DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] does not teach or discloses “A vehicle comprising: a navigation device for detecting a geographic location of the vehicle; a beam shaping lamp configured to illuminate light in a light beam pattern; and an imaging camera configured to capture images of a surrounding environment; and a controller configured to process the geographic location and to determine a geographic region, wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected one or more road signs, the controller determining a light beam pattern in compliance with lighting regulations associated with the determined geographic region, wherein the controller configures the beam shaping lamp to generate the light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations.” (see page 5-9)
Examiner disagrees:
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, The newly prior art Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1].
Nobuhara discloses an imaging camera configured to capture images of a surrounding environment to detect one or more road signs (Paragraph [0173] “The camera 112, the radar 114, and the LiDAR 116 are configured to detect surrounding environments (other vehicles, pedestrians, road shapes, traffic signs, obstacles, and the like) on a front side and lateral sides of the vehicle 1 and to output detected surrounding environment information to the system control unit 25.”)
Nobuhara does not specify wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartscher uses the control unit 3, light sources 4, image camera 6 (Paragraph [0023-25]) discloses wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect objects (Paragraph [0007] “The maximum illumination level is therefore preferably located in the area outside a carriageway of the vehicle, which is to say, in the area of a sidewalk or a cycle path, so that better object recognition is ensured. The controlling according to the invention can advantageously be used for headlamps that, in particular, generate a city light distribution. This inasmuch as when the vehicle is driving in a city, the central area of the light distribution can be supplied by the existing street lighting as well as, when compared to the edge region, by the reduced illumination level of the headlamp. The advantage of this is that a relatively homogeneous and wide light distribution can be generated that extends beyond the carriageway. If, for example, the street lighting is detected as being lacking or non-functional, the central area of the light distribution, for example, in country road situations, can be “filled in” with a modified gradient depending on a detection of objects in the road in ranges of 35 m to 65 m (or alternatively 120 m with elevated light/dark boundary, HDG, on highways or alternatively divided carriageways).”), and further determines the geographic region based on the detected objects (Paragraph [0025] “The control unit 3 receives a detection signal 7 from a detection unit 6, which is evaluated in the control unit 3 to determine whether the vehicle with the headlamp according to the invention is driving in a city. The detection unit 6 is installed in the vehicle carrying the headlamp and can, for example, be configured as a camera that supplies image information as the detection signal 5. If necessary, further parameters or operating parameters of the vehicle can be evaluated in order to recognize the presence of a drive through the city. In such a case, the light pixels 4 of the imaging unit 1 are controlled by the control signal 5 in such a way that the city driving illumination 8 shown in FIG. 2, which corresponds to the city light distribution L.sub.1 on a measurement screen, is generated. If no city driving and/or no street lighting or alternatively town situation is detected, a different light function is generated depending on the driving situation of the vehicle and/or the ambient conditions, for example, a low beam light function, a non-blinding high beam light function, a highway light function or similar.” & Paragraph [0047] “The substantial difference between a country road light distribution L.sub.2 shown in FIG. 4 and the city light distribution L.sub.1 shown in FIG. 3 is that in a transition area between the right end illumination field 15 and the central illumination field 12, the transition takes place with a relatively abrupt transition light gradient G.sub.2. This ensures greater illumination of the right-hand area in the front of the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bartscher to combine with Nobuhara to discloses or teaches wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs for purpose of increase safety, as the illumination fields of the edge region contain sidewalks or cycle paths that are not illuminated as strongly as the carriageway by external light sources. This makes it easier and quicker for the driver to recognize hazards such as pedestrians, scooter riders, cyclists, and e-scooter riders as disclosed by Bartscher (Paragraph [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] and further in view of Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Nobuhara discloses a vehicle (Fig. 3, 2) comprising:
a beam shaping lamp (Fig. 3, 100 & Paragraph [0162 & 0185]) configured to illuminate light in a light beam pattern (Fig. 8, P2 & Paragraph [0136] “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example of a road surface drawing lamp provided in a front composite system, and an example of a road surface drawing pattern drawn on a road surface by the road surface drawing lamp.”); and
Nobuhara does not specify a controller configured to process the geographic location and to determine a geographic region, the controller determining a light beam pattern in compliance with lighting regulations associated with the determined geographic region, wherein the controller configures the beam shaping lamp to generate the light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations. a navigation device for detecting a geographic location of the vehicle;
Na discloses a controller (Fig. 7, 170) configured to process the geographic location and to determine a geographic region (Fig. 7, 420 & Paragraph [0159]), the controller (Fig. 7 and 8, 870, 650 and 170) determining a light beam pattern (Fig. 12a to Fig. 13c) in compliance with lighting regulations associated (Paragraph [0352]) with the determined geographic region (Paragraph [0295-297]), wherein the controller (Fig. 7 and 8, 870, 650 and 170) configures the beam shaping lamp (Fig. 8, 800) to generate the light beam pattern (Fig. 12a to Fig. 13c) in compliance with the lighting regulations (Paragraph [0352]). a navigation device (Fig. 7, 420 & Paragraph [0159]) for detecting a geographic location of the vehicle (Paragraph [0298])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nobuhara with a controller configured to process the geographic location and to determine a geographic region, the controller determining a light beam pattern in compliance with lighting regulations associated with the determined geographic region, wherein the controller configures the beam shaping lamp to generate the light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations for purpose of reducing glare and accident rate as disclosed by Na (Paragraph [0367]).
Nobuhara discloses an imaging camera configured to capture images of a surrounding environment to detect one or more road signs (Paragraph [0173] “The camera 112, the radar 114, and the LiDAR 116 are configured to detect surrounding environments (other vehicles, pedestrians, road shapes, traffic signs, obstacles, and the like) on a front side and lateral sides of the vehicle 1 and to output detected surrounding environment information to the system control unit 25.”)
Nobuhara does not specify wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartscher discloses wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect objects (Paragraph [0007] “The maximum illumination level is therefore preferably located in the area outside a carriageway of the vehicle, which is to say, in the area of a sidewalk or a cycle path, so that better object recognition is ensured. The controlling according to the invention can advantageously be used for headlamps that, in particular, generate a city light distribution. This inasmuch as when the vehicle is driving in a city, the central area of the light distribution can be supplied by the existing street lighting as well as, when compared to the edge region, by the reduced illumination level of the headlamp. The advantage of this is that a relatively homogeneous and wide light distribution can be generated that extends beyond the carriageway. If, for example, the street lighting is detected as being lacking or non-functional, the central area of the light distribution, for example, in country road situations, can be “filled in” with a modified gradient depending on a detection of objects in the road in ranges of 35 m to 65 m (or alternatively 120 m with elevated light/dark boundary, HDG, on highways or alternatively divided carriageways).”), and further determines the geographic region based on the detected objects (Paragraph [0025] “The control unit 3 receives a detection signal 7 from a detection unit 6, which is evaluated in the control unit 3 to determine whether the vehicle with the headlamp according to the invention is driving in a city. The detection unit 6 is installed in the vehicle carrying the headlamp and can, for example, be configured as a camera that supplies image information as the detection signal 5. If necessary, further parameters or operating parameters of the vehicle can be evaluated in order to recognize the presence of a drive through the city. In such a case, the light pixels 4 of the imaging unit 1 are controlled by the control signal 5 in such a way that the city driving illumination 8 shown in FIG. 2, which corresponds to the city light distribution L.sub.1 on a measurement screen, is generated. If no city driving and/or no street lighting or alternatively town situation is detected, a different light function is generated depending on the driving situation of the vehicle and/or the ambient conditions, for example, a low beam light function, a non-blinding high beam light function, a highway light function or similar.” & Paragraph [0047] “The substantial difference between a country road light distribution L.sub.2 shown in FIG. 4 and the city light distribution L.sub.1 shown in FIG. 3 is that in a transition area between the right end illumination field 15 and the central illumination field 12, the transition takes place with a relatively abrupt transition light gradient G.sub.2. This ensures greater illumination of the right-hand area in the front of the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bartscher to combine with Nobuhara to discloses or teaches wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs for purpose of increase safety, as the illumination fields of the edge region contain sidewalks or cycle paths that are not illuminated as strongly as the carriageway by external light sources. This makes it easier and quicker for the driver to recognize hazards such as pedestrians, scooter riders, cyclists, and e-scooter riders in different parts of geographic region as disclosed by Bartscher (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 2. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the beam shaping lamp comprises a pixel lamp (Na: Paragraph [0277-281]).
In regards to claim 5. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the navigation device comprises a global positioning system receiver (Nobuhara: Paragraph [0164 & 0159]).
In regards to claim 6. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the lighting regulations are stored in memory (Na: Paragraph [0233 & 0352]).
In regards to claim 7. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the lighting regulations include a lighting ordinance (Na: Paragraph [0298]).
In regards to claim 8. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the geographic region comprises a country (Na: Paragraph [0352]).
In regards to claim 9. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the beam shaping lamp is located on an exterior of the vehicle (Nobuhara: Fig. 8, 123).
In regards to claim 10. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 9, wherein the beam shaping lamp is configured as a vehicle head lamp (Na: Paragraph [0239]).
In regards to claim 11. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein a color of the illuminated light is changed (Nobuhara: Paragraph [0243]) based on the lighting regulations for the determined geographic region (Na: Paragraph [0352]).
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] and further in view of Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1] and further in view of Lindsay [US 9,771,021 B1]
In regards to claim 3. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the pixel lamp comprises
Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher does not specify a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being selectively activatable to generate the beam output.
Lindsay discloses a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being selectively activatable to generate the beam output (Column 5, in lines 50-62 “The LED controller 111 is a device that selectively provides an on or an off signal to each of the LEDs 114 to cause each of the LEDs 114 to independently activate or deactivate according to a chosen lighting pattern. As such, each of the LEDs 114 is controllable independently from one another. In some embodiments, the LEDs 114 may be controlled in one or more groups (e.g., an array of LEDs 114). In some embodiments, the LEDs 114 may be controlled individually.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lindsay with Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher to shows the teaching a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being selectively activatable to generate the beam output for purpose of independently activate or deactivate according to a chosen lighting pattern as disclosed by Lindsay (Column 5, in lines 50-62).
Claims 12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] and further in view of Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1]
In regards to claim 12. Nobuhara discloses a method of controlling a beam pattern of a beam shaping lamp (Fig. 8, 123 and P2) on a motor vehicle, the method comprising:
activating the beam shaping lamp (Paragraph [0206]) to generate light illumination in a first light beam pattern (Fig. 8, 123 and P2);
determining (Fig. 3, 6 & Paragraph [0159 & 0164]) a geographic location of the motor vehicle (Fig. 3, 2);
Nobuhara does not specify determining whether the motor vehicle travels from a first geographic region to a second geographic region having different lighting regulations; selecting a second light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations associated with the second geographic region; and controlling the beam shaping lamp to change the light illumination to the selected light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations.
Na discloses determining (Fig. 7, 170) whether the motor vehicle travels from a first geographic (Paragraph [0295 & 298 & 0352]) region to a second geographic region (Fig. 7, 420 & Paragraph [0159]) having different lighting regulations (Paragraph [0295 & 298 & 0352]);
selecting a second light beam pattern (Fig. 13a to 13F & Paragraph [0352]) in compliance with the lighting regulations (Paragraph [0295 & 298 & 0352]) associated with the second geographic region (Fig. 7, 420 & Paragraph [0159]); and
controlling the beam shaping lamp (Fig. 8, 800) to change the light illumination to the selected light beam pattern (Fig. 13a to 13F & Paragraph [0352]) in compliance with the lighting regulations (Paragraph [0295 & 298 & 0352]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nobuhara with determining whether the motor vehicle travels from a first geographic region to a second geographic region having different lighting regulations; selecting a second light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations associated with the second geographic region; and controlling the beam shaping lamp to change the light illumination to the selected light beam pattern in compliance with the lighting regulations for purpose of reducing glare and accident rate as disclosed by Na (Paragraph [0367]).
Nobuhara discloses an imaging camera configured to capture images of a surrounding environment to detect one or more road signs (Paragraph [0173] “The camera 112, the radar 114, and the LiDAR 116 are configured to detect surrounding environments (other vehicles, pedestrians, road shapes, traffic signs, obstacles, and the like) on a front side and lateral sides of the vehicle 1 and to output detected surrounding environment information to the system control unit 25.”)
Nobuhara does not specify wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartscher discloses wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect objects (Paragraph [0007] “The maximum illumination level is therefore preferably located in the area outside a carriageway of the vehicle, which is to say, in the area of a sidewalk or a cycle path, so that better object recognition is ensured. The controlling according to the invention can advantageously be used for headlamps that, in particular, generate a city light distribution. This inasmuch as when the vehicle is driving in a city, the central area of the light distribution can be supplied by the existing street lighting as well as, when compared to the edge region, by the reduced illumination level of the headlamp. The advantage of this is that a relatively homogeneous and wide light distribution can be generated that extends beyond the carriageway. If, for example, the street lighting is detected as being lacking or non-functional, the central area of the light distribution, for example, in country road situations, can be “filled in” with a modified gradient depending on a detection of objects in the road in ranges of 35 m to 65 m (or alternatively 120 m with elevated light/dark boundary, HDG, on highways or alternatively divided carriageways).”), and further determines the geographic region based on the detected objects (Paragraph [0025] “The control unit 3 receives a detection signal 7 from a detection unit 6, which is evaluated in the control unit 3 to determine whether the vehicle with the headlamp according to the invention is driving in a city. The detection unit 6 is installed in the vehicle carrying the headlamp and can, for example, be configured as a camera that supplies image information as the detection signal 5. If necessary, further parameters or operating parameters of the vehicle can be evaluated in order to recognize the presence of a drive through the city. In such a case, the light pixels 4 of the imaging unit 1 are controlled by the control signal 5 in such a way that the city driving illumination 8 shown in FIG. 2, which corresponds to the city light distribution L.sub.1 on a measurement screen, is generated. If no city driving and/or no street lighting or alternatively town situation is detected, a different light function is generated depending on the driving situation of the vehicle and/or the ambient conditions, for example, a low beam light function, a non-blinding high beam light function, a highway light function or similar.” & Paragraph [0047] “The substantial difference between a country road light distribution L.sub.2 shown in FIG. 4 and the city light distribution L.sub.1 shown in FIG. 3 is that in a transition area between the right end illumination field 15 and the central illumination field 12, the transition takes place with a relatively abrupt transition light gradient G.sub.2. This ensures greater illumination of the right-hand area in the front of the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bartscher to combine with Nobuhara to discloses or teaches wherein the controller processes the captured images to detect one or more road signs, and further determines the geographic region based on the detected road signs for purpose of increase safety, as the illumination fields of the edge region contain sidewalks or cycle paths that are not illuminated as strongly as the carriageway by external light sources. This makes it easier and quicker for the driver to recognize hazards such as pedestrians, scooter riders, cyclists, and e-scooter riders in different parts of geographic region as disclosed by Bartscher (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 16. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the step of determining the geographic location includes processing signals received from a global positioning system receiver (Nobuhara: Paragraph [0164 & 0159]).
In regards to claim 17. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the lighting regulations may include a lighting ordinance (Na: Paragraph [0298]).
In regards to claim 18. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the geographic region comprises a country (Na: Paragraph [0352]).
In regards to claim 19. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the beam shaping lamp is configured as a vehicle head lamp (Na: Paragraph [0239]).
In regards to claim 20. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising the step of changing a color of the light illumination (Nobuhara: Paragraph [0243]) based on the lighting regulations for the determined geographic region (Na: Paragraph [0352]).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] in view of Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1] and further in view of Nishii et al [US 2016/0368413 A1]
In regards to claim 13. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising
Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher does not specify notifying an occupant of the vehicle when the first light beam pattern is changed to the second light beam pattern.
Nishii discloses notifying an occupant of the vehicle when the first light beam pattern is changed to the second light beam pattern (Fig. 6a to 6bParagraph [0005 & 0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher with notifying an occupant of the vehicle when the first light beam pattern is changed to the second light beam pattern for purpose of notifying the driver on upcoming pedestrians to avoid catastrophic accidents as disclosed by Nishii (Fig. 6a to 6bParagraph [0005 & 0081]).
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuhara et al [US 2020/0384913 A1] in view of Na [US 2018/0180243 A1] in view of Bartscher et al [US 2025/0196755 A1] and further in view of Lindsay [US 9,771,021 B1]
In regards to claim 14. Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising
Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher does not specify a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being activatable to generate the first and second light beam patterns.
Lindsay discloses a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being activatable to generate the first and second light beam patterns (Column 5, in lines 50-62 “The LED controller 111 is a device that selectively provides an on or an off signal to each of the LEDs 114 to cause each of the LEDs 114 to independently activate or deactivate according to a chosen lighting pattern. As such, each of the LEDs 114 is controllable independently from one another. In some embodiments, the LEDs 114 may be controlled in one or more groups (e.g., an array of LEDs 114). In some embodiments, the LEDs 114 may be controlled individually.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lindsay with Nobuhara in view of Na and further Bartscher to shows the teaching a plurality of light emitting diodes configured in an array, each of the plurality of diodes being selectively activatable to generate the beam output for purpose of independently activate or deactivate according to a chosen lighting pattern as disclosed by Lindsay (Column 5, in lines 50-62).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844