18772DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 8-10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The Examiner suspects that Applicant intended for claims 18-20 to depend from independent claim 11 rather than from independent claim 1. Fixing this claim dependency would overcome the claim objection.
Claim Interpretation
For the record, claim limitations “dehumidification module,” “tilting module,” and “light emitting module” have NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since sufficient corresponding structures are described in the respective claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR1020160006419.
As per claim 1, KR1020160006419 discloses a dehumidifier, comprising: a housing 10 including a suction grill 22 formed on a rear surface thereof (Fig. 3), and a discharge port 24 formed on an upper surface thereof; a dehumidification module provided inside of the housing, wherein the dehumidification module includes at least a compressor 50, a condenser (see background art section), an evaporator (see background art section), and a fan module 40; a water tank 12 detachably provided on one side of the housing (Fig. 3; etc.) and that stores condensate generated during a dehumidification process; a discharge cover 100 that opens and closes the discharge port; a tilting module (Figs. 5, 9; etc.) connected to a bottom of the discharge cover inside of the housing to tilt the discharge cover; and a shielding cover 160 that accommodates the tilting module, wherein the tilting module includes: a tilting motor 150 fixed to the shielding cover (Fig. 5; etc.); a tilting gear 130 connected to a shaft 155 of the tilting motor (Fig. 7; and a tilting neck 140 curved at a predetermined curvature and having on one surface thereof a tilting rack that engages with the tilting gear (Fig. 5; etc.).
As per claim 11, KR1020160006419 discloses a dehumidifier, comprising: a housing 10 including a suction grill 22 formed on a rear surface thereof (Fig. 3), and a discharge port 24 formed on an upper surface thereof; a dehumidification module provided inside of the housing, wherein the dehumidification module includes at least a compressor 50, a condenser (see background art section), an evaporator (see background art section), and a fan module 40; a discharge cover 100 that opens and closes the discharge port; a tilting module (Figs. 5, 9; etc.) connected to a bottom of the discharge cover inside of the housing to tilt the discharge cover; and a shielding cover (160, 162, 164) that accommodates the tilting module, wherein the tilting module includes: a tilting motor 150 fixed to the shielding cover (Fig. 5; etc.); a tilting gear 130 connected to a shaft 155 of the tilting motor (Fig. 7; and a tilting neck 140 curved at a predetermined curvature and having on one surface thereof a tilting rack that engages with the tilting gear (Fig. 5; etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR1020160006419 in view of Antonelli (US 2013/0112130 A1).
As per claims 2 and 12, KR1020160006419 does not disclose wherein the tilting module further comprises one or more inner guide rollers in contact with an upper surface of the tilting neck. Antonelli teaches the basic concept of using guide rollers (13, 16, etc.) to guide movement of a tilting neck (curved rack 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply guide rollers to the arrangement of KR1020160006419 for the same basic purpose providing smooth movement of the tilting neck.
As per claims 3 and 13, KR1020160006419 does not disclose wherein the tilting module further comprises one or more outer guide rollers in contact with a lower surface of the tilting neck. Antonelli teaches guide rollers 13 in contact with a lower surface of the tilting neck. Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply such guide rollers to the arrangement of KR1020160006419 for the same basic purpose providing smooth movement of the tilting neck.
As per claims 4 and 14, KR1020160006419 discloses wherein the tilting module further comprises at least one bracket (bracket portion of 162) that couples the tilting motor 150 to a rear surface of the shielding cover 162.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also correcting the claim objections set forth above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 5 and 15 (and claims 6-7 and 16-17 which depend therefrom, respectively), there appears no teaching or motivation to further modify the arrangement of KR1020160006419 to further comprise wherein the at least one bracket includes: a fixing bracket fixed to the rear surface of the shielding cover; and a support bracket coupled to a front surface of the fixing bracket, wherein a shaft of the tilting motor passes through the support bracket to be coupled to the tilting gear.
As per claims 8 and 18 (and claims 9-10 and 19-20 which depend therefrom, respectively), there appears no teaching or motivation to further modify the arrangement of KR1020160006419 to further comprise wherein the discharge cover includes: a circular upper plate; a lower plate coupled to a bottom of the upper plate; and a light emitting module provided between the upper plate and the lower plate, wherein a transparent portion is configured to surround an edge of the discharge cover in a ring shape, such that light emitted from the light emitting module is discharged to an outside through the transparent portion.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Park et al. (US 2025/0290657 A1; US 2025/0290647 A1; US 2025/0283612 A1) are directed to related dehumidifier inventions by the instant assignee/applicants).
Yoon et al. (US 2006/0283327 A1) teach a dehumidifier comprising a rotatable rotor cover.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763