLP ProvideLocationInformation message, an error message/indicator representing the measurement result does not satisfy the all accuracy values given to the common IE part or the method specific part, 0158 – if the minimum QoS level (e.g., least stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the satisfied QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. In case that three QoS levels are pre-instructed, the minimum QoS may be indicated. The Examiner notes that in the case that intermediate QoS level (e.g., intermediate stringent) accuracy is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the intermediate QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result and in the case that the highest QoS level accuracy (e.g,. more stringent) is satisfied, the UE may include an indicator for the highest QoS level together with the measurement result and the location estimate result. 0161 – a new message included in the LPP Provide Location Information message may be an indicator for the satisfied QoS level, and may be a one or two bit indicator. 0166 – in the case the UE receives multiple QoS request from the LMF, the UE may perform the measurement and availability identification process from a low level QoS (e.g, least stringent). The order for the UE to perform the measurement may be minimum (e.g., least stringent) – intermediate (e.g., next stringent) – preferred (e.g., more stringent) OR in the case of two QoS minimum (e.g., least stringent) - preferred (e.g., a more stringent) which reads on multiple location estimates … a first location estimate that satisfies a least stringent (e.g., low QoS) one of the accuracy criteria and a second estimate location estimate that satisfies a more stringent (e.g., intermediate QoS OR high QoS))
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
Regarding claims 6 and 13. Hwang teaches wherein the termination condition comprises at least one of the following: one of the reported one or more location estimates satisfies a most stringent one of the accuracy criteria (see rejection for claims 5 and 12 listed above);
Hwang does not explicitly teach a number of reported location estimates have been reached; a period of time from the reception of the request has elapsed; and a message indicating a termination of the reporting of the one or more location estimates is received from the location server.
Edge teaches periodic and triggered location and for periodic reporting, for example, the LCS service request may further include the time interval between successive location reports, the total number of reports and may include a location Quality of Service (QoS) which may include a required location accuracy (0047) thereby providing for more efficient location reporting (0045-0046).
Edge further teaches the periodic and triggered location request can be terminated by a message from LCS client, cancelled by the UE, or expiration of the allowed duration for reporting (0059) or because only one event report was requested (e.g., a number of reported location estimates have been reached) (0061).
Jiang teaches multiple location estimates which comprise an early-fix (an initial estimate with reasonably good accuracy (least stringent) and a final-fix (a more accurate location (a more stringent) (0022-0023) in conjunction with periodic or triggered reporting (0045) thereby saving UE processing (0061). It can be noted that the techniques herein can be used, not only for emergency calls, but in any LPP signaling flow involving multiple (non-final and final) reporting (e.g., similar to the early fix and final-fix) reporting. For example, in addition to immediate location request (as described above for early-fix and final-fix reporting), LPP also allows an LS to send a periodic or a triggered location request to the UE. The UE is expected to return multiple reports back to the LS at schedule interval or at the occurrence of the defined triggering event, using LPP provide location (0062, 0064). In some embodiments, the request for multiple location reporting can comprise a request for early-fix (e.g., least stringent) followed by a final location fix (e.g,. a more stringent) (0071, 0073, 007).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hwang to include a termination message OR a time interval OR only request one report as taught by Edge or Jiang thereby providing for more efficient location reporting and saves network signaling and UE battery life.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20. Hwang teaches wherein the location server comprises a location management function (LMF) or a secure location platform (SLP) (0006-0008, 0137 – UE receives, from an LMF (e.g., ,server) a request for location information wherein the request includes a plurality of accuracy values corresponding to a plurality of QoS levels (e.g. plurality of accuracy criteria).
Edge teaches SLP (0036, 0039) or LMF (0093-0094, 0108, 0129).
Jiang teaches SLP (0031, 0037) or LMF (0030).
Regarding claim 16. Hwang teaches wherein the accuracy criteria are derived from the QoS criteria (0006-0008, 0137, 0146, 0148-0153 – multiple QoS class indicator and corresponding multiple accuracy, 0161-0164, 0167-0170 – accuracy value of the given QoS, 0173 – preferred QoS level: Horizontal accuracy 1, vertical accuracy 1, and response time 1, intermediate QoS: horizontal accuracy 2, vertical accuracy 2 and response time 2).
Edge teaches wherein the accuracy criteria are derived from the QoS criteria (0047).
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2026/0190069) LI et al teaches reporting multiple positioning in series and/or parallel wherein multiple positioning procedures enable more then on positioning attempt to be ongoing at the same time (e.g., to obtain a course location with low delay while a more accurate location estimate is being obtained with higher delay) (0051).
---(2021/0410102) Manolakos et al teaches all QoS requirements shall be obtained by the target E to the degree possible but is permitted to return a response that does not fulfill all QoS requirements if some were not attainable (0096).
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646