CTNF 18/772,660 CTNF 91742 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to the application filed 15 July 2024, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 December 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-12, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0156625 A1), hereafter referred Liu. Liu was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 31 December 2025 . Regarding claim 1 , Liu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (Liu, [0007]; the user equipment may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory) ; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively (Liu, [0007]; the user equipment may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory) configured to: compute a dynamic energy reserve level for a radio of a plurality of radios associated with the UE (Liu, [0077]-[0083]; The DER determination component may determine a DER request (shown as E rsv ), where Ersv may be computed based at least in part on various transmission parameters) , wherein the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio is based at least in part on: an actual past energy usage by the radio, a required energy for the radio to transmit control channel data and high-priority traffic data, and an energy efficiency of the radio (Liu, [0075]-[0082], [0092], and [0135]; DER request per antenna group associated with each radio may be based at least in part on anticipated worst case energy consumption over the time period, past transmission energy usage of the radio, available bandwidth for the radio, and quality and efficiency of a communication link) ; and transmit, via the radio, an uplink transmission based at least in part on the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio (Liu, Fig. 6 and 7, [0097]-[0099]; the uplink transmitter component may configure a first energy allocation where the energy budget arbitration component may configure the first energy allocation based at least in part on the requested first energy allocation of the DER request) . Regarding claim 10 , Liu teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: computing a dynamic energy reserve level for a radio of a plurality of radios associated with the UE (Liu, [0077]-[0083]; The DER determination component may determine a DER request (shown as E rsv ), where Ersv may be computed based at least in part on various transmission parameters) , wherein the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio is based at least in part on: an actual past energy usage by the radio, a required energy for the radio to transmit control channel data and high-priority traffic data, and an energy efficiency of the radio (Liu, [0075]-[0082], [0092], and [0135]; DER request per antenna group associated with each radio may be based at least in part on anticipated worst case energy consumption over the time period, past transmission energy usage of the radio, available bandwidth for the radio, and quality and efficiency of a communication link) ; and transmitting, via the radio, an uplink transmission based at least in part on the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio (Liu, Fig. 6 and 7, [0097]-[0099]; the uplink transmitter component may configure a first energy allocation where the energy budget arbitration component may configure the first energy allocation based at least in part on the requested first energy allocation of the DER request) . Regarding claim 20 , Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (Liu, [0007] and [0031]; the user equipment may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory where the method may be implemented using software) , cause the UE to: compute a dynamic energy reserve level for a radio of a plurality of radios associated with the UE (Liu, [0077]-[0083]; The DER determination component may determine a DER request (shown as E rsv ), where Ersv may be computed based at least in part on various transmission parameters) , wherein the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio is based at least in part on: an actual past energy usage by the radio, a required energy for the radio to transmit control channel data and high-priority traffic data, and an energy efficiency of the radio (Liu, [0075]-[0082], [0092], and [0135]; DER request per antenna group associated with each radio may be based at least in part on anticipated worst case energy consumption over the time period, past transmission energy usage of the radio, available bandwidth for the radio, and quality and efficiency of a communication link) ; and transmit, via the radio, an uplink transmission based at least in part on the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio (Liu, Fig. 6 and 7, [0097]-[0099]; the uplink transmitter component may configure a first energy allocation where the energy budget arbitration component may configure the first energy allocation based at least in part on the requested first energy allocation of the DER request) . Regarding claims 2 and 11 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: allocate the dynamic energy reserve level to the radio via a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) and specific absorption rate (SAR) energy budget arbitration (Liu, [0075]-[0077]; the UE more efficiently allocates transmission energy resources while remaining within applicable SAR exposure and MPE limits, resulting in increased throughput, decreased latency, and more reliable service) . Regarding claims 3 and 12 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein the radio is guaranteed a minimum energy reservation based at least in part on: an energy reservation associated with a control channel and a high-priority service, and a predefined minimum reservation (Liu, [0085]-[0088]; a minimum amount of energy is guaranteed for each radio such that a high priority radio does not take all of the available energy of the UE, where a lower bound may be determined based at least in part on a respective lower bound (e.g. minimum DER) without reference to a total minimum reserve and the priorities of the radios such as high priority radios) . Regarding claims 6 and 15 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, LIu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: compute a total normalized energy reservation to be distributed among the plurality of radios based at least in part on a sum of a normalized usage-based energy reservation associated with the plurality of radios while satisfying a predefined maximum total normalized energy reservation and while ensuring a predefined minimum normalized energy reservation for each radio in the plurality of radios (Liu, [0075]-[0085]; the total minimum reserve may represent the sum of minimum DERs across all supported service types and all active radios, where the energy is based on a priority of each radio and in compliance with the lower bound and upper bound for each radio) , wherein the normalized usage-based energy reservation of the radio is a usage-based energy reservation divided by a reference input maximum transmit energy limit (Liu, [0075]-[0085]; one or more of the energy reservations may be normalized using an antenna input power limit value of the UE, where the antenna input power limit may indicate a maximum transmit power of the UE and to normalize an energy value, the UE may divide a transmit power derived from the energy value by the maximum transmit power) . Regarding claim 7 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 6 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein: the dynamic energy reserve level is associated with a steerable normalized energy reservation for the radio (Liu, [0088] and [0128]; the DER determination component request additional energy via the DER request, where each radio require additional energy to perform certain transmission tasks within a portion of the energy within the shared amount of energy may be distributed to the radio to perform the task) ; the steerable normalized energy reservation is based at least in part on the total normalized energy reservation, the predefined minimum normalized energy reservation, and a requested normalized true energy reservation (Liu, [0125]-[0130]; the energy to be used for high priority tasks may represent a minimum amount of energy to sustain high priority tasks at the respective radios and each radio may allocate a portion of its energy to a high-priority buffer for high priority tasks, and the leftover energy or low priority energy at each radio constitutes the shared amount of energy which includes the sum of the energies for low priority tasks by each radio, and together the total energy available is efficiently and dynamically allocated among the radios of the UE to fulfill the requested energy reservation for each radio) ; and the requested normalized true energy reservation is based at least in part on a true energy reservation of the radio required for the control channel data and the high- priority traffic data, and the reference input maximum transmit energy limit (Liu, [0075]-[0082]; the dynamic energy reservation may provide sufficient transmit power to support high priority and control traffic where the UE ensures that high priority traffic, such as control traffic and certain data communications, have sufficient energy for transmission but also is in compliance with the upper bound for each radio) . Regarding claims 8 and 17 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 7 and the method of claim 16 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein: a final normalized energy reservation is based at least in part on the steerable normalized energy reservation, the predefined minimum normalized energy reservation, the requested normalized true energy reservation, and a coefficient (Liu, [0125]-[0130]; the energy to be used for high priority tasks may represent a minimum amount of energy to sustain high priority tasks at the respective radios and each radio may allocate a portion of its energy to a high-priority buffer for high priority tasks, and the leftover energy or low priority energy at each radio constitutes the shared amount of energy which includes the sum of the energies for low priority tasks by each radio, and together the total energy available is efficiently and dynamically allocated among the radios of the UE to fulfill the requested energy reservation for each radio, and the energy allocator receives indications of unused energy from the radios and allocates portions of the shared amount of energy according to the indicator) ; and the coefficient is associated with a distribution of the steerable normalized energy reservation among the plurality of radios based at least in part on the energy efficiency of each radio as compared to other radios in the plurality of radios (Liu, [0135]-[0142]; the indicator allowing the energy allocator to add or subtract to an amount of energy remaining in the shared amount of energy to efficiently and dynamically distribute an amount of total transmission energy available for performing low priority tasks, where the energy allocator may allocate an amount of energy to each radio from the shared amount of energy based at least in part on conditions of a communication link associated with the respective radio, such as a quality and/or efficiency of the link as measured by an energy per byte metric, an RSRP metric, a SNR metric, a path loss metric, or the like) . Regarding claims 9 and 18 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio is based at least in part on an energy usage and efficiency aware dynamic energy reservation under a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) and specific absorption rate (SAR) limit (Liu, [0075]-[0082] and [0092]; the dynamic energy reservation may provide sufficient transmit power to support high priority and control traffic while maintaining SAR, MPE, or other applicable RF exposure metrics under applicable compliance limits and based at least in part on past energy usage for traffic associated with a threshold priority) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim s 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0236862 A1), hereafter referred Wang . Regarding claims 4 and 13 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio is based at least in part on the energy efficiency of the radio (Liu, [0075]-[0082] and [0135]; DER request per antenna group associated with each radio may be based at least in part on anticipated worst case energy consumption over the time period, past transmission energy usage of the radio, available bandwidth for the radio, and quality and efficiency of a communication link) . Liu does not expressly teach the energy efficiency is based at least in part on an uplink throughput associated with the radio and a normalized energy consumption associated with the radio. However, Wang teaches the energy efficiency is based at least in part on an uplink throughput associated with the radio and a normalized energy consumption associated with the radio (Wang, [0042]; the UE’s energy usage efficiency for radio interface signal processing may be affected by one or more conditions that include a frequency band, a bandwidth, a presence of beamforming, an SNR, an uplink throughput, and the preferred partitioning of stored energy consumption) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to preserve sufficient fidelity of radio signal transmissions (Wang, [0042]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim s 1 and 10 above, and further in view of CN 111246560 A1. A machine translation of CN 1112246560 A1 is provided and is hereafter referred as Lv . Regarding claims 5 and 14 , Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 10 above. Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to compute the dynamic energy reserve level for the radio, are further individually or collectively configured to: compute a true energy reservation of the radio required for the control channel data and the high-priority traffic data (Liu, [0075]-[0077]; dynamic energy reservation for a plurality of radios may provide sufficient transmit power to support high priority and control traffic while maintaining SAR, MPE, or other applicable RF exposure metrics under applicable compliance limits where the UE may allocate an amount of energy for the radio which may include at least as much as the dynamic energy reservation for the radio) ; compute, for a transmit interval, a normalized energy usage ratio as a ratio between the filtered energy usage in a past transmit interval and a minimum of an allocated energy limit in the past transmit interval and a reference input maximum transmit energy limit (Liu, [0154]-[0158]; central component may assign power levels and provide energy allocations among the various radios. In some aspects, normalized exposure ratio may be a normalized SAR exposure of each radio, represented as SAR i , divided by the applicable SAR exposure limit, represented as SAR lim , where the central component may determine a budgeted exposure limit for one or more radios) , wherein the normalized energy usage ratio is less than or equal to one, and the reference input maximum transmit energy limit is a maximum allowed energy limit for the radio under a corresponding transmit antenna based at least in part on an uplink duty cycle satisfying a threshold and the radio being an only active radio of the UE (Liu, [0154]-[0158]; the central component may provide a ratio-to-power (R/P) conversion for each configured radio such that the R/P conversion may be configured by multiplying a transmission power limit for the transmission timeline by the radio’s normalized exposure ratio, where the example sub-components have R/P conversion factors of 0.6, 0.3, 0.5, and 1.0) ; compute a usage-aware energy reservation based at least in part on the normalized energy usage ratio multiplied by the reference input maximum transmit energy limit (Liu, [0154]-[0158]; the central component may determine the energy allocation for a corresponding radio by multiplying a transmission power limit associated for the transmission timeline by the radio’s normalized exposure ratio) ; and compute a usage-based energy reservation of the radio based at least in part on a maximum between a filtered or non-filtered energy usage ratio by the radio in past transmit intervals multiplied by the reference input maximum transmit energy limit, and a true requested energy reservation for the control channel data and the high-priority traffic data, wherein normalized energy consumption is a ratio between an actual past energy usage by the radio and the reference input maximum transmit energy limit (Liu, [0141]-[0155]; the anticipated energy usage may be determined according to a past energy usage of the respective radio, where the respective radio may request, for a given time period, an amount of energy associated with the radio’s average energy usage over the previous time periods of the same duration and may determine the worst case energy consumption using parameters like a maximum transmit power level to calculate a maximum permissible energy usage for the upcoming transmission) . Liu does not expressly teach compute the energy efficiency of the radio based at least in part on a rate of change, over one or more past transmission intervals, of an uplink throughput of the radio with respect to a normalized energy consumption of the radio. However, Lv teaches compute the energy efficiency of the radio based at least in part on a rate of change, over one or more past transmission intervals, of an uplink throughput of the radio with respect to a normalized energy consumption of the radio (Lv, Fig. 3-7, p. 11; the figures illustrate different throughputs against the energy consumption/demand of the radio and the resulting efficiency of the energy, where the throughput is shown to change for different minimum and maximum energy requirement) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lv in order to improve effectively system transmission efficiency under fading channels (Lv, p. 3) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Harada et al. (US 2016/0219453 A1), hereafter referred Harada . Regarding claim 19 , Liu teaches the method of claim 10 above. Liu does not expressly teach wherein the uplink transmission is a continuous uplink transmission associated with an uplink traffic heavy application. However, Harada teaches wherein the uplink transmission is a continuous uplink transmission associated with an uplink traffic heavy application (Harada, [0030]; the on state refers to the state in which data is transmitted and received and is also known as the continuous transmission state, where when the small cell base station is in the continuous transmission state that includes data is received by the small cell base station this happens when the small cell base station has relatively heavy traffic) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Harada in order to reduce the load of inter-frequency measurements in user terminals in a radio communication system (Harada, [0009]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODRICK MAK whose telephone number is (571)270-0284. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:30 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached at 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416 /NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 3 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 4 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 8 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 11 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 13 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 14 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 15 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/772,660 Page 16 Art Unit: 2416