DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. (USPAPN 2007/0216381).
With respect to claim 1, Tsuchiya et al. discloses, in Fig. 6, a low dropout regulator (Fig. 6), comprising:
an amplifier (11), comprising a non-inverting input terminal (gate of Tr3), an inverting input terminal (gate of Tr2), an internal cascade node (node connected to the drains of Tr2 and T4, wherein Tr2 and T4 are connected in cascode) and an output terminal (node at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9);
a buffer circuit (12), comprising an input terminal (gate of Tr10) and an output terminal (source of Tr10), wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier (11 and 12 are connected as claimed), wherein the buffer circuit is a source follower structure (Tr10 has a source follower structure. Note, Tr10 is a PMOS transistor having its drain connected to ground, its source providing the output signal of the buffer 12 to the gate of Tr1 and its gate receiving the input signal of the buffer, see paragraph 0045. The 12 acts as a buffer and the source, i.e., output, terminal follows the input signal at the gate. Thus, Tr10/12 operates as a source follower and has a source follower structure);
an output circuit (Tr1 with r1 and R2), comprising an input terminal (gate of Tr1) and an output terminal (drain of Tr1), wherein the input terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (Tr1 and 12 are connected as claimed), and the output terminal of the output circuit is configured to output an output voltage (Vo);
a first compensation capacitor, coupled between the output terminal of the output circuit and the internal cascade node of the amplifier (C4), and configured to separate a first pole frequency in a Bode plot of the low dropout regulator from a power supply rejection ratio corner frequency of the low dropout regulator (a bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, C4 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the first pole); and
a second compensation capacitor (C3), coupled between the input terminal of the buffer circuit (gate of Tr10) and an input power source (Vi), and configured to separate a second pole frequency and a third pole frequency in the Bode plot of the low dropout regulator (again, the bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, C3 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the second and third pole frequencies. It is further noted that C3 and C4 are connected in essentially the same fashion as claimed and in the same fashion as Applicant’s claimed compensation capacitors. Thus, the compensation capacitors of Tsuchiya et al. operate as claimed),
wherein a conduction state between the second compensation capacitor and the input power source is independent of a buffer voltage output by the buffer circuit (C3 is directly connected to Vi and is not controlled responsive to the buffer output voltage of 12. Thus, the circuit is connected and operative as claimed).
With respect to claim 2, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein the inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a reference voltage (e1), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a feedback voltage (Via R1 and R2), and the amplifier is configured to output a control voltage at the output terminal of the amplifier based on the reference voltage and the feedback voltage, so as to adjust the output voltage of the output circuit (the amplifier operates as claimed to generate the control voltage at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9).
With respect to claim 3, the low dropout regulator of claim 2, wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is configured to receive the control voltage (gate of Tr10 receives the voltages at the drains of Tr7 and Tr9), and the buffer circuit is configured to output the buffer voltage at the output terminal of the buffer circuit based on the control voltage (output voltage of Tr10 to the gate of Tr1).
With respect to claim 4, the low dropout regulator of claim 3, wherein the output circuit comprises a power transistor (Tr1), a control terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (gate of Tr1 connected as claimed), a first terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the input power source (source of Tr1 connected to Vi), and a second terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the output circuit (drain of Tr1 connected to Vo).
With respect to claim 5, the low dropout regulator of claim 4, wherein the control terminal of the power transistor is configured to receive the buffer voltage (gate of Tr1 receivers the output voltage of 12).
With respect to claim 6, the low dropout regulator of claim 4, wherein the output circuit further comprises a voltage divider circuit (R1 with R2) , the voltage divider circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the power transistor (R1 connected to the drain of Tr1), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier (node between R1 and R2 connected to gate of Tr3) and a ground (R2 connected to GND), and configured to output the feedback voltage to the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier based on the output voltage (voltage output from R1 and R2 to the gate of Tr3).
With respect to claim 7, the low dropout regulator of claim 6, wherein the voltage divider circuit comprises a first divider resistor (R1) and a second divider resistor (R2), the first divider resistor is coupled between the second terminal of the power transistor and a first node (R1 connected as claimed), the second divider resistor is coupled between the first node and the ground (R2 connected as claimed), and the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is coupled to the first node (gate of Tr3 connected as claimed).
With respect to claim 8, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein the first pole frequency in the Bode plot is related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor, and the second pole frequency in the Bode plot is related to the capacitance of the second compensation capacitor (the poles are set according to the capacitances as claimed).
With respect to claim 9, the low dropout regulator of claim 1, wherein in the Bode plot, the first pole frequency is lower than the second pole frequency (C4 is set for high frequencies see para 0048 and C3 is set for low frequencies, i.e., lower than high frequencies, see para 0065).
Claims 19-20 merely recite the method of constructing/operating the circuit of as recited in claims 1 and 9. Claims 19-20 are rejected for essentially the same reasons as claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua et al. (USPAPN 2016/0266591) in view of Tsuchiya et al. (USPAPN 2007/0216381).
With respect to claim 10, a low dropout regulator (Fig. 3, operational details disclosed in Figs. 4-6), comprising:
an amplifier (302 with 304 and current mirror connected to 304), comprising a non-inverting input terminal (gate of transistor of 302 that is connected to VFB), an inverting input terminal (gate of transistor of 302 that is connected to VREF), an internal cascade node (N1) and an output terminal (VHIZ terminal);
a buffer circuit (204), comprising an input terminal (input connected to VHIZ) and an output terminal (output connected to 216), wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier (at the VHIZ terminal);
an output circuit (M1 with R1 and R2), comprising an input terminal (gate of M1) and an output terminal (drain of M1), wherein the input terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (at 216), and the output terminal of the output circuit is configured to output an output voltage (VOUT);
a first compensation capacitor (CC1), coupled between the output terminal of the output circuit (drain of M1) and the internal cascade node of the amplifier (N1), and configured to separate a first pole frequency in a Bode plot of the low dropout regulator from a power supply rejection ratio corner frequency of the low dropout regulator (a bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, CC1 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the first pole, see 0 to P1 of the bode plots of Figs. 4 and 5); and
a second compensation capacitor (CC2), coupled between the input terminal (VHIZ terminal) and the output terminal of the buffer circuit (via the gate to drain connection of M2), and configured to separate a second pole frequency and a third pole frequency in the Bode plot of the low dropout regulator (again, the bode plot of the low dropout regulator is merely a graphical representation of the low dropout regulator and not part of the low dropout regulator. Thus, the bode plot is merely a function limitation of the connections and operations of the circuitry. Additionally, CC2 is connected as claimed and provides for such a separation of the second and third pole frequencies, see P2 to P3 of the bode plots of Figs. 4 and 5).
Hua et al. fails to disclose the specifics of how the buffer 204 is constructed. Thus, Hua et al. fails to disclose “wherein the buffer circuit is a source follower structure”. Nevertheless, it is old and well-known to construct a buffer of a voltage regulator (such as 204 of Hua et al.) with a buffer having a source follower structure. Such an old and well-known buffer is evidenced in Fig. 6 of Tsuchiya et al. which discloses:
a buffer circuit (12) for a voltage regulator (Fig. 6), comprising an input terminal (gate of Tr10) and an output terminal (source of Tr10), wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier (11 and 12 are connected as claimed), wherein the buffer circuit is a source follower structure (Tr10 has a source follower structure. Note, Tr10 is a PMOS transistor having its drain connected to ground, its source providing the output signal of the buffer 12 to the gate of Tr1 and its gate receiving the input signal of the buffer, see paragraph 0045. The 12 acts as a buffer and the source, i.e., output, terminal follows the input signal at the gate. Thus, Tr10/12 operates as a source follower and has a source follower structure).
The buffer of Tsuchiya et al. is a simply constructed buffer (i.e., requiring only one transistor and one current source) capable of providing the required buffering operation within a regulator circuit.
It would have been obvious to replace the generic buffer of 204 of Hua et al. with the specific buffer of 12 (i.e., 13 with Tr10) of Fig. 6 of Tsuchiya et al. for the purpose of having a simply constructed buffer circuit that is capable of performing the required buffering operation of 204 of Hua et al.
With respect to claim 11, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein the inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a reference voltage (VREF), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is configured to receive a feedback voltage (VFB), and the amplifier is configured to output a control voltage at the output terminal of the amplifier based on the reference voltage and the feedback voltage, so as to adjust the output voltage of the output circuit (VHIZ is generated at the VHIZ terminal as recited).
With respect to claim 12, the low dropout regulator of claim 11, wherein the input terminal of the buffer circuit is configured to receive the control voltage (input of 204 receiving VHIZ), and the buffer circuit is configured to output a buffer voltage at the output terminal of the buffer circuit based on the control voltage (VGATE).
With respect to claim 13, the low dropout regulator of claim 12, wherein the output circuit comprises a power transistor (MOSFET M1), a control terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the buffer circuit (gate terminal), a first terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the input power source (source terminal), and a second terminal of the power transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the output circuit (drain terminal).
With respect to claim 14, the low dropout regulator of claim 13, wherein the control terminal of the power transistor is configured to receive the buffer voltage (gate of M1 receives VGATE).
With respect to claim 15, the low dropout regulator of claim 13, wherein the output circuit further comprises a voltage divider circuit (R1 and R2), the voltage divider circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the power transistor (drain), the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier (VFB via 202) and a ground (ground at R2), and configured to output the feedback voltage to the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier based on the output voltage (VFB is generated as claimed).
With respect to claim 16, the low dropout regulator of claim 15, wherein the voltage divider circuit comprises a first divider resistor (R1) and a second divider resistor (R2), the first divider resistor is coupled between the second terminal of the power transistor (Drain) and a first node (VFB node), the second divider resistor is coupled between the first node (VFB node) and the ground (ground), and the non-inverting input terminal of the amplifier is coupled to the first node (gate is connected to the VFB node).
With respect to claim 17, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein the first pole frequency in the Bode plot is negatively related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor, and the second pole frequency in the Bode plot is positively related to the capacitance of the first compensation capacitor (first pole frequency the bode plot is negatively related to the capacitance of CC1 and the second pole is positively related to the capacitance of CC1 due to the pole splitting provided by CC1, see paragraphs 0030 and 0039) and the and negatively related to the capacitance of the second compensation capacitor (the second pole is negatively related to capacitance of CC2 due to the zero setting of CC2, to suppress the gain peaking of P2, see paragraphs 0039 and 0040).
With respect to claim 18, the low dropout regulator of claim 10, wherein in the Bode plot, the first pole frequency is lower than the second pole frequency (f1 of P1 of Figs. 4 and 5 is lower than f2 of P2 of Figs. 4 and 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument that the transistor Tr10 of Tsuchiya et al. is a common-source configuration and cannot be interpreted as a source follower is not persuasive. This is because Tr10 is constructed to operate as a source follower buffer. Tr10 is a PMOS transistor having a drain connected to ground and a source connected to the output terminal of the buffer (i.e., at 13 and the gate of Tr1), see paragraph 0045. This is consistent with the operation of a source follower transistor. Furthermore, Tr10 is connected in essentially the same way as M2 of Applicant’s drawing of Fig. 1 (note M1 of Applicant’s Fig. 1 merely operates as a current source similar to 13 of Tsuchiya et al.). If M2 of Applicant’s Fig. 1 operates as a source follower, then Tr10 must operate as a source follower. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is further noted that the buffer of Tsuchiya et al. operates as a source follower for the reasons discussed above.
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fig. 16 of Horan et al. (USPN 8,272,023) discloses a circuit is connected in the same way as 12 of Tsuchiya et al. that operates as source follower.
Fig. 1B of Zhang et al. (USPN 9,753,474) discloses a PMOS source follower buffer that includes a compensation transistor connected directly between the source and gate terminals of the PMOS transistors.
Figs. 15a-15d of Kimura (USPAPN 2006/0208977) discloses well-known buffers constructed as source followers.
Fig. 2 of Rai et al. (USPN 12,405,623) discloses a regulator having a folded cascode/cascade amplifier with a compensation capacitor (CC) connected to a node of the folded cascode amplifier and a generic buffer (120) for driving the gate and the output transistor of the regulator.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J. HILTUNEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836