DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwin et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2013/0303886 A1) and further in view of Ben-Hain et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2023/0042644 A1) and Siekmeyer et al. (U.S. Patent 5,846,196 A).
Claim 1: Ludwin teaches –
A method [a method] (Para 0016), comprising:
receiving electrical signals from multiple coils [coils] (Para 0043; Figure 3, Element 64, 66, 68 & 70 and Figure 4, Element 45) embedded in a distal end assembly [sensing assembly] (Figure 2, Element 63) of a catheter [catheter] (Figure 1, Element 28) delivered via a sheath [sheath] (Figure 1, Element 40) inserted into a body of a patient [sheath distal end which is configured to be inserted into a human patient] (Para 0017),
the electrical signals being received [signal processor 36 processes these signals in order to determine the position coordinates of the distal end, the position coordinates typically including both location and orientation coordinates] (Para 0034 and Figure 1, Element 34 & 36) in response to applying an external magnetic field to the distal end assembly [field generators comprise coils, which are placed below the patient's torso at known positions external to the patient] (Para 0034 and Figure 1, Element 32);
detecting a change in value of an electrical signal outputted by a distal coil [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020) among the multiple coils [coils] (Para 0043; Figure 3, Element 64, 66, 68 & 70 and Figure 4, Element 45);
based on the change in the value of the electrical signal, determining that the distal end assembly relative to the sheath [The processor compares the measured signals with the sheath location calibration relationship determined in step 102] (Para 0046)
in response to detecting the change in the value, using the value of the electrical signal from the distal coil to determine a position of a distal end of the sheath inside the body [estimating a distance of the probe distal end from the sheath distal end in response to the change in the signal] (Claim 21) [From the comparison, processor 36 estimates the position of sheath termination 80, corresponding to measuring the value of distance ∆z] (Para 0064).
Ludwin fails to teach based on the change in the value of the electrical signal, determining that the distal end assembly has at least partially emerged from the sheath and the distal coil is in at least a partially expanded state outside the sheath. Ludwin also fails to teach detecting a change in value of an electrical signal outputted by a distal coil in response to a change in a spatial symmetry of the distal coil.
However, Ben-Haim teaches –
detecting a change in value of an electrical signal [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) outputted by a distal coil [The “electrode portion”…comprises an expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109) in response to a change in a spatial symmetry [a ball configuration 203, a mostly-deployed configuration] (Para 0108 and Figure 2, Element 205 & 207) of the distal coil [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A)
based on the change in the value of the electrical signal [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A), determining that the distal end assembly [deployable devices] (Figure 2, Element 21 and Para 0093) has at least partially emerged (See Exhibit 1) from the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) and the distal coil [The “electrode portion”…comprises an expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109) is in at least a partially expanded state (See Exhibit 1) outside the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010)
[AltContent: textbox (Exhibit 1 – Figure 2 of Ben-Haim)]Examiner’s Note: The conformational state comprises the emerging of the distal end assembly and the expanded state of the distal coil [expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109). The distal coil of Ben-Haim is used for positioning by magnetic tracking (Para 0186) similarly to the distal coil of Ludwin.
Ludwin teaches an ablation catheter without a basket (or any assembly element capable of expanding and collapsing). Ben-Haim also teaches an ablation catheter with a basket (Para 0169). Additionally both Ludwin and Ben-Haim teach the benefits of fully understanding the deployment distance of the distal end of the catheter (Para 0002 of Ludwin and Para 0189 of Ben-Haim).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination method of Ludwin to include the deployment state determination of Ben-Haim in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010).
Ludwin and Ben-Haim fails to teach the distal end assembly expands from a rolled or folded state to an unrolled or unfolded state. However, Siekmeyer teaches the distal end assemble expands from a rolled or folded state to an unrolled or unfolded state [the electrode array may then by folded or rolled up] (Col. 4, Line 47-48) in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber thereby expanding from its retracted position with the lumen to its predetermined configuration or shape outside of the catheter (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
Siekmeyer teaches a similar shape construction in Figure 4 to Figure 2 of Ben-Haim. Siekmeyer discloses how modifications from Figure 4 of Siekmeyer to Figure 1 of Siekmeyer are obvious (Col. 6, Line 47-49). The Examiner contends that Siekmeyer thus teaches the obviousness of the rolled designed from the state as shown in Figure 2, Element 21 of Ben-Haim in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ludwin and Bn-Haim to include the rolling/folding as taught by Siekmeyer in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber thereby expanding from its retracted position with the lumen to its predetermined configuration or shape outside of the catheter (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
Claim 2/1: Ludwin teaches further comprising:
determining a relation between the electrical signals outputted by two or more side coils [pair of coils] (Figure 3, Element 66 & 68) among the multiple coils [processor measures the signals generated by coils 68 and 70, caused respectively by the mutual inductance between the pair of coils 66 and 68, and the pair of coils 66 and 70] (Para 0059); and
upon detecting a change in the relation, based on the electrical signals [The processor records the changes in signals in coils 68 and 70 for different values of distance ∆z of the sheath termination, and forms a sheath location calibration relationship] (Para 0059), identifying that the distal end assembly has fully emerged from the sheath [The processor compares the measured signals with the sheath location calibration relationship determined in step 102. From the comparison, processor 36 estimates the position of sheath termination 80, corresponding to measuring the value of distance ∆z] (Para 0064).
Ludwin fails to teach upon detecting a change in the relation, based on the electrical signals, identify that the distal end assembly has fully emerged from the sheath and is fully expanded.
However, Ben-Haim teaches –
upon detecting a change in the relation (Figure 3A & 3B), based on the electrical signals [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A), identify that the distal end assembly [deployable devices] (Figure 2, Element 21 and Para 0093) has fully emerged from the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) and is fully expanded [fully deployed configuration] (Figure 2, Element 207 and Exhibit 1 from above) in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination method of Ludwin to include the deployment state determination of Ben-Haim in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010).
Claim 3/2/1: Ludwin teaches further comprising, upon detecting a change in the relation calculating [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020), based on the electrical signals [The processor records the changes in signals in coils 68 and 70 for different values of distance ∆z of the sheath termination, and forms a sheath location calibration relationship] (Para 0059), determining a position [The processor may present the distance] (Para 0064; understood to be based on the position of the sheath termination) of the expanded distal end assembly within the body [operator 26 may manipulate the proximal ends of the sheath and probe to achieve a desired protrusion of probe distal end 44 from sheath termination 80] (Para 0064).
Claim 4/2/1: Ludwin teaches wherein the distal end assembly comprises first and second side coils [pair of coils] (Figure 3, Element 66 & 68) located on respective first and second sides of the distal end assembly [coils in assembly 63 are divided between two subassemblies on opposite sides] (Para 0044), and wherein determining the relation comprises determining a relation between the electrical signals output by the first and second side coils [One or more of coils 64, 66, 68 and 70 may also be used to output signals in response to the magnetic fields generated by field generators 32, and thus serve as position sensing coils. Processor 36 processes these signals in order to determine the coordinates (position and orientation) of distal end 30 in the external frame of reference that is defined by the field generators] (Para 0051).
Claim 6/1: Ludwin teaches wherein the distal coil is located at a distal edge of the distal end assembly (as shown in Figure 3, Element 64).
Claim 7: Ludwin teaches –
A system [apparatus] (Para 0004), comprising:
an interface [a graphical and/or text format, on display 42] (Para 0064 and Figure 1, Element 42) configured for receiving electrical signals from multiple coils [coils] (Para 0043; Figure 3, Element 64, 66, 68 & 70 and Figure 4, Element 45) embedded in a distal end assembly [sensing assembly] (Figure 2, Element 63) of a catheter [catheter] (Figure 1, Element 28) delivered via a sheath [sheath] (Figure 1, Element 40) inserted into a body of a patient [sheath distal end which is configured to be inserted into a human patient] (Para 0017),
the electrical signals being received [signal processor 36 processes these signals in order to determine the position coordinates of the distal end, the position coordinates typically including both location and orientation coordinates] (Para 0034 and Figure 1, Element 34 & 36) in response to applying an external magnetic field to the distal end assembly [field generators comprise coils, which are placed below the patient's torso at known positions external to the patient] (Para 0034 and Figure 1, Element 32); and
a processor [control console] (Figure 1, Element 34), which is configured to:
detect a change in value of an electrical signal outputted by a distal coil [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020) among the multiple coils [coils] (Para 0043; Figure 3, Element 64, 66, 68 & 70 and Figure 4, Element 45);
based on the change in the value of the electrical signal, determining that the distal end assembly relative to the sheath [The processor compares the measured signals with the sheath location calibration relationship determined in step 102] (Para 0046)
in response to detecting the change in the value, use the value of the electrical signal from the distal coil to determine a position of a distal end of the sheath inside the body [estimating a distance of the probe distal end from the sheath distal end in response to the change in the signal] (Claim 21) [From the comparison, processor 36 estimates the position of sheath termination 80, corresponding to measuring the value of distance ∆z] (Para 0064).
Ludwin fails to teach based on the change in the value of the electrical signal, determining that the distal end assembly has at least partially emerged from the sheath and the distal coil is in at least a partially expanded state outside the sheath. Ludwin also fails to teach detecting a change in value of an electrical signal outputted by a distal coil in response to a change in a spatial symmetry of the distal coil.
However, Ben-Haim teaches –
detecting a change in value of an electrical signal [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) outputted by a distal coil [The “electrode portion”…comprises an expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109) in response to a change in a spatial symmetry [a ball configuration 203, a mostly-deployed configuration] (Para 0108 and Figure 2, Element 205 & 207) of the distal coil [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A)
based on the change in the value of the electrical signal [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A), determine that the distal end assembly [deployable devices] (Figure 2, Element 21 and Para 0093) has at least partially emerged (See Exhibit 1) from the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) and the distal coil [The “electrode portion”…comprises an expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109) is in at least a partially expanded state (See Exhibit 1) outside the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010)
Examiner’s Note: The conformational state comprises the emerging of the distal end assembly and the expanded state of the distal coil [expanding metallic cage] (Para 0109). The distal coil of Ben-Haim is used for positioning by magnetic tracking (Para 0186) similarly to the distal coil of Ludwin.
Ludwin teaches an ablation catheter without a basket (or any assembly element capable of expanding and collapsing). Ben-Haim also teaches an ablation catheter with a basket (Para 0169). Additionally both Ludwin and Ben-Haim teach the benefits of fully understanding the deployment distance of the distal end of the catheter (Para 0002 of Ludwin and Para 0189 of Ben-Haim).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination method of Ludwin to include the deployment state determination of Ben-Haim in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010).
Ludwin and Ben-Haim fails to teach the distal end assembly expands from a rolled or folded state to an unrolled or unfolded state and a planar distal end assembly. However, Siekmeyer teaches the distal end assemble expands from a rolled or folded state to an unrolled or unfolded state [the electrode array may then by folded or rolled up] (Col. 4, Line 47-48) and a planar distal end assembly [relaxed unfolded state] (Col. 4, Line 63 and See Figure 1) [unfolded state of the carrier 18, that is to say the state in which it forms a more planar or flat sheet] (Col. 4, Line 51-53) in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber thereby expanding from its retracted position with the lumen to its predetermined configuration or shape outside of the catheter (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
Siekmeyer teaches a similar shape construction in Figure 4 to Figure 2 of Ben-Haim. Siekmeyer discloses how modifications from Figure 4 of Siekmeyer to Figure 1 of Siekmeyer are obvious (Col. 6, Line 47-49). The Examiner contends that Siekmeyer thus teaches the obviousness of the rolled designed from the state as shown in Figure 2, Element 21 of Ben-Haim in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ludwin and Bn-Haim to include the rolling/folding as taught by Siekmeyer in order to permit the measurement of electrical potential within the heart chamber thereby expanding from its retracted position with the lumen to its predetermined configuration or shape outside of the catheter (Col. 3, Line 15-19).
Claim 8/7: Ludwin teaches wherein the processor [control console] (Figure 1, Element 34) is further configured to:
determine a relation between the electrical signals outputted by two or more side coils [pair of coils] (Figure 3, Element 66 & 68) among the multiple coils [processor measures the signals generated by coils 68 and 70, caused respectively by the mutual inductance between the pair of coils 66 and 68, and the pair of coils 66 and 70] (Para 0059); and
upon detecting a change in the relation, based on the electrical signals [The processor records the changes in signals in coils 68 and 70 for different values of distance ∆z of the sheath termination, and forms a sheath location calibration relationship] (Para 0059), identify that the distal end assembly has fully emerged from the sheath [The processor compares the measured signals with the sheath location calibration relationship determined in step 102. From the comparison, processor 36 estimates the position of sheath termination 80, corresponding to measuring the value of distance ∆z] (Para 0064).
Ludwin fails to teach upon detecting a change in the relation, based on the electrical signals, identify that the distal end assembly has fully emerged from the sheath and is fully expanded.
However, Ben-Haim teaches –
upon detecting a change in the relation (Figure 3A & 3B), based on the electrical signals [an electrical parameter measurement indicative of device conformational state] (Para 0105) [relationship between a measured device impedance and conformational states 201, 203, 205, 207] (Para 0110 and Figure 2 & 3A), identify that the distal end assembly [deployable devices] (Figure 2, Element 21 and Para 0093) has fully emerged from the sheath [sheath] (Figure 2, Element 10) and is fully expanded [fully deployed configuration] (Figure 2, Element 207 and Exhibit 1 from above) in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination method of Ludwin to include the deployment state determination of Ben-Haim in order to better understand the navigation of the deployable device for better guidance in the placement of the device (Para 0009-0010).
Claim 9/8/7: Ludwin teaches wherein, upon detecting the change in the relation, the processor [control console] (Figure 1, Element 34) is further configured to calculate [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020) a position [The processor may present the distance] (Para 0064; understood to be based on the position of the sheath termination) of the expanded distal end assembly within the body [operator 26 may manipulate the proximal ends of the sheath and probe to achieve a desired protrusion of probe distal end 44 from sheath termination 80] (Para 0064) based at least in part on the electrical signals [The processor records the changes in signals in coils 68 and 70 for different values of distance ∆z of the sheath termination, and forms a sheath location calibration relationship] (Para 0059).
Claim 10/8/7: Ludwin teaches wherein the distal end assembly comprises first and second side coils [pair of coils] (Figure 3, Element 66 & 68) located on respective first and second sides of the distal end assembly [coils in assembly 63 are divided between two subassemblies on opposite sides] (Para 0044), and wherein the processor [control console] (Figure 1, Element 34) is configured to determine the relation by determining a relation between the electrical signals output by the first and second side coils [One or more of coils 64, 66, 68 and 70 may also be used to output signals in response to the magnetic fields generated by field generators 32, and thus serve as position sensing coils. Processor 36 processes these signals in order to determine the coordinates (position and orientation) of distal end 30 in the external frame of reference that is defined by the field generators] (Para 0051).
Claim 12/7: Ludwin teaches wherein the distal coil is located at a distal edge of the distal end assembly (as shown in Figure 3, Element 64).
Claim(s) 5 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwin et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2013/0303886 A1); Ben-Hain et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2023/0042644 A1) and Siekmeyer et al. (U.S. Patent 5,846,196 A) and further in view of Ghosh (U.S. Patent Application 2021/0106245 A1).
Claim 5/1: Ludwin teaches further comprising determining the change in the value of the electrical signal output by the distal coil [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020)
Ludwin, Ben-Haim and Siekmeyer fail to teach a predefined threshold value. However, Ghosh teaches determining a change has occurred if the change exceeds a predefined threshold value [cardiac metric is less than or equal to a threshold] in order to determine if the change is acceptable (Para 0076).
Although Ghosh is teaching the thresholding with respect to whether or not to change the pacing setting, the thresholding concept is applicable to other determinations. Given the nature of the heart being electrical and the nature of Ludwin making electrical signal analysis, it is understood that small electrical changes are not a result of the movement of the catheter with respect to the sheath but can be a result of noise. This noise can would result in a fast changing distance measurement displayed to the operator that wouldn’t be useful given how fast the numbers would be changing. The thresholding of Ghosh would allow those distance measurements to be more accurate and slow down the distance measurement display to be more meaningful to the operator.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the predefined threshold value of Ghosh to the determining step of Ludwin, Ben-Haim and Siekmeyer in order to determine if the change is acceptable (Para 0076).
Claim 11/7: Ludwin teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the change in the value of the electrical signal output by the distal coil [sensing a change in the signal due to proximity of the magnetic structure to the transducer] (Para 0020)
Ludwin, Ben-Haim and Siekmeyer fail to teach a predefined threshold value. However, Ghosh teaches determining a change has occurred if the change exceeds a predefined threshold value [cardiac metric is less than or equal to a threshold] in order to determine if the change is acceptable (Para 0076).
Although Ghosh is teaching the thresholding with respect to whether or not to change the pacing setting, the thresholding concept is applicable to other determinations. Given the nature of the heart being electrical and the nature of Ludwin making electrical signal analysis, it is understood that small electrical changes are not a result of the movement of the catheter with respect to the sheath but can be a result of noise. This noise can would result in a fast changing distance measurement displayed to the operator that wouldn’t be useful given how fast the numbers would be changing. The thresholding of Ghosh would allow those distance measurements to be more accurate and slow down the distance measurement display to be more meaningful to the operator.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the predefined threshold value of Ghosh to the determining step of Ludwin, Ben-Haim and Siekmeyer in order to determine if the change is acceptable (Para 0076).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the manner in which the prior art references were applied in the prior rejection of record. The arguments of the Applicant were directed to the new amendment regarding unrolled and unfolded state, which were addressed by the rejection above of:
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwin et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2013/0303886 A1) and further in view of Ben-Hain et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2023/0043644 A1) and Siekmeyer et al. (U.S. Patent 5,846,196 A).
No pertinent arguments remain. The rejection is deemed proper and is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maurer et al. (U.S. Patent 5,010,895 A) – Maurer teaches a vaginal electrode adapted to be inserted into a woman's vagina and used as part of a stimulation system to stimulate and constrict muscles surrounding the vagina to prevent the flow of urine through the urethra. The electrode includes a nonconductive sheet of material formed into a diametrically compressible spiral tending to unwind. An exterior surface of the sheet contacts the interior vaginal wall after the electrode is inserted into a vagina. Conductive electrode elements circumferentially oriented on the exterior surface of the sheet are thereby forced into electrical contact with the vaginal wall. Leads couple electrical stimulation signals to the electrode elements.
Govari et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2022/0193370 A1) – Govari teaches the medical system has generator coils configured to generate respective magnetic fields having respective different frequencies in a region of a body part of a living subject. A catheter is configured to be inserted into the body part of the living subject. A processing circuitry is configured to receive the electrical signals from the magnetic coil sensors. One of the magnetic fields having a magnetic field gradient defined by one of the received electrical signals is received. A difference is computed between the magnetic field magnitudes of the selected magnetic field detected by the first magnetic coil sensor and the second magnetic coil sensor based on the received electrical signals. A dimension of the distal end is computed based on the computed difference between the magnetic field magnitudes of selected magnetic field and the magnetic field gradient of the selected magnetic field.
Degertekin et al. (U.S. Patent 11,660,073 B2) – Degertekin teaches an apparatus, including an insertion tube, configured to be inserted into a body cavity and having a first lumen having a first lumen diameter and a distal opening, and a tubular channel, having a second lumen and an outer channel diameter smaller than the first lumen diameter, inserted into the first lumen. The apparatus includes a support structure, configured to be passed through a space between an inner wall of the insertion tube and an outer wall of the tubular channel to the distal opening in a folded state and to unfold, upon exit of the support structure through the distal opening, in a direction transverse to the first lumen to reach a support dimension that is greater than the first lumen diameter. A plurality of planar two-dimensional arrays of ultrasonic transducers are supported by the support structure, the arrays having transverse dimensions less than the first lumen diameter.
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797