DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillis et al. (US 2005/0182368)
Regarding claim 1, Taormina discloses
A securement device (figs. 1-8 and pars. 0027-0040) comprising:
a securement band (12, fig. 1);
a securement body (14, fig. 1) comprising a base (24) attached to the securement band (12, see fig. 1 and par. 0029) and further comprising a securement flange (flange of 28) and a termination end (22, fig. 1) which define a slot (30B, fig. 2A) connected to a grip channel (30A, fig. 2A), the grip channel (30A) formed therethrough the securement body (14, see figs. 1 and 2A) and configured to hold a single tube, line or cord (Examiner notes: the limitation “configured to hold…” is interpreted as functional limitation, and the limitation “a single tube, line or cord” is not positively recited in claim 1. See fig. 8 for the device being used to hold multiple tubes);
a securement strap (32, figs. 1 and 7A) connected to the base (24) and located at least partially around the securement body to sandwich the securement flange between the securement strap and the termination end (see fig. 1 and pars. 0029-0030, see also figs. 7A-8 and pars. 0037 and 0039), the securement strap (32) configured to apply an increasing level of tension to the securement body as the securement strap is tightened around the securement flange and the termination end to create compression of the securement body (see fig. 1 and pars. 0029-0030, see also figs. 7A-8 and pars. 0037 and 0039. Examiner notes: the limitation “configured to apply…” is interpreted as functional limitation. See par. 0028 for 14 being a flexible member, and see par. 0030 for 32 being an elastic member. Therefore, 32 is capable of performing the claimed functional limitation),
wherein the securement body (14), when under tension, deforms to prevent at least a portion of the at least one tube, line or cord held by the securement body from moving within the securement body due to a pull force (see figs. 1-8 and pars. 0028-0030, 0037 and 0039. Examiner notes: the limitation “deforms to prevent…” is interpreted as functional limitation. See par. 0028 for 14 being a flexible member, and see par. 0030 for 32 being an elastic member. Therefore, 14 and 32 are capable of performing the claimed functional limitation).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roddy (US 2018/0207416)
Regarding claim 1, Roddy discloses
A securement device (910 in figs. 9A-9B. Examiner notes: par. 0059 discloses embodiment 910 in figs. 9A-9B is similar to the medical tubing organizer 10 in figs. 1A-1C such that “only the differences between the medical tubing organizers will be discussed in detail. In addition, components or features described with respect to only one or some of the embodiments described herein are equally applicable to any other embodiments described herein. For example, the various connectors between bases and the structure 18 may be interchangeable between embodiments, as are the various adjustment mechanisms used for adjusting the projections used to retain the medical tubes, and as are the particular projection shapes used in the various embodiments”) comprising:
a securement band (44, see fig. 1A);
a securement body (970, figs. 9A-9B and par. 0076) comprising a base (920) attached to the securement band (44. Examiner notes: see fig. 1 for base 20 attached to bands/straps 44. See par. 0059 for base 920 being similar to base 20 since “similar components are designated with similar references numbers plus 900 for the embodiment in figs. 9A-9B) and further comprising a securement flange (960) and a termination end (the left end of 970 and the right end of 970, see annotated fig. 9A below) which define a slot (964/top opening between two elements 960, see annotated fig. 9A below) connected to a grip channel (bottom/circle opening between two elements 960, see annotated fig. 9A below), the grip channel (see annotated fig. 9A below) formed therethrough the securement body (970) and configured to hold a single tube, line or cord (Examiner notes: the limitation “configured to hold…” is interpreted as functional limitation, and the limitation “a single tube, line or cord” is not positively recited in claim 1. See fig. 1 for the device 10 configured to hold tube 14);
a securement strap (974, figs. 9A-9B) connected to the base (920) and located at least partially around the securement body (970) to sandwich the securement flange (960) between the securement strap (974) and the termination end (the left end and the right end of 970), the securement strap (974) configured to apply an increasing level of tension to the securement body as the securement strap is tightened around the securement flange and the termination end to create compression of the securement body (see fig. 9B and pars. 0076-0078),
wherein the securement body (970), when under tension, deforms to prevent at least a portion of the at least one tube, line or cord held by the securement body from moving within the securement body due to a pull force (see fig. 9B and pars. 0076-0078).
Regarding claim 2, Roddy discloses
The device of claim 1 wherein the securement strap (974) and the securement body (970) are formed integrally (see par. 0076 for 974 extending from a side of 970).
Regarding claim 3, Roddy discloses
The device of claim 1 wherein, when the securement body (970) is under tension by the securement strap (974), the securement flange (960) and termination end (the left end and the right end of 970) deform to generate hoop stress around the grip channel to prevent at least a portion of the at least one tube, line or cord from moving within the securement body (see fig. 9B and pars. 0076-0078).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,374. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the application claims can be found in the patent claims.
Instant application 18/772,155
U.S. Patent No. 12,036,374
Claim 1
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 22
Claim 2
Claim 24
Claim 3
Claim 9
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
/DUNG T ULSH/Examiner, Art Unit 3783