DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2020/0061531 A1), in view of Lee (US 2015/0285531 A1), and in view of Wei (CN 207471720 U).
Claim 1: Yoon discloses a dehumidifier (FIG.1), comprising:
a base (11) with an external air intake (suction inlet 12; to clarify, all the components of dehumidifier are installed on the base) on one side thereof;
a case (1) disposed on an upper surface (inherent; to clarify, all the components of humidified are installed on the base) of the base (11);
a top cover (19) disposed on an upper surface (inherent; to clarify, all the components of humidified are installed on the base) of the case (1) and having a discharge port (13);
a drain pan (7) including a first portion (72) that extends laterally to divide an internal space (to clarify, divided spaces by partitions as shown in FIG.9) of the case (1) into an upper space (inherent) and a lower space (inherent; to clarify, divided spaces by partitions upper and lower spaces as shown in FIG.9), and
a second portion (73) that extends from a lower surface (inherent) of the first portion (72) and disposed on the base (to clarify, all the components of the dehumidifier installed on the base 11);
a water tank (2) disposed on the upper surface of the base (11) and that stores condensed water generated during a dehumidification process (paragraph [60]: condensed water within bucket 2);
a compressor (3) disposed on the upper surface of the base spaced apart from the water tank (2);
a condenser (4) mounted on the first portion (72);
an evaporator (5) mounted on the first portion (72) behind the condenser (4); and a control box (800) disposed directly above the external air intake (12),
a fan (air blower 6), and wherein indoor air (to clarify, function of dehumidifier is to sucks in indoor air) flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake (12) flows into the fan (to clarify, blower 6 is inside covers of the unit).
and wherein an indoor air (to clarify, dehumidifier is used in an indoor space to dehumidify, therefore indoor air or indoor space air flows into the unit via 12) flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake (12) flows upward along the control box (to clarify, external air intake 12 is located below control panel 800, therefore as air flows through 12 flows upward toward control box 800 at the top) and the air that flows upward while cooling the control box (paragraph [32]: 800 control panel disposed on the top cover 19) flows into the fan (6) through.
Yoon discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a suction grille formed on a rear surface; a discharge cover that opens and closes the discharge port; a fan module disposed on the first portion and having an outlet that communicates with the discharge port of the top cover; an intake side of the fan module; a control box coupled to the second portion, the fan module includes: a fan housing disposed on the first portion; a fan accommodated in the fan housing, wherein a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing,
However, Lee teaches a suction grille formed on a rear surface (paragraph [50]: suction grille 330 at rear surface 300);
a discharge cover (louver 130 used as discharge cover; paragraph [38]: louver 130 rotates to open and close or cover the discharge ports 131) that opens and closes the discharge port (131);
a fan module (FIG.3 illustrate fan module with housing and grille) disposed on the first portion (560; frame 600 support 500 and mounting part 560 is part of assembly 500) and having an outlet (inherent; paragraph [107]: blowing fan to radially discharge the suctioned air which then be discharged to outside through louver, thus the outlet of fan connected to discharge port 131) that communicates with the discharge port (131) of the top cover (cover assembly 100);
an intake side (holes 331 for external air into dehumidifier 1) of the fan module;
the fan module includes:
a fan housing (510) disposed on the first portion (560);
a fan (540) accommodated in the fan housing (510), and
a control box (590) coupled to the second portion (frame 600 used as second portion; paragraph [113]: frame 600 support control box mounting 580 disposed on assembly 500) for the purpose of providing superior blowing performance as a result improving the air flow (paragraph [107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Yoon to include a suction grille formed on a rear surface; a discharge cover that opens and closes the discharge port; a fan module disposed on the first portion and having an outlet that communicates with the discharge port of the top cover; an intake side of the fan module; a control box coupled to the second portion, the fan module includes: a fan housing disposed on the first portion; a fan accommodated in the fan housing as taught by Lee in order to provide superior blowing performance as a result improving the air flow.
Further, Wei teaches wherein a dripping hole (paragraph [15]: condensate drain pipes connected to drain hole, A surface set on side of fan air outlet A, provided with condensed water drain hole C surface) is formed in the fan housing (fan A 1013 in new fan housing 101),
external air through the dripping hole (to clarify, dripping hole on fan housing therefore outside or external air flows through dripping hole) for the purpose of draining the condensed water out of the fan housing as a result improving efficiency of the system (paragraph [7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Yoon to include a dripping hole is formed in the fan housing as taught by Wei in order to drain the condensed water out of the fan housing as a result improving efficiency of the system.
Claim 2: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the external air intake (12) is formed at an upper surface (inherent as top surface of sleeve) of a sleeve (Lee, to clarify, sleeve curvy shape hollow or open ended for a part to fit within; see annotate FIG.4) that extends upward from the base (11).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (sleeve)]
Claim 3: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein a space is formed between the case (1) and the control box (Lee, 590) so that the indoor air flowing into the case (1) through the external air intake flows (Lee, 331) upward along the control box (Lee, 590).
Claim 4: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein an air guide (rib 71 used as air guide) is formed between an edge (inherent) of the first portion (72) and the case (1), such that the air flowing upward along the surface of the control box (Lee, 590) is guided to an upper side (inherent to first portion 72) of the first portion (72).
Claim 5: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the dripping hole (Wei, drain hole C) is formed at a lower edge (inherent to the fan) of the fan housing (Lee, 510).
Claim 8: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein an air guide (rib 71 used as air guide) is formed between an edge (inherent to the first portion) of the first portion (72) and the case (1), such that the air flowing upward along the surface of the control box (Lee, 590) is guided to an upper side (inherent to the first portion) of the first portion (72).
Claim 11: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the external air intake (12) includes a sleeve (Lee, to clarify, sleeve curvy shape hollow or open ended for a part to fit within; see annotate FIG.4) that extends upward from the base (11).
Claim 15: Yoon as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air introduced into the fan housing (Lee, 510) is discharged to an outside of the case (1) through the discharge port (13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/21/2026, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments in regards to the amendments are addressed in this office action above.
Applicant arguments on pages 6-7:
“Yoon does not disclose or suggest an external air intake formed in a base. Further, Yoon does not disclose or suggest a dripping hole formed in the fan housing. That is, Yoon does not disclose or suggest structure in which air introduced through an external air intake cools a control box and then flows into an interior of a fan module through a dripping hole. Lee does not disclose or suggest an external air intake formed in a base. Wei also does not disclose or suggest an external air intake formed in a base”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Yoon discloses external air intake (suction inlet 12; to clarify, all the components of dehumidifier are installed on the base), not Lee neither Wei as applicant argued. Yoon was modified by Wei to teach a dripping hole (paragraph [15]: condensate drain pipes connected to drain hole, A surface set on side of fan air outlet A, provided with condensed water drain hole C surface), further control box also disclosed by Yoon, also Lee teaches a control box (590) coupled to the second portion (frame 600 used as second portion; paragraph [113]: frame 600 support control box mounting 580 disposed on assembly 500) as indicated in the office action (see the rejections above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to air conditioning:
Ikeda (US 2013/0177395 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763