DETAILED ACTION
This application is a domestic application, filed 15 July 2024; claims benefit as a CON of 17/669,982, filed 11 Feb 2022, issued as PAT 12,037,714; and claims benefit as a CON of 16/461,455, which is the national stage entry of PCT/US17/62524, filed 20 Nov 2017, issued as PAT 11,248,314; which claims benefit of provisional application 62/425,323, filed 22 Nov 2016.
Claims 16-34 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
In this case the claims are directed to a poly alpha-1,3-glucan ester, and not a process for making polyacrylonitrile fibers.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract describes a process for making polyacrylonitrile fibers. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al. (US 5,472,599, issued 5 Dec 1995, cited in PTO-892).
Shibata et al. teaches a separation agent essentially comprising an aliphatic or aromatic ester of a polysaccharide (abstract). Examples of the polysaccharide include α-1,3-glucans, and preferred ones are those capable of easily yielding highly pure polysaccharides, such as cellulose, amylose, β-1,4-chitosan, chitin, β-1,4-mannan, β-1,4-xylan, inulin, curdlan and α-1,3-glucan (column 2, lines 1-10), where the alternative of the highly pure α-1,3-glucan addresses limitations of claims 16-18. Shibata et al. teaches working examples of different polysaccharides that are tribenzoyl substituted (columns 11-13) and a dibenzoate xylan (columns 13-14), or a degree of substitution of 3.0 or 2 with the benzoyl group. These polysaccharides have a number-average degree of polymerization (average number of pyranose or furanose rings in the molecule) of at least 5, preferably at least 10. Though there is provided no upper limit of the degree of polymerization, it is preferably 500 or less from the view point of the ease of handling (column 2, line 10-20), addressing limitations of claims 19-22. The resolving agent may be used in membrane resolution method (column 2, line 65). In the membrane resolution process, the resolving agent is used in the form of a hollow filament or film (column 4, line 10), or the form of a fiber or film addressing limitations of claims 33-34.
Shibata et al. does not specifically disclose the embodiment of the composition comprising a poly α-1,3-glucan ester comprising a benzoyl group (claim 16).
Shibata et al. further teaches an object of the present invention is to provide a resolving agent having a chemical structure different from those of known resolving agents, particularly the resolving agents containing cellulose triacetate, as an effective com ponent, and therefore, the resolving characteristics different from those of the known ones or a higher faculty of discriminating and identifying the optical isomers (column 1, lines 50-55). Shibata et al. further teaches in the polysaccharide, the hydroxyl groups other than those forming the linkage bond with the above-mentioned carboxylic acid may be present in the form of free hydroxyl groups or they may be esterified, etherified or carbamoylated so far as the resolving ability of the resolving agent is not damaged (column 2, lines 30-35). Shibata et al. further teaches working examples of polysaccharides having acetyl group substituents, such as β-1,4-mannan triacetate (column 7), chitin diacetate (column 9), and amylose triacetate (column 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select from within the teachings of Shibata et al. to arrive at the tribenzoyl or dibenzoyl α-1,3-glucan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select from within the teachings of Shibata et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Shibata et al. teaches a preferred polysaccharide is the highly pure α-1,3-glucan, and teaches working examples of different polysaccharides that are tribenzoyl substituted as well as a dibenzoyl substituted xylan, suggesting it would have been obvious to select the tribenzoyl or dibenzoyl α-1,3-glucan ester. Regarding claims 16-18 reciting the amount of α-1,3-glycosidic linkages, Shibata et al. teaches highly pure α-1,3-glucan is preferred, providing guidance for selecting the polysaccharide to pure α-1,3-glucan or having only α-1,3-glycosidic linkages. Regarding claims 19-22 reciting the weight-average degree of polymerization, MPEP 2144.05 at I. provides “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” In this case Shibata et al. teaches the number-average degree of polymerization is preferably at least 10 and preferably 500 or less, making obvious the overlapping range for the degree of polymerization of the polysaccharide. Taken as a whole, for the reasoning detailed above Shibata et al. makes obvious the pure α-1,3-glucan that tribenzoyl or dibenzoyl substituted, which would have the chemical structure shown in claim 23 where 2 or 3 of R is a benzoyl group and any remaining R is H, and n is between 10 and 500. Regarding claim 32, Shibata et al. teaches working examples of polysaccharides having benzoate or acetate substitution, suggests that hydroxyl groups other than the ones modified by the specific carboxylic acid substitution many be further esterified, and teaches it is desired to provide a resolving agent having a chemical structure different from known resolving agents, particularly cellulose triacetate, suggesting it would have been obvious to combine both benzoate and acetate substitution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-18, 24-31 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,037,714.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Reference claims 1-10 are drawn to a process which produces a polysaccharide ester product, wherein the polysaccharide comprises poly alpha-1,3-glucan, wherein at least 50% of the glycosidic linkages of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan are alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages, and wherein the polysaccharide ester product has a degree of substitution of about 0.001 to about 3.0. Reference claim 6 recites the ester comprises a benzoyl group, addressing limitations of claim 16. Reference claims 2-3 recite at least 90% or 99% of the glycosidic linkages of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan are alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages, addressing limitations of claims 17-18. Reference claim 4 recites polysaccharide ester product has a degree of substitution of about 0.3 to about 1.5, addressing claims 24-25. Reference claims 11-13 are drawn to fibers prepared by the process of reference claim 1, particularly claimed the product itself and addressing limitations of claim 33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Reference claims 1-13 in order to make obvious possession of the composition comprising the poly alpha-1,3-glucan ester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Reference claims 1-13 with a reasonable expectation of success because claims 1-10 are drawn to a process which produces a polysaccharide ester product, making obvious possession of the product so produced, and provides guidance for the ester to be a benzoyl ester, and guidance for selecting the degree of substitution. Regarding the specific degree of substitution of claims 26-31, MPEP 2144.05 at I. provides “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” In this case Reference claims 1 and 4 suggest it would have been obvious to select the degree of substitution from within disclosed ranges. Further, Reference claims 11-13 are drawn to fibers prepared by the process of reference claim 1, making obvious possession of the product so produced.
Claims 16-18, 24-31 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,248,314.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Reference claims 1-10 and 15-16 are drawn to a process which produces a polysaccharide ester product which combined with a polyacrylonitrile to form a blend, wherein the polysaccharide comprises poly alpha-1,3-glucan, wherein at least 50% of the glycosidic linkages of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan are alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages, and wherein the polysaccharide ester product has a degree of substitution of about 0.001 to about 3.0. Reference claim 8 recites the ester produced with an acyl halide encompassing benzoyl chloride, benzoyl bromide, and benzoyl iodide, addressing limitations of claim 16 wherein the ester comprises a benzoyl group. Reference claims 5 and 9 recite at least 90% or 99% of the glycosidic linkages of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan are alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages, addressing limitations of claims 17-18. Reference claim 10 and 13 recites polysaccharide ester product has a degree of substitution of about 0.3 to about 1.5, addressing claims 24-25. Reference claims 11-14 are drawn to fibers prepared by the process of reference claim 1, particularly claimed the product itself and addressing limitations of claim 33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Reference claims 1-16 in order to make obvious possession of the composition comprising the poly alpha-1,3-glucan ester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Reference claims 1-16 with a reasonable expectation of success because claims 1-10 and 15-16 are drawn to a process which produces a polysaccharide ester product, making obvious possession of the product so produced, and provides guidance for the ester to be a benzoyl ester, and guidance for selecting the degree of substitution. Regarding the specific degree of substitution of claims 26-31, MPEP 2144.05 at I. provides “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” In this case Reference claims 1 and 10 suggest it would have been obvious to select the degree of substitution from within disclosed ranges. Further, while Reference claims 1-10 and 15-16 are drawn to the method, Reference claims 11-14 are drawn to fibers prepared by the process of reference claim 1, making obvious possession of the product produced by the claimed method. Regarding the Reference product comprising a blend of the polysaccharide ester product which combined with a polyacrylonitrile, the composition of the examined claims recites the composition using the open transitional phrase “comprising”, therefore the composition of the examined claims is open to encompassing the poly alpha-1,3-glucan ester in combination with other unlisted components such as a polyacrylonitrile.
Conclusion
No claim is currently in condition for allowance.
/JONATHAN S LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693