DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 7, the wording of “wherein the analyte sensor and infusion needle are integrated” should be amended to “wherein the analyte sensor and the infusion needle are integrated” in order to clarify that the wording refers to the infusion needle that was previously introduced.
As to claim 9, “the device including needle for delivering” in line 3 should likely read “the device including a needle for delivering” in order to give proper antecedent basis for the needle.
Claims 10-11 are objected to as they depend from an objected-to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment” in claim 1 and in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the examiner recommends removing the wording of “for delivering the medicament to the user” after the first instance. Certain recitations make it unclear if this is merely referring to the device introduced in line 2, or if it is referring to a new function. For example, “the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament…” makes it sound as if the retracted position is for delivering medicament, which appears to be contrary to how the system works. The examiner notes that multiple dependent claims recite similar wording.
Claim 6 recites “the device for delivering”, which is inconsistent with other claims that recite “the device for delivering medicament” and is therefore unclear (however, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the detachable activation" in the final 2 lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 9, the examiner recommends removing the wording of “for delivering the medicament to the user” after the first instance. Certain recitations make it unclear if this is merely referring to the device introduced in line 2, or if it is referring to a new function. For example, “the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament…” makes it sound as if the retracted position is for delivering medicament, which appears to be contrary to how the system works. The examiner notes that claim 10 recites similar wording.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamen et al. (US 2007/0228071, hereafter “Kamen”).
As to claim 1, Kamen discloses an infusion system (10; see Figs. 63A-64D, 66A-67F, 93A-93C) comprising:
a device (disposable part Y) for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user (para 0226, 0459), the device including an analyte sensor (5023+5025) for measuring an analyte in a user (para [0447]) and/or an infusion needle (cannula 5010) for delivering the medicament to the user (Fig. 86A, para 0447, 0448); and
a detachable activation mechanism (5100) for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle are/is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the analyte sensor and/or the needle are/is in a deployed position inserted into a subcutaneous tissue of the user’s skin (Fig. 89, para [0455], [0448]).
As to claim 2, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 1 further comprising a needle cartridge assembly (5040) for supporting the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle, the needle cartridge assembly configured to move from (1) a telescoping position above a top surface of the device for delivering medicament, wherein the analyte sensor and/or infusion needle are/is in a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament (see inserter 5100 which installs assembly 5040 into base of patch infusion device and into tissue, FIGS. 89, para [0455]: "5040 to an automatic inserter. For example, the releases shown in FIGS. 86A-86B as 5052 may receive pins of an automatic insertion device. Referring to both FIGS. 89A and 89B, a representative embodiment of an automatic inserter 5100 is shown. As shown in the front view of FIG. 89A, the inserter 5100 includes pins 5130 which travel in pin slots 5140 within an inserting cartridge recess 5120. In practice, the infusion and sensor assembly (not shown, shown in FIGS. 86A and 86B as 5040) is pressed into the cartridge recess 5120 ... The inserter 5100 is then either held against the skin or aligned with a cannula housing and sensor housing on a base (not shown) and fired by pressing a trigger 5110. Upon firing, the pins 5130 travel in their slots 5140, thereby forcing the infusion device and sensor (both not shown) into a patient": note during insertion there is a point where the needle is within the base and the remainder of the cartridge is above the base, e.g. FIGS. 93B) to (2) an advanced position within the device, wherein the infusion needle and/or analyte sensor are/is in a deployed position inserted into a subcutaneous tissue of the user’s skin (para [0455]: ''The inserter 5100 is then either held against the skin or aligned with a cannula housing and sensor housing on a base (not shown) and fired by pressing a trigger 5110. Upon firing, the pins 5130 travel in their slots 5140, thereby forcing the infusion device and sensor (both not shown) into a patient"; see FIGS. 93B-93C, para [0459]: "Although FIGS. 93A-93C show a cannula 5010, the infusion and sensor assembly shown in FIG. 86B can be inserted using the locking feature 5210 and method shown and described in FIGS. 93A-93C"; e.g. see FIG. 93C).
As to claim 7, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 1 wherein the analyte sensor and infusion needle are integrated (integrated sensor and needle, Fig. 86A-86B).
As to claim 8, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 1 wherein the analyte sensor is a CGM sensor for measuring glucose level in the user (para [0232], [0237], [0402], [0404], [0447]) and the medicament is insulin (para [0232], [0235], [0237]).
As to claim 9, Kamen discloses an infusion system (10; see Figs. 63A-64D, 66A-67F, 93A-93C) comprising:
a device (disposable part Y) for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user (para 0226, 0459), the device including needle (5010) for delivering the medicament to the user or introducing a catheter for infusing medicament to the user (cannula 5010, FIGS. 86, para[0447]-[0448]: "the infusion device 5010 is a cannula that is introduced into the patient using an introducing needle 5240 ... the introduction needle 5240 is removed and the septum 5060 is sealed to a fluid source, which, in some embodiments of the device described herein, is the fluid line"; see para[0455],[0459]: "the infusion and sensor assembly shown in FIG. 86B can be inserted" describing assembly of FIG. 86 goes into base of FIGS. 93); and
a detachable activation mechanism (5100) for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the needle is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the needle is in a deployed position inserted into a tissue of the user (Fig. 89, para [0455], [0448]).
As to claim 10, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 9 further comprising a needle cartridge assembly (5040) for supporting the needle, the needle cartridge assembly configured to move from (1) a telescoping position above a top surface of the device for delivering medicament, wherein the needle is in a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament (see inserter 5100 which installs assembly 5040 into base of patch infusion device and into tissue, FIGS. 89, para [0455]: "5040 to an automatic inserter. For example, the releases shown in FIGS. 86A-86B as 5052 may receive pins of an automatic insertion device. Referring to both FIGS. 89A and 89B, a representative embodiment of an automatic inserter 5100 is shown. As shown in the front view of FIG. 89A, the inserter 5100 includes pins 5130 which travel in pin slots 5140 within an inserting cartridge recess 5120. In practice, the infusion and sensor assembly (not shown, shown in FIGS. 86A and 86B as 5040) is pressed into the cartridge recess 5120 ... The inserter 5100 is then either held against the skin or aligned with a cannula housing and sensor housing on a base (not shown) and fired by pressing a trigger 5110. Upon firing, the pins 5130 travel in their slots 5140, thereby forcing the infusion device and sensor (both not shown) into a patient": note during insertion there is a point where the needle is within the base and the remainder of the cartridge is above the base, e.g. FIGS. 93B) to (2) an advanced position within the device, wherein the needle is in a deployed position inserted into the tissue of the user (para [0455]: ''The inserter 5100 is then either held against the skin or aligned with a cannula housing and sensor housing on a base (not shown) and fired by pressing a trigger 5110. Upon firing, the pins 5130 travel in their slots 5140, thereby forcing the infusion device and sensor (both not shown) into a patient"; see FIGS. 93B-93C, para [0459]: "Although FIGS. 93A-93C show a cannula 5010, the infusion and sensor assembly shown in FIG. 86B can be inserted using the locking feature 5210 and method shown and described in FIGS. 93A-93C"; e.g. see FIG. 93C).
As to claim 11, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 9 wherein the medicament is insulin (para [0232], [0235], [0237]) and the analyte sensor is a CGM sensor for measuring glucose level in the user (para [0232], [0237], [0402], [0404], [0447]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen in view of Gray et al. (US 2018/0368771, hereafter “Gray”).
As to claim 3, Kamen discloses the infusion system of claim 1 as described above, but is silent to wherein the detachable activation mechanism includes first and second release arms that are configured to move from a first position wherein the device is secured within the detachable activation mechanism and a second position where the device is released from the detachable activation mechanism upon activation by the user.
Gray teaches an infusion system (Abstract) with an inserter that applies both the infusion device and the sensor and cannula (para[0446]: "The infusion cannula and analyte sensor may be inserted transcutaneously by the same applicator device") and wherein the detachable activation mechanism ("Applicator 500 may further compose a drive assembly 510 configured to drive the insertion element of needle carrier assembly 508 in a distal direction to a distal insertion position and in a proximal direction from the distal insertion position to a proximal retraction position.", para [0187], Gray states that 160 can be used with 500, para (0446]) includes first and second release arms (672a and 672b, Fig. 6H) that are configured to move from a first position wherein the device is secured within the detachable activation mechanism and a second position where the device is released from the detachable activation mechanism upon activation by the user ("FIG. 6H illustrates retention elements 672a, 672b of holder 528 configured to releasably couple on-skin sensor assembly 160 to holder 528.", para [0200]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an insertion device similar to Gray to insert the device into the patient while also allowing for the needle to be inserted and then retracted (see above-cited portions of Gray).
Regarding claim 4, Kamen and Gray teach the infusion system of claim 3, Gray further teaches wherein the first and second arms each Include a flange for engaging the device for delivering medicament to the user, thereby securing the device within the detachable activation mechanism (flanges 678a and 678b, Fig. 6H). It would have been further obvious to one skilled in the art to use the insertion device of Gray to allow delivery of the needle as well as the delivery device at the same time.
Regarding claim 5, Kamen and Gray teach the infusion system of claim 3, Gray describes wherein the detachable activation mechanism includes a spring for biasing the first and second arms outwardly (system of Kamen modified above to include include insertion mechanism of Gray; see spring 512, FIG. 5, para[0195]-[0196], [0200] of Gray: note during retraction, spring retracts 508 which causes outward rotation of the bottom of the arms).
Regarding claim 6, Kamen and Gray teach the infusion system of claim 4, Gray further teaches wherein the device for delivering includes a groove (662a) for (a) receiving the flanges when the first and second arms are in the first position, thereby securing the device for delivering medicament within the detachable activation mechanism and for (b) releasing of the flanges when the first and second arms are in the second position, thereby releasing the device from the detachable activation (see para 0198, Fig. 6H). It would have been further obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate grooves in the delivery device to ensure it is secured in the insertion device prior to delivery to the patient (see para 0198, Fig. 6H of Gray).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of an infusion system comprising: a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle are/is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the analyte sensor and/or the needle are/is in a deployed position inserted into a subcutaneous tissue of the user’s skin. The differences between the instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the reference application are that the instant claim 1 gives an option for an analyte sensor for measuring an analyte in a user and/or an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user, and further that the instant claim 1 is broader in that it does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 1 of the reference application. There are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 1 versus claim 1 of the reference application. The limitations of instant claims 2-8 are found throughout claims 1-3 and 8-11 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30, 31, and 36-40 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of an infusion system comprising: a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including an analyte sensor for measuring an analyte in a user and/or an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle are/is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the analyte sensor and/or the needle are/is in a deployed position inserted into a subcutaneous tissue of the user’s skin. The differences between the instant claim 1 and claim 30 of the reference application are that the instant claim 1 gives an option for an analyte sensor for measuring an analyte in a user and/or an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user, and further that the instant claim 1 is broader in that it does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 30 of the reference application. There are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 1 versus claim 30 of the reference application. In addition, the limitations of claims 2-8 are found throughout claims 30, 31, and 36-40 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41-44 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of an infusion system comprising: a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the analyte sensor and/or the infusion needle are/is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the analyte sensor and/or the needle are/is in a deployed position inserted into a subcutaneous tissue of the user’s skin. The differences between the instant claim 1 and claim 41 of the reference application are that instant claim 1 is broader in that it does not require a needle cartridge assembly as recited in claim 41 of the reference application and that instant claim 1 gives an option for “an analyte sensor for measuring an analyte in a user and/or an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user” versus claim 41 of the reference application which gives an option of “a needle for infusing medicament into the user or introducing an infusion catheter to infuse the medicament into the user”. There are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 1 versus claim 41 of the reference application. In addition, the limitations of claims 2, 7 and 8 are found throughout claims 41-44 of the reference application.
Claims 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of an infusion system comprising: a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including a needle for delivering the medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the needle is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the needle is in a deployed position inserted into a tissue of the user. The differences between the instant claim 9 and claim 1 of the reference application are that the instant claim 9 gives the option of needle for delivering the medicament to the user or introducing a catheter for infusing medicament to the user, and further that the instant claim 9 does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 1 of the reference application. There are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 9 versus claim 1 of the reference application. The limitations of instant claims 10-11 are found throughout claims 1-2 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30 & 40 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of infusion system comprising: a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including needle for delivering the medicament to the user or introducing a catheter for infusing medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the needle is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the needle is in a deployed position inserted into a tissue of the user. The differences between the instant claim 9 and claim 30 of the reference application are that instant claim 9 does not require an analyte sensor or a needle cartridge assembly as required by claim 30 of the reference application. There are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 9 versus claim 30 of the reference application. Additionally, the limitations of instant claims 10-11 are found throughout claims 30 and 40 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41, 42 and 44 of copending Application No. 18724048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter of an infusion system comprising a device for delivering medicament to a user, the device configured to be mounted to the user, the device including needle for delivering the medicament to the user or introducing a catheter for infusing medicament to the user; and a detachable activation mechanism for deploying the device on the user and detaching from the device subsequent to deployment, wherein the detachable activation mechanism is configured to move the needle from (1) a retracted position within the device for delivering medicament wherein the needle is retracted within the device for delivering medicament to (2) an advanced position, wherein the needle is in a deployed position inserted into a tissue of the user. The differences between instant claim 9 and claim 41 of the reference application is that instant claim 9 is broader in that it does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 41 of the reference application, and that there are also minor, insignificant wording differences that do not amount to any significant difference in structure between the components of instant claim 9 versus claim 41 of the reference application. The limitations of instant claims 10-11 are found throughout claims 41, 42 and 44 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4-8 of copending Application No. 18772138 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the similar subject matter of an infusion system comprising a device for delivering a medicament to a user, a needle, and a detachable activation mechanism. The differences between the instant claim 1 and claim 4 of the reference application are that instant claim 1 gives an option for “an analyte sensor for measuring an analyte in a user and/or an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user” (compared to “an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user”), and that the instant claim 1 does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 4 of the reference application. Additionally, the limitations of instant claims 2-6 can be found throughout claims 4-8 of the reference application.
Claims 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18772138 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the similar subject matter of an infusion system comprising a device for delivering a medicament to a user, and a detachable activation mechanism. The differences between instant claim 9 and claim 4 of the reference application are that instant claim 9 gives an option for “needle for delivering the medicament to the user or introducing a catheter for infusing medicament to the user” (compared to “an infusion needle for delivering the medicament to the user”) and the instant claim 9 does not require a needle cartridge assembly as required in claim 4 of the reference application. Additionally, the limitations of instant claim 10 can be found within claim 4 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783