DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the voltage regulator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godey et al (US PGPUB 2022/0207813).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 1 of Godey discloses a system comprising:
a first processor [104]
a second processor that maintains state information within volatile storage embedded in the second processor [102]
supplies a retention voltage to the volatile storage when the first processor causes the second processor to operate in a low-power state [paragraph 16]
Godey does not explicitly disclose a power multiplexer that supplies a retention voltage to the volatile storage when the first processor causes the second processor to operate in a powered-off state.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godey by using a power multiplexer to supply retention voltage in a powered-off state as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use multiplexers to supply voltages and it would have been a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to use a powered-off state as the low-power state.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 1, discloses wherein the second processor is a graphics processing unit [102].
Regarding claim 3, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 2, discloses wherein the first processor causes the graphics processing unit to operate in the powered-off state in-between rendering consecutive graphic frames [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 4, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 1, discloses wherein the power multiplexer refrains from supplying the retention voltage to the volatile storage when the first processor causes the second processor to operate in a powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24; see rejection of claim 1].
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 1, discloses a voltage regulator that supplies a normal voltage to the second processor when the second processor operates in a powered-on state and supplies the retention voltage through the power multiplexer and to the volatile storage when the second processor operates in the powered-off state [inherent; see rejection of claim 1].
Regarding claim 6, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 5, does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage regulator is a system voltage regulator that supplies the normal voltage to second processor through a digital low-dropout regulator when the second processor operates in the powered-on state.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godey, as applied to claim 5, by using a system voltage regulator and a digital low-dropout regulator as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use low-dropout regulators to supply voltage.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 6, discloses wherein the digital low-dropout regulator suppresses the normal voltage supplied to the second processor when the second processor operates in the powered-off state [see rejection of claim 6; paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 8, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 7, discloses wherein the power multiplexer supplies the retention voltage to the volatile storage when the digital low-dropout regulator suppresses the normal voltage supplied to the second processor [see rejection of claim 7; paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 9, Figure 1 of Godey discloses a processing device comprising:
a retention voltage interface that receives a retention voltage when the processing device operates in a low-power state [130]
a normal voltage interface that receives a normal voltage supplied from a voltage regulator when the processing device operates in a powered-on state [130]
an infrastructure processing unit that maintains state information within an embedded volatile storage based on the retention voltage when the processing device operates in the low-power state and based on the normal voltage when the processing device operates in the powered-on state [102; paragraphs 16-24]
Godey does not explicitly disclose a powered-off state.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Godey by using a powered-off state as the low-power state as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use powered-off states to conserve power.
Regarding claim 10, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, discloses wherein the embedded volatile storage preserves the state information based on the retention voltage when operating in the powered-off state in-between operating in consecutive periods of the powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 11, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 10, discloses wherein the processing device is a graphics processing unit that renders one of two consecutive graphic frames during each of the consecutive periods of the powered-on state [102; paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 12, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, does not explicitly disclose wherein the retention voltage interface receives the retention voltage from a power multiplexer when the processing device operates in the powered-off state.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Godey, as applied to claim 9, by using a power multiplexor as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use multiplexors to supply voltage.
Regarding claim 13, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, discloses wherein the normal voltage interface receives the normal voltage from a voltage regulator when the processing device operates in the powered-on state [inherent; see rejection of claim 9].
Regarding claim 14 as best understood, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage regulator is a digital low-dropout regulator.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Godey, as applied to claim 9, by using a low-dropout regulator as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use low-dropout regulators to supply voltage.
Regarding claim 15, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, discloses wherein the embedded volatile storage includes a portion of volatile memory integrated in the infrastructure processing unit [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 16, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 9, discloses wherein the embedded volatile storage includes at least one register of a microcontroller integrated in the infrastructure processing unit [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 17, Figure 1 of Godey discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a processing device, a normal voltage supplied from a voltage regulator when operating in a powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24]
generating, by the processing device, state information maintained in volatile storage of the processing device when operating in the powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24]
receiving, by the processing device, a retention voltage when operating in a low-power state [paragraphs 16-24]
when operating in the low-power state in-between periods of operating in the powered-on state, preserving, by the processing device, the state information maintained in the volatile storage based on the retention voltage [paragraphs 16-24]
Godey does not explicitly disclose a power multiplexer when operating in a powered-off state.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godey by using a power multiplexer to supply retention voltage in a powered-off state as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use multiplexers to supply voltages and it would have been a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to use a powered-off state as the low-power state.
Regarding claim 18, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 17, discloses wherein the processing device is a graphics processing unit, the method further comprising: rendering, by the processing device, one of two consecutive graphic frames during each of the periods of operating in the powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 19, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 17, discloses wherein the volatile storage includes at least one of: a portion of volatile memory integrated in an infrastructure processing unit of the processing device or at least one register of a microcontroller integrated in the infrastructure processing unit [paragraphs 16-24].
Regarding claim 20, Figure 1 of Godey, as applied to claim 17, discloses executing, by the processing device, firmware or software that controls the power multiplexer to supply the retention voltage when operating in the powered-off state and suppress the retention voltage when operating in the powered-on state [paragraphs 16-24].
Conclusion
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842