CTNF 18/772,564 CTNF 89846 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12078909 B2 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 1 and 6 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 An electronic device, comprising: a splitter arrangement to separate a first input signal into an in-phase portion of the first input signal and a quadrature portion of the first input signal, and to separate a second input signal into an in- phase portion of the second input signal and a quadrature portion of the second input signal; An electronic device, comprising: a splitter to separate the input signal into an in-phase portion of the input signal and a quadrature portion of the input signal; Claim 6. a second splitter to separate the second input signal into an in-phase portion of the second input signal and a quadrature portion of the second input signal; a modulator arrangement to modulate the in-phase portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal and to modulate the quadrature portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal; and a modulator arrangement to modulate the in-phase portion of the input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and to modulate the quadrature portion of the input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the input signal; and a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal, wherein a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the input signal, wherein the modulator arrangement is further to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal and the quadrature portion of the second input signal. Claim 6. the modulator arrangement is to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal and the quadrature portion of the second input signal. However, Claim 1 of Application No. 18/772,564 differs from Claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 because Claim 1 of Application No. 18/772,564 does not include “a signal input to receive an input signal; a second signal input to receive a second input signal; the modulator arrangement includes a substrate comprising silicon, one or more quantum wells comprising a III-V material, and a waveguide between the substrate and the III-V material, the waveguide comprising silicon.” It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 1 are to be found in patent claims 1 and 6 (as the application claim 1 fully encompasses patent claims 1 and 6 ). The difference between the application claim 1 and the patent claims 1 and 6 lies in the fact that the patent claims include many more elements and thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1 and 6 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 1 . It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 6 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 6 of the patent. Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a polarization rotator and beam combiner communicatively coupled with the coupler. The electronic device of claim 6, further comprising a polarization rotator and beam combiner (PRBC) communicatively coupled with the coupler. Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modulator arrangement includes silicon and a III-V material. the modulator arrangement includes a substrate comprising silicon, one or more quantum wells comprising a III-V material Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 3 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the Ill-V material includes indium and phosphorous. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the III-V material includes indium and phosphorous. Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the modulator arrangement includes a waveguide and silicon is part of the waveguide. the modulator arrangement includes a waveguide between the substrate and the III-V material, the waveguide comprising silicon. Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 11 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the Ill-V material is over the waveguide. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modulator arrangement further includes a buried layer of an insulator material, wherein the buried layer is between the substrate and the waveguide, and the waveguide is between the buried layer and the III-V material. Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 9 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 6, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the Ill-V material extends along the axis, and a dimension of the Ill-V material in a direction perpendicular to the axis is different from a dimension of the waveguide in the direction perpendicular to the axis. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the III-V material extends along the axis, and a dimension of the III-V material in a direction perpendicular to the axis is different from a dimension of the waveguide in the direction perpendicular to the axis. Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 9 and 10 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 6, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the Ill-V material extends along the axis, and the Ill-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. Claim 9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the III-V material extends along the axis Claim 10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the III-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 11 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 6, further comprising a substrate, wherein the waveguide is between the substrate and the Ill-V material. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modulator arrangement further includes a buried layer of an insulator material, wherein the buried layer is between the substrate and the waveguide, and the waveguide is between the buried layer and the III-V material. Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 1 and 9 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 An electronic device, comprising: a splitter to separate an input signal into an in-phase portion and a quadrature portion; An electronic device, comprising: a splitter to separate the input signal into an in-phase portion of the input signal and a quadrature portion of the input signal; a modulator arrangement to modulate the in-phase portion to generate a modulated in-phase portion and to modulate the quadrature portion to generate a modulated quadrature portion; and a modulator arrangement to modulate the in-phase portion of the input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and to modulate the quadrature portion of the input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the input signal; and a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion and the modulated quadrature portion, wherein: a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the input signal, wherein the modulator arrangement includes a waveguide comprising silicon and a Ill-V material over the waveguide, the modulator arrangement includes a waveguide between the substrate and the III-V material, the waveguide comprising silicon. the waveguide extends along an axis, the Ill-V material extends along the axis, and a dimension of the Ill-V material in a direction perpendicular to the axis is different from a dimension of the waveguide in the direction perpendicular to the axis. Claim 9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the III-V material extends along the axis, and a dimension of the III-V material in a direction perpendicular to the axis is different from a dimension of the waveguide in the direction perpendicular to the axis. However, Claim 11 of Application No. 18/772,564 differs from Claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 because Claim 11 of Application No. 18/772,564 does not include “a signal input to receive an input signal; a substrate comprising silicon; and one or more quantum wells comprising a III-V material.” It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 11 are to be found in patent claims 1 and 9 (as the application claim 11 fully encompasses patent claims 1 and 9 ). The difference between the application claim 11 and the patent claims 1 and 9 lies in the fact that the patent claims include many more elements and thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1 and 9 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 11 . It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 11 is anticipated by claims 1 and 9 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 9 of the patent. Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 6 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the modulator arrangement is further to modulate an in-phase portion of a further input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the further input signal. a second signal input to receive a second input signal; wherein the modulator arrangement is to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 10 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the Ill-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the III-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 2 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the Ill-V material includes indium and phosphorous. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the III-V material includes indium and phosphorous. Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 1 and 6 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 An electronic device, comprising: a modulator to modulate an in-phase portion of a first input signal to generate a modulated in- phase portion of the first input signal, modulate a quadrature portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal, and modulate an in-phase portion of a second input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the second input signal; and An electronic device, comprising: a modulator arrangement to modulate the in-phase portion of the input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and to modulate the quadrature portion of the input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the input signal; and Claim 6. the modulator arrangement is to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal. a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the input signal However, Claim 15 of Application No. 18/772,564 differs from Claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 because Claim 15 of Application No. 18/772,564 does not include “a signal input to receive an input signal; a splitter to separate the input signal into an in-phase portion of the input signal and a quadrature portion of the input signal; a second signal input to receive a second input signal; a second splitter to separate the second input signal into an in-phase portion of the second input signal and a quadrature portion of the second input signal; and the modulator arrangement includes a substrate comprising silicon, one or more quantum wells comprising a III-V material, and a waveguide between the substrate and the III-V material, the waveguide comprising silicon.” It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 15 are to be found in patent claims 1 and 6 (as the application claim 15 fully encompasses patent claims 1 and 6 ). The difference between the application claim 15 and the patent claims 1 and 6 lies in the fact that the patent claims include many more elements and thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1 and 6 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 15 . It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 15 is anticipated by claims 1 and 6 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 6 of the patent. Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 1 and 6 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the modulator is further to modulate a quadrature portion of the second input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the second input signal, the output signal is a first output signal, and the coupler is further to form a second output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the second input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the second input signal. Claim 6. The electronic device of claim 1, a second signal input to receive a second input signal; a second splitter to separate the second input signal into an in-phase portion of the second input signal and a quadrature portion of the second input signal; and wherein the modulator arrangement is to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal and the quadrature portion of the second input signal. Claim 1. a coupler to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the input signal Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization. Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the modulator includes a waveguide comprising silicon and a Ill-V material over the waveguide. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the modulator arrangement further includes a buried layer of an insulator material, wherein the buried layer is between the substrate and the waveguide, and the waveguide is between the buried layer and the III-V material. Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 of Application No. 18/772,564 Claims 9 and 10 of US Patent No. 12,078,909 B2 The electronic device of claim 19, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the Ill-V material extends along the axis, and the Ill-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. Claim 9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the waveguide extends along an axis, the III-V material extends along the axis Claim 10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the III-V material tapers in a direction of the axis. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yue et al. (US9749057B2) . Regarding claim 1, Yue et al. discloses An electronic device ( Fig. 3B ) , comprising: a splitter arrangement ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 32-35; the beam splitting parts of the modulators 354 and 356 are shown. The beam splitter 352 split the input optical signal into two paths. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths. The path is further split into upper arm and lower arm of the modulators 354 and 356 at the beam splitting parts) to separate a first input signal into an in-phase portion of the first input signal and a quadrature portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 2, lines 57-66; the beam splitting part of the X Channel Modulator 354 splits the optical beam into upper arm for in-phase or I Channel modulator 358 as shown and lower arm for quadrature or Q Channel Modulator 360. An optical modulator use quadrature amplitude modulation to modulate an optical carrier wave to transmit information. Quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) is a modulation technique where two or more binary or multi-level electrical data signals are modulated, via an in-phase, or “I” channel, and a quadrature (90 degree or approximately 90 degree) phase, or “Q” channel, onto a single optical carrier wave such that both its amplitude and phase are modulated with data to enhance the efficiency of the spectral occupancy) , and to separate a second input signal into an in-phase portion of the second input signal and a quadrature portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 2, lines 57-66; the beam splitting part of the Y Channel Modulator 356 splits the optical beam into upper arm for in-phase or I Channel modulator 364 as shown and lower arm for quadrature or Q Channel Modulator 366. An optical modulator use quadrature amplitude modulation to modulate an optical carrier wave to transmit information. Quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) is a modulation technique where two or more binary or multi-level electrical data signals are modulated, via an in-phase, or “I” channel, and a quadrature (90 degree or approximately 90 degree) phase, or “Q” channel, onto a single optical carrier wave such that both its amplitude and phase are modulated with data to enhance the efficiency of the spectral occupancy) ; a modulator arrangement ( Fig. 3B; I and Q channel modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366) to modulate the in-phase portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; I Channel Modulator 358 generates in-phase modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) and to modulate the quadrature portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; Q Channel Modulator 360 generates quadrature modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) ; and a coupler ( Fig. 3B; the polarization beam combiner 376) to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 9, lines 1-3; the polarization beam combiner 376 combines X channel in-phase and quadrature signals and the Y channel in-phase and quadrature signals as shown. Polarization beam combiner 376 may combine the orthogonal modulated optical signals to produce an optical signal with a combined polarization) , wherein the modulator arrangement is further to modulate the in-phase portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; I Channel Modulator 364 generates in-phase modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) and the quadrature portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; Q Channel Modulator 366 generates quadrature modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) . Regarding claim 2, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization ( Fig. 3B; Column 2, lines 48-54; The different polarizations may include a first polarization channel, “X channel,” and a second polarization channel, “Y channel,” and the X channel and the Y channel may be orthogonal (or approximately orthogonal) to one another. For example, the X channel may be horizontally polarized light, and the Y channel may be vertically polarized light) . Regarding claim 3, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 1, as described and applied above, further comprising a polarization rotator and beam combiner ( Fig. 3B; the combining part of the Y channel modulator 356 combines the in-phase signal of the upper arm and quadrature signal of the lower arm as shown. The combined signal is subsequently input to the polarization rotator 374) communicatively coupled with the coupler ( Fig. 3B; the combining part of the Y channel modulator 356 and the polarization rotator 374 are communicatively coupled to the polarization beam combiner as shown) . Regarding claim 15, Yue et al. discloses An electronic device ( Fig. 3B ) , comprising: a modulator ( Fig. 3B; I and Q channel modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366) to modulate an in-phase portion of a first input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; I Channel Modulator 358 generates in-phase modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) , modulate a quadrature portion of the first input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; Q Channel Modulator 360 generates quadrature modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) , and modulate an in-phase portion of a second input signal to generate a modulated in-phase portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; I Channel Modulator 364 generates in-phase modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) ; and a coupler ( Fig. 3B; the polarization beam combiner 376) to form an output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the first input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the first input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 9, lines 1-3; the polarization beam combiner 376 combines X channel in-phase and quadrature signals and the Y channel in-phase and quadrature signals as shown. Polarization beam combiner 376 may combine the orthogonal modulated optical signals to produce an optical signal with a combined polarization) . Regarding claim 16, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the modulator is further to modulate a quadrature portion of the second input signal to generate a modulated quadrature portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 8, lines 33-38; Q Channel Modulator 366 generates quadrature modulated signal as shown. X channel modulator 354 and Y channel modulator 356 may each receive an optical signal on a respective one of the paths, and may modulate each optical signal using an electrical driving signal using modulators 358, 360, 364, and 366 to each produce an output optical signal) , the output signal is a first output signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 9, lines 1-3; the combined X channel in-phase and quadrature signal. The polarization beam combiner 376 combines combined X channel in-phase and quadrature signal and the combined Y channel in-phase and quadrature signal. Polarization beam combiner 376 may combine the orthogonal modulated optical signals to produce an optical signal with a combined polarization) , and the coupler is further to form a second output signal based on the modulated in-phase portion of the second input signal and the modulated quadrature portion of the second input signal ( Fig. 3B; Column 9, lines 1-3; the combined Y channel in-phase and quadrature signal. The polarization beam combiner 376 combines combined X channel in-phase and quadrature signal and the combined Y channel in-phase and quadrature signal. Polarization beam combiner 376 may combine the orthogonal modulated optical signals to produce an optical signal with a combined polarization) . Regarding claim 17, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 16, as described and applied above, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization ( Fig. 3B; Column 2, lines 48-54; The different polarizations may include a first polarization channel, “X channel,” and a second polarization channel, “Y channel,” and the X channel and the Y channel may be orthogonal (or approximately orthogonal) to one another. For example, the X channel may be horizontally polarized light, and the Y channel may be vertically polarized light) . Regarding claim 18, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the first input signal has a first polarization, and the second input signal has a second polarization, different from the first polarization ( Fig. 3B; Column 2, lines 48-54; The different polarizations may include a first polarization channel, “X channel,” and a second polarization channel, “Y channel,” and the X channel and the Y channel may be orthogonal (or approximately orthogonal) to one another. For example, the X channel may be horizontally polarized light, and the Y channel may be vertically polarized light) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US9749057B2) in view of Rahn et al. (US20190081724A1) . Regarding claim 4, the present system discloses The electronic device of claim 1, as described and applied above. However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the modulator arrangement includes silicon and a Ill-V material. Rahn et al. discloses the modulator arrangement includes silicon and a Ill-V material ( Fig. 1A; Para. 35; FIG. 1a shows an optical device, such as module 1010 including substrate 1011 upon which the TX PIC may be provided. Substrate 1011 (also referred to as a PIC substrate or TX PIC substrate herein) may be made of a Group III-V material and may include indium phosphide (InP) or gallium arsenide (GaAs)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the optical transmitter on a photonic integrated circuit. A Photonic Integrated Circuits (PICs) provide a faster, more energy-efficient data transmission with low power consumption. Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The electronic device of claim 4, as described and applied above, wherein the Ill-V material includes indium and phosphorous ( Rahn et al., Fig. 1A; Para. 35; FIG. 1a shows an optical device, such as module 1010 including substrate 1011 upon which the TX PIC may be provided. Substrate 1011 (also referred to as a PIC substrate or TX PIC substrate herein) may be made of a Group III-V material and may include indium phosphide (InP) or gallium arsenide (GaAs)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US9749057B2) and Rahn et al. (US20190081724A1) in view of Doerr (Silicon photonic integration in telecommunications, 2015) . Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The electronic device of claim 4, as described and applied above, wherein the modulator arrangement includes a waveguide ( Yue et al., the modulators 354 and 356 comprise waveguides as shown). However, the present combination does not expressly disclose silicon is part of the waveguide. Doerr discloses silicon is part of the waveguide ( Fig. 4; Fig. 6; the popular PIC material includes silicon on insulator as shown in Fig. 4. The core of the waveguide is made of silicon as shown in Fig. 6) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicon on insulator PIC material to implement waveguides. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because silicon on insulator is popular PIC material . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 11-14 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAI M LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-5870. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye can be reached at 571-272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JAI M. LEE Examiner Art Unit 2634 /JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 5 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 6 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 7 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 8 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 9 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 10 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 11 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 12 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 13 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 14 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 15 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 16 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 17 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 18 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 19 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 20 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 21 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 22 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 23 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 24 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 25 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 26 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 27 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 28 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/772,564 Page 29 Art Unit: 2634