DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 3/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 6,7, 9, 10, 12, 13 are cancelled. Claims 14, 15 newly added.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 in last paragraph recites “indoor air”; it must be recited as “an indoor air”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2020/0061531 A1), in view of Lee (US 2015/0285531 A1), and in view of Wei (CN 207471720 U).
Claim 1: Yoon discloses a dehumidifier (FIG.1), comprising:
a base (11) with an external air intake (suction inlet 12; to clarify, all the components of dehumidifier are installed on the base) on one side thereof;
a case (1) disposed on an upper surface (inherent; to clarify, all the components of humidified are installed on the base) of the base (11);
a top cover (19) disposed on an upper surface (inherent; to clarify, all the components of humidified are installed on the base) of the case (1) and having a discharge port (13);
a drain pan (7) including a first portion (72) that extends laterally to divide an internal space (to clarify, divided spaces by partitions as shown in FIG.9) of the case (1) into an upper space (inherent) and a lower space (inherent; to clarify, divided spaces by partitions upper and lower spaces as shown in FIG.9), and
a second portion (73) that extends from a lower surface (inherent) of the first portion (72) and disposed on the base (to clarify, all the components of the dehumidifier installed on the base 11);
a water tank (2) disposed on the upper surface of the base (11) and that stores condensed water generated during a dehumidification process (paragraph [60]: condensed water within bucket 2);
a compressor (3) disposed on the upper surface of the base spaced apart from the water tank (2);
a condenser (4) mounted on the first portion (72);
an evaporator (5) mounted on the first portion (72) behind the condenser (4); and a control box (800) disposed directly above the external air intake (12),
a fan (air blower 6), and wherein indoor air (to clarify, function of dehumidifier is to sucks in indoor air) flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake (12) flows into the fan (to clarify, blower 6 is inside covers of the unit).
Yoon discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a suction grille formed on a rear surface;
a discharge cover that opens and closes the discharge port;
a fan module disposed on the first portion and having an outlet that communicates with the discharge port of the top cover;
an intake side of the fan module;
a control box coupled to the second portion, the fan module includes:
a fan housing disposed on the first portion;
a fan accommodated in the fan housing, wherein a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing, the external air flows through the dripping hole.
However, Lee teaches a suction grille formed on a rear surface (paragraph [50]: suction grille 330 at rear surface 300);
a discharge cover (louver 130 used as discharge cover; paragraph [38]: louver 130 rotates to open and close or cover the discharge ports 131) that opens and closes the discharge port (131);
a fan module (FIG.3 illustrate fan module with housing and grille) disposed on the first portion (560; frame 600 support 500 and mounting part 560 is part of assembly 500) and having an outlet (inherent; paragraph [107]: blowing fan to radially discharge the suctioned air which then be discharged to outside through louver, thus the outlet of fan connected to discharge port 131) that communicates with the discharge port (131) of the top cover (cover assembly 100);
an intake side (holes 331 for external air into dehumidifier 1) of the fan module; the fan module includes:
a fan housing (510) disposed on the first portion (560);
a fan (540) accommodated in the fan housing (510), and
a control box (590) coupled to the second portion (frame 600 used as second portion; paragraph [113]: frame 600 support control box mounting 580 disposed on assembly 500) for the purpose of providing superior blowing performance as a result improving the air flow (paragraph [107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Yoon to include a suction grille formed on a rear surface; a discharge cover that opens and closes the discharge port; a fan module disposed on the first portion and having an outlet that communicates with the discharge port of the top cover; an intake side of the fan module; a control box coupled to the second portion, the fan module includes: a fan housing disposed on the first portion; a fan accommodated in the fan housing as taught by Lee in order to provide superior blowing performance as a result improving the air flow.
Further, Wei teaches wherein a dripping hole (paragraph [15]: condensate drain pipes connected to drain hole, A surface set on side of fan air outlet A, provided with condensed water drain hole C surface) is formed in the fan housing (fan A 1013 in new fan housing 101), external air through the dripping hole (to clarify, dripping hole on fan housing therefore outside or external air flows through dripping hole) for the purpose of draining the condensed water out of the fan housing as a result improving efficiency of the system (paragraph [7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Yoon to include a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing as taught by Wei in order to drain the condensed water out of the fan housing as a result improving efficiency of the system.
Claim 2: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the external air intake (12) is formed at an upper surface (inherent as top surface of sleeve) of a sleeve (Lee, to clarify, sleeve curvy shape hollow or open ended for a part to fit within; see annotate FIG.4) that extends upward from the base (11).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (sleeve)]
Claim 3: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein a space is formed between the case (1) and the control box (Lee, 590) so that the indoor air flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake flows (Lee, 331) upward along the control box (Lee, 590).
Claim 4: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein an air guide (rib 71 used as air guide) is formed between an edge (inherent) of the first portion (72) and the case (1), such that the air flowing upward along the surface of the control box (Lee, 590) is guided to an upper side (inherent to first portion 72) of the first portion (72).
Claim 5: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the dripping hole (Wei, drain hole C) is formed at a lower edge (inherent to the fan) of the fan housing (Lee, 510).
Claim 11: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the external air intake (12) includes a sleeve (Lee, to clarify, sleeve curvy shape hollow or open ended for a part to fit within; see annotate FIG.4) that extends upward from the base (11).
Claim 8: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein an air guide (rib 71 used as air guide) is formed between an edge (inherent to the first portion) of the first portion (72) and the case (1), such that the air flowing upward along the surface of the control box (Lee, 590) is guided to an upper side (inherent to the first portion) of the first portion (72).
Claim 14: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indoor air (to clarify, function of dehumidifier is to sucks in indoor air) flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake (Lee, 331) flows upward along the control box (Lee, 590).
Claim 15: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air introduced into the fan housing (Lee, 510) is discharged to an outside of the case (1) through the discharge port (13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument on page 8: “a base with an external air intake on one side thereof; a control box coupled to the second portion and disposed directly above the external air intake, wherein the fan module includes a fan housing disposed on the first portion; and a fan accommodated in the fan housing, wherein a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing, and wherein indoor air flowing into the case through the external air intake flows into the fan housing through the dripping hole. Yoon, Lee, and Wei, taken alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest at least such claimed features of independent claim 1, or the claimed combination”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because, as indicated in the office action, Yoon discloses a base (11) with an external air intake (suction inlet 12; to clarify, all the components of dehumidifier are installed on the base), further discloses a control box (800) disposed directly above the external air intake (12), indoor air (to clarify, function of dehumidifier is to sucks in indoor air) flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake (12) flows into the fan (to clarify, blower 6 is inside covers of the unit),
But Yoon lacks a control box coupled to the second portion, and a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing, external air through the dripping hole.
So, Yoon modified by Lee to only teach a control box (590) coupled to the second portion (frame 600 used as second portion; paragraph [113]: frame 600 support control box mounting 580 disposed on assembly 500), a fan module (FIG.3 illustrate fan module with housing and grille) includes a fan housing (510) disposed on the first portion (560); a fan (540) accommodated in the fan housing (510), and a control box (590) coupled to the second portion (frame 600 used as second portion; paragraph [113]: frame 600 support control box mounting 580 disposed on assembly 500) in order to provide superior blowing performance as a result improving the air flow,
Further, Yoon modified by Wei to only teach a dripping hole (paragraph [15]: condensate drain pipes connected to drain hole, A surface set on side of fan air outlet A, provided with condensed water drain hole C surface) is formed in the fan housing (fan A 1013 in new fan housing 101), external air through the dripping hole (to clarify, dripping hole on fan housing therefore outside or external air flows through dripping hole) in order to drain the condensed water out of the fan housing as a result improving efficiency of the system.
Applicant’s argument on page 9: “Lee fails to overcome the deficiencies of Yoon. That is, Lee does not disclose or suggest an external air intake formed in a base. Further, Lee does not disclose or suggest a dripping hole formed in a fan housing. That is, Lee does not disclose or suggest structure in which air introduced through an external air intake cools a control box and then flows into an interior of a fan module through a dripping hole. Wei fails to overcome the deficiencies of Yoon and Lee. That is, Wei also does not disclose or suggest an external air intake formed in a base. Wei only discloses or suggest a drain hole formed in the fan housing. That is, Wei also does not disclose or suggest structure in which air introduced through an external air intake cools a control box and then flows into an interior of a fan module through a dripping hole”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because, the motivation to modified Yoon by Lee in indicated in the office action, and in the previous response above. Also it is indicated in above response Wei teaches dripping hole formed in a fan housing, not Lee.
These limitations argued by the applicant, “air introduced through an external air intake cools a control box”, the bolded limitations are not claimed in claim 1.
The motivation to use Wei is also indicated in previous argument and in the office action. Further, it is indicated in the office action, Yoon discloses an external air intake formed in a base, not Wei.
Other arguments are repeated in this section on page 9 which are addressed in the previous section of examiner response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763