Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/16/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claim 19 is withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-19 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, delete “one of”. Furthermore, in line 1 of claim 15, replace “claims” with “claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the phrase “preferably” in line 3 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear where the limitations (s) following the phrase are part of claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05 (d). Moreover, these claims recite, before “preferably”, a broader limitation than that recited after “preferably”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claims 7 and 16 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 8 and 17 are dependent on claims 7 and 16, respectively and are rejected as well. For the purpose of examination, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has examined all the limitations of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOLT (US 5,603,850), hereinafter HOLT, in view of KOZICKI (US-2021/0230763), hereinafter KOZICKI. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1, 5-8, 10-11, and 15-17, HOLT discloses A method of manufacturing a decorative part {[abstract], [C1, L13]} comprising the steps of:
providing a decorative layer having a first, electrically conductive surface and a second surface facing away from the first surface (claims 1 and 11), wetting the first surface with an aqueous electrolyte solution before being brought into contact with the electrodes (claims 10 and 11) {[abstract], [C1, L50-53], [C4, L6-8] note wetting with metal salt solution that is an electrolyte and creates electrically conductive surface before applying voltage, note the wetted surface is the first surface and the other side is the second surface};
bringing two or more electrodes into contact with the first surface {[FIG. 2] note the two electrodes 14 and 16 in contact with the first surface of layer 12};
applying an electrical voltage between the electrodes so that an electrical current flows between the electrodes and a pattern is burnt into the first surface {[C2, L5-27]}.
HOLT, however, is silent on the remaining limitations claims 1 and 11 reciting “and wherein the decorative layer is bonded to a lamination layer before the application of the electric voltage”, and claims 5-8 and 15-18 limitations.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to fabricating dendritic, multi-branch, tree-like decorative structures by electrodes, KOZICKI discloses and wherein the decorative layer is bonded to a lamination layer before the application of the electric voltage (claims 1 and 11), wherein: the lamination layer consists of an electrically insulating material (claims 5 and 15), wherein: the lamination layer consists of a translucent material (claims 6 and 15), wherein: the lamination layer consists of a plastic film or a fabric or fleece on an inorganic basis, preferably a polyimide-based plastic film or a glass fiber nonwoven (claims 7 and 16), wherein: the lamination layer is formed by injection-molding of a plastic (claims 8 and 17) {[abstract], [FIG. 5] note substrate 410 laminated onto the decorative layer 440, [0018] note first structural material is the laminated support that is polymeric or cloth or fabric, [0097] note substrate being an insulator, [0122] note nonwoven fabric from fiber and that glass fiber is known, [0098] note substrate can be glass or glass fiber since this fiber is known, note plastic sheet and it is known that plastic sheets can be made by injection or compression molding, [0095] note using transparent or translucent layer that could be also applied to the plastic substrate, [0086] note voltage is applied after the lamination}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KOZICKI in the method of HOLT and have laminated the decorative layer of HOLT to a substrate before applying the voltage. As disclosed by KOZICKI, this lamination layer 410 act as support for the decorative layer 440 {[FIG. 5]}.
The Examiner acknowledges that decorative layer of KOZICKI is initially applied as a liquid, however, in those cases where the solid decorative layer of HOLT is very thin, such support is needed and an artisan would have been motivated to have included the support layer of KOZICKI in the method of HOLT.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, HOLT discloses wherein: a contact area between the first surface and a first electrode is punctiform {[FIG. 2] note electrodes 14 and 16 are punctiform}.
HOLT, however, is silent on the contact area between the first surface and the second surface being elongated.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to fabricating dendritic structures by electrodes, KOZICKI discloses and a contact area between the first surface and a second electrode is elongated {[FIG. 5] note electrodes 422 and 424 are elongated}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KOZICKI in the method of HOLT and have chosen an elongated electrode. As disclosed by KOZICKI, the advantage of this elongated electrode is that the pattern 440 can be symmetrically produced across the first surface, thus providing and aesthetically pleasing decoration {[FIG. 5]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, no prior art was found that discloses the limitation “wherein: the decorative layer has a predetermined minimum thickness, and wherein after the lamination layer has been bonded, the material of the decorative layer is removed from the second surface, so that the thickness of the decorative layer is reduced to a predetermined maximum thickness”. Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are dependent on claims 2 and 12, respectively and as such contain the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748