DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the cleaning system of Species I, the fitting of Species A2, and the cleaning recipe of Species B1, drawn to claims 1-2, and 8-10, in the reply filed on 5/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the CF valve of claim 8 including, inter alia, “axially aligned inlet and outlet ports,” “a bottom wall facing the outlet port,” “the cylindrical side and bottom walls of the cup . . . to define a second passageway connecting the diaphragm chamber to the outlet port,” “a resilient disc-shaped diaphragm,” etc. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, and 10 of copending Application No. 17/382,693 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to substantially the same subject matter, while being generally broader in scope than the conflicting claims, and only having minor differences in language or minor obvious differences. The instant claims primarily differ in the recitation of a bag; however, this feature is considered to be well-known and obvious to a PHOSITA (see the following discussions of the prior art).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the variable fluid supply." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the fluid outlet." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the inlet port” and “the outlet port." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim because they refer to “the inlet and outlet ports,” which allows for plural inlet ports and plural outlet ports. In the interpretation having plural inlet ports and plural outlet ports, the recitations to “the inlet port” or “the outlet port” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the opposite side of the diaphragm." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newton et al. (US 2021/0347624).
Regarding claim 1, Newton discloses a cleaning system comprising: a CF Valve (Figure 1: 52), the CF Valve coupled to a pressure source and a cleaning unit (10, 48; paragraph 77); the cleaning unit including a cleaning material bag (18) and an outlet area (outlet area at 22), a cleaning solution recipe generated via the pressure source, the CF Valve, and the cleaning material bag (paragraph 77; note this limitation is intended use and occurs based on operating the system with the sanitizer); and a dispensing device coupled to the outlet area which receives a cleaning solution generated by the cleaning solution recipe (28).
The use of the cleaning system to generate a cleaning solution recipe is intended use of the claimed apparatus and capable of being met by the apparatus of Newton. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Newton discloses a dispensing device outlet area (outlet of 28).
Regarding claim 8, Newton discloses the claimed CF Valve (paragraphs 100, 121).
Regarding claim 9, Newton discloses the claimed CF Valve (paragraphs 112, 121).
Regarding claim 10, Newton discloses the claimed CF Valve (paragraphs 112, 121).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Newton (US 2006/0086753) discloses a dispensing system inducing a constant flow valve (32), a container (12), and bags (14, 16) enclosed in the container.
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711