DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants Application filed on July 15, 2024. Claims 1-28 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 15, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “and” is missing before the last limitation of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym for APP must be spelled out before use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym for HTTP must be spelled out before use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Stevens et al (hereinafter, “Stevens”, U.S Pub. No. 2005/0044242).
As per claim 1, Stevens discloses a communication system for processing a web request from a client for retrieving a web service in a specific network, the communication system comprising:
a web server for receiving the web request from the client and for transmitting a web response transformed based on the web request back to the client (abstract and paragraphs 0015 discloses a web server that receives a request from a browser application); and
a proxy unit arranged separately from the web server and arranged downstream of the web server in the communication system, said proxy unit being operatively coupled to the web service (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses a proxy that is downstream and separate from the web server in a communication system);
wherein the web server comprises a proxy adapter configured to couple the web server to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses a web server and proxy that is separate and downstream of each of other in a communication system);
wherein the proxy adapter is furthermore configured to transform the web request into the web response in a manner dependent on the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server and dependent on the web service (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses receiving a response from a web server that is separate and downstream from the proxy).
As per claim 2, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server is arranged in a first management domain and the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server is arranged in a second management domain; and wherein the first and second management domains are logically separated from one another (paragraphs 0012 and 0034).
As per claim 3, Stevens discloses:
wherein the first management domain is formed as a local decentralized application runtime environment comprising a local or remote APP store having at least one local application, and the second management domain is formed as a further local decentralized application runtime environment comprising a central APP store having at least one centrally stored application (paragraph 0035).
As per claim 4, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server comprises a uniform resource locator handler chain having a plurality of uniform resource locator handlers (paragraph 0032); and
wherein the proxy adapter (20) in the web server is arranged at an end of the uniform resource locator handler chain (paragraphs 0012 and 0032).
As per claim 5, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server comprises a uniform resource locator handler chain having a plurality of uniform resource locator handlers (paragraph 0032); and wherein the proxy adapter in the web server is arranged at an end of the uniform resource locator handler chain (paragraphs 0012 and 0032).
As per claim 6, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server comprises a uniform resource locator handler chain having a plurality of uniform resource locator handlers (paragraph 0032); wherein the proxy adapter in the web server is arranged at an end of the uniform resource locator handler chain (paragraphs 0012 and 0032).
As per claim 7, Stevens discloses:
wherein the plurality of uniform resource locator handlers of the uniform resource locator handler chain are arranged in series successively in the web server (paragraph 0032);
wherein each uniform resource locator handler of the uniform resource locator handler chain is configured to forward the received web request to a next uniform resource locator handler in the series (paragraph 0032); and
wherein the last uniform resource locator handler in the series is configured to transmit the forwarded received web request to the proxy adapter and to receive the transformed web response from the proxy adapter (paragraph 0032).
As per claim 8, Stevens discloses:
wherein the proxy adapter for transforming the web request into the web response is configured to convert the web request into a network request to transmit the network request to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server, to receive a network response from the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server in a manner dependent on the web service and based on the network request, and to convert the received network response into the web response (paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0035).
As per claim 9, Stevens discloses:
wherein a network request comprises an Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) request and the network response comprises an HTTP response (paragraph 0030).
As per claim 12, Stevens discloses:
wherein the communication system comprises an automation system (paragraph 0046).
As per claim 13, Stevens discloses an industrial automation device for processing a web request from a client for retrieving a web service in a specific network, the industrial automation device comprising:
a web server for receiving the web request from the client and for transmitting a web response transformed based on the web request back to the client (abstract and paragraphs 0015 discloses a web server that receives a request from a browser application); and
a proxy unit arranged separately from the web server and arranged downstream of the web server on the industrial automation device, said proxy unit being operatively coupled to the web service (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses a proxy that is downstream and separate from the web server);
wherein the web server comprises a proxy adapter configured to couple the web server to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses a web server and proxy that is separate and downstream of each of other); and
wherein the proxy adapter is furthermore configured to transform the web request into the web response in a manner dependent on the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server and dependent on the web service (paragraphs 0012 and 0029 discloses receiving a response from a web server that is separate and downstream from the proxy).
As per claim 14, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server is arranged in a first management domain and the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server is arranged in a second management domain; and wherein the first and second management domains are logically separated from one another (paragraphs 0012 and 0034).
As per claim 15, Stevens discloses:
wherein the first management domain is formed as a local decentralized application runtime environment comprising a local or remote APP store having at least one local application, and the second management domain is formed as a further local decentralized application runtime environment comprising a central APP store having at least one centrally stored application (paragraph 0035).
As per claim 16, Stevens discloses:
wherein the local decentralized application runtime environment is configured to performed pulling of the local application to the industrial automation device in a manner dependent on the received web request; and wherein the further local decentralized application runtime environment is configured, in a manner dependent on a network request received via the proxy unit, to load the web service and to provide said web service to the proxy unit for provision to the client (paragraph 0035).
As per claim 17, discloses:
wherein the proxy adapter for transforming the web request into the web response is configured to convert the web request into a network request, to transmit the network request to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server, to receive a network response from the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server in a manner dependent on the web service and based on the network request, and to convert the received network response into the web response (paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0035).
As per claim 18, Stevens discloses:
wherein the proxy adapter for transforming the web request into the web response is configured to convert the web request into a network request, to transmit the network request to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server, to receive a network response from the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server in a manner dependent on the web service and based on the network request, and to convert the received network response into the web response (paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0035).
As per claim 19, Stevens discloses:
wherein the proxy adapter for transforming the web request into the web response is configured to convert the web request into a network request, to transmit the network request to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server, to receive a network response from the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server in a manner dependent on the web service and based on the network request, and to convert the received network response into the web response (paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0035).
As per claim 20, Stevens discloses:
wherein the proxy adapter for transforming the web request into the web response is configured to convert the web request into a network request, to transmit the network request to the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server, to receive a network response from the proxy unit arranged separately from and downstream of the web server in a manner dependent on the web service and based on the network request, and to convert the received network response into the web response (paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0035).
As per claim 21, Stevens discloses:
wherein the network request comprises an Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) request and the network response comprises an HTTP response (paragraph 0030).
As per claim 22, Stevens discloses:
wherein the local application and the centrally stored application are configured to implement open-loop and closed-loop control processes in a manner dependent on the industrial automation device in a communication system (paragraphs 0029 and 0046).
As per claim 23, Stevens discloses:
wherein the local application and the centrally stored application are configured to at least one of acquire, compress and process sensor data of sensors from the communication system (paragraphs 0029 and 0046).
As per claim 24, Stevens discloses:
wherein the local application and the centrally stored application are configured to output control data at least from the industrial automation device (paragraphs 0029 and 0046).
As per claim 25, Stevens discloses:
wherein the industrial automation device is configured to at least one of observe and control at least one of processes and apparatuses of the communication system in a manner dependent on the web service (paragraph 0029).
As per claim 26, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server is furthermore configured to at least one of observe and control at least one of further processes and further apparatuses of the communication system in a manner dependent on the web service and in a manner dependent on the at least one local application (paragraphs 0012 and 0029.
As per claim 27, Stevens discloses:
wherein the web server is furthermore configured to implement management processes in at least one of the first management domain and the second management domain (paragraphs 0012 and 0034).
As per claim 28, Stevens discloses:
wherein the industrial automation device comprises a process control device (paragraph 0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens in view of Kapon et al (hereinafter, “Kapon”, US Pub. No. 2021/0051028).
As per claim 10, Stevens discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above.
However, Stevens does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the communication system furthermore comprises a certificate store for storing digital certificates; wherein the stored digital certificates comprise a first digital certificate for the web server and a second digital certificate for the proxy unit; and wherein the certificate store is configured to store the first digital certificate in a manner dependent on the web server and to provide it for the web server and to store the second digital certificate in a manner dependent on the proxy unit and to provide it for the proxy unit.
Kapon disclose a certificate discovery and workflow automation comprising:
wherein the communication system furthermore comprises a certificate store for storing digital certificates; wherein the stored digital certificates comprise a first digital certificate for the web server and a second digital certificate for the proxy unit; and wherein the certificate store is configured to store the first digital certificate in a manner dependent on the web server and to provide it for the web server and to store the second digital certificate in a manner dependent on the proxy unit and to provide it for the proxy unit (abstract and paragraph 0114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Stevens by incorporating or implementing digital certificates for a web server for the purpose identity verification and securing communication in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 11, Stevens discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above.
However, Stevens does not explicitly disclose:
:
wherein the web server and the proxy unit, in a manner dependent on the first digital certificate and the second digital certificate, are configured to set up an encrypted channel between the proxy adapter and the proxy unit for secure transmission of the network request and the network response between the proxy adapter and the proxy unit; and wherein the encrypted channel is secured via Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure.
Kapon disclose a certificate discovery and workflow automation comprising:
wherein the communication system furthermore comprises a certificate store for storing digital certificates; wherein the stored digital certificates comprise a first digital certificate for the web server and a second digital certificate for the proxy unit; and wherein the certificate store is configured to store the first digital certificate in a manner dependent on the web server and to provide it for the web server and to store the second digital certificate in a manner dependent on the proxy unit and to provide it for the proxy unit (abstract and paragraph 0114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Stevens by incorporating or implementing digital certificates for a web server for the purpose identity verification and securing communication in a timely and efficient manner
Conclusion
/LASHONDA JACOBS-BURTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
ljb
January 10, 2026