DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 08/22/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202311063523.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: AUTOMATIC POOL CLEANER HAVING A DETECTION MODULE INCLUDING A FLOATING UNIT AND A SENSING UNIT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Witelson et al (US 20240183183 A1) “hereinafter Witelson”.
Regarding claim 1, Witelson teaches an automatic pool cleaner (150) comprising: a housing defining a water inlet and a water outlet (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a filtering module (i.e. one filtering element located within the hydraulic path) configured to filter fluid from the water inlet to provide filtered fluid (via one pump motor) (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a detection module (10 & 18; Figure 1); wherein the detection module (10 & 18) comprises a floating unit (10) and a sensing unit (18, i.e. ultrasonic transducers) (Paragraph 0062; Figure 1); the floating unit (10) is moveable between a first and a second position (wherein the floating unit (10) includes a directional fin or rudder that may be moveable and motorized for controlled in-tandem navigation which moves the floating unit (10) between first and second positions; Paragraph 0101); wherein a first signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the first position; a second signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the second position (wherein the ultrasonic transducers (18) emit numerous signals between different distances at various positions in the pool; Paragraph 0115-0122).
Regarding claim 9, Witelson teaches wherein the floating unit (10) is located on front part of the automatic pool cleaner (150) (wherein the floating unit (10) is moveable to any location desired by the user; Paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 10, Witelson teaches wherein the floating unit (10) is located on top part of the automatic pool cleaner (150) (wherein the floating unit (10) is moveable to any location desired by the user; Paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 11, Witelson teaches an automatic pool cleaner (150), comprising: a housing (See Figure 8); a floating unit (10) that is moveable relative to the housing according to buoyancy (Paragraph 0065); and a sensing unit (18, i.e. ultrasonic transducer) configured to generate a signal responsive to a position of the floating unit (10) to determine whether the automatic pool cleaner (150) is out of waterline (Paragraphs 0005 & Paragraph 0115-0122).
Regarding claim 19, Witelson teaches further comprising a water pump module (i.e. pump motor), wherein the water pump module is configured to vary a characteristic of operation (via power supply control unit, 182) according to the signal generated by the sensing unit (18) (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 20, Witelson teaches further comprising a drive module (i.e. drive motor), wherein the drive module is configured to vary a characteristic of operation via power supply control unit, 182) according to the signal generated by the sensing unit (18) (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson et al (US 20240183183 A1) “hereinafter Witelson”.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 16 & 17, Witelson teaches the claimed invention including the floating unit being a buoyancy block (Paragraph 0063; Figures 12-14) except for wherein the sensing unit being a Hall sensor.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the sensing unit as a Hall sensor wherein the Hall sensor determines position and distance based on the changes in magnetic fields.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to utilize a Hall sensor of Witelson’s sensing unit for the purpose of being readily available. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (See MPEP 2183).
Regarding claims 8 & 18, Witelson teaches the claimed invention including the floating unit being a buoyancy block (Paragraph 0063; Figures 12-14) except for wherein the sensing unit is an optical position sensor.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the sensing unit as an optical position sensor wherein the optical position sensor determines position and distance based on the changes in electromagnetic light waves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to utilize an optical position sensor of Witelson’s sensing unit for the purpose of being readily available. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (See MPEP 2183).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 & 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the Examiner’s opinion regarding claims 2 & 12, Witelson teaches an automatic pool cleaner (150) comprising: a housing defining a water inlet and a water outlet (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a filtering module (i.e. one filtering element located within the hydraulic path) configured to filter fluid from the water inlet to provide filtered fluid (via one pump motor) (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a detection module (10 & 18; Figure 1); wherein the detection module (10 & 18) comprises a floating unit (10) and a sensing unit (18, i.e. ultrasonic transducers) (Paragraph 0062; Figure 1); the floating unit (10) is moveable between a first and a second position (wherein the floating unit (10) includes a directional fin or rudder that may be moveable and motorized for controlled in-tandem navigation which moves the floating unit (10) between first and second positions; Paragraph 0101); wherein a first signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the first position; a second signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the second position (wherein the ultrasonic transducers (18) emit numerous signals between different distances at various positions in the pool; Paragraph 0115-0122).
However, Witelson does not teach the structural limitations of the automatic pool cleaner comprises the detection module that includes the floating unit further comprising a buoyancy block and a slide rod where the buoyancy block is positioned on the slide rod and configured to slide on the slide rod according to buoyancy force where the stated limitations are neither anticipated by the prior art, nor are they suggested or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1 upon overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). The remaining claims are allowed due to their dependency.
In the Examiner’s opinion regarding claims 5 & 15, Witelson teaches an automatic pool cleaner (150) comprising: a housing defining a water inlet and a water outlet (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a filtering module (i.e. one filtering element located within the hydraulic path) configured to filter fluid from the water inlet to provide filtered fluid (via one pump motor) (Paragraph 0065; Figure 8); a detection module (10 & 18; Figure 1); wherein the detection module (10 & 18) comprises a floating unit (10) and a sensing unit (18, i.e. ultrasonic transducers) (Paragraph 0062; Figure 1); the floating unit (10) is moveable between a first and a second position (wherein the floating unit (10) includes a directional fin or rudder that may be moveable and motorized for controlled in-tandem navigation which moves the floating unit (10) between first and second positions; Paragraph 0101); wherein a first signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the first position; a second signal is outputted from the sensing unit (18) in case of the floating unit (10) in the second position (wherein the ultrasonic transducers (18) emit numerous signals between different distances at various positions in the pool; Paragraph 0115-0122).
However, Witelson does not teach the structural limitations of the automatic pool cleaner comprises the detection module that includes the floating unit further comprising a buoyancy block being rotationally connected to the housing where the buoyancy block is swung between the first and second positions based on a buoyancy force imposed on the buoyancy block including an angle sensor being configured to detect the swing angle of the buoyancy block and output the first or the second signal respectively where the stated limitations are neither anticipated by the prior art, nor are they suggested or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of dependent claims 5 & 15 and independent claim 11 upon overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al (US 12104400 B2) - The invention belongs to the technical fields of cleaning of swimming pools, and particularly relates to a cleaning robot for swimming pools.
Witelson et al (US 11619059 B2) - This invention relates to pool fluid analysis and fluid treatment devices.
Witelson et al (US 10300412 B2) – This invention relates to a pool cleaner that may include a drive mechanism for moving the pool cleaner; a housing that has a first fluid opening and a second fluid opening; a filtering unit that comprises a filter enclosure, a cleaning element and a filtering element; and a rotating mechanism that is configured to introduce a relative rotation between the cleaning element and the filtering element thereby causing the cleaning element to clean the filtering element.
Renaud et al (US 9677294 B2) - The present disclosure generally relates to apparatus for cleaning a pool. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the disclosure relate to wheel and wheel drive assemblies for an automatic pool cleaning apparatus.
LaCalle Bayo et al (US 20170114560 A1) - This invention refers to a floor and wall cleaner specially designed to be used in critical areas with difficult accessibility or restricted access, such as pools for housing a reactor vessel at a nuclear power station, in which human presence must be avoided as far as possible and, should this be necessary, this must be for the shortest possible time.
Erlich et al (US 9399877 B2) - This invention relates in general to apparatuses and methods for automatically cleaning swimming pools or other bodies of water with surfaces to be cleaned, and in particular, to a new and useful robotic apparatus for autonomously and cordlessly cleaning swimming pool surfaces.
Michelon (US 9250626 B2) - The invention features a remote control system for a motorized cleaning apparatus for underwater surfaces, such as a surface created by the walls of a pool, in particular, a swimming pool. The invention also features such a motorized apparatus including a remote control device.
Sumonthee (US 8869337 B2) - The present disclosure generally relates to apparatus for cleaning a pool. More particularly, exemplary embodiments of the disclosure relate to automatic pool cleaning apparatus with adjustable features that effect the navigation path of a pool cleaning device
Shlomi-Shlomi et al (US 20140076789 A1) - The present disclosure generally relates to a pool cleaning apparatus that may include a filter; a entrapment cell; a first impeller; a first pump motor arranged to rotate the first impeller; a driving unit arranged to move the pool cleaning robot; a structural element; and an external housing that comprises a first inlet and a first outlet; wherein the filter and the structural element define a first space that has a spiral portion; wherein the first impeller is arranged to rotate along a first rotational direction; wherein rotation of the first impeller along a first rotational direction causes fluid be drawn through the first inlet and to follow a spiral path within the first space during which a first portion of the fluid is filtered by the filter to provide filtered fluid that exits through the first outlet of the housing; and a second portion of the fluid follows the spiral path until entering the entrapment cell.
Sumonthee (US 7118632 B2) - The present invention relates to swimming pools and, more specifically, a method and device for cleaning the bottom and sides of swimming pools.
/J.L.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855