DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I and species 2 as shown in FIG. 3, which encompasses claims 1-9, without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged, claims 10-19 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected Species and claims 1-9 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baran (US20210396995) in view of Jen et al. (US20130183540) and Jang et al. (US20200025893).
Regarding claim 1, Baran teaches a micro-galvanometer (Baran, figs. 1-5B, abstract, a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) scanner) comprising:
a reflecting part (figs. 1-5B, mirror 106, 206) comprising a substrate (see paragraph [0026] mirror by via a layer of silicon film);
at least two supporting parts (see Baran, figs. 2-5B, as described in paragraph [0028] actuator 210(1)-(4) has been referred to as at least two supporting parts) surrounding the reflecting part (Baran, fig. 2, mirror 206), each of the at least two supporting parts comprising a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (see annotated image, fig. 2, first end and a second end opposite to the first end), wherein the first end is movably (because 214) connected to the reflecting part (mirror 206); and
a fixing part (see figs. 2-5B, and see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, fixing part, frame 212+ 216) surrounding the at least two supporting parts (210), the fixing part connected to the second end of each of the at least two supporting parts (see Baran, fig. 5A-5B, and see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, the fixing part 216 (1)-(2) connected to the second end of each of the at least two supporting parts), wherein the at least two supporting parts (210) is configured to drive the reflecting part (206) to swing/rotate (paragraph [0030] “During operation, first drive signals may be provided to the cause the first actuator 210(1) and the second actuator 210(2) to actuate (e.g., change shape) in unison thereby inducing a moment of force upon each of the first torsional beam flexure 214(1) and the second torsional beam flexure 214(2)”) relative to the fixing part (paragraph [0028] “third actuator 210(3) that extends from the frame structure 212 to the first torsional beam flexure 214(1)”).
Although Baran teaches the reflecting part (mirror 206) comprising the substrate ( the layer of silicon film), but Baran does not explicitly disclose wherein a metasurface layer on a side of the substrate, the metasurface layer comprising a substrate layer and a plurality of nanopillars, the substrate layer being between the plurality of nanopillars and the substrate, the metasurface layer configured to receive and reflect first light, and the plurality of nanopillars configured to reflect a portion of the first light to emit sub-reflected light, beams of the sub-reflected light being combined to be reflected light comprising the sub-reflected light having different phases.
However, Jen teaches the analogous reflecting part (see Jen, fig. 1 and fig. 3f, abstract, disclosed herein describes a SERS sensing substrate comprising upright metal nanostructures), and further teaches
wherein a metasurface layer (Jen, fig. 3f, “metal nanopillar 318/metal nanopillar 319/periodical structures of seed layer 320” has been referred to as a metasurface layer; paragraph [0032] “metal nanopillar 318/metal nanopillar 319/periodical structures of seed layer 320”) on a side of the substrate (Jen, fig. 3f, substrate 321), the metasurface layer comprising a substrate layer (fig. 3f, the periodical structures of seed layer 320) and a plurality of nanopillars (the metal nanopillar 318/metal nanopillar 319), the substrate layer (the seed layer 320) being between the plurality of nanopillars (metal nanopillar 318/metal nanopillar 319) and the substrate (the 321), the metasurface layer (metal nanopillar 318/metal nanopillar 319/periodical structures of seed layer 320) configured to receive and reflect first light (see paragraph [0038] irradiation source has been referred to as first light; paragraph [0038] “The Raman instrumentation embodied by above methodology includes (a) irradiation source”).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Baran to have the specific metasurface layer as taught by Jen for the purpose to use the metallic nanopillar structure's localized electric field strength can effectively enhance the Raman signals (Jen, paragraph [0010]).
But Baran in view of Jen does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of nanopillars configured to reflect a portion of the first light to emit sub-reflected light, beams of the sub-reflected light being combined to be reflected light comprising the sub-reflected light having different phases.
However, Jang teaches the analogous plurality of nanopillars (Jang, fig. 2, plurality of nanopillars 10; paragraph [0002] “steering a laser beam using a metasurface including a nanopillar”), and further teaches
wherein the plurality of nanopillars (see Jang, fig. 2, plurality of nanopillars 10) configured to reflect a portion of the first light to emit sub-reflected light (see Jang, fig. 2, paragraph [0103] “a light source unit 120 configured to emit a laser beam” has been referred to as first light, see paragraph [0126] “the nanopillars 10 and the second reflection unit 140 are illustrated as being in contact with each other”; paragraph [0130] “the nanopillars 10 may be formed of metals”; thus, the plurality of nanopillars 10 configured to reflect a portion of the first light 120 to emit sub-reflected light), beams of the sub-reflected light being combined to be reflected light comprising the sub-reflected light having different phases (see paragraph [0096] “The beam steering unit 200 may adjust a phase of a laser beam emitted from the laser emitting unit 100 to refract the laser beam”; paragraph [0133] “The nanopillars 10 may form nanopatterns on the basis of various attributes. The attributes may include a width W, a pitch P, a height H, and a number per unit length of the nanopillars 10”; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that varying the dimensions of the disclosed dielectric structures changes the optical path length experienced by transmitted light, thereby changing the optical phase. This relationship is a well-known principle of wave optics and would have been recognized as an expected result of the disclosed geometry; thus, the plurality of nanopillars 10 configured to reflect a portion of the light source 120 to emit sub-reflected light 140, beams of the sub-reflected light being combined to be reflected light comprising the sub-reflected light having different phases).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of nanopillars of Baran in view of Jen to have the specific structure of the plurality of nanopillars as taught by Jang for the purpose to be employed in a compact light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device using a vertical- cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) to steer a laser beam and obtain information regarding the distance to an obstacle, thereby reducing the size of the LiDAR device (Jang, paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Baran further teaches wherein the at least two supporting parts (Baran, figs. 2-5B, the 210(1)-(4)) are further configured to drive the reflecting part (mirror 113) to periodically oscillate relative to the fixing part (see Baran, paragraph [0030] “The first and second drive signals may be applied at different moments in time on a periodic basis to cause the scanning mirror 206 to oscillate back and forth about the rotational axis 218”).
Regarding claim 3, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Jen further teaches wherein the plurality of nanopillars is made of metal, piezoelectric material, or electro-optic material (Jang, as described in paragraph [0010], to use the metallic nanopillar structure's localized electric field strength).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Baran to have the specific metasurface layer as taught by Jen for the purpose to use the metallic nanopillar structure's localized electric field strength can effectively enhance the Raman signals (Jen, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Jang further teaches wherein the plurality of nanopillars is randomly distributed on the substrate layer (see Jang, paragraph [0098] “plurality of nanopillars 10 may form various nanopatterns on the laser emitting unit 100”; see figs. 1-15, Jang teaches wherein the plurality of nanopillars is 10 randomly distributed on the substrate layer 140).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of nanopillars of Baran in view of Jen to have the specific of the plurality of nanopillars is randomly distributed on the substrate layer as taught by Jang for the purpose to be employed in a compact light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device using a vertical- cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) to steer a laser beam and obtain information regarding the distance to an obstacle, thereby reducing the size of the LiDAR device (Jang, paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 5, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Jang further teaches wherein the plurality of nanopillars has different sizes and different shapes (Jang, paragraph [0098] “plurality of nanopillars 10 may form various nanopatterns on the laser emitting unit 100”; paragraph [0200] “the shapes of the nanopillars 10 included in the plurality of beam steering cells 210 may be different from each other”; see figs. 1-15, Jang teaches wherein the plurality of nanopillars 10 has different sizes and different shapes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of nanopillars of Baran in view of Jen to have the specific structure of the plurality of nanopillars as taught by Jang for the purpose to be employed in a compact light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device using a vertical- cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) to steer a laser beam and obtain information regarding the distance to an obstacle, thereby reducing the size of the LiDAR device (Jang, paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 6, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Baran further teaches wherein the fixing part defines a containment hole (see Baran, figs. 2-5B, and see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, the fixing part is a frame) configured to receive the at least two supporting parts, the at least two supporting parts supports the reflecting part within the containment hole (see Baran, figs. 2-5B, as described in paragraph [0028]-[0031] “an actuator 210 that is mechanically coupled to the frame structure 212 to the actuator tip 302 and that lies directly along the middle of the actuator 210”; thus, the fixing part configured to receive the at least two supporting parts, the at least two supporting parts supports the reflecting part 206 within the containment hole).
Regarding claim 7, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Baran further teaches wherein each of the at least two supporting parts comprises a connecting shaft (see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, and Baran, fig. 3, connecting shaft 218, and a driving arm (Baran, figs.2-5B, 300(1-4); paragraph [0031] “individual ones of the actuators 210 have an arm midline 300”) connecting to the connecting shaft (218); one end of the driving arm is fixedly connected to the fixing part (see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, and see Baran, figs. 2-5B, one end of the driving arm 300 (1) is fixedly connected to the fixing part 216 (2)), and another end of the driving arms is fixedly connected to the connecting shaft (see Baran, figs.2-5B, another end of the driving arms 300 (1) is fixedly connected to the connecting shaft 218); an end of the connecting shaft (218) away from the driving arm (300(1)) is fixedly connected to the reflecting part (see annotated image, Baran, fig. 2, and see Baran, fig. 3, having an end of the connecting shaft 218 away from the driving arm 300 (1) is fixedly connected to the reflecting par 206).
Regarding claim 9, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Baran further teaches wherein the reflecting part (Baran, figs.2-5B, mirror 206) is driven to swing/rotate (paragraph [0029] “the MEMS scanner 200 is capable of inducing angular rotation into the scanning mirror 206”) relative to the fixing part (see Baran, as described in paragraph [0031] “actuator 210 that is mechanically coupled to the frame structure 212”) by an electrostatic driving method, an electromagnetic driving method, a piezoelectric driving method, or a thermoelectric driving method (see Baran, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0036]; “activation of a piezoelectric film causes mechanical stress at a surface of an actuator plate”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baran (US20210396995) in view of Jen et al. (US20130183540) and Jang et al. (US20200025893), and further in view of Van Lierop et al. (US20140300942).
Regarding claim 8, combination Baran-Jen-Jang discloses the invention as described in Claim 7 and Baran further teaches wherein the at least two supporting parts (218) comprises a first connecting shaft (see Baran, fig. 2, 218) extending along a first direction (the axis of 218 direction), but Baran does not explicitly disclose wherein a second connecting shaft extending along a second direction, the first direction intersects with the second direction.
However, Van Lierop teaches the analogous micro-galvanometer (Van Lierop, paragraph [0002] “The technical field of this disclosure is Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS), particularly, MEMS scanning micromirrors”), and further teaches
wherein the at least two supporting parts (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, abstract, cantilever beam assembly 70 has been referred to as at least two supporting parts; see Van Lierop, abstract, “The MEMS micromirror 30 further includes at least one cantilever beam assembly 70 having a longitudinal direction and extending within said plane”) comprises a first connecting shaft (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, support beams 40 has been referred to as a first connecting shaft) extending along a first direction (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, y-axis of direction) and a second connecting shaft (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, relief means 74 has been referred to as a second connecting shaft) extending along a second direction (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, x-axis direction), the first direction (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, y-axis of direction) intersects with the second direction (see Van Lierop, fig. 2A, x-axis of direction).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Baran to have the specific shaft as taught by Van Lierop for the purpose of avoiding high tensile stresses of the cantilever beams, while avoiding an increase in the rotational inertia of the mirror body (Van Lierop, paragraph [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yamada US20230314847 teaches features of instant invention, such as a metasurface layer comprising a substrate layer and a plurality of nanopillars (see Figs. 7-9 and their descriptions), and Sprague et al. US20050253055 teaches features of instant invention, such as at least two supporting parts surrounding a reflecting par (see Figs.1-10 and their descriptions).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872