DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 3/27/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20190058106 A), in view of Jewell (US 2019/0226689 A1).
Claim 1: Kim discloses a method for controlling a dehumidifier including a dehumidifying module having a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, an evaporator, and a fan module (paragraphs [2] [3]), the method comprising:
determining by an occupancy sensor (215) whether an occupant is present in an indoor space (paragraph [262]: air conditioner can detect occupant through a human body detection sensor that equipped with camera 210 and sensor unit 215) in which the dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: air conditioner 1 is a dehumidifier) is located;
when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space; when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, “when the occupancy sensor determines an occupant is present”, “when the occupancy sensor determines that there are no occupants”, such that neither condition can occur at the same time); and
stopping operation of the compressor (paragraph [2] [3]: control unit processing user signal through input unit, dehumidifier including compressor) when an indoor humidity reaches a target humidity (functional language; paragraph [204] [160]: humidity sensor to sense humidity data of the indoor to collect data on humidity at preset time intervals, controller controls operation of air conditioner based on data detected by the sensor; to clarify, control unit or predetermined server collect data from sensor operate the system based on target values from user via input unit).
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose operating the compressor at a low speed so that low-temperature dry air is discharged; operating the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high-temperature dry air is discharged;
However, Jewell teaches operating the compressor at a low speed so that low-temperature dry air is discharged; operating the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high-temperature dry air is discharged (paragraph [47]: increasing speed of compressor 34; paragraph [57]: decreasing speed of compressor 34)(based on broadest reasonable interpretation, operating compressor at low or high speed are not required to be performed if occupant determination and no-occupant determinations do not occur, further low/high-temperatures dry air discharged are the result of compressor operation, it is function language) for the purpose of controlling the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room (paragraph [26]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kim to include operating the compressor at a low speed; operating the compressor at a constant or high speed as taught by in order to control the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room.
Claim 2: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) is operated at 20 to 30 Hz (Jewell teaches compressor speed between 1500 and 4800 RPM, except for 20 to 30 Hz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 20 to 30 Hz in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 4: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) is operated at 60Hz or higher (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 60Hz or higher in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 6: Kim discloses a method for controlling a dehumidifier, the dehumidifier including a dehumidifying module having a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, an evaporator, and a fan module; a controller that controls the dehumidifying module; an occupancy sensor that determines whether an occupant is present in an indoor space in which the dehumidifier is located; and a humidity sensor that senses an indoor humidity of the indoor space (paragraphs [3] [152]), the method comprising:
determining by the occupancy sensor (215) whether an occupant is present in the indoor space in which the dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: air conditioner 1 is a dehumidifier) is located;
operating via the controller (control unit 240) the compressor (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including compressor) when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed);
operating via the controller (240) the compressor (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including compressor) when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed); and
stopping via the controller (240) operation of the compressor (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including compressor) when the indoor humidity sensed by the humidity sensor reaches a target humidity (functional language; paragraph [204] [160]: humidity sensor to sense humidity data of the indoor to collect data on humidity at preset time intervals, controller controls operation of air conditioner based on data detected by the sensor; to clarify, control unit or predetermined server collect data from sensor operate the system based on target values from user via input unit).
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 6, but fails to disclose the compressor at a low speed so that low-temperature dry air is discharged; the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high-temperature dry air is discharged;
However, Jewell teaches the compressor at a low speed; the compressor at a constant or high speed (paragraph [47]: increasing speed of compressor 34; paragraph [57]: decreasing speed of compressor 34; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, operating compressor at low or high speed are not required to be performed if occupant determination and no-occupant determinations do not occur, further low/high-temperatures dry air discharged are the result of compressor operation, it is function language) for the purpose of controlling the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room (paragraph [26]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kim to include the compressor at a low speed; the compressor at a constant or high speed as taught by in order to control the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room.
Claim 7: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants (functional language) in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the controller (240) controls the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) to operate at 20 to 30 Hz (Jewell teaches compressor speed between 1500 and 4800 RPM, except for 20 to 30 Hz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 20 to 30 Hz in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 8: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 7, further comprising:
determining a location of the occupant (paragraph [202]) using the occupancy sensor (215), when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space (paragraph [202]: sensor 215 includes human body detection sensor that senses the presence and location of a person in the room); and
rotating a discharge cover (paragraph [77]: rotation projection 46C of cover 140 that is any one pair of discharge units 2/3 are rotatably held on cover 140, rotation protrusion 46C which constitutes the rotational center axis of discharge units, guide 46B) of the dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: a dehumidifier) away from the occupant.
Claim 10: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the controller controls the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) to operate at 60Hz or higher (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 60Hz or higher in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 12: Kim discloses a method for controlling a dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: air conditioner 1 is a dehumidifier), the dehumidifier including a dehumidifying module (‘D’; see FIG.2) having a compressor (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including compressor), a condenser (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including condenser), an expansion valve (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including expansion valve), an evaporator (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including evaporator), and a fan module (paragraphs [57]: fan and fan motor 26); a controller (control unit 240) that controls the dehumidifying module (‘D’; see FIG.2);
an occupancy sensor (215) that determines whether an occupant is present in an indoor space in which the dehumidifier is located; and
a humidity sensor (paragraph [202]: sensor unit equipped with humidity sensor) that senses an indoor humidity of the indoor space, the method comprising:
determining by the occupancy sensor (215) whether an occupant is present in the indoor space in which the dehumidifier is located;
operating via the controller (240) the compressor (paragraphs [2] [3]: dehumidifier including compressor) when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space; and operating via the controller (240) the compressor when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, concerning limitations “when the occupancy sensor determines an occupant is present when the occupancy sensor determines that there are no occupants”; if these conditions are not met and do not occur, operating the compressor is not required by the claim).
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose operating the compressor at a low speed so that low-temperature dry air is discharged; operating the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high-temperature dry air is discharged;
However, Jewell teaches the compressor at a low speed so that low-temperature dry air is discharged; the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high-temperature dry air is discharged (paragraph [47]: increasing speed of compressor 34; paragraph [57]: decreasing speed of compressor 34) (further, based on broadest reasonable interpretation, operating compressor at low or high speed are not required to be performed if occupant determination and no-occupant determinations do not occur, further low/high-temperatures dry air discharged are the result of compressor operation, it is function language) for the purpose of controlling the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room (paragraph [26]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kim to include the compressor at a low speed; the compressor at a constant or high speed as taught by in order to control the speed of the compressor to ensure a comfortable environment within the room.
Claim 13: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants (functional language) in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the controller (240) controls the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) to operate at 20 to 30 Hz (Jewell teaches compressor speed between 1500 and 4800 RPM, except for 20 to 30 Hz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 20 to 30 Hz in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 14: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, further comprising:
determining a location of the occupant (paragraph [202]) using the occupancy sensor (215), when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space (paragraph [202]: sensor 215 includes human body detection sensor that senses the presence and location of a person in the room); and
rotating a discharge cover (paragraph [77]: rotation projection 46C of cover 140 that is any one pair of discharge units 2/3 are rotatably held on cover 140, rotation protrusion 46C which constitutes the rotational center axis of discharge units, guide 46B) of the dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: a dehumidifier) away from the occupant.
Claim 16: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space (paragraph [203]: indoor environment in which air conditioner installed), the controller controls the compressor (Jewell, compressor 34) to operate at 60Hz or higher (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jewell to include 60Hz or higher in order to ensure a comfortable environment within the room, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20190058106 A), in view of Jewell (US 2019/0226689 A1), and in view of Cho (US 2019/0041071 A1).
Claim 3: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, further comprising:
determining a location of the occupant (paragraph [202]) using the occupancy sensor (215), when the occupancy sensor (215) determines an occupant is present in the indoor space (paragraph [202]: sensor 215 includes human body detection sensor that senses the presence and location of a person in the room); and
rotating a discharge cover (paragraph [77]: rotation projection 46C of cover 140 that is any one pair of discharge units 2/3 are rotatably held on cover 140, rotation protrusion 46C which constitutes the rotational center axis of discharge units, guide 46B) of the dehumidifier (paragraph [33]: a dehumidifier).
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 3, but fails to disclose a discharge cover a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant.
However, Cho teaches a discharge cover a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant (discharge port cover 12, paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; to clarify, predetermined angle is the angle of opening of the cover 12) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include a discharge cover a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Claim 5: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, further comprising when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space.
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 5, but fails to disclose tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover.
However, Cho teaches tilting a discharge cover (discharge port cover 12) to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover (paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; see FIG.2) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Claim 9: Kim as modified further fails to disclose the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant.
However, Cho teaches the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant (discharge port cover 12, paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; to clarify, predetermined angle is the angle of opening of the cover 12) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Claim 11: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 10, further comprising when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space.
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 11, but fails to disclose tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover.
However, Cho teaches tilting a discharge cover (discharge port cover 12) to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover (paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; see FIG.2) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Claim 15: Kim as modified further fails to disclose the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant.
However, Cho teaches the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant (discharge port cover 12, paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; to clarify, predetermined angle is the angle of opening of the cover 12) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include the discharge cover is rotated a predetermined angle laterally away from the occupant as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Claim 17: Kim as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, further comprising when the occupancy sensor (215) determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space.
Kim discloses the claimed limitations in claim 17, but fails to disclose tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover.
However, Cho teaches tilting a discharge cover (discharge port cover 12) to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover (paragraph [49]: discharge cover 12 opens and closes by tilting up and down; see FIG.2) for the purpose of adjusting direction in which air is discharged (paragraph [49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Kim to include tilting a discharge cover to maximize an opening angle of the discharge cover as taught by Cho in order to adjust direction in which air is discharged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10-11: “Jewell does not disclose decreasing the compressor speed to lower the discharge temperature upon occupancy detection. That is Jewell fails to disclose operating the compressor at a low speed so that low temperature dry air is discharged when the occupancy sensor determines that an occupant is present in the indoor space, and operating the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high temperature dry air is discharged when the occupancy sensor determines that there are no occupants in the indoor space. Cho fails to overcome the deficiencies of Kim and Jewell”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because as indicated in the office action above, based on broadest reasonable interpretation, when the occupancy sensor determines an occupant is present when the occupancy sensor determines that there are no occupants; such that neither condition can occur. If these conditions are not met and do not occur, operating compressor at low or high speed or constant speed are not required to be performed by the claim.
Therefore operating the compressor at a low speed so that low temperature dry air is discharged and operating the compressor at a constant or high speed so that high temperature dry air is discharged, are not required to be performed by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, because neither the occupancy sensor determines an occupant is present, or neither when the occupancy sensor determines that there are no occupants, can occur at the same time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763