DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the misting device comprising… a plurality of misting devices (more than one of itself) as recited in line 5 of claims 1, 12 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “misting devices” in line 5 of claims 1, 12 and 20, where the “devices” is the placeholder and “misting” is the functional language.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “each pair of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods,” in line 9, should read --each pair of water carrying connecting rods of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods.-- Same and similar objection applies to all pending claims.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “interconnected with at least one of said plurality of misting devices,” in line 10, should read --interconnected with at least one misting device of said plurality of misting devices.-- Same and similar objection applies to all pending claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Line 5 of claim 1 recites “a plurality of misting devices.” The limitation rendering the claim indefinite because the “misting device,” in line 1, is the preamble of the claimed invention, it is unclear how a “misting device” comprising more than one “misting devices (of itself)?” Clarification is respectfully requested. Same rejection applies to all pending claims.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each pair of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is respectfully requested. Same rejection applies to claims 12 and 20.
In claim 2, lines 1-2, the recitation “a first water carrying connecting rod” appears to be a double inclusion of a “connecting rod” of the “plurality of water carrying connecting rods” recited in line 4 of claim 1. It is unclear if one additional “connecting rod” is needed in addition to the “plurality of water carrying connecting rods” recited in line 4 of claim 1 or the “first water carrying connecting rod” is simply a “connecting rod” of the “plurality of water carrying connecting rods?” Clarification is respectfully requested. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the “first water carrying connecting rod” is simply a “connecting rod” of the “plurality of water carrying connecting rods” recited in line 4 of claim 1. Same rejection applies to all pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maples (US20080011878).
With respect to claim 1, Maples discloses a misting device (Figs. 1-30) to (capable of) spray mist of water over an outdoor area comprising: a first telescoping bar (leftmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a second telescoping bar (rightmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a plurality of water carrying connecting rods (22, 30, 50, 52, 54); a plurality of misting devices (62); and a water hose (50, 52, 54); wherein said first telescoping bar having a first base (leftmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein said second telescoping bar having a second base (rightmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein each pair of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods (rods 22 with 12 attached) interconnected with at least one of said plurality of misting devices; wherein said plurality of water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices interconnected between said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar; and further wherein said water hose connected to said plurality of water carrying connecting rods for transporting water to said water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices.
With respect to claim 2, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 1, wherein a first water carrying connecting rod (top left 30 in Fig. 20) selectively attached to one of said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 3, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 2, wherein a second water carrying connecting rod (top right 30 in Fig. 20) selectively attached to another one of said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 4, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 1, wherein said plurality of misting devices selectively rotatable for adjusting a mist spray direction from said plurality of misting devices (Fig. 14).
With respect to claim 5, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 4, wherein said first telescoping bar having a first telescoping knob (20 at the leftmost 12 and 22 in Figs. 9 and 20) for (capable of) selecting a height of said first telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 6, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 5, wherein said second telescoping bar having a second telescoping knob (20 at the rightmost 12 and 22 in Figs. 9 and 20) for (capable of) selecting a height of said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 7, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 6, wherein each of said plurality of misting devices having a hollow body and opposing open ends (Figs. 1-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maples in view of Tyler (US 2077725).
With respect to claim 8, Maples discloses the misting device to spray mist of water over an outdoor area of claim 7, except for wherein each of said plurality of misting devices having a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density from each of said plurality of misting devices.
However, Tyler teaches a misting device (Figs. 1-6) having a rotatable spray head (30) for adjusting a mist spray density (Figs. 4 and 5) from each of said plurality of misting devices (three shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density, as taught by Tyler, to Maples’ misting device, in order to provide adjustability of the mist spray density (page 1, left column, lines 11-40 and Figs. 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 9, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Tyler further teaches wherein each of said plurality of misting devices manually rotatable (via adjusting screws 50 or thread at 32).
With respect to claim 10, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Tyler further teaches wherein said rotatable spray head is manually rotatable (via adjusting screws 50 or thread at 32).
With respect to claim 11, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Tyler further teaches wherein said rotatable spray head having a filter (screen 25) for prohibiting debris from entering said plurality of misting devices (page 1, right column, lines 28-31).
With respect to claim 12, Maples discloses a misting device (Figs. 1-30) to (capable of) spray mist of water over an outdoor area comprising: a first telescoping bar (leftmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a second telescoping bar (rightmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a plurality of water carrying connecting rods (22, 30, 50, 52, 54); a plurality of misting devices (62); and a water hose (50, 52, 54); wherein said first telescoping bar having a first base (leftmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein said second telescoping bar having a second base (rightmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein each pair of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods (rods 22 with 12 attached) interconnected with at least one of said plurality of misting devices; wherein said plurality of water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices interconnected between said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar; wherein said water hose connected to said plurality of water carrying connecting rods for transporting water to said water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices.
Maples fails to disclose wherein each of said plurality of misting devices having a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density from each of said plurality of misting devices.
However, Tyler teaches a misting device (Figs. 1-6) having a rotatable spray head (30) for adjusting a mist spray density (Figs. 4 and 5) from each of said plurality of misting devices (three shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density, as taught by Tyler, to Maples’ misting device, in order to provide adjustability of the mist spray density (page 1, left column, lines 11-40 and Figs. 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 13, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein a first water carrying connecting rod (top left 30 in Fig. 20) selectively attached to one of said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 14, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein a second water carrying connecting rod (top right 30 in Fig. 20) selectively attached to another one of said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 15, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein said plurality of misting devices selectively rotatable for adjusting a mist spray direction from said plurality of misting devices (Fig. 14).
With respect to claim 16, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein said first telescoping bar having a first telescoping knob (20 at the leftmost 12 and 22 in Figs. 9 and 20) for (capable of) selecting a height of said first telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 17, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein said second telescoping bar having a second telescoping knob (20 at the rightmost 12 and 22 in Figs. 9 and 20) for (capable of) selecting a height of said second telescoping bar.
With respect to claim 18, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Maples further discloses wherein each of said plurality of misting devices having a hollow body and opposing open ends (Figs. 1-15).
With respect to claim 19, Maples’ misting device modified by Tyler’s rotatable spray head, Tyler further teaches wherein each of said plurality of misting devices manually rotatable (via adjusting screws 50 or thread at 32).
With respect to claim 20, Maples discloses a misting device (Figs. 1-30) to (capable of) spray mist of water over an outdoor area comprising: a first telescoping bar (leftmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a second telescoping bar (rightmost 12 and 22 in Fig. 20); a plurality of water carrying connecting rods (22, 30, 50, 52, 54); a plurality of misting devices (62); and a water hose (50, 52, 54); wherein said first telescoping bar having a first base (leftmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein said second telescoping bar having a second base (rightmost 12 in Fig. 20); wherein each pair of said plurality of water carrying connecting rods (rods 22 with 12 attached) interconnected with at least one of said plurality of misting devices; wherein said plurality of water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices interconnected between said first telescoping bar and said second telescoping bar; wherein said water hose connected to said plurality of water carrying connecting rods for transporting water to said water carrying connecting rods and said plurality of misting devices; wherein said plurality of misting devices selectively rotatable for adjusting a mist spray direction from said plurality of misting devices (Fig. 14).
Maples fails to disclose wherein each of said plurality of misting devices having a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density from each of said plurality of misting devices and further wherein each of said plurality of misting devices manually rotatable.
However, Tyler teaches a misting device (Figs. 1-6) having a rotatable spray head (30) for adjusting a mist spray density (Figs. 4 and 5) from each of said plurality of misting devices (three shown in Fig. 1), wherein said rotatable spray head is manually rotatable (via adjusting screws 50 or thread at 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a rotatable spray head for adjusting a mist spray density, as taught by Tyler, to Maples’ misting device, in order to provide adjustability of the mist spray density (page 1, left column, lines 11-40 and Figs. 4 and 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a misting device: Bothezat, Wantanabe et al., Banta, Steiner, Siria et al., Coleman, Tsimerman and Jones et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 February 17, 2026