DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 20240314806 A1), hereinafter “Yuan”, in view of TS38.214 (“Physical layer procedures for data”), hereinafter ”TS38.214”, in view of Lin et al. (US 20240323975 A1), hereinafter “Lin”.
Per claim 1, 6, 11 and 16:
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches ‘A first node for wireless communications’ (Yuan: [FIG.2]: “USER EQUOPTMENT”); ‘comprising: a first receiver’ (Yuan: [0103]: “a receiver”);
‘receiving a first signaling’ (Yuan: [FIG.9]: “Receive, by UE, a DCI that schedules multiple PUSCHs and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission”);
‘a first transmitter’ (Yuan: [0103]: “a transmitter”);
‘transmitting a first signal, a second signal, a first reference signal, and a second reference signal in a target time-frequency resource block’ (Yuan: [FIG.9]: “Transmit, by the UE, each of the PUSCHs to one or more of the TRPs in according with information indicated in the DCI”; [FIG.1]: first signal “PUSCH1”, second signal “PUSCH2”; [FIG.7A]-[FIG.7D]; [0070]-[0075]: “in FIG. 7A, when an intra-slot time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme is configured … in FIG. 7B, when an inter-slot TDM scheme is configured … in FIG. 7C, when a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme is configured … in FIG. 7D, when a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme is configured”; [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; the first PTRS associated with the first DMRS/PTRS group for first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS associated with the second DMRS/PTRS group for the second PUSCH occasion);
‘wherein the first signaling is used to indicate the target time-frequency resource block’ (Yuan: [0067]: “a DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field. The TDRA field indicates time domain resources for multiple PUSCHs”; [0072]: “a DCI includes a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field. The FDRA field is applied to all PUSCHs. The FDRA field indicates frequency domain resources for two PUSCH occasions for a PUSCH scheduled as an M-TRP transmission to two TRPs”);
‘the first signaling is used to indicate a first reference signal resource group and a second reference signal resource group, the first reference signal resource group is used to determine antenna port(s) for transmitting the first signal; the second reference signal resource group is used to determine antenna port(s) for transmitting the second signal’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a DCI indicates one or more DMRS phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) association indications … a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; [0074]: “The one or more DMRS ports correspond to one or more DMRS code division multiplexed (CDM) groups applied to all scheduled PUSCHs”; the first DMRS-PTRS group to determine antenna ports for transmitting first PUSCH and the second DMRS-PTRS group to determine antenna ports for transmitting the second PUSCH);
‘both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are PTRSs (Phase-Tracking Reference Signals), the first reference signal is associated with the first reference signal resource group, and the second reference signal is associated with the second reference signal resource group’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; the first PTRS associated with the first DMRS/PTRS group for first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS associated with the second DMRS/PTRS group for the second PUSCH occasion);
‘a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB (Transport Block)’ (Yuan: [0068]: “the DCI may indicate a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition; [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition => the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry a same TB; [0076]: “single CW of one rate matching among two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with an M-TRP transmission or two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with the M-TRP transmission”, same TB (single CW (codeword)) or different TBs (two CWs); [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”). However, Yuan fails to expressly teach a time density of the first PTRS and a time density of the second PTRS are related to whether the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry a same TB.
Although Yuan’s teaching of two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions would implicitly teach the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs, Yuan does not expressly teach the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs.
Nevertheless, Lin in the same field of endeavor teaches multiple PUSCHs carry different TBs with different MCSs (Lin: [0042]: “one DCI may schedule multiple PDSCHs or PUSCHs, the multiple PDSCHs/PUSCHs are transmitted in multiple carriers, each of the multiple PDSCHs/PUSCHs is configured to carry a TB which is different”; [0116]: “transmits a first PDSCH or PUSCH through using a modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the MCS 1 … transmits a second PDSCH or PUSCH through using a modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the MCS 2”).
And, TS38.214 in the same field of endeavor teaches a density of a PTRS could be based on scheduled MCS (TS38.214: [Page 186, Table 6.2.3.1-1]: “Time density of PT-RS as a function of scheduled MCS”; [Page 185]: “parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in PTRS-UplinkConfig”, the more density of PTRS, the more accuracy of phase tracking, the more signaling overhead).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of TS38.214 and Lin with that of Yuan to teach that the first PTRS and second PTRS would have the same time density when the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry the same TB since the same TB would have the same MCS, and the first PTRS and the second PTRS could have different time density when the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs with different MCSs, in another word, a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, in order to trade-off PTRS accuracy and signaling overhead based on MCS.
Regarding claim 6, Yuan teaches ‘A second node for wireless communications’ (Yuan: [FIG.2]: “Base Station”); ‘comprising: a second transmitter’ (Yuan: [0103]: “a transmitter);
‘transmitting a first signaling’ (Yuan: [FIG.10]: “Transmit, by a network entity to a UE, a DCI that schedules multiple PUSCHs and indicates whether each of the PUSCHs is scheduled as an S-TRP or M-TRP transmission”);
‘a second receiver’ (Yuan: [0103]: “a receiver”);
‘receiving a first signal, a second signal, a first reference signal, and a second reference signal in a target time-frequency resource block’ (Yuan: [FIG.10]: “Receive, by the network entity, each of the PUSCHs, via one or more of the TRPs, in accordance with information indicated in the DCI”; [FIG.1]: first signal “PUSCH1”, second signal “PUSCH2”; [FIG.7A]-[FIG.7D]; [0070]-[0075]: “in FIG. 7A, when an intra-slot time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme is configured … in FIG. 7B, when an inter-slot TDM scheme is configured … in FIG. 7C, when a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme is configured … in FIG. 7D, when a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme is configured”; [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; the first PTRS associated with the first DMRS/PTRS group for first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS associated with the second DMRS/PTRS group for the second PUSCH occasion);
‘wherein the first signaling is used to indicate the target time-frequency resource block’ (Yuan: [0067]: “a DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field. The TDRA field indicates time domain resources for multiple PUSCHs”; [0072]: “a DCI includes a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field. The FDRA field is applied to all PUSCHs. The FDRA field indicates frequency domain resources for two PUSCH occasions for a PUSCH scheduled as an M-TRP transmission to two TRPs”);
‘the first signaling is used to indicate a first reference signal resource group and a second reference signal resource group, the first reference signal resource group is used to determine antenna port(s) for transmitting the first signal; the second reference signal resource group is used to determine antenna port(s) for transmitting the second signal’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a DCI indicates one or more DMRS phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) association indications … a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; [0074]: “The one or more DMRS ports correspond to one or more DMRS code division multiplexed (CDM) groups applied to all scheduled PUSCHs”; the first DMRS-PTRS group to determine antenna ports for transmitting first PUSCH and the second DMRS-PTRS group to determine antenna ports for transmitting the second PUSCH);
‘both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are PTRSs (Phase-Tracking Reference Signals), the first reference signal is associated with the first reference signal resource group, and the second reference signal is associated with the second reference signal resource group’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; the first PTRS associated with the first DMRS/PTRS group for first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS associated with the second DMRS/PTRS group for the second PUSCH occasion);
‘a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB’ (Yuan: [0068]: “the DCI may indicate a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition; [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition; [0076]: “single CW of one rate matching among two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with an M-TRP transmission or two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with the M-TRP transmission”, same TB (single CW (codeword)) or different TBs (two CWs); [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”). However, Yuan fails to expressly teach a time density of the first PTRS and a time density of the second PTRS are related to whether the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry a same TB.
Although Yuan’s teaching of two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions would implicitly teach the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs, Yuan does not expressly teach the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs.
Nevertheless, Lin in the same field of endeavor teaches multiple PUSCHs carry different TBs with different MCSs (Lin: [0042]: “one DCI may schedule multiple PDSCHs or PUSCHs, the multiple PDSCHs/PUSCHs are transmitted in multiple carriers, each of the multiple PDSCHs/PUSCHs is configured to carry a TB which is different”; [0116]: “transmits a first PDSCH or PUSCH through using a modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the MCS 1 … transmits a second PDSCH or PUSCH through using a modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the MCS 2”).
And, TS38.214 in the same field of endeavor teaches a density of a PTRS could be based on scheduled MCS (TS38.214: [Page 186, Table 6.2.3.1-1]: “Time density of PT-RS as a function of scheduled MCS”; [Page 185]: “parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in PTRS-UplinkConfig”, the more density of PTRS, the more accuracy of phase tracking, the more signaling overhead).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of TS38.214 and Lin with that of Yuan to teach that the first PTRS and second PTRS would have the same time density when the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry the same TB since the same TB would have the same MCS, and the first PTRS and the second PTRS could have different time density when the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH carry different TBs with different MCSs, in another word, a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, in order to trade-off PTRS accuracy and signaling overhead based on MCS.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites the method implemented by the first node according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites the method implemented by the second node according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Per claim 2, 7, 12 and 17:
Regarding claim 2, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches the first node according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Yuan teaches ‘wherein when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, the first signal and the second signal respectively comprise two PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared CHannel) repetitions of the same TB’ (this is conditional and so optional. See MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS [The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met]);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, the first signal and the second signal respectively occupy different layers of a PUSCH’ (this is optional); ‘the first signal and the second signal respectively comprise two codewords of a PUSCH’ (Yuan: [0076]: “two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with the M-TRP transmission”).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches The second node according to claim 6 (discussed above).
Yuan teaches ‘wherein when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, the first signal and the second signal respectively comprise two PUSCH repetitions of the same TB’ (this is conditional and so optional. See MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS [The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met]);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, the first signal and the second signal respectively occupy different layers of a PUSCH’ (this is optional); ‘the first signal and the second signal respectively comprise two codewords of a PUSCH’ (Yuan: [0076]: “two CWs of different rate matchings in two PUSCH occasions to a PUSCH with the M-TRP transmission”).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites the method implemented by the first node according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites the method implemented by the second node according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Per claim 3, 8, 13 and 18:
Regarding claim 3, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches the first node according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Yuan and TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein both a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are equal to a target time density’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”, the first PTRS for the first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS for the second PUSCH occasion; [0094]: “the DCI also indicates a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition, [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition; [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”. TS38.214: [Page 186, Table 6.2.3.1-1]: “Time density of PT-RS as a function of scheduled MCS”, scheduled (target) MCS; [Page 185]: “parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in PTRS-UplinkConfig”, the more density of PTRS, the more accuracy of phase tracking, the more signaling overhead; [Page 154]: “Transport Block repetition for uplink transmissions of PUSCH repetition”, with same TB, the first PTRS and second PTRS have the same density determined by the same MCS);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, the first signaling indicates a target MCS (Modulation and coding scheme)’ (Yuan: [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”);
‘both an MCS of the first signal and an MCS of the second signal are the target MCS, and the target MCS is used to determine the target time density’ (discussed in element above);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, the first signaling indicates a first MCS and a second MCS, an MCS of the first signal is the first MCS, an MCS of the second signal is the second MCS, the first MCS is used to determine a first time density, the second MCS is used to determine a second time density, and at least one of the first time density or the second time density is used to determine the target time density’ (this is conditional and so optional. See MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS [The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met]);
‘at least one of the first time density or the second time density being used to determine the target time density comprises: the target time density is a smaller one of the first time density and the second time density’ (this is true for same TB since the first time density and the second time density are determined by the same MCS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS38.214’s teaching of PTRS density with that of Yuan in order to trade-off PTRS accuracy and signaling overhead based on MCS.
Regarding claim 8, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches The second node according to claim 6 (discussed above).
Combination of Yuan and TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein both a time density of the first reference signal and a time density of the second reference signal are equal to a target time density’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”, the first PTRS for the first PUSCH occasion and the second PTRS for the second PUSCH occasion; [0094]: “the DCI also indicates a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition, [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition; [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”. TS38.214: [Page 186, Table 6.2.3.1-1]: “Time density of PT-RS as a function of scheduled MCS”, scheduled (target) MCS; [Page 185]: “parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in PTRS-UplinkConfig”, the more density of PTRS, the more accuracy of phase tracking, the more signaling overhead; [Page 154]: “Transport Block repetition for uplink transmissions of PUSCH repetition”, with same TB, the first PTRS and second PTRS have the same density determined by the same MCS);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, the first signaling indicates a target MCS’ (Yuan: [0077]: “a DCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”);
‘both an MCS of the first signal and an MCS of the second signal are the target MCS, and the target MCS is used to determine the target time density’ (discussed in element above);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, the first signaling indicates a first MCS and a second MCS, an MCS of the first signal is the first MCS, an MCS of the second signal is the second MCS, the first MCS is used to determine a first time density, the second MCS is used to determine a second time density, and at least one of the first time density or the second time density is used to determine the target time density’ (this is conditional and so optional. See MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS [The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met]);
‘at least one of the first time density or the second time density being used to determine the target time density comprises: the target time density is a smaller one of the first time density and the second time density’ (this is true for same TB since the first time density and the second time density are determined by the same MCS).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the method implemented by the first node according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites the method implemented by the second node according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Per claim 4, 9, 14 and 19:
Regarding claim 4, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches the first node according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Yuan and TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein transmit power of the first reference signal per RE (Resource Element) is linearly correlated with a linear value of a first target factor, and transmit power of the second reference signal per RE is linearly correlated with a linear value of a second target factor; wherein the first target factor and the second target factor are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; [0002]: “transmit power”; [0080]: “a DCI indicates a transmission power control (TPC) command … a first TPC command is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in a PUSCH and a second TPC command is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in the PUSCH”; [0103]: “power level based on the communication protocol”; [FIG.7B]: “Inter-slot TDM repetition”, same TB in different slot => two PUSCH occasions in two different slots => UE can use the same power settings for the two PUSCH occasions. TS38.214: [Page 187, Table 6.2.3.1-3]: “Factor related to PUSCH to PT-RS power ratio per layer per RE
”; [Page 187]: “If the UE is configured with higher layer parameter ptrs-Power, the PUSCH to PT-RS power ratio per layer per RE
is given by
where
is shown in the Table 6.2.3.1-3 according to the higher layer parameter ptrs-Power”, with same TB repetition in different slots, the first target factor and the second target factor:
is shown in the Table 6.2.3.1-3 according to the higher layer parameter ptrs-Power, the PT-RS scaling factor
specified in clause 6.4.1.2.2.1 of [4, TS 38.211] is given by
”; transmit power of PTRS per RE = (number of layers) * (power of PTRS per RE per layer), where power of PTRS per RE per layer is determined by the linear value of
, i.e. linearly correlated to the linear value of
);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB and the first signal and the second signal are orthogonal in time domain, the first target factor is equal to a second factor, and the second target factor is equal to a fourth factor; when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs and time-frequency resources occupied by the first signal overlap with time-frequency resources occupied by the second signal, the first target factor is equal to a sum of a second factor and a third factor, and the second target factor is equal to a sum of a fourth factor and a fifth factor; the second factor is related to a number of layer(s) of the first signal, and the fourth factor is related to a number of layer(s) of the second signal’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS38.214’s teaching of ptrs-Power with that of Yuan in order to conform to 3GPP specification on PTRS power for promotion of inter-operation and collaboration.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches The second node according to claim 6 (discussed above).
Combination of Yuan and TS38.214 teaches ‘wherein transmit power of the first reference signal per RE is linearly correlated with a linear value of a first target factor; transmit power of the second reference signal per RE is linearly correlated with a linear value of a second target factor; wherein the first target factor and the second target factor are related to whether the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB’ (Yuan: [0088]: “a first DMRS-PTRS association indication is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP transmission, and a second DMRS-PTRS association is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in each PUSCH with M-TRP”; [0002]: “transmit power”; [0080]: “a DCI indicates a transmission power control (TPC) command … a first TPC command is applied to a first PUSCH occasion in a PUSCH and a second TPC command is applied to a second PUSCH occasion in the PUSCH”; [0103]: “power level based on the communication protocol”; [FIG.7B]: “Inter-slot TDM repetition”, same TB in different slot => two PUSCH occasions in two different slots => UE can use the same power settings for the two PUSCH occasions. TS38.214: [Page 187, Table 6.2.3.1-3]: “Factor related to PUSCH to PT-RS power ratio per layer per RE
”; [Page 187]: “If the UE is configured with higher layer parameter ptrs-Power, the PUSCH to PT-RS power ratio per layer per RE
is given by
where
is shown in the Table 6.2.3.1-3 according to the higher layer parameter ptrs-Power”, with same TB repetition in different slots, the first target factor and the second target factor:
is shown in the Table 6.2.3.1-3 according to the higher layer parameter ptrs-Power, the PT-RS scaling factor
specified in clause 6.4.1.2.2.1 of [4, TS 38.211] is given by
”; transmit power of PTRS per RE = (number of layers) * (power of PTRS per RE per layer), where power of PTRS per RE per layer is determined by the linear value of
, i.e. linearly correlated to the linear value of
);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB and the first signal and the second signal are orthogonal in time domain, the first target factor is equal to a second factor, and the second target factor is equal to a fourth factor; when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs and time-frequency resources occupied by the first signal overlap with time-frequency resources occupied by the second signal, the first target factor is equal to a sum of a second factor and a third factor, and the second target factor is equal to a sum of a fourth factor and a fifth factor; the second factor is related to a number of layer(s) of the first signal, and the fourth factor is related to a number of layer(s) of the second signal’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS38.214’s teaching of ptrs-Power with that of Yuan in order to conform to 3GPP specification on PTRS power for promotion of inter-operation and collaboration.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites the method implemented by the first node according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites the method implemented by the second node according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Per claim 5, 10, 15 and 20:
Regarding claim 5, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches the first node according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Yuan teaches ‘wherein when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, a number of layer(s) of the first signal and a number of layer(s) of the second signal are not greater than a reference number of layer(s)’ (Yuan: [0075]: “in FIG. 7D, when a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme is configured, layers in a first and a second group of two DMRS CDM groups are applied to first/second PUSCH occasions in each PUSCH with an M-TRP transmission”; [0094]: “the DCI also indicates a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition, [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition; [0203]: “a rank indicator (RI)”, the number of layers could not exceed the max spatial streams supported by the UE);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, a sum of the number of layer(s) of the first signal and the number of layer(s) of the second signal is not greater than the reference number of layer(s); or, when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, time-domain resources occupied by the first signal are orthogonal to time-domain resources occupied by the second signal; or, the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, and time-frequency resources occupied by the first signal overlap with time-frequency resources occupied by the second signal’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Yuan, TS38.214 and Lin teaches The second node according to claim 6 (discussed above).
Yuan teaches ‘when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, a number of layer(s) of the first signal and a number of layer(s) of the second signal are not greater than a reference number of layer(s)’ (Yuan: [0075]: “in FIG. 7D, when a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme is configured, layers in a first and a second group of two DMRS CDM groups are applied to first/second PUSCH occasions in each PUSCH with an M-TRP transmission”; [0094]: “the DCI also indicates a repetition number per PUSCH”, [FIG.7A]: Intra-slot repetition, [FIG.7B]: Inter-slot repetition, same TB with repetition; [0203]: “a rank indicator (RI)”, the number of layers could not exceed the max spatial streams supported by the UE);
‘when the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, a sum of the number of layer(s) of the first signal and the number of layer(s) of the second signal is not greater than the reference number of layer(s); or, when the first signal and the second signal carry a same TB, time-domain resources occupied by the first signal are orthogonal to time-domain resources occupied by the second signal; or, the first signal and the second signal carry different TBs, and time-frequency resources occupied by the first signal overlap with time-frequency resources occupied by the second signal’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the method implemented by the first node according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites the method implemented by the second node according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230067557 A1 see [FIG.4A]-[FIG.4B], [FIG.12]-[FIG.15], [0060]-[0063];
US 20200067628 A1 see [0007]-[0018];
US 20240260032 A1 see [FIG.1], [0041]-[0067];
US 20250141499 A1 see [0223]-[0289], [0315]-[0384];
US 20190182777 A1 see [FIG.5], [TABLE (1)], [TABLE (2)], [0070]-[0080];
US 20190342137 A1 see [FIG.2], [0165];
US 20220030519 A1 see [0162].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462