DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are direct to “A system and method…” therefore does not clearly fall under one of the statutory categories as “system” and “method” are different categories with different requirements for claiming. For example a method claim according to MPEP 2106.03: “A process defines "actions", i.e., an invention that is claimed as an act or step, or a series of acts or steps” however in the current claim 1 and dependent claims there does not appear to be any action steps, therefore is not directed to the statutory category of “method”, therefore amounting to a “use claim” method claim without method steps, see MPEP 2173.05(q). For purposes of examination the claims will be treated as if directed to “A system to heat fluids…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-9, claim 1 recites “A system and method…” attempting to claim product and process in the same claim, however there does not appear to be any action steps, therefore the claim appears to only be directed to “system” limitations, and the two categories in one claim is improper, see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II). For purposes of examination the claims will be treated as if directed to “A system to heat fluids…”.
For the same reason above, claims 7-8 is treated as if reciting “the system of claim 1…”.
Regarding claims 6, 8 and 9, “the annuli” in each claim has insufficient antecedent basis in the claims, for purposes of examination claim 1 is treated as if reciting “coaxial structures having annuli”.
Claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Each of claims 2-7 and 9 start with a recitation directed to a component of claim 1, for example in claim 2, “The catalytic susceptors of claim 1” this leads to confusion as to if claim 2 comprises all the limitations of claim 1. In order to be treated as dependent claims, and for purposes of examination claims 2-7 and 9 are treated as if starting with “The system of claim 1…” and then reciting the further limitation. Failure to amend claims in this or similar manner will result in Restriction by original presentation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al (US 2003/0175196) and Coffey et al (US 8,362,407).
Regarding claim 1, Blackwell teaches a system for heating a gas to high temperatures for the purposes of reactions, i.e. heating of fluids (title, abstract), the system comprising catalytic susceptors of electromagnetic energy 1 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]), coaxial resonant cavities formed by one or more coaxial structures 4/5 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]), temperature is controlled by monitoring single bulk temperature of the reactor i.e. a temperature sensor is present ([0045-0046]), flow rates through the reactor are controlled ([0045-0046], Tables 1-2) via inlet 6 and outlet 8 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]), electromagnetic input from induction coil 3 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]).
However while Blackwell teaches controlling flow rates of the gases, Blackwell does not teach explicitly flow detector and valving because Blackwell is focused on the reactor design itself, however in order to control flow rates in the manner taught by Blackwell it was notoriously well known to include valving and flow meters to achieve the measurement and rates taught by Blackwell and was routine skill before the effective filing date of the invention to match flow rates of Blackwell Tables 1 and 2 without unexpected results.
However Blackwell does not teach turbulator as claimed.
Coffey teaches a system for particle synthesis that utilized spray pyrolysis (title abstract, C1:L54-59), Coffey teaches the system comprises tubular reactor 10 with susceptor 12 formed in cylindrical shaped vessel where a continuous flow path 16 in interior space 20 is heated by incident energy (Fig 1, C4:L4-30), in a further embodiment turbulent flow is induced by openings 26 and spacers 28 to increase residence time and enhance mixing of materials (Fig 4, C6:L22-42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Blackwell in view of Coffey to induce turbulent flow by tubulators being created by opening and spacers as taught by Coffey to increase residence time and enhance mixing of materials (Coffey Fig 4, C6:L22-42).
Regarding claim 2, Blackwell further teaches iron was known susceptor material [0005-0006].
Regarding claim 3, Blackwell further teaches frequencies up to 300 kHz [0026].
Regarding claim 4, Blackwell further teaches inputs of at least 3.0 MW [0032].
Regarding claim 5, Blackwell has taught hydrogen containing HCN is heated (title, abstract).
Regarding claim 6, in Blackwell the catalytic susceptors of electromagnetic energy 1 are within the coaxial resonant cavities formed by one or more coaxial structures 4/5 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Blackwell further teaches frequencies up to temperatures of from 1000-1200 degrees C [0026].
Regarding claim 8, Blackwell further teaches woven wire mesh forms within the end of annuli (see Fig 3, [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, in Blackwell the catalytic susceptors of electromagnetic energy 1 are within the coaxial resonant cavities formed by one or more coaxial structures 4/5 (Fig 1-2, [0033-0034]), thereby formed by the annuli.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koch (US 5,958,273) teaches induction heated reactor. Blankenbeckler (US2004/0173607) teaches microwave susceptor material. Wilkes (US 2007/0068933) teaches induction curie point heated reactor. Biris (US 7,473,873) teaches a cylindrical reactor. Oqab (US 2022/0397042) teaches inductively heated thermal system. Cassidy (US 2024/0066486) teaches pyrolysis cylindrical reactor.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772