DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 14 July 2024 and 26 December 2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the distal end portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the distal end portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 20-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US 2019/0059992 A1).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Ko teaches an apparatus and a method for treatment of skin tissue of a patient ([0007, 0014]), the apparatus comprising:
an energy source (the RF generator 130 includes RF generation modules 131-133 [0041-0042]);
an electrode array of at least one first electrode and at least one second electrode connected to the energy source (the RF generator 130 includes RF generation modules 131-133 which can be connected to the respective electrodes modules 221, 222, and 223 [0040-0043]);
the electrode array configured to apply, an initial electrical energy from the energy source to a stratum corneum of a multilayer skin tissue site to target the stratum corneum to reduce its impedance; and a treatment electrical energy from the energy source to the skin layers of the multilayer skin tissue site to cause thermal damage below the stratum corneum (Applicant recites in 3 types of stimulation treatments in claims 21 and 28 that would cause a reduced impedance and thermal damage below the stratum corneum. Specifically, Applicant recites the treatments to comprise at least one of the following (i) a low energy total usage, for the initial electrical energy, followed by a high total energy usage, for the treatment electrical energy; (ii) a shorter duration, for the initial electrical energy, followed by a longer duration, for the treatment electrical energy; or (iii) a high peak energy, for the initial electrical energy, followed by a low peak energy, for the treatment electrical energy. Similarly, Ko teaches a shorter duration for the first mode (e.g., initial electrical energy) and a longer duration for the second mode (e.g., treatment electrical energy) [0009, claim 4]. Alternatively, Ko teaches a high peak energy for the first mode (e.g., initial electrical energy) and a low peak energy for the second mode (e.g., treatment electrical energy) [0009, claim 4]. Thus, the Examiner respectfully submits that Ko applies the same initial and treatment energy as described in Applicant’s claim 21 and 28 which would cause a reduction in impedance of the stratum corneum and thermal damage below the stratum corneum [0004, 0009]. Lastly, Ko discloses that RF energy will provide heat or thermal effects on the layers of the skin tissue [0004, 0006, 0009]).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Ko teaches wherein combination of the initial electrical energy and the treatment electrical energy comprises at least one of the following:
(ii) a shorter duration, for the initial electrical energy, followed by a longer duration, for the treatment electrical energy (Ko teaches a shorter duration for the first mode (e.g., initial electrical energy) and a longer duration for the second mode (e.g., treatment electrical energy) [0009, claim 4]); or
(iii) a high peak energy, for the initial electrical energy, followed by a low peak energy, for the treatment electrical energy (Ko teaches a high peak energy for the first mode (e.g., initial electrical energy) and a low peak energy for the second mode (e.g., treatment electrical energy) [0009, claim 4]).
Regarding claims 22 and 29, Ko teaches wherein the at least one first electrode and the at least one second electrode are arranged in at least one of the following:
(iii) form a slight elevation above the distal end portion (figure 4 illustrates the first electrode module 221 and the second electrode module 222 protruding from the distal support plate 351 [0041, FIG. 4]).
Regarding claims 23 and 30, Ko teaches wherein the at least one second electrode surrounds the at least one first electrode with a gap therebetween (figure 4 illustrates the second electrode module 222 consist of electrodes 222a and 222b which surround the first electrode module 221 with a gap therebetween [0041, FIG. 4]).
Regarding claims 24 and 31, Ko teaches wherein at least one second electrode is one single second electrode substantially extending over a distal end portion of a handpiece (figure 4 illustrates the second electrode module 222 protruding from the distal support plate 351 of the handpiece housing 210 [0032, 0041, FIG. 4]).
Regarding claims 25 and 32, Ko teaches wherein the at least one first electrode is a plurality of first electrodes arranged in at least one of the following arrangements:
(ii) a plurality of rows (figure 4 illustrates the first electrode module 221 consist of a plurality of first electrodes 221a-221b that are arranged in rows [FIG. 4]).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Ko teaches wherein the at least one first electrode is in a form of a pin protruding distally with respect to a distal end portion of the apparatus (figure 4 illustrates the first electrode module 221 consisting of electrodes 221a-221b that are in the form of a pin protruding from the distal support plate 351 [0041, FIG. 4]).
Double Patenting
7. Claims 20-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,623 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite an apparatus for treatment of skin tissue. Specifically, both sets of claims recite the apparatus comprising an energy source, a first electrode, and a second electrode. Furthermore, both sets of claims recite the electrode array (e.g., first and second electrodes) being configured to apply an initial electrical energy or first pulse from the energy source to a stratum corneum of a multilayer skin tissue site to target the stratum corneum to reduce its impedance. Lastly, both sets of claims recite the electrode array (e.g., first and second electrodes) being configured to apply a treatment electrical energy or second pulse from the energy source to the skin layers of the multiplayer skin tissue site to cause thermal damage below the stratum corneum.
Although not exhaustive, a brief matching of the pending claims to those of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,623 B2 is provided below.
Application No. 18/772,206
U.S. Patent No. 12,064,623 B2
20
1
21
2
22
3
23
4
24
5
25
6
26
7
27
9
28
10
29
11
30
12
31
13
32
14
33
15
Statement on Communication via Internet
8. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of the applicant. All Internet communications between USPTO employees and applicants must be made using USPTO tools.
Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet email to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence and response will be placed in the appropriate patent application. Except for correspondence that only sets up an interview time, all correspondence between the Office and the applicant including applicant's representative must be placed in the appropriate patent application. If an email contains any information beyond scheduling an interview such as an interview agenda or authorization, it must be placed in the application.
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
Please refer to MPEP 502.03 for guidance on Communications via Internet.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BRENDON SOLOMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3792