CTFR 18/772,665 CTFR 89606 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 3/24/2026 are as follows: Claims 1 and 14 are amended, Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (German Patent Publication DE102010009508A1, “Schneider”, previously cited) in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0243642, “Smith”, previously cited) and in further view of Krishnamurthy et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0038741, “Krishnamurthy”) . Regarding claim 1, Schneider discloses a system (fig 1) comprising: a gearbox (11) including a coolant inlet, a coolant outlet and a metal portion (see annotated fig 1 below); a first coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below) in fluid communication with the coolant inlet of the gearbox; a second coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below) in fluid communication with the coolant outlet of the gearbox; a bypass line (see annotated fig 1 below) coupling the first coolant supply line to the second coolant supply line; a bypass valve (10) disposed at a junction of the second coolant supply line and the bypass line. PNG media_image1.png 753 1010 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Schneider discloses a first temperature sensor in thermal communication with first coolant supply line; a second temperature sensor in thermal communication with the second coolant supply line; a third temperature sensor in thermal communication with the metal portion of the gearbox; a controller configured to actuate the bypass valve to provide coolant from the second coolant supply line to the first coolant supply line based on at least one of first temperature data from the first temperature sensor, second temperature data from the second temperature sensor, or third temperature data from the third temperature sensor. Smith, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 1) having a first temperature sensor (108) in thermal communication a first coolant supply line (¶0055); a second temperature sensor (106) in thermal communication with a second coolant supply line (80, ¶0055); a third temperature sensor (102) in thermal communication with a metal portion of the gearbox (¶0055, as the temperature of the transmission oil would indicate the temperature of the metal part of the gearbox); a controller (92) configured to actuate a bypass valve (18) based on at least one of first temperature data from the first temperature sensor, second temperature data from the second temperature sensor, or third temperature data from the third temperature sensor (¶0056-0058). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Shneider to provide the temperature sensors and controller of Smith and control the bypass valve based on data from the sensors in order to optimally control the temperature of the gearbox. This would result in the bypass valve to provide coolant from the second coolant supply line to the first coolant supply line based on at least one of first temperature data from the first temperature sensor, second temperature data from the second temperature sensor, or third temperature data from the third temperature sensor. However, Schneider, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the third temperature sensor collects temperature data directly from the metal portion of the gearbox. Krishnamurthy, however, discloses a temperature sensor (210) which collects temperature data directly from the metal portion of a gearbox (“transmission”, ¶0042). Krishnamurthy teaches this to an alternative to having the temperature sensor in the flow path of the gearbox (¶0042). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider, as modified, to have the third temperature sensor collects temperature data directly from the metal portion of the gearbox in order to allow for the most convenient location for replacement or repair of the temperature sensor. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider further discloses a heat exchange (13) including an inlet and an outlet (see annotated fig 1 below), wherein the second coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below) is in fluid communication with the inlet (via 2, 3, 4, 5) and the first coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below) is in fluid communication with the outlet (via 2, 3, 4, 5). PNG media_image2.png 753 1010 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider further discloses a second bypass line connecting the second coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below) to the first coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 below), wherein the second bypass line (see annotated fig 1 below) has an inlet upstream of the inlet (see annotated fig 1 below) of the heat exchanger (13) and an outlet (see annotated fig 1 below) downstream of the outlet of the heat exchanger. PNG media_image3.png 805 1039 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 4, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Schneider further discloses comprising a second bypass valve (17) disposed in the second bypass line (see annotated fig 1 above). However, Schneider, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to actuate the second bypass valve based on at least one of the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or the third temperature data. However, Smith teaches wherein the controller (92) is configured to actuate a second bypass valve (16) based on at least one of the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or the third temperature data (¶0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Shneider to provide the temperature sensors and controller of Smith and control the bypass valve based on data from the sensors in order to optimally control the temperature of the gearbox. Regarding claim 5, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the first temperature sensor (108, Smith, which is disposed on the first coolant line, see annotated fig 1 below of Smith) is disposed between the outlet (see annotated fig 1 below, Schneider) of the heat exchanger (13, Schneider) and the coolant inlet (see annotated fig 1 below) of the gearbox (11). PNG media_image4.png 805 1039 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the second temperature sensor (106, Smith, which is disposed on the second coolant line, see annotated fig 1 below, Schneider) is disposed between the coolant outlet (see annotated fig 1 below, Schneider) of the gearbox (11, Schneider) and the inlet (see annotated fig 1 below, Schneider) of the heat exchanger (13). PNG media_image5.png 805 1039 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding claim 7, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the controller (92, Smith) is further configured to actuate the bypass valve (10, Schneider) to increase a temperature of coolant in the first coolant supply line (see annotated fig 1 above, via opening the valve allowing the coolant to absorb heat from the gearbox). Regarding claim 10, the combination of Schneider and Smith discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the controller (92, Smith) is further configured to actuate the bypass valve (10, Schneider) when the third temperature data indicate that a temperature of the metal portion of the gearbox (11, Schneider) is below a specified temperature (as Smith teaches controlling the valve based on the temperature of the metal portion). Regarding claim 11, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the controller (92, Smith) is further configured to actuate the bypass valve (10, Schneider) to a specified duty cycle (open or closed) based on at least one of the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or the third temperature data (such as taught by Smith, see rejection of claim 1). Regarding claim 12, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider further discloses a pump (8) disposed upstream of the coolant inlet (see annotated fig 1 above) of the gearbox (11, upstream as fluid flows from pump 8 to the coolant inlet). Regarding claim 13, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider further discloses wherein the metal portion of the gearbox (11) is a casing of the gearbox (as the gearbox would have a metal casing) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ribarov (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0355119, previously cited) . Regarding claim 8, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to actuate the bypass valve (10) to increase a temperature of the gearbox based on a detected operation condition (i.e. the temperature of the gearbox). However, they do not explicitly disclose a gas turbine engine. Ribarov, however, teaches thermal management of a gearbox (48) of a gas turbine engine (fig 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider, as modified, to provide the cooling system in a turbine engine in order to effectively cool said engine . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy as applied to claim s 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Zhang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0416721, previously cited) . Regarding claim 9, the combination of Schneider, Smith, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the controller further is configured to determine a temperature difference between the first temperature data and the second temperature data and to actuate the bypass valve when the temperature difference exceeds a threshold. Zhang, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 1) wherein a controller is configured to determine a temperature difference between a first temperature data and second temperature data (see ¶0058) and to actuate a bypass valve (122) for a transmission (214) when the temperature difference exceeds a threshold (¶0047). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider, as modified, to control the bypass valve based on the temperature difference taught by Zhang in order to more efficiently cool the gearbox . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffy (PCT Publication WO2017098102A1, previously cited) in view of Ribarov (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0355119, previously cited) . Regarding claim 14, Coffy discloses a system comprising identify an operation condition of a gas engine (via the temperature installed in the gearbox, see ¶0029); collect temperature data from a temperature sensor in thermal communication with a gearbox of the gas engine (see ¶0029); determine, based on the collected temperature data, whether a temperature of the gearbox is below a specified temperature, the specified temperature based on the identified operation condition (¶005); and upon determining that the temperature of the gearbox is below the specified temperature, actuate a bypass valve (8) to direct coolant exiting a coolant outlet of the gearbox to a coolant inlet of the gearbox (¶0048). Coffy does not explicitly disclose a computer including a processor and a memory. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of computer with a processor and a memory is old and well known in the art of cooling systems and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider to have in order to more reliably control the cooling system. However, Coffy does explicitly disclose a gas turbine engine. Ribarov, however, teaches thermal management of a gearbox (48) of a gas turbine engine (fig 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider, as modified, to provide the cooling system in a turbine engine in order to effectively cool said engine. However, Coffy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the collection of temperature data of a metal portion of a gearbox of the gas turbine from a temperature sensor in direct thermal communication with the metal portion of the gearbox. Krishnamurthy teaches this to an alternative to having the temperature sensor in the flow path of the gearbox (¶0042). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Coffy, as modified, to have the third temperature sensor collects temperature data directly from the metal portion of the gearbox in order to allow for the most convenient location for replacement or repair of the temperature sensor. Regarding claim 17, the combination of Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Shneider, as modified, further discloses wherein the instructions further include instructions executable to actuate a second bypass valve (5) to direct the coolant around a heat exchanger (7) based on the temperature of the gearbox (as the gearbox temperature would be associated with engine temperature). Regarding claim 18, the combination of Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Coffy, as modified, further discloses wherein the temperature sensor is in thermal contact with a metal portion of the gearbox (as the gear box would have metal portions). Regarding claim 19, the combination Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Coffy, as modified, further discloses wherein the instructions further include instructions executable to determine the specified temperature based on a specified efficiency target of the gearbox (as the efficiency of the gearbox would be proportional to the temperature). Regarding claim 20, the combination of Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. Coffy, as modified, further discloses wherein the instructions further include instructions executable to: upon determining that the temperature of the gearbox is above the specified temperature (1 degree lower than the second specified temperature described below, as the computer would determine this temperature), determine whether the temperature of the gearbox is below a second specified temperature (as the computer would recognize the temperature), the second specified temperature being greater than the specified temperature; and upon determining that the temperature of the gearbox is above the second specified temperature, actuate the bypass valve to cease direction of the coolant exiting the coolant outlet to the coolant inlet (via bypass valve 8) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Zhang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0416721, previously cited) . Regarding claim 15, the combination of Coffy, Ribarov, and Krishnamurthy discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions further include instructions executable to determine a temperature difference between a first temperature of the coolant upstream of the coolant inlet and a second temperature of the coolant downstream of the coolant outlet and to actuate the bypass valve based on the temperature difference. Zhang, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 1) wherein a controller is configured to determine a temperature difference between a first temperature data and second temperature data (see ¶0058) and to actuate a bypass valve (122) for a transmission (214) when the temperature difference exceeds a threshold (¶0047). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Schneider, as modified, to control the bypass valve based on the temperature difference taught by Zhang in order to more efficiently cool the gearbox. Regarding claim 16, the combination of Coffy, Ribarov, Krishnamurthy and Zhang discloses all previous claim limitations. Coffy, as modified, further discloses wherein the instructions further include instructions executable to actuate the bypass valve to a specified duty cycle (open or closing of valve) based the temperature difference (such as taught by Zhang, see rejection of claim 1 above) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 3/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (pages 6-8) that none of the cited references teach a temperature sensor in direct thermal communication of the metal part of a gearbox. However, newly cited Krishnamurthy is now being relied upon to teach this limitation. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARRY E ARANT whose telephone number is (571)272-1105. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10-6 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jianying Atkisson can be reached at (571)270-7740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 11 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/772,665 Page 12 Art Unit: 3763