DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed 29 Jan 2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Double Patenting rejections of 31 Jul 2025 have been withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer filed on 29 Jan 2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed 29 Jan 2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of 31 Jul 2025 has been withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 8-9, filed 29 Jan 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of 31 Jul 2025 has been withdrawn in view of the amended claims
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 9-17, filed 29 Jan 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C.103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-2 4, 8-12, 14-16, and 19, Applicant first argues, see pg. 12-13, that “Capacitive micromachine ultrasonic transducers or CMUTs (as described by Rothberg, e.g., in Paragraphs [0045], [0053] and [0054]) and piezoelectric crystals (as recited in the claims herein) are manufactured differently and work in very dissimilar ways. For example, as described in Paragraph [0054] of Rothberg's specification, CMUTs are generally manufactured and intended to work in arrays comprising predetermined number transducer elements. Conversely, piezoelectric crystals are generally not structured in arrays. Instead, piezoelectric crystals are manufactured and intended to be used as individual components.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner relied on Moaddeb for disclosing the claimed piezoelectric crystal, not Rothberg. See the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in the Non-Final Office Action of 31 Jul 2025 as well as that presented below.
Applicant secondly argues, see pg. 13-14, that “Van Heesch, however, fails to disclose, teach or suggest that individual devices, i.e., probes 32, may be synchronized with one another for the purpose of establishing a synchronous comparison of ascertained blood data”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A broadest reasonable interpretation has been given to the plurality of devices being synchronized with one another includes the plurality of devices operating simultaneously. As Applicant even acknowledged, Van Heesh explicitly discloses in [0090] that its probes are configured so that “multiple flow measurements can be taken simultaneously at specific locations … when flow is measured at multiple locations, multiple pressure values, BP1 compared with BP2 and with BP3 (as shown in Fig 8), can be discriminated based on the ratios between flows, using the lines 401, 10 and 402, according to a simple algorithm”. Thus, Van Heesh indeed discloses its probes synchronized with one another, or operating simultaneously, to acquire blood flow measurements at different parts of a body to provide a synchronous comparison of the acquired blood flow measurements in Fig. 8 and [0090].
Applicant thirdly argues, see pg. 14-15, that “Rothberg and Moaddeb are also absent any disclosure, teaching or suggestion that multiple devices (i.e., multiple apparatuses 100 as disclosed by Rothberg or multiple wearable devices as disclosed by Moaddeb) may be placed in different parts of the body … (that they) would need a significant redesign in order to be placed in other parts of the body, for example, the chest area, the neck area, and the abdomen area, the upper leg area, etc. Therefore, the foregoing deficiencies in the Moaddeb and Rothberg references teach away from a device that can be placed in different parts of the body as contemplated by the invention recited in independent claims 1 and 22.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is first reminded that neither claim 1 nor 22 specify “different parts of a body” to be “the chest area, the neck area, and the abdomen area, the upper leg area, etc.”, as Applicant argues. In fact, a review of the original specification of the instant application does not define “different parts of a body” to be “the chest area, the neck area, and the abdomen area, the upper leg area, etc.”, and the original specification does not even disclose “the chest” nor “the abdomen”. Additionally, the instant application discloses that “different parts of a body” includes a user’s wrist (see [0049] of the original specification of the instant application). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that two arms, for example, are “different parts of a body” and providing two wrist-worn devices of Rothberg and Moaddeb would not require “a significant redesign to teach away” from measuring blood flow at two different wrists. Applicant may consider specifying “different parts of a body” in the independent claims in view of the original specification of the instant application to overcome Rothberg and Moaddeb. See the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to claims 1 and 22 below.
Regarding dependent claims 3, 5-7, 13, 17-18, and 20-21, Applicant argues, see pg. 15-17, that Bashan, Hageman, Zhao, nor Kim “fails to account for the foregoing-noted deficiencies (in Section 5(b) above) as to the Van Heesh, Rothberg and Moaddeb references”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees at least for the reasons explained above for at least independent claim 1 above in view of Van Heesh, Rotberg, and Moaddeb. See the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-22 are currently under examination. Claim 4 has been cancelled and claim 22 has been newly added since the Non-Final Office Action of 31 Jul 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the the electronic signal” should read “the electronic signal” (claim 19);
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the third housing is adapted to removably couple to the first housing” twice.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “receiving and converting the ultrasonic wave into the the electronic signal”. The antecedent basis for “the ultrasonic wave” in the limitation is unclear. In particular, claim 1, to which claim 19 depends, recites that “the ultrasonic wave” is transmitted into the body of the user and the limitation in claim 19 recites that it is somehow received and converted transmitted ultrasonic wave into the electronic signal. Claim 20 inherits the deficiency by the nature of its dependency on claim 19. For purposes of the examination, the limitation is being given a broadest reasonable interpretation as “receiving and converting the return ultrasonic wave into the electronic signal”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the electric signal transmitted to the app on the computer device includes …” The antecedent basis for “the electric signal” in the limitation is unclear. In particular, claim 19, to which claim 20 depends, recites “transmitting the electronic signal to an app on the computer device”, not “the electric signal”. For purposes of the examination, the limitation is being given a broadest reasonable interpretation as “wherein the electronic signal transmitted to the app on the computer device includes …”
Claim 22 recites the limitation “an ultrasound transducer and a second housing enclosing the piezoelectric crystal”. The antecedent basis for “the piezoelectric crystal” in the limitation is unclear. In particular, it is unclear whether “the piezoelectric crystal” should read “the ultrasound transducer”, “a piezoelectric transducer”, or otherwise. For purposes of the examination, the limitation is being given a broadest reasonable interpretation as “an ultrasound transducer and a second housing enclosing the ultrasound transducer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, 14-16, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heesch et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0085280, a priority date of 05 Feb 2019, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Van Heesch - in view of Rothberg et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0069842, priority date of 07 Sep 2017, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Rothberg - and Moaddeb et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0269914, priority date of 01 Mar 2018, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Moaddeb.
Regarding claim 1, Van Heesch discloses a wireless system for measuring and analyzing blood in a body of a user (at least Fig. 1 and [0008]-[0013]), the wireless system comprising:
a plurality of devices operatively connected and synchronized with one another (Fig. 1, 8 and [0086]-[0090]: probes A, B, and C perform flow measurement scans simultaneously for a dynamic range of cardiac output measurement and for comparison among the measurements) and each one configured to simultaneously ascertain, at different parts of the body of the user, the same biometric data associated with the blood in the body of the user (Fig. 7 and [0086]-[0087]: probes/patches are attached to the body over carotid, brachial and femoral arteries respectively, and each probe performs a Doppler velocity measurement simultaneously);
wherein each one of the plurality of devices comprising a probe configured to transmit an ultrasound wave into the body of the user and receive a return ultrasound wave ([0062]: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info) and a hardware unit ([0093]-[0094]: controller integrated into one or more of the probes and the controller implemented with hardware); and
wherein the plurality of devices are collectively configured to provide a synchronous comparison of the ascertained biometric data associated with the blood in the body of the user (Fig. 8 and [0090]: multiple flow measurements taken simultaneously at specific locations where their corresponding pressure values can be compared and discriminated).
Van Heesch does not disclose:
a processing, power, and communication (PPC) component comprising a hardware unit and a first housing enclosing the hardware unit;
the probe comprising a piezoelectric crystal and a second housing enclosing the piezoelectric crystal; and
a dock comprising a sensor and a third housing enclosing the sensor, wherein the third housing is adapted to removably coupled to the first housing,
wherein the probe is further configured to: convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor;
the sensor is configured to: receive the electronic signal from the piezoelectric crystal and transmit the electronic signal to the hardware unit, which is configured to wirelessly transmit a data set based on the electronic signal to a computer device.
Rothberg in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a processing, power, and communication (PPC) component (primary module 102 comprising communication circuitry 116) comprising a hardware unit ([0062]: communication circuitry 116 to wirelessly transmit data) and a first housing enclosing the hardware unit (Fig. 1, 6A: primary module 102/602 and [0060] and [0066]: primary module 102 within primary housing elements 124, 126 and includes communication circuitry 116);
a probe (ultrasound module 104) comprising an ultrasound transducer ([0052]-[0053]: ultrasound module 104 includes ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110 including capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducers (CMUTs)) and a second housing enclosing the ultrasound transducer ([0052]: ultrasound module includes ultrasound housing element 128; [0058]: ultrasound housing element 128 encloses ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110), and
a dock comprising a sensor (processing circuitry 112);
wherein the probe (ultrasound module 104 including ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110) is configured to transmit an ultrasound wave into the body of the user ([0054]: drives ultrasound transducer to emit pulsed ultrasonic signals into user's wrist), receive a return ultrasonic wave ([0054]: pulse ultrasonic signals back-scattered and produce echoes that return to transducers), convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal ([0054]: convert echoes into electrical signals, or ultrasound data), and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor ([0054]: outputs ultrasound data in response to received echoes; [0060]: processing circuitry 112 receives ultrasound data); and
wherein the sensor (processing circuitry 112) is configured to receive the electronic signal from the ultrasound transducer ([0060]: receives ultrasound data) and transmit the electronic signal to the hardware unit ([0102]: processing circuitry transmit ultrasound data for storage in memory (e.g., memory circuitry 114, or memory in an external host device, workstation, or server), which is configured to wirelessly transmit a data set based on the electronic signal to a computer device ([0062]: communication circuitry 116 is configured to wirelessly transmit data (e.g., ultrasound data, ultrasound images, calculations based on ultrasound data/images) to an external device, such as external host device, workstation, or server; [0121]: external host device include smartphone, tablet, or laptop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Rothberg’s arrangement of at least PPC component, probe, and dock in its respective housing for a blood measurement. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Rothberg are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to “perform both transverse and longitudinal ultrasound scanning of a blood vessel” without rotating the device relative to a body part, as taught by Rothberg ([0004]).
Moaddeb in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound additionally discloses:
a piezoelectric crystal ([0040]: sensor 28 comprises an ultrasound transducer of two or more piezoelectric elements; Fig. 16, 19 and [0068]: piezoelectric crystals of ceramic piezoelectric discs 478).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Moaddeb’s piezoelectric disc. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Moaddeb are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to optimize operation of a Doppler transducer on a flexible band ([0040], [0068] of Moaddeb).
Moaddeb further teaches:
a housing (housing 12) enclosing a sensor (controller 32), wherein the housing (housing 12) is adapted to removably couple to another housing (Fig. 2 and 13; [0060]: housing removable from band 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Moaddeb’s sensor enclosed in a housing that is adapted to removably couple to another housing. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Moaddeb are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been allow “batteries (as well as a controller within the housing) may be rechargeable by wired or by wireless methods … (and) a first housing 336 (including a processing circuitry) may be replaced by a second housing 336 (including another processing circuitry), if the first housing 336 is damaged or ceases to function. The housing 336 (including a processing circuitry) may be removed to present to a medical facility, which may upload or download information or software revisions, or for maintenance or repair”, as taught by Moaddeb ([0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Rothberg further teaches (also see claim 1 above):
wherein the second housing is a spaced distance apart from the first housing (Fig. 6A: primary module 602 v. ultrasound module 104).
Regarding claim 8, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Rothberg further teaches (see also claim 1 above):
wherein the hardware unit comprises a printed circuit board ([0052]: primary module 102 includes printed circuit board (PCB) 120).
Regarding claim 9, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further discloses:
wherein each hardware unit in the plurality of devices is disposed in wireless communication with at least one user device ([0093]-[0094]: controller integrated into one or more of the probes and the controller implemented with hardware; [0054]: controller comprising a wireless communication module; [0095]: communications between the probes and the controller are wireless).
Regarding claim 10, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 9, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further discloses:
wherein the at least one user device comprises an analytical software configured to interpret and synchronize each data set received from each one of the plurality of devices ([0061]: processor 38 of patient monitor controller 30 comprising computer readable program instructions; [0089]: controller provides an estimate of cardiac output based on the obtained flow signals from multiple ultrasound patches for display on monitor 20; Fig. 8 and [0090]: multiple flow measurements are taken simultaneously at specific locations and generates graph showing when flow is measured at multiple locations, multiple pressure values, BP1 compared with BP2 and with BP3, discriminated based on the ratios between flow).
Regarding claim 11, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 10, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further discloses:
wherein the at least one user device is configured to display information based on the synchronized data sets ([0089]: controller provides an estimate of cardiac output based on the obtained flow signals from multiple ultrasound patches for display on monitor 20; Fig. 8 and [0090]: graph shows that when flow is measured at multiple locations, multiple pressure values, BP1 compared with BP2 and with BP3, can be discriminated based on the ratios between flows, using the lines 401, 10 and 402, according to a simple algorithm).
Regarding claim 12, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 11, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further discloses:
wherein the information comprises cardiovascular indicators of heart function, comprising aortic pulse wave, pulse transit time, aortic pulse wave velocity, blood flow velocity, blood turbulence, or a combination thereof (Fig. 8: Blood flow v. Blood pressure; [0090]: graph shows that when blood flow is measured at multiple locations, multiple pressure values, BP1 compared with BP2 and with BP3, can be discriminated based on the ratios between flows, using the lines 401, 10 and 402, according to a simple algorithm).
Regarding claim 14, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesh does not disclose:
a substrate to which the PPC and probe component are attached.
Rothberg in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a substrate to which the PPC and probe component are attached (Fig. 6B: communication circuitry 116 in primary module 602 and ultrasound module 104 on wristbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Rothberg’s substrate. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Rothberg are directed to couple an ultrasound probe to a user to measure and analyze blood. The motivation for the combination would have been to allow the device be “configured to encircle any portion of the wrist, or the entire wrist” in measuring blood flow in a radial artery, as taught by Rothberg ([0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 14, as discussed above, and Rothberg further teaches (also see claim 14):
wherein the substrate is configured to receive the dock (Fig. 1-2 and 6B: processing circuitry 112 within housing 124/126/602) and the probe ([0069]: ultrasound module 104 configured to attach to first wristband 106); and
wherein the dock and probe are relatively positioned in a spaced apart relation to one another (Fig. 1 and 6B: processing circuitry 112 within housing 602 and ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110 within ultrasound module 104).
Regarding claim 16, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further discloses:
wherein the probe is configured to employ a pulsed wave ultrasound signal and to transmit the ultrasound waves into the body of the user ([0062]: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info; [0085]-[0086]: PW (Pulse Wave) Doppler is used to set the ROI and the area of measurement using probes A, B, and C);
the probe being further configured to receive a pulsed wave signal modified by the Doppler Effect of the resulting interaction with the blood in the arteries of the user ([0062]: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info; [0085]-[0086]: PW (Pulse Wave) Doppler is used to set the ROI and the area of measurement using probes A, B, and C).
Regarding claim 19, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses:
providing the wireless system of claim 1 (see claim 1 above);
transmitting the ultrasound wave from one or more piezoelectric crystals of the plurality of devices to an arterial target inside the body of the user ([0062] of Van Heesch: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info; [0068] of Moaddeb: piezoelectric crystals of ceramic piezoelectric discs 478; see claim 1 above);
receiving acoustic energy from the body of the user in the one or more piezoelectric crystals of the plurality of devices ([0062] of Van Heesch: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info; [0068] of Moaddeb: piezoelectric crystals of ceramic piezoelectric discs 478; see claim 1 above).
Van Heesch does not disclose:
transmitting the return ultrasonic wave to the sensor, wherein the sensor is in the dock of the wireless system;
receiving and converting the acoustic energy into the electric signal; and
transmitting the electric signal to an app on the computer device for analyzing the measured values to obtain a parameter value indicative of a characteristic of the blood.
Rothberg in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
transmitting a return ultrasonic wave to the sensor, wherein the sensor is in the dock of the wireless system ([0054]: outputs ultrasound data in response to received echoes; [0060]: processing circuitry 112 receives ultrasound data);
receiving and converting the return ultrasonic wave into an electric signal ([0054]: convert echoes into electrical signals, or ultrasound data); and
transmitting the electronic signal to the app on the computer device for analyzing the measured values to obtain a parameter value indicative of a characteristic of the blood ([0134]: processing circuitry generate data/image for the user to access an app installed on a host device or workstation for viewing the data/images, where data includes calculations of blood flow, heart rate, blood pressure, blood vessel diameter, and pulse wave velocity based on the ultrasound data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Rothberg’s method of transmitting an acoustic energy to the sensor in the dock, convert the acoustic energy into an electric signal, transmit the electric signal to an app to analyze measured values. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Rothberg are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to “generate for display the ultrasound data, ultrasound image, and/or data generated based on the ultrasound data on the display screen 122 or on a display screen of an external host device (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, or a computer) local to the user”, as taught by Rothberg ([0134]).
Regarding claim 22, Van Heesch discloses a wireless system for measuring and analyzing blood in a body of a user (at least Fig. 1 and [0008]-[0013]), the wireless system comprising:
a plurality of devices operatively connected and synchronized with one another (Fig. 1, 8 and [0086]-[0090]: probes A, B, and C perform flow measurement scans simultaneously for a dynamic range of cardiac output measurement and for comparison among the measurements) and each one configured to simultaneously ascertain, at different parts of the body of the user, the same biometric data associated with the blood in the body of the user (Fig. 7 and [0086]-[0087]: probes/patches are attached to the body over carotid, brachial and femoral arteries respectively, and each probe performs a Doppler velocity measurement simultaneously);
wherein each one of the plurality of devices comprising an ultrasound transducer configured to transmit an ultrasound wave into the body of the user and receive a return ultrasound wave ([0062]: transducer array 106 for transmitting ultrasonic waves and receiving echo info) and a hardware unit ([0093]-[0094]: controller integrated into one or more of the probes and the controller implemented with hardware); and
wherein the plurality of devices are collectively configured to provide a synchronous comparison of the ascertained biometric data associated with the blood in the body of the user (Fig. 8 and [0090]: multiple flow measurements taken simultaneously at specific locations where their corresponding pressure values can be compared and discriminated).
Van Heesch does not disclose:
a processing, power, and communication (PPC) component comprising a hardware unit and a first housing enclosing the hardware unit;
an ultrasound transducer and a second housing enclosing the piezoelectric crystal; and
a dock comprising a sensor and a third housing enclosing the sensor, wherein the third housing is adapted to removably coupled to the first housing,
wherein the ultrasound transducer is further configured to: convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor;
the sensor is configured to: receive the electronic signal from the ultrasound transducer and transmit the electronic signal to the hardware unit, which is configured to wirelessly transmit a data set based on the electronic signal to a computer device.
Rothberg in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a processing, power, and communication (PPC) component (primary module 102 comprising communication circuitry 116) comprising a hardware unit ([0062]: communication circuitry 116 to wirelessly transmit data) and a first housing enclosing the hardware unit (Fig. 1, 6A: primary module 102/602 and [0060] and [0066]: primary module 102 within primary housing elements 124, 126 and includes communication circuitry 116);
a probe (ultrasound module 104) comprising an ultrasound transducer ([0052]-[0053]: ultrasound module 104 includes ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110 including capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducers (CMUTs)) and a second housing enclosing the ultrasound transducer ([0052]: ultrasound module includes ultrasound housing element 128; [0058]: ultrasound housing element 128 encloses ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110), and
a dock comprising a sensor (processing circuitry 112);
wherein the ultrasound transducer (ultrasound module 104 including ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110) is configured to transmit an ultrasound wave into the body of the user ([0054]: drives ultrasound transducer to emit pulsed ultrasonic signals into user's wrist), receive a return ultrasonic wave ([0054]: pulse ultrasonic signals back-scattered and produce echoes that return to transducers), convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal ([0054]: convert echoes into electrical signals, or ultrasound data), and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor ([0054]: outputs ultrasound data in response to received echoes; [0060]: processing circuitry 112 receives ultrasound data); and
wherein the sensor (processing circuitry 112) is configured to receive the electronic signal from the ultrasound transducer ([0060]: receives ultrasound data) and transmit the electronic signal to the hardware unit ([0102]: processing circuitry transmit ultrasound data for storage in memory (e.g., memory circuitry 114, or memory in an external host device, workstation, or server), which is configured to wirelessly transmit a data set based on the electronic signal to a computer device ([0062]: communication circuitry 116 is configured to wirelessly transmit data (e.g., ultrasound data, ultrasound images, calculations based on ultrasound data/images) to an external device, such as external host device, workstation, or server; [0121]: external host device include smartphone, tablet, or laptop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Rothberg’s arrangement of at least PPC component, probe, and dock in its respective housing for a blood measurement. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Rothberg are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to “perform both transverse and longitudinal ultrasound scanning of a blood vessel” without rotating the device relative to a body part, as taught by Rothberg ([0004]).
Moaddeb further teaches:
a housing (housing 12) enclosing a sensor (controller 32), wherein the housing (housing 12) is adapted to removably couple to another housing (Fig. 2 and 13; [0060]: housing removable from band 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Moaddeb’s sensor enclosed in a housing that is adapted to removably couple to another housing. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Moaddeb are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been allow “batteries (as well as a controller within the housing) may be rechargeable by wired or by wireless methods … (and) a first housing 336 (including a processing circuitry) may be replaced by a second housing 336 (including another processing circuitry), if the first housing 336 is damaged or ceases to function. The housing 336 (including a processing circuitry) may be removed to present to a medical facility, which may upload or download information or software revisions, or for maintenance or repair”, as taught by Moaddeb ([0060]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bashan et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0008432) – hereinafter referred to as Bashan.
Regarding claim 3, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Rothberg teaches (see claim 1 above):
wherein the sensor (processing circuitry 112) is configured to receive the electronic signal from the ultrasound transducer ([0060]: receives ultrasound data) and transmit the electronic signal to the hardware unit ([0102]: processing circuitry transmit ultrasound data for storage in memory (e.g., memory circuitry 114, or memory in an external host device, workstation, or server), which is configured to wirelessly transmit a data set based on the electronic signal to a computer device ([0062]: communication circuitry 116 is configured to wirelessly transmit data (e.g., ultrasound data, ultrasound images, calculations based on ultrasound data/images) to an external device, such as external host device, workstation, or server; [0121]: external host device include smartphone, tablet, or laptop); and
Moaddeb teaches (see claim 1 above):
a piezoelectric crystal ([0040]: sensor 28 comprises an ultrasound transducer of two or more piezoelectric elements; Fig. 16, 19 and [0068]: piezoelectric crystals of ceramic piezoelectric discs 478).
Van Heesh in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb does not disclose:
wherein the piezoelectric crystal of the probe is configured to: transmit the ultrasound wave into the body of the user, receive the return ultrasonic wave, convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal, and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor.
Bashan in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a piezoelectric crystal (Fig. 7: ultrasonic unit 720; [0123]: ultrasonic transducer including a set of piezo crystals) that is configured to: transmit an ultrasound wave into the body of the user, receive a return ultrasonic wave, convert the return ultrasonic wave into an electronic signal, and transmit the electronic signal to the sensor ([0123]-[0125]: ultrasonic transducer including a set of piezo crystals which transmit and receive ultrasonic signals, turn these signals into electrical currents, and determination of desired parameters from monitoring of signals reflected from blood vessels is accomplished using non-invasive monitoring system 100; Fig. 1 and [0044]-[0046]: computerized device 120 receives data from wearable monitoring device 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Bashan’s piezoelectric crystal configured to transmit, receive, and convert ultrasound waves and transmit converted ultrasound waves to a sensor. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Bashan are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to allow “determination of desired parameters from monitoring of signals reflected from blood vessels” using a wearable device of a wireless system, as taught by Bashan ([0125]; Fig. 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hageman et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0028159, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Hageman.
Regarding claim 5, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesh does not disclose:
an acoustic barrier positioned between the second housing and the piezoelectric crystal.
Hageman in the same field of ultrasound, however, teaches:
an acoustic barrier positioned between a housing (housing 102) and a piezoelectric crystal (ultrasonic transducer assembly 110 with ultrasound-on-chip device 112; Fig. 2 and [0027]: acoustic backing material positioned on a back side of an ultrasonic piezoelectric transducer array to absorb and/or scatter as much of the backward transmitted acoustic energy as possible and prevent such energy from being reflected by any support structure(s) back toward the transducers and reducing the quality of the acoustic image signals obtained from the patient by creating interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Hageman’s acoustic barrier positioned behind an ultrasound transducer array. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Hageman are directed to emitting and receiving ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to “absorb and/or scatter as much of the backward transmitted acoustic energy as possible and prevent such energy from being reflected by any support structure(s) back toward the transducers and reducing the quality of the acoustic image signals obtained from the patient by creating interference”, as taught by Hageman ([0027]).
Claims 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0219108, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Zhao.
Regarding claim 6, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesch does not disclose:
wherein the piezoelectric crystal is positioned between a first acoustic matching layer and a second acoustic matching layer.
Zhao in the same field of ultrasound, however, teaches:
a piezoelectric crystal is positioned between a first acoustic matching layer and a second acoustic matching layer (Fig. 3-5: piezoelectric layer between two matching layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Zhao’s piezoelectric layer positioned between two acoustic layers. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Zhao are directed to emitting and receiving ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been to “reduc(ing) the electrical impedance associated with transducer elements within an ultrasound transducer to improve the sensitivity of the ultrasound system”, as taught by Zhao ([0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg, Moaddeb, and Zhao discloses all limitations of claim 6, as discussed above, and Moaddeb further teaches (also see claim 1 above):
wherein the piezoelectric crystal is a disk or square (Fig. 16, 19 and [0068]: ceramic piezoelectric discs 478).
Regarding claim 13, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg, Moaddeb, and Zhao discloses all limitations of claim 7, as discussed above, and Van Heesch does not disclose:
wherein, when in use, the piezoelectric disk or square is configured to be positioned within the probe at a 45-degree angle with respect to the body of the user.
Rothberg in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
when in use, the ultrasound transducer (ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110) is configured to be positioned within the probe at a 45-degree angle with respect to the body of the user ([0112]: ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110 positioned at any suitable angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Rothberg’s positioning of the ultrasound transducer at a 45 deg angle with respect to the body of the user. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Rothberg are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound. The motivation for the combination would have been “to perform the pulsed Doppler ultrasound imaging at an angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the blood vessel”, as taught by Rothberg ([0112]).
Claims 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb, as applied to claims 1 and 19 above respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub No. 2015/0327839, provided by Applicant in the IDS of 31 Oct 2024) - hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claims 17-18, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Van Heesch does not disclose:
a charging station configured to receive the PPC of each one of the plurality of devices and recharge a battery contained within each of the plurality of PPCs.
Kim in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a charging station (docking station 300A) configured to receive a plurality of PPCs and recharge a battery contained in each of the plurality of PPCs (Fig. 5A: main bodies 200B; [0013]-[0015]: main bodies include a communicator configured to wirelessly transmit ultrasonic data; [0107]: main bodies receive power from docking station 300B wirelessly or via wired power cables 201B; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s system to include Kim’s charging station. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Kim are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound using a plurality of probes. The motivation for the combination would have been to provide power to the ultrasound processors within a probe.
Regarding claim 20, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg and Moaddeb discloses all limitations of claim 19, as discussed above, and Van Heesch does not disclose:
wherein the electric signals transmitted to the app on the user’s device includes a plurality of information received from the PPC component of each one of the plurality of devices.
Kim in the same field of measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound, however, teaches:
a signal transmitted to the user's device includes an information received from a wireless system ([0081]: ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus main body 200 transmits generated ultrasonic image information to an electronic device through wireless communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Heesch’s devices to include Kim’s system comprising a plurality of ultrasound transceivers that wirelessly communicate. The combination would result in a reasonable expectation of success, since both Van Heesch and Kim are directed to measuring and analyzing blood using ultrasound using a plurality of probes. The motivation for the combination would have been to allow a collection of ultrasound data among different ultrasound devices.
Regarding claim 21, Van Heesch in view of Rothberg, Moaddeb, and Kim discloses all limitations of claim 20, as discussed above, and Van Heesch further teaches (also see claim 19):
wherein the information received the PPC component of each one of the plurality of devices is analyzed simultaneously to provide the parameter value (Fig. 1, 8 and [0086]-[0090]: probes perform flow measurement scans simultaneously for a dynamic range of cardiac output measurement and for comparison among the measurements).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
4/6/26