DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (USPAPN 2007/0216381) in view of Barbieri et al. (USPAPN 2010/0001890).
With respect to claim 1, Tsuchiya et al. discloses, in Fig. 6, a low dropout regulator (Fig. 6), comprising:
an amplifier (11), comprising a non-inverting input terminal (gate of Tr3), an inverting input terminal (gate of Tr2), an internal cascade node (node connected to the drains of Tr2 and T4, wherein Tr2 and T4 are connected in cascode) and an output terminal (node at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9);
a buffer circuit (12), comprising an input terminal (gate of Tr10) and an output terminal (source of Tr10), wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier (11 and 12 are connected as claimed), wherein the buffer circuit is a source follower structure (Tr10 has a source follower structure. Note, Tr10 is a PMOS transistor having its drain connected to ground, its source providing the output signal of the buffer 12 to the gate of Tr1 and its gate receiving the input signal of the buffer, see paragraph 0045. The 12 acts as a buffer and the source, i.e., output, terminal follows the input signal at the gate. Thus, Tr10/12 operates as a source follower and has a source follower structure);
an output circuit (Tr1 with r1 and R2), comprising an input terminal (gate of Tr1) and an output terminal (drain of Tr1), wherein the input terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (Tr1 and 12 are connected as claimed), and the output terminal of the output circuit is configured to output an output voltage (Vo);
a first compensation capacitor, coupled between the output terminal of the output circuit and the internal cascade node of the amplifier (C4), and configured to separate a first pole frequency in a Bode plot of the low dropout regulator from a power supply rejection ratio corner frequency of the low dropout regulator (a bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, C4 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the first pole); and
a second compensation capacitor (C3), coupled between the input terminal of the buffer circuit (gate of Tr10) and an input power source (Vi), and configured to separate a second pole frequency and a third pole frequency in the Bode plot of the low dropout regulator (again, the bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, C3 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the second and third pole frequencies. It is further noted that C3 and C4 are connected in essentially the same fashion as claimed and in the same fashion as Applicant’s claimed compensation capacitors. Thus, the compensation capacitors of Tsuchiya et al. operate as claimed),
wherein a conduction state between the second compensation capacitor and the input power source is independent of a buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit (C3 is directly connected to Vi and is not controlled responsive to the buffer output voltage of 12. Thus, the circuit is connected and operative as claimed), and
wherein the buffer circuit further comprises:
a first buffer current source (13), comprising a first terminal coupled to the input power source (terminal connected to Vi), and a second terminal served as the output terminal of the buffer circuit (terminal connected to source of TR10/gate of Tr1), wherein a current flowing through the first current source changes in response to a variation of the buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit (the current flowing through 13 changes responsive to the output voltage of the buffer as determined by the operation of Tr10); and
a second buffer transistor (Tr10), comprising a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first buffer transistor (source), a second terminal coupled to a ground (drain), and a gate terminal served as the input terminal of the buffer circuit (gate is the input of Tr10).
Tsuchiya et al. fails to disclose that the current source of the buffer is constructed from a transistor. Thus, Tsuchiya et al. fails to disclose:
a first buffer transistor, comprising a first terminal coupled to the input power source, and a second terminal served as the output terminal of the buffer circuit, wherein a current flowing through the first buffer transistor changes in response to a variation of the buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit; and
a second buffer transistor, comprising a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first buffer transistor, a second terminal coupled to a ground, and a gate terminal served as the input terminal of the buffer circuit.
However, Barbieri et al. discloses in Fig. 6, a specific source follower buffer comprising:
a first buffer transistor (MP2B), comprising a first terminal coupled to the input power source (source connected to VDD), and a second terminal served as the output terminal of the buffer circuit (drain at TOUT), wherein a current flowing through the first buffer transistor changes in response to a variation of the buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit (the current flowing through MP2B changes in response to variation in Vout); and
a second buffer transistor (MP1B), comprising a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first buffer transistor (source), a second terminal coupled to a ground (drain), and a gate terminal served as the input terminal of the buffer circuit (gate to VI).
The source follower buffer of Barbieri et al. is intended to replace a generic source follower buffer that is constructed in the same way as the source follower buffer of Tsuchiya et al. (see Fig. 5 of Barbieri et al.). Furthermore, the source follower buffer of Barbieri et al. compensates for the gate to source voltage drop of the input transistor of the source follower and is incentive to process, temperature and supply variations to ensure a high power supply rejection ratio (PSRR), see paragraph 0047.
It would have been obvious to replace the generic source follower buffer of Tsuchiya et al. with the specific source follower buffer of Fig. 6 of Barbieri et al. for the purpose of having a source follower buffer that compensates for the gate to source voltage drop of MP1B and is incentive to process, temperature and supply variations to ensure a high power supply rejection ratio (PSRR).
With respect to claim 2, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein the inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a reference voltage (e1), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a feedback voltage (Via R1 and R2), and the amplifier is configured to output a control voltage at the output terminal of the amplifier based on the reference voltage and the feedback voltage, so as to adjust the output voltage of the output circuit (the amplifier operates as claimed to generate the control voltage at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9).
With respect to claim 3, the low dropout regulator of claim 2, wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is configured to receive the control voltage (gate of Tr10 receives the voltages at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9), and the buffer circuit is configured to output the buffer voltage at the output terminal of the buffer circuit based on the control voltage (output voltage of Tr10 to the gate of Tr1).
With respect to claim 4, the low dropout regulator of claim 3, wherein the output circuit comprises a power transistor (Tr1), a control terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (gate of Tr1 connected as claimed), a first terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the input power source (source of Tr1 connected to Vi), and a second terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the output circuit (drain of Tr1 connected to Vo).
With respect to claim 5, the low dropout regulator of claim 4, wherein the control terminal of the power transistor is configured to receive the buffer voltage (gate of Tr1 receivers the output voltage of 12).
With respect to claim 6, the low dropout regulator of claim 4, wherein the output circuit further comprises a voltage divider circuit (R1 with R2) , the voltage divider circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the power transistor (R1 connected to the drain of Tr1), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier (node between R1 and R2 connected to gate of Tr3) and the ground (R2 connected to GND), and configured to output the feedback voltage to the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier based on the output voltage (voltage output from R1 and R2 to the gate of Tr3).
With respect to claim 7, the low dropout regulator of claim 6, wherein the voltage divider circuit comprises a first divider resistor (R1) and a second divider resistor (R2), the first divider resistor is coupled between the second terminal of the power transistor and a first node (R1 connected as claimed), the second divider resistor is coupled between the first node and the ground (R2 connected as claimed), and the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is coupled to the first node (gate of Tr3 connected as claimed).
With respect to claim 8, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein the first pole frequency in the Bode plot is related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor, and the second pole frequency in the Bode plot is related to the capacitance of the second compensation capacitor (the poles are set according to the capacitances as claimed).
With respect to claim 9, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein in the Bode plot, the first pole frequency is lower than the second pole frequency (C4 is set for high frequencies see para 0048 and C3 is set for low frequencies, i.e., lower than high frequencies, see para 0065).
Claims 19-20 merely recite the method of constructing/operating the circuit of as recited in claims 1 and 9. Claims 19-20 are rejected for essentially the same reasons as claims 1 and 9.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua et al. (USPAPN 2016/0266591) in view of Barbieri et al. (USPAPN 2010/0001890).
With respect to claim 10, a low dropout regulator (Fig. 3, operational details disclosed in Figs. 4-6), comprising:
an amplifier (302 with 304 and current mirror connected to 304), comprising a non-inverting input terminal (gate of transistor of 302 that is connected to VFB), an inverting input terminal (gate of transistor of 302 that is connected to VREF), an internal cascade node (N1) and an output terminal (VHIZ terminal);
a buffer circuit (204), comprising an input terminal (input connected to VHIZ) and an output terminal (output connected to 216), wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier (at the VHIZ terminal);
an output circuit (M1 with R1 and R2), comprising an input terminal (gate of M1) and an output terminal (drain of M1), wherein the input terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (at 216), and the output terminal of the output circuit is configured to output an output voltage (VOUT);
a first compensation capacitor (CC1), coupled between the output terminal of the output circuit (drain of M1) and the internal cascade node of the amplifier (N1), and configured to separate a first pole frequency in a Bode plot of the low dropout regulator from a power supply rejection ratio corner frequency of the low dropout regulator (a bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, CC1 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the first pole, see 0 to P1 of the bode plots of Figs. 4 and 5); and
a second compensation capacitor (CC2), coupled between the input terminal (VHIZ terminal) and the output terminal of the buffer circuit (via the gate to drain connection of M2), and configured to separate a second pole frequency and a third pole frequency in the Bode plot of the low dropout regulator (again, the bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, CC2 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the second and third pole frequencies, see P2 to P3 of the bode plots of Figs. 4 and 5).
Hua et al. fails to disclose the specifics of how the buffer 204 is constructed. Thus, Hua et al. fails to disclose “wherein the buffer circuit is a source follower structure” and “wherein the buffer circuit comprises
a first buffer transistor, comprising a first terminal coupled to the input power source, and a second terminal served as the output terminal of the buffer circuit, wherein a current flowing through the first buffer transistor changes in response to a variation of the buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit; and
a second buffer transistor, comprising a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first buffer transistor, a second terminal coupled to a ground, and a gate terminal served as the input terminal of the buffer circuit.”
However, Barbieri et al. discloses in Fig. 6, a specific source follower buffer comprising:
a first buffer transistor (MP2B), comprising a first terminal coupled to the input power source (source connected to VDD), and a second terminal served as the output terminal of the buffer circuit (drain at TOUT), wherein a current flowing through the first buffer transistor changes in response to a variation of the buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit (the current flowing through MP2B changes in response to variation in Vout); and
a second buffer transistor (MP1B), comprising a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first buffer transistor (source), a second terminal coupled to a ground (drain), and a gate terminal served as the input terminal of the buffer circuit (gate to VI).
The source follower buffer of Barbieri et al. is intended to replace a generic source follower buffer that is constructed in the same way as the source follower buffer of Tsuchiya et al. (see Fig. 5 of Barbieri et al.). Furthermore, the source follower buffer of Barbieri et al. compensates for the gate to source voltage drop of MP1B and is incentive to process, temperature and supply variations to ensure a high power supply rejection ratio (PSRR), see paragraph 0047.
It would have been obvious to replace the generic buffer of Hua et al. with the specific source follower buffer of Fig. 6 of Barbieri et al. for the purpose of having a source follower buffer that compensates for the gate to source voltage drop input transistor of the source follower and is incentive to process, temperature and supply variations to ensure a high power supply rejection ratio (PSRR).
With respect to claim 11, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein the inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a reference voltage (VREF), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a feedback voltage (VFB), and the amplifier is configured to output a control voltage at the output terminal of the amplifier based on the reference voltage and the feedback voltage, so as to adjust the output voltage of the output circuit (VHIZ is generated at the VHIZ terminal as recited).
With respect to claim 12, the low dropout regulator of claim 11, wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is configured to receive the control voltage (input of 204 receiving VHIZ), and the buffer circuit is configured to output a buffer voltage at the output terminal of the buffer circuit based on the control voltage (VGATE).
With respect to claim 13, the low dropout regulator of claim 12, wherein the output circuit comprises a power transistor (MOSFET M1), a control terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (gate terminal), a first terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the input power source (source terminal), and a second terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the output circuit (drain terminal).
With respect to claim 14, the low dropout regulator of claim 13, wherein the control terminal of the power transistor is configured to receive the buffer voltage (gate of M1 receives VGATE).
With respect to claim 15, the low dropout regulator of claim 13, wherein the output circuit further comprises a voltage divider circuit (R1 and R2), the voltage divider circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the power transistor (drain), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier (VFB via 202) and the ground (ground at R2), and configured to output the feedback voltage to the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier based on the output voltage (VFB is generated as claimed).
With respect to claim 16, the low dropout regulator of claim 15, wherein the voltage divider circuit comprises a first divider resistor (R1) and a second divider resistor (R2), the first divider resistor is coupled between the second terminal of the power transistor (Drain) and a first node (VFB node), the second divider resistor is coupled between the first node (VFB node) and the ground (ground), and the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is coupled to the first node (gate is connected to the VFB node).
With respect to claim 17, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein the first pole frequency in the Bode plot is negatively related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor, and the second pole frequency in the Bode plot is positively related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor (first pole frequency the bode plot is negatively related to the capacitance of CC1 and the second pole is positively related to the capacitance of CC1 due to the pole splitting provided by CC1, see paragraphs 0030 and 0039) and the and negatively related to the capacitance of the second compensation capacitor (the second pole is negatively related to capacitance of CC2 due to the zero setting of CC2, to suppress the gain peaking of P2, see paragraphs 0039 and 0040).
With respect to claim 18, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein in the Bode plot, the first pole frequency is lower than the second pole frequency (f1 of P1 of Figs. 4 and 5 is lower than f2 of P2 of Figs. 4 and 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J. HILTUNEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836