DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed June 23, 2026. Claims 1-13 and 26 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 14-25 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 14, applicant’s arguments, on pages 7-9 of the Remarks, that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose all of the limitations of claim 14, as newly amended, have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Namely, applicant argues that the previously cited references fail to disclose the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode. However, as set forth below, Ono et al. discloses the light shielding film BM is disposed between the capacitive insulating film FIL and the common electrode CL (see e.g. Figure 1).
Therefore, claims 14-25 are rejected, as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 25 appears to recite a limitation that has been incorporated into newly amended claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 14 and 23-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,591 in view of Akiyoshi (2019/0056620 A1) and further in view of Ono et al. (US 2002/0101557 A1).
In regard to claim 14, US 12,072,591 claims a liquid crystal display device, comprising (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, line 20):
a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, line 21), the TFT substrate including a first organic passivation film, a semiconductor film, a gate electrode, a drain electrode, a source electrode, a pixel electrode, and a common electrode formed on the first organic passivation film, the first organic passivation film including a through-hole to connect the pixel electrode and the source electrode (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, lines 21-29),
wherein a second organic passivation film is formed in the through-hole (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, line 33 and Claim 7, lines 59-60),
the second organic passivation film exists also outside the through-hole (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, lines 37-40), and
a thickness of the second organic passivation film inside the through-hole is greater than a thickness of the second organic passivation film outside the through-hole (see e.g. Column 12, Claim 1, lines 38-40), and
a recess is formed in the through-hole by an upper surface of the second organic passivation film and a sidewall of the through-hole (see e.g. Column 12, Claim 1, lines 34-35),
an upper surface of the second organic passivation film at the through-hole is lower than an upper surface of the second organic passivation film outside the through-hole (see e.g. Column 12, claim 1, lines 41-43).
US 12,072,591 does not claim
the second organic passivation film continuously extends to a next through-hole;
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode;
a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and
the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
However, Akiyoshi discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
the second organic passivation film continuously extends to a next through-hole (see e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0050] and note that 114 extends to at least a through-hole 122 in pixel electrode 113).
Given the teachings of Akiyoshi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claimed invention of US 12,072,591 with the second organic passivation film continuously extends to a next through-hole.
Providing the passivation film prevents unwanted electrical shorting between layers.
US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, fails to claim
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode;
a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and
the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
However, Ono et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
a light shielding film BM including a metal film (see e.g. paragraph [0057]) formed overlapping the common electrode CL,
a counter substrate SUB2 disposed opposite to the TFT substrate SUB1 (see e.g. Figure 1); and
a capacitive insulating film FIL formed on the pixel electrode PX,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate SUB2,
the light shielding film BM is disposed between the capacitive insulating film FIL and the common electrode CL.
Given the teachings of Ono et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, with a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode; a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode, wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
Doing so would allow the common potential to be transmitted under the lower resistance through the shielding files with the common lines (see e.. paragraph [0075] of Ono et al.).
In regard to claim 23, US 12,072,591 claims the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, but does not claim
wherein the semiconductor film is formed of an oxide semiconductor.
However, Akiyoshi discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
wherein the semiconductor film is formed of an oxide semiconductor 102 (see e.g. paragraph [0083]).
Given the teachings of Akiyoshi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591 with wherein the semiconductor film is formed of an oxide semiconductor.
Doing so would provide a material that is known within the art to provide an effective semiconductive layer for use in thin film transistor switching device.
In regard to claim 24, US 12,072,591 claims the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, but does not claim
color filters formed on a side of the TFT substrate.
However, Akiyoshi discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
color filters 108 formed on a side of the TFT substrate 100 (see e.g. paragraph [0047]).
Given the teachings of Akiyoshi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591 with color filters formed on a side of the TFT substrate.
Doing so would prevent misalignment of the color filter regions with the pixel electrode regions that may occur when the layers are on opposing substrates.
In regard to claim 25, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, claims the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, but fails to claim
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode.
However, Ono et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
a light shielding film BM including a metal film (see e.g. paragraph [0057]) formed overlapping the common electrode CL.
Given the teaching of Ono et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, with a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode.
Doing so would allow the common potential to be transmitted under the lower resistance through the shielding files with the common lines (see e.. paragraph [0075] of Ono et al.).
Claims 15-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,591 in view of Akiyoshi (2019/0056620 A1) in view of Ono et al. (US 2002/0101557 A1) and further in view of Tomioka et al. (US 2013/0021552 A1).
In regard to claim 15, US 12,072,591 claims the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate with a liquid crystal layer in between (see e.g. Column 12, Claim 1, lines 20-23); and
a columnar spacer formed on the counter substrate to define a distance between the TFT substrate and the counter substrate (see e.g. Column 12, Claim 1, lines 30-32), wherein a tip end of the columnar spacer exists in the recess (see e.g. Column 12, Claim 1, line 36).
US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., fails to disclose
the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer formed on a counter substrate,
the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole and the recess has a planar shape of a square.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figures 1B, 3):
the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer 210 (denoted “columnar projection) formed on a counter substrate 200 (see e.g. paragraph [0072] where it is noted that misalignment is resisted),
the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole (see e.g. Figure 1B and note that the recess is at least part of an upper portion of the through-hole). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the recess have a planar shape of a square, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, in re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer formed on a counter substrate, and the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole and the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole and the recess has a planar shape of a square.
Providing the recess would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates by restricting motion of the spacer structure (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.). Further, by selecting a specific shape, the spacer may be adequately prevented from movement.
In regard to claim 16, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but does not claim
wherein the columnar spacer is in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 is in contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 (i.e. at least indirectly) in the recess.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with wherein the columnar spacer is in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 17, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but does not claim
wherein the columnar spacer is not in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1B):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 is not in contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 in the recess.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with wherein the columnar spacer is not in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 18, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 17 above, but does not claim
wherein the columnar spacer comes into contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess when the TFT substrate or the counter substrate receives a pressing force.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1B):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 comes into contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 (i.e. at least indirectly) in the recess when the TFT substrate 100 or the counter substrate 200 receives a pressing force. Note that the compression of the device will naturally cause contact. Further the claim is conditional, and would be satisfied for the device not having a pressing force applied.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with wherein the columnar spacer comes into contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess when the TFT substrate or the counter substrate receives a pressing force.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 19, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but does not claim
wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer in plan view.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses
wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer 210 in plan view (see e.g. Figures 1B and 3 and note the recess must be larger to accommodate the spacer).
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer in plan view.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 20, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but does not claim
wherein a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8µm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a ratio of about 3 a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8 µm, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi and Ono et al., with a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8 µm.
Doing so would provide a recess depth that prevents translational movement of the substrates with respect to one another without an excessive thickness of the display panel needed to prevent such movement where the depth of the recess would have predictable behavior.
In regard to claim 21, US 12,072,591 claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, and wherein the second organic passivation film is formed of a same material as the first organic passivation film (see e.g. Column 12, claim 7, lines 58-60).
Claim 22 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,591 in view of Akiyoshi (2019/0056620 A1) in view of Ono et al. (US 2002/0101557 A1) in view of Tomioka et al. (US 2013/0021552 A1) and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0252926 A1).
In regard to claim 22, US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, Ono et al., and Tomioka et al., claims the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but does not claim
wherein the columnar spacer, the second organic passivation film in the through-hole, the gate electrode, and the semiconductor film overlap one another in plan view.
However, Li et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 7):
wherein the columnar spacer PS2, the film 14 in the through-hole 121, the gate electrode (i.e. of transistor in region Q22), and the semiconductor film (i.e. of transistor in region Q22) overlap one another in plan view.
Given the teachings of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of US 12,072,591, in view of Akiyoshi, Ono et al., and Tomioka et al., with wherein the columnar spacer, the second organic passivation film in the through-hole, the gate electrode, and the semiconductor film overlap one another in plan view.
Doing so would overlap elements that do not contribute to the image such that a larger pixel aperture may be formed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyoshi (2019/0056620 A1) in view of Tomioka et al. (US 2013/0021552 A1) and further in view of Ono et al. (US 2002/0101557 A1).
In regard to claim 14, Akiyoshi discloses a liquid crystal display device, comprising (see e.g. Figure 3):
a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate 100,
the TFT substrate 100 including a first organic passivation film 109, a semiconductor film 102, a gate electrode 104, a drain electrode 106, a source electrode 107, a pixel electrode 113, and a common electrode 110 formed on the first organic passivation film 109 (see e.g. Figure 3 and note the common electrode is formed on film 109),
the first organic passivation film 109 including a through-hole 130 to connect the pixel electrode 113 and the source electrode 107,
wherein a second organic passivation film 114 (denoted “black matrix”, formed of acrylic resin, see paragraphs [0053]-[0057]) is formed in the through-hole 130,
the second organic passivation film 114 exists also outside the through-hole 130 and continuously extends to a next through-hole (see e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0050] and note that 114 extends to at least a through-hole 122 in pixel electrode 113), and a thickness of the second organic passivation film inside the through-hole 130 is greater than a thickness of the second organic passivation film outside the through-hole 130 (see e.g. Figure 3), and
an upper surface of the second organic passivation film 114 at the through-hole 130 is lower than an upper surface of the second organic passivation film 114 outside the through-hole 130 (see e.g. Figure 3).
Akiyoshi fails to disclose
a recess is formed in the through-hole by an upper surface of the second organic passivation film and a sidewall of the through-hole;
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode;
a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and
the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figures 1B, 3):
a recess (i.e. not labeled in the figures and is the portion that accommodates spacer 210) is formed in the through-hole by an upper surface of the insulating film 109 and a sidewall of the through-hole.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi with a recess is formed in the through-hole by an upper surface of the second organic passivation film and a sidewall of the through-hole.
Providing the recess would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates by restricting motion of the spacer structure (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al. fails to disclose
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode;
a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and
a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and
the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
However, Ono et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
a light shielding film BM including a metal film (see e.g. paragraph [0057]) formed overlapping the common electrode CL,
a counter substrate SUB2 disposed opposite to the TFT substrate SUB1 (see e.g. Figure 1); and
a capacitive insulating film FIL formed on the pixel electrode PX,
wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate SUB2,
the light shielding film BM is disposed between the capacitive insulating film FIL and the common electrode CL.
Given the teachings of Ono et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al. with a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode; a counter substrate disposed opposite to the TFT substrate; and a capacitive insulating film formed on the pixel electrode, wherein no black matrix exists in a display region of the counter substrate, and the light shielding film is disposed between the capacitive insulating film and the common electrode.
Doing so would allow the common potential to be transmitted under the lower resistance through the shielding files with the common lines (see e.. paragraph [0075] of Ono et al.).
In regard to claim 15, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
the counter substrate 200 disposed opposite to the TFT substrate 100 with a liquid crystal layer 300 in between.
Akiyoshi fails to disclose
the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer formed on a counter substrate,
the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole and the recess has a planar shape of a square,
the columnar spacer is formed on the counter substrate to define a distance between the TFT substrate and the counter substrate, wherein a tip end of the columnar space exists in the recess.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figures 1B, 3):
the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer 210 (denoted “columnar projection) formed on a counter substrate 200 (see e.g. paragraph [0072] where it is noted that misalignment is resisted), and
the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole (see e.g. Figure 1B and note that the recess is at least part of an upper portion of the through-hole),
the columnar spacer 210 is formed on the counter substrate 200 to define a distance between the TFT substrate 100 and the counter substrate 200, wherein a tip end of the columnar space 210 exists in the recess.
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the recess have a planar shape of a square, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, in re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tomioka et al. with the recess restricts lateral displacement of a columnar spacer formed on a counter substrate, the recess is formed in an upper portion of the through-hole and the recess has a planar shape of a square, the columnar spacer is formed on the counter substrate to define a distance between the TFT substrate and the counter substrate, wherein a tip end of the columnar space exists in the recess.
Providing the recess would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates by restricting motion of the spacer structure (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.). Further, by selecting a specific shape, the spacer may be adequately prevented from movement.
In regard to claim 16, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the columnar spacer is in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 is in contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 (i.e. at least indirectly) in the recess.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi with wherein the columnar spacer is in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 17, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the columnar spacer is not in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1B):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 is not in contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 in the recess.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi with wherein the columnar spacer is not in contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 18, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 17 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the columnar spacer comes into contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess when the TFT substrate or the counter substrate receives a pressing force.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1B):
wherein the columnar spacer 210 comes into contact with the upper surface of the passivation film 109 (i.e. at least indirectly) in the recess when the TFT substrate 100 or the counter substrate 200 receives a pressing force. Note that the compression of the device will naturally cause contact. Further the claim is conditional, and would be satisfied for the device not having a pressing force applied.
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi with wherein the columnar spacer comes into contact with the upper surface of the second organic passivation film in the recess when the TFT substrate or the counter substrate receives a pressing force.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 19, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer in plan view.
However, Tomioka et al. discloses
wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer 210 in plan view (see e.g. Figures 1B and 3 and note the recess must be larger to accommodate the spacer).
Given the teachings of Tomioka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi with wherein a diameter of the recess is larger than a diameter of the columnar spacer in plan view.
Doing so would prevent unwanted misalignment of the substrates (see e.g. paragraph [0072] of Tomioka et al.).
In regard to claim 20, Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8 µm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a ratio of about 3 a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8 µm, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al., with a depth of the recess is 0.4 to 0.8 µm.
Doing so would provide a recess depth that prevents translational movement of the substrates with respect to one another without an excessive thickness of the display panel needed to prevent such movement where the depth of the recess would have predictable behavior.
In regard to claim 21, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
wherein the second organic passivation film 114 is formed of a same material as the first organic passivation film 109 (see e.g. paragraphs [0047] and [0056] where the material is acrylic).
In regard to claim 23, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
wherein the semiconductor film is formed of an oxide semiconductor 102 (see e.g. paragraph [0083]).
In regard to claim 24, Akiyoshi discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
color filters 108 formed on a side of the TFT substrate 100 (see e.g. paragraph [0047]).
In regard to claim 25, Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, but fails to disclose
a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode.
However, Ono et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
a light shielding film BM including a metal film (see e.g. paragraph [0057]) formed overlapping the common electrode CL.
Given the teaching of Ono et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al. with a light shielding film including a metal film formed overlapping the common electrode.
Doing so would allow the common potential to be transmitted under the lower resistance through the shielding files with the common lines (see e.. paragraph [0075] of Ono et al.).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyoshi (US 2019/0056620 A1) in view of Tomioka et al. (US 2013/0021552 A1) in view of Ono et al. (US 2002/0101557 A1) and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0252926 A1).
In regard to claim 22, Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al. and Ono et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the columnar spacer, the second organic passivation film in the through-hole, the gate electrode, and the semiconductor film overlap one another in plan view.
However, Li et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 7):
wherein the columnar spacer PS2, the film 14 in the through-hole 121, the gate electrode (i.e. of transistor in region Q22), and the semiconductor film (i.e. of transistor in region Q22) overlap one another in plan view.
Given the teachings of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Akiyoshi, in view of Tomioka et al. and Ono et al., with wherein the columnar spacer, the second organic passivation film in the through-hole, the gate electrode, and the semiconductor film overlap one another in plan view.
Doing so would overlap elements that do not contribute to the image such that a larger pixel aperture may be formed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871