DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed 7/15/2024.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-15 are hereby examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “two reels” in line 2 and “a rolling shutting located on the reel”. This language is confusing and unclear. Are there two reels or one? If there are two reels, should each reel include a rolling shutter component and torsion spring? As written, only one reel is required to have a rolling shutter component. Claim 3 also recites “the reel” which is makes the claim unclear.
Claim 2 recites “the two reels are opposite in the rotation direction”. What exactly does this mean? What is “the rotation direction”.
Claim 3 recites “the bottom of the upper fixed seat is pivotally spaced with two connecting ends”. This is grammatically confusing. Claim 3 also recites “two connecting ends” and “the connecting end”. Are there two connecting ends or one?
Claims 1,4,7-9 and 12-13 recite that many things “can be”. It is unclear if these are required or not since “can be” implies that they are optional.
Claim 4, line 8 recites the limitation “far away”. This is a term of relative degree, and it is unclear what defines “far away”.
Claim 5 recites “the installation position”. It is unclear what this is.
Claim 5 recites “a quick release structure”. It is unclear what is required to be “quick release” as that is a term of relative degree.
Claim 6 recites “a connecting mechanism for detachably connecting the shutter body of the rolling shutter component, after unfolding, to the free end of the shutter body”. It’s unclear how the shutter body is connected to the free end of the shutter body. This language is confusing.
Claim 8 recites “a fourth top spring”, however the claims from which claim 8 depends do not recite a second or third top spring, thus it is unclear how there can be a fourth top spring.
Claim 13 recites “a sixth top spring”, however the claims from which claim 8 depends do not recite a second, third or fourth top spring, thus it is unclear how there can be a fourth top spring.
Claim 15 recites “ a second slider”, however the claims from which claim 15 depends do not disclose “a first slider”. This is confusing and unclear how there can be a second slider without a first slider.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, line 2 recites “the rotation direction”. Examiner presumes this should read – a rotation direction --.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3, line 1 recites “the bottom”. Examiner presumes this should read – a bottom --.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, line 13 recites “the direction”. Examiner presumes this should read – a direction --.
Claim 4, lines 15-16 recites “the upper fixed exposed part”. Examiner presumes this should read – an upper fixed exposed part --.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 2 recites “the installation position”. Examiner presumes this should read – an installation position --.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites “the shutter body” in line 2 and “the free end” in line 3. Examiner presumes these should read – a shutter body – and – a free end --.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7, line 4 recites “connected to the two ends of the pillar”. Examiner presumes this should read – connected to two ends of the pillar --.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8, lines 2-3 recites “the lower end”. Examiner presumes this should read – a lower end --.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8, line 4 recites “the upper end”. Examiner presumes this should read – an upper end --.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, line 2 recites “the installation position”. Examiner presumes this should read – an installation position --.
Claim 14 recites “the position” and “the center”. Examiner presumes these should read – a position – and – a center --.
This list is not exhaustive and applicant should check all claims for similar such issues as presented above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5,6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reiner US 11,900,834.
In regard to claim 1, Reiner ‘834 discloses a dual-shutter telescopic door railing, including an upper fixed seat (30, Fig. 4), a lower fixed seat (112,16 Fig. 4), two reels (58, Fig. 3) that can be pivotally installed between the upper fixed seat (30) and the lower fixed seat (112,16), and a rolling shutter component (32, Fig. 3) located on the reel, the reel (58) is internally provided with a torsion spring (80, Fig. 3, column 9 lines 76-78) to apply elastic force to the reel (58) so that the reel can rotate in a direction that makes the roller shutter component (32) retract.
In regard to claim 2, Reiner ‘834 discloses wherein the two reels (58) are opposite in the rotation direction. (shown in Fig. 4)
In regard to claim 3, Reiner ‘834 discloses wherein the bottom of the upper fixed seat (30) is pivotally spaced with two connecting ends (32, Fig. 5) for connection with the reel (58), and a locking mechanism (32, Fig. 4) is provided to lock the connecting end (32) with the upper fixed seat (30).
As best understood, in regard to claim 5, Reiner ‘834 discloses wherein the upper fixed seat (30) is detachably fixed to the installation position through a quick release structure (handle, 48)
As best understood, in regard to claim 6, Reiner ‘834 discloses a connecting mechanism (74,78 Fig 3) for detachably connecting the shutter body (62) of the rolling shutter component, after unfolding, to the free end of the shutter body.
In regard to claim 11, Reiner ‘834 discloses wherein the upper fixed seat (30) and the lower fixed seat (112,16) are fixedly connected by a support rod (18), and the lower fixed seat (112,16) is provided with a vertical penetrating installation hole (unnumbered hole in Fig. 1) that is used to (functional recitation), together with bolts, lock the lower fixed seat on the ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiner US 11,900,834 in view of Wang CN202596529.
In regard to claim 4, Reiner ‘834 disclose the connecting end can be pivotally installed at the bottom of the upper fixed seat (30). Reiner ‘834 fails to disclose the locking mechanism includes a first ratchet wheel located inside the upper fixed seat for fixed connection with the top of the connecting end, and a first pawl can be pivotally provided inside the upper fixed seat on the side corresponding to the first ratchet wheel , the first pawl can swing between the position where it is engaged with the first ratchet wheel and the position where it is far away from the first ratchet wheel, and a swinging member can be pivotally installed on the side of the first pawl, far away from the first ratchet wheel, inside the upper fixed seat, and the swinging member can swing between the position where it is partially engaged with the outer side of the first pawl and the position where it is far away from the first pawl, and the locking mechanism also includes a first top spring and an unlocking member, the first top spring is used to apply elastic force to the direction in which swinging member engages with the first pawl, the unlocking member is linked to the first pawl and the swinging member, and the unlocking member is partially exposed outside the upper fixed seat, the exposed part can be used to control the movement of unlocking member to force the swinging member to swing away from the first pawl and to force the first pawl to swing away from the first ratchet wheel.
Wang ‘529 discloses the locking mechanism includes a first ratchet wheel (23, Fig. 5) located inside the upper fixed seat (112, Fig. 2) for fixed connection with the top of the connecting end, and a first pawl (23, Fig. 5) can be pivotally provided inside the upper fixed seat (112) on the side corresponding to the first ratchet wheel (23) , the first pawl (26) can swing between the position where it is engaged with the first ratchet wheel (Fig. 6) and the position where it is far away from the first ratchet wheel (Fig. 7), and a swinging member (25) can be pivotally installed on the side of the first pawl (26), far away from the first ratchet wheel (23), inside the upper fixed seat (112), and the swinging member (25) can swing between the position where it is partially engaged (Fig. 6) with the outer side of the first pawl and the position (Fig. 7)where it is far away from the first pawl, and the locking mechanism also includes a first top spring (27) and an unlocking member (40)(30)(22), the first top spring (27, Fig 5) is used to apply elastic force to the direction in which swinging member (25) engages with the first pawl (26), the unlocking member (40)(30)(22) is linked to the first pawl (26) and the swinging member (25), and the unlocking member (40)is partially exposed outside the upper fixed seat, the exposed part (40) can be used to control the movement of unlocking member (40)(30(22) to force the swinging member (25) to swing away from the first pawl (26) and to force the first pawl to swing away from the first ratchet wheel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Reiner ‘834 to include the locking mechanism as taught by Wang ‘529 to provide a mechanism to hold the device in any extended position if needed.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiner US 11,900,834 in view of Wang 11,359,432.
In regard to claim 7, Reiner ‘834 fails to disclose wherein the connecting mechanism includes a connecting rod, a pillar, an upper connecting seat, and a lower connecting seat, the upper connecting seat and the lower connecting seat are respectively connected to the two ends of the pillar, and the connecting rod is connected to the free end of the shutter body, and the shutter body, after being pulled out, can be detachably connected to the upper connecting seat and the lower connecting seat (shown below) through the two ends of the connecting rod so that the free end of the shutter body and the connecting mechanism are detachably connected.
With reference to Figure 1, Wang ‘432 discloses the connecting mechanism includes a connecting rod (610, Fig. 7), an upper connecting seat (510), and a lower connecting seat (520), , and the connecting rod is connected to the free end of the shutter body, and the shutter body, after being pulled out, can be detachably connected to the upper connecting seat (shown below) and the lower connecting seat (shown below) through the two ends of the connecting rod so that the free end of the shutter body and the connecting mechanism are detachably connected. While Figure 1 does not disclose the connecting mechanism has a pillar with the upper connecting seta and lower connecting seat connected to two ends of the pillar, Figure 2 discloses that the mounting structure of Wang ‘432 has a pillar (260) connected to a different upper and lower connecting seat (250)(120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Reiner ‘834 to include the connecting mechanism as taught by Wang ‘432 as such is shown to be an effective means of securing such a device to a wall or other structure.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the pillar connecting the upper and lower connecting seats on the connecting mechanism as Wang ‘432 teaches to include on the mounts on the opposite end for the purpose of providing more rigidity and strength.
In regard to claim 8, Reiner ‘834 as modified by Wang ’43 disclose wherein the bottom of the lower connecting seat (520, Wang ‘432) is provided with a first slot (shown below) for the insertion of the lower end of connecting rod (610), the upper connecting seat (500) is provided with a second slot (511), the upper end of the connecting rod (610) is movably provided with a locking member (650), and the locking member (8650) can move relative to the connecting rod (610)between the position where the locking member (650) extends into the second slot (511) to lock the connecting rod (610) and the position where the locking member (650) exits from the second slot (511) to unlock the connecting rod (610), and the connecting rod (610) is internally provided with a fourth top spring (630) that is used to apply elastic force to the locking element (650) in the direction in which the locking element (650) extends into the second slot (511).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiner US 11,900,834 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
In regard to claims 10 and 15, Reiner ‘834 fails to disclose wherein the pillar/support rod are movably sleeved with a first/second slider for fixed connection with the installation position. AAPA (paragraphs [0045][0051] of applicant’s specification) discloses the pillar and support rods are movably sleeved with a slider for fixed connection with the installation position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Reiner ‘834 to include a slider movably sleeved with the pillar and support rods as taught by AAPA for the purpose of providing a fixed connection which can avoid a skirting line of the device. (paragraph [0051])
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiner US 11,900,834 in view of Wang CN113417556.
In regard to claim 12, Reiner ‘834 fails to disclose wherein the lower fixed seat can be pivotally mounted with a second ratchet wheel for connecting with the end of the torsion spring, and the second ratchet wheel can rotate, relative to the lower fixed seat, in the direction of radial contraction of the torsion spring to adjust the torsion force of torsion spring.
Wang ‘556 discloses wherein the lower fixed seat (30, Fig. 4) can be pivotally mounted with a second ratchet wheel (31) for connecting with the end of the torsion spring (7, Fig. 8), and the second ratchet (31) wheel can rotate, relative to the lower fixed seat (30), in the direction of radial contraction of the torsion spring to adjust the torsion force of torsion spring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Reiner ‘834 to include a second ratchet wheel connected to the torsion spring as taught by Wang ‘556 for the purpose of providing a means to adjust the torsional deformation of the torsion spring and change the rotating elasticity of the device. (Abstract)
In regard to claim 13, Reiner ‘834 as modified by Wang ‘556 discloses wherein a second pawl (32, Fig. 4) can be pivotally installed at a position on one side of the lower fixed seat (30) corresponding to the second ratchet wheel (31), the second pawl (32)can move between the position where it engages with the second ratchet wheel (31)and the position where it disengages with the second ratchet wheel (31), and the ratchet wheel (31), when engaged, can only rotate in the direction that causes the torsion spring (7) to contract radially, a sixth top spring (35) is additionally provided to apply elastic force to the second pawl so that the second pawl swings in the direction of engagement with the second ratchet wheel and maintains contact with the second ratchet wheel.
In regard to claim 14, Reiner ‘834 as modified by Wang ‘556 discloses wherein the lower fixed seat (hole in the middle of 17, as taught by Wang ‘556) is open at the position corresponding to the center of the second ratchet wheel (31, Wang), and a strip groove (37, Wang) is provided at the center of the second ratchet wheel (31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634