DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There are expressions throughout the specification containing variables p, q, r and s and the they are integers… however it does not disclose what these variables represent or pertain to in the expression (integers relating to what).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Examiner is unsure what the variables represent in the expression: regarding claim 1: L1 = W x p and L2 = W x q; regarding claims 2, 3, 4: L3 = W x r and L4 = W x s; regarding claims 5 & 6: L3 = W x r.
For the purpose of rejection, the rejection below is made as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1 & 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozawa (US 2010/0214349).
Ozawa discloses the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, a liquid discharge apparatus/printing system 1/ (Abst., fig 1);
* multiple heads/10, 20, 30 inkjet printer/ including (paras 0018-0019, fig 1);
* a first head/10/ to discharge a pretreatment liquid from first nozzles/11 spray nozzle/ onto a medium/print area 6a/ in a first nozzle/11 spray nozzle/ resolution N1/surface treatment agent/ (para 0019, fig 1);
* a second head/white inkjet printer 20/ to discharge a white ink from second nozzles/21 onto the medium, onto which the pretreatment liquid has been discharged, in a second nozzle resolution N2/white ink/ (para 0019, fig 1);
* a third head/color inkjet printer 30/ to discharge a color ink other than white from third nozzles/inkjet head 31/ onto the medium/print area 6a/, onto which the pretreatment liquid/10/ and the white ink/white inkjet head 20/ have been discharged, in a third nozzle/color inkjet head 30/ resolution N3/color ink/ (paras 0019, 0023, fig 1);
* where expressions of N1 ≥ N2 ≥ N3, N1 / N3 = m, N2 / N3 = n, and m ≥ n are satisfied, and m and n are integers equal to or greater than 1 /printheads 11, 21, and 31 are described as being utilized in the same manner, then the printing resolution is the same, therefore N1=N2=N3, with m = n=1 satisfies the equation/;
* multiple carriages/only carriage 12 is shown in fig 2, but heads 21 & 31 are mounted and conveyed on a carriage also, see fig 1/ mounting the multiple heads and reciprocally movable in a main scanning direction/ each printhead mover in a reciprocating fashion in the direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the printing bed 4/ (para 0019, figs 1 & 2),
* a conveyor/5/ to intermittently convey the medium/para 08/ by an amount of line feed W of the medium in a sub-scanning direction orthogonal to the main scanning direction in response to one movement of the third head in the main scanning direction (para 0019),
* wherein the first head is arranged at a first distance L1 from the second head in the sub-scanning direction (see fig 1, print heads 11, 21 & 31);
* the second head is arranged at a second distance L2 from the third head in the sub- scanning direction (see fig 1, print heads 11, 21 & 31),
* where expressions of L1 = W x p, and L2 = W x q are satisfied, and p and q are
integers equal to or greater than 0 /print heads 11, 21 & 31 all print on the same surface of the substrate, heads 21 & 31 print on the same surface after print heads 11 has complete printing of the first line, then the printhead 21 completes its printing of the first line and print head 31 completes its printing of the first line… therefore the beginning line of the substrate must be
conveyed a distance [W] several times/passes until the beginning line is aligned with the next heads 21 and repeating alignment for print head 31. Print heads are conveyed a distance between the heads [L]. Therefore, this distance L can be expressed as W x p and also W x p; the distance between each of the print heads are the same and printing of a line starts at the beginning of a print line then the equation is satisfied, being that W is the line feed and p is the number of passes per\print line/.
* Re clm 2, wherein the multiple carriages/only carriage 12 is shown in fig 2, but heads 21 & 31 are mounted and conveyed on a carriage also, see fig 1 and para 0019 that disclose each printhead mover in a reciprocating fashion in the direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the printing bed 4/ include (paras 0018-0019, figs 1 & 2);
* a first carriage mounting the first head/11/ (see figs 1 & 2);
* a second carriage mounting the second head/21/ (see figs 1 & 2);
* a third carriage mounting the third head/31/ (see figs 1 & 2);
* the first carriage/moves head 11/, the second carriage/mover head 21/, and the third carriage/moves head 31/ are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction (paras 0018-0019, figs 1-2),
* the first carriage/having head 11/ is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage/having head 21/ in the sub-scanning direction, and (figs 1-2),
* the second carriage/mover head 21/ is arranged at a fourth distance L4 from the third carriage/moves head 31/ in the sub-scanning direction,
* where expressions of L3 = W x r and L4 = W x S are satisfied, and r and S are integers equal to or greater than 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa (US 2010/0214349) in view of Jin-Yi Lin (CN 114670557) and Eiichi Ohara (US 20180009225).
Ozawa discloses all of the claimed limitations except for the following:
* Re clm 5, wherein the multiple carriages include:
* a first carriage mounting the first head; and
* a second carriage mounting the second head and the third head,
* the first carriage and the second carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in
the sub-scanning direction, and
* the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the
sub-scanning direction,
* where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater
than 1.
Jin-Yi Lin discloses the following limitations:
* Re clm 5, wherein the multiple carriages/guide rails, 8, 9/ include (see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1):
* a first carriage mounting/right conveying guide rail 9, having color ink printing trolley 4/ the first head/4/ (see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1):
* a second carriage mounting/left conveying guide rail having mounted liquid spraying head 3 & white ink printing trolley 5/ the second head/3/ and the third head/5/,(see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1):
* the first carriage and the second carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in
the sub-scanning direction, and (see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1):
* the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the
sub-scanning direction (see fig 1);
* where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater
than 1 (The first carriage and the second carriage both move to allow a head to print on the same surface of the substrate, each carriage moves a distance across the same surface after print heads have completes printing of the first line, then the second carriage move the second printhead to complete its printing of the first line… therefore the beginning line of the substrate must be
conveyed a distance [W] several times/passes until the beginning line is aligned with the next carriage with first head and repeating alignment of carriage/print head until line printing is completed. Carriage/print heads are conveyed a distance between each carriage/heads [L]. The distance L3 can be expressed as W x r; the distance between each of the carriage/print heads are the same during printing and printing of a line starts at the beginning of a print line then the equation is satisfied, being that W is the line feed and r is the number of return passes per print line).
Eiichi Ohara discloses the following:
* disclose a carriage having recording heads/32, 30, 96/, where recording heads/96/ has two color inks/W, CL/ and recording heads/32, 30/ has color inks/CMYB/ (paras 0126-0127, fig 9);
* disclose colors of these inks may be other than the selected (W, CL), they can be other colors such as related colors of process (CMYB) or spot colors gold, silver, orange and violet (paras 0126-0127, fig 9);
* disclose a carriage having two heads where one ejects color ink and the second ejects clear (CL).and/or white ink (paras 0126-0127, fig 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the multiple carriages include: a first carriage mounting the first head; and a second carriage mounting the second head and the third head, the first carriage and the second carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, and the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the sub-scanning direction, where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater than 1, taught by Jin-Yi Lin and Eiichi Ohara into Ozawa for the purpose of improving forming an image on the recording medium by discharging ink droplets whereby improving printing image quality.
9. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa (US 2010/0214349) in view of Jin-Yi Lin (CN 114670557).
Ozawa discloses the following limitations:
* Re clm 6, wherein the multiple carriages/only carriage 12 is shown in fig 2, but heads 21 & 31 are mounted and conveyed on a carriage also, see fig 1, each printhead mover in a reciprocating fashion in the direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the printing bed 4/ (para 0019, figs 1 & 2),
* a first carriage mounting/12/ (para 0021, figs 1-2)
* a second carriage mounting/only carriage 12 is shown in fig 2, but heads 21 & 31 are mounted and conveyed on a carriage also, see fig 1, each printhead mover in a reciprocating fashion in the direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the printing bed 4/ (para 0019, figs 1 & 2),
Ozawa does not disclose the following limitations:
* Re clm 6, wherein the multiple carriages include:
* a first carriage mounting the first head and the second head; and
* a second carriage mounting the third head,
* the first carriage and the second carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, and
* the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the sub-scanning direction,
* where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater
Jin-Yi Lin discloses the following:
* Re clm 6, wherein the multiple carriages include: (see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1);
* a first carriage mounting/left conveying guide rail having mounted liquid spraying head 3 & white ink printing trolley/ the first head/3/ and the second head/5/ (see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1);
* a second carriage mounting/right conveying guide rail 9, having color ink printing trollery/ the third head/4/ (see contents of the invention, see description of pictures, in the drawings, fig 1);
* the first carriage/8/ and the second carriage/9/ are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, and (see as shown in fig 1, fig 1)
* the first carriage/8/ is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage/9/ in the sub-scanning direction (see as shown in fig 1, fig 1),
* where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater
The first carriage and the second carriage both move to allow a head to print on the same surface of the substrate, each carriage moves a distance across the same surface after print heads have completes printing of the first line, then the second carriage move the second printhead to complete its printing of the first line… therefore the beginning line of the substrate must be
conveyed a distance [W] several times/passes until the beginning line is aligned with the next carriage with first head and repeating alignment of carriage/print head until line printing is completed. Carriage/print heads are conveyed a distance between each carriage/heads [L]. Therefore, this distance L can be expressed as W x r; the distance between each of the carriage/print heads are the same during printing and printing of a line starts at the beginning of a print line then the equation is satisfied, being that W is the line feed and r is the number of return passes per print line/.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the multiple carriages include: a first carriage mounting the first head and the second head; and a second carriage mounting the third head, the first carriage and the second carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, and the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the sub-scanning direction, where an expression of L3 = W x r is satisfied, and r is an integer equal to or greater, taught by Jin-Yi Lin into Ozawa for the purpose of improving printing image quality and achieving high printing efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 3 is the inclusion of the limitations of a liquid discharge apparatus that includes wherein the multiple carriages include a third carriage mounting the third head, the first carriage, the second carriage, and the third carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the sub-scanning direction, and the second carriage is arranged at a fourth distance L4 from the third carriage in the sub-scanning direction, where expressions of L3 = W x r and L4 = W x s are satisfied, and r and S are integers equal to or greater than 1. It is these limitations found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 4 is the inclusion of the limitations of a liquid discharge apparatus that includes wherein the multiple carriages include a third carriage mounting the third head; the first carriage, the second carriage, and the third carriage are arranged in this order from upstream in the sub-scanning direction, the first carriage is arranged at a third distance L3 from the second carriage in the sub-scanning direction, and the second carriage is arranged at a fourth distance L4 from the third carriage in the sub-scanning direction, where expressions of L3 = W r and L4 = W S are satisfied, and r and S are integers equal to or greater than 1. It is these limitations found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853