DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to CLAIMS entered for patent application 18/772,684 filed on July 15, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 114191823).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a live streaming picture data processing method, performed by a computer device, the method comprising: displaying a live streaming interface of a virtual scene, the virtual scene corresponding to live streaming pictures from n perspectives, where n is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (pages 1-4, Summary of the Invention); obtaining live streaming picture data of a first perspective of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S310, pg. 7, ln. 26 – pg. 8, ln. 3); displaying a live streaming picture from the first perspective and a split-screen control in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the first perspective (Fig. 3, element S320, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control: obtaining live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S330, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, where 2≤m≤n, and m is an integer (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the live streaming interface comprises m perspective switching controls, and the m perspective switching controls each respectively correspond to one of the m perspectives; and wherein the method further comprises: obtaining live streaming picture data of a third perspective in response to receiving a trigger operation on a target perspective switching control, and switching a live streaming picture from a second perspective to a live streaming picture from the third perspective in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the third perspective, the second perspective being any one of the m perspectives, the target perspective switching control being a perspective switching control corresponding to the second perspective in the m perspective switching controls, and the third perspective being any one of the n perspectives other than the m perspectives (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining live streaming picture data of a third perspective in response to receiving a trigger operation on a target perspective switching control, and switching a live streaming picture from a second perspective to a live streaming picture from the third perspective in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the third perspective comprises: displaying a first perspective selection interface in response to receiving the trigger operation on the target perspective switching control, the first perspective selection interface comprising n-m first selection controls, and the n-m first selection controls each respectively corresponding to one of the n-m third perspectives; and obtaining the live streaming picture data of the third perspective in response to receiving a trigger operation on a target selection control, and switching the live streaming picture from the second perspective to the live streaming picture from the third perspective in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the third perspective, the target selection control being any one of the n-m first selection controls, and the live streaming picture from the third perspective being a live streaming picture from a third perspective corresponding to the target selection control (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein when any first selection control corresponds to a virtual object, the first selection control comprises a character avatar or a user avatar of the virtual object corresponding to the first selection control (pg. 8, ln. 27-37).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the first perspective selection interface further comprises an avatar switching control, and the method further comprises: for any first selection control, switching the character avatar of the virtual object corresponding to the first selection control to the user avatar, or switching the user avatar of the virtual object corresponding to the first selection control to the character avatar in response to receiving a trigger operation on the avatar switching control (pg. 8, ln. 27-37).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: adjusting display sizes of the live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in response to receiving a split-screen size adjustment operation performed in the live streaming interface (pg. 13, ln. 10-20).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the m perspectives comprise a fourth perspective and a fifth perspective, and a live streaming picture from the fourth perspective and a live streaming picture from the fifth perspective correspond to size adjustment controls; and the adjusting display sizes of the live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in response to receiving a split-screen size adjustment operation performed in the live streaming interface comprises: in response to receiving a drag operation on the size adjustment control, adjusting a display size of the live streaming picture from the fourth perspective and a display size of the live streaming picture from the fifth perspective based on a drag direction and a drag distance of the drag operation (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, ln. 10 – pg. 14, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control, and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives comprises: obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph); and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from m perspectives recently displayed in the live streaming interface of the live streaming pictures from the n perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, ln. 10 – pg. 14, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control, and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives comprises: obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph); and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives of the n perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, wherein the m perspectives are default perspectives of the n perspectives (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, ln. 10 – pg. 14, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface, the method further comprises: obtaining live streaming picture data of an eighth perspective in response to receiving an exit split-screen operation, and displaying a live streaming picture from the eighth perspective in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the eighth perspective, the live streaming picture from the eighth perspective being a live streaming picture located at a specified position or a live streaming picture with a maximum display size in the live streaming pictures from the m perspectives (pg. 13, ln. 10-20).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a live streaming picture data processing apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: display a live streaming interface of a virtual scene, the virtual scene corresponding to live streaming pictures from n perspectives, where n is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (pages 1-4, Summary of the Invention); obtain live streaming picture data of a first perspective of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S310, pg. 7, ln. 26 – pg. 8, ln. 3); display a live streaming picture from the first perspective and a split-screen control in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the first perspective (Fig. 3, element S320, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control: obtain live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S330, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and perform split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, where 2≤m≤n, and m is an integer (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable that, when executed by a process of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to: display a live streaming interface of a virtual scene, the virtual scene corresponding to live streaming pictures from n perspectives, where n is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (pages 1-4, Summary of the Invention); obtain live streaming picture data of a first perspective of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S310, pg. 7, ln. 26 – pg. 8, ln. 3); display a live streaming picture from the first perspective and a split-screen control in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the first perspective (Fig. 3, element S320, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control: obtain live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives (Fig. 3, element S330, page 8, para. 6 (ln. 27-37)); and perform split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, where 2≤m≤n, and m is an integer (Figs. 5 and 6, pg. 13, last paragraph, page 14, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 114191823) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0080314).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the displaying a first perspective selection interface in response to receiving the trigger operation on the target perspective switching control comprises: displaying the first perspective selection interface using a thumbnail map of the virtual scene as a background in response to receiving the trigger operation on the target perspective switching control; obtaining positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map; and displaying the n-m first selection controls in the first perspective selection interface based on the positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map. However, in analogous art, Zhang discloses a “system and method for improved targeting of a long-range object in a multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) game is provided. Initially, a touch gesture is received at a tool selection area of a dynamic image provided by the MOBA game, enabling a user to select a tool (e.g., an ability, a virtual weapon, a spell, or the like) to target an object within the virtual world. Next, a second touch gesture is received at a mini-map of the virtual world causing the dynamic image to be automatically adjusted from a perspective corresponding to a character controlled by the user to a perspective representing the location selected within the mini-map. Finally, a third touch gesture is received at a targeting tool providing a target range of the selected tool within the adjusted dynamic image and the user can more precisely and accurately target the object (Abstract; see also Figs. 5-8 and paras. [0017], [0020] and [0046]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to allow for displaying the first perspective selection interface using a thumbnail map of the virtual scene as a background in response to receiving the trigger operation on the target perspective switching control, obtaining positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map, and displaying the n-m first selection controls in the first perspective selection interface based on the positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for users to be given a more intuitive manner in which to access different perspectives, which could increase user satisfaction with the system.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Zhang discloses the method according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the obtaining positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map comprises: obtaining, for any first selection control, a position of the first selection control in the thumbnail map based on at least one of a responsibility of a virtual object corresponding to the first selection control in the virtual scene and a camp to which the virtual object belongs in the virtual scene (Zhang, paras. [0024] and [0037]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen and Zhang discloses the method according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the obtaining positions of the n-m first selection controls in the thumbnail map comprises: obtaining, for any first selection control, a position of the first selection control in the thumbnail map based on a real-time position of a virtual object corresponding to the first selection control in the virtual scene (Zhang, paras. [0005] and [0035]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control, and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives comprises: displaying a second perspective selection interface in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control, the second perspective selection interface comprising second selection controls respectively corresponding to the n perspectives; obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives based on a selection operation on second selection controls of the m perspectives of the n perspectives; and performing split-screen display on the live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives. However, in analogous art, Zhang discloses a “system and method for improved targeting of a long-range object in a multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) game is provided. Initially, a touch gesture is received at a tool selection area of a dynamic image provided by the MOBA game, enabling a user to select a tool (e.g., an ability, a virtual weapon, a spell, or the like) to target an object within the virtual world. Next, a second touch gesture is received at a mini-map of the virtual world causing the dynamic image to be automatically adjusted from a perspective corresponding to a character controlled by the user to a perspective representing the location selected within the mini-map. Finally, a third touch gesture is received at a targeting tool providing a target range of the selected tool within the adjusted dynamic image and the user can more precisely and accurately target the object (Abstract; see also Figs. 5-8 and paras. [0017], [0020] and [0046]),” wherein “a tool 532 may be selected by the user by making a touch gesture within the tool selection area of the dynamic image. A touch gesture can include, for instance, tapping the touchscreen with one or more fingers, one or more thumbs, a stylus, or other such selection tool. A second touch gesture may be received at a location 522 within the mini-map 520. In response to the second touch gesture, the dynamic image is automatically adjusted to a perspective representing a selected location 522 of the mini-map 520 corresponding to the received second touch gesture. As shown, an area of the view 524 provided by the adjusted dynamic image 500 is visible within the mini-map 520. A third touch gesture 536 may be received at a targeting tool 534 of the adjusted dynamic image. The targeting tool 534 depicts a target range of the selected tool 532 within the adjusted dynamic image 500 and the third touch gesture 536 indicates where the user is targeting within the target range 534. The targeted area 546 is also displayed within the adjusted dynamic image 500 (para. [0038]; see also Figs. 5 and 6).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to allow for displaying a second perspective selection interface in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control, the second perspective selection interface comprising second selection controls respectively corresponding to the n perspectives, obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives based on a selection operation on second selection controls of the m perspectives of the n perspectives, and performing split-screen display on the live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the interfaces to adjust as users selected different perspective views to continue to allow users proper access to the controls.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 114191823) in view of Li et al. (Pat. No.: US 12,407,899).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the method according to any claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining live streaming picture data of m perspectives of the n perspectives in response to receiving a trigger operation on the split-screen control, and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives comprises: determining quantities of viewers for the live streaming pictures from the n perspectives in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control; arranging the n perspectives based on the quantities of viewers in descending order or in ascending order; obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives; and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, wherein the m perspectives are a first m perspectives of the n perspectives based on viewer quantity order. However, in analogous art, Li discloses that “[a] trending video may be a video having much popularity. The popularity of the video may be calculated from the following parameters of the video: the number of times of being viewed, the number of times of being shared, the number of times of being added to favorites, the number of times of being commented on, and/or the number of times of being liked. Accordingly, the trending list may be construed as a list of recorded trending videos. As shown in FIG. 2, the trending list includes video properties 21 of multiple trending videos. A video property may be construed as video information of a trending video. The video property includes at least one of the following: the popularity rank 211 of the trending video, the cover page 212 of the trending video, the video name 213 of the trending video, or the number 214 of people who are viewing the trending video. The video properties 21 of the multiple trending videos may be ranked in order of popularity from high to low in the trending list. The trending list may be displayed in the first video player interface, that is, in the layer in which the first video player interface is located, or may be displayed in a floating window on the first video player interface. The preset video of the trending list may be a preshot video containing audio or a preset animation effect carrying a corresponding audio effect. The preset video may be set by a developer. If the user does not instruct the electronic device to switch the trending list on the first video player interface to another video after the preset video completes being played, the preset video may be played again (col. 4, ln. 13-40; see also figure 2).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to allow for determining quantities of viewers for the live streaming pictures from the n perspectives in response to receiving the trigger operation on the split-screen control; arranging the n perspectives based on the quantities of viewers in descending order or in ascending order; obtaining the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives of the n perspectives; and performing split-screen display on live streaming pictures from the m perspectives in the live streaming interface based on the live streaming picture data of the m perspectives, wherein the m perspectives are a first m perspectives of the n perspectives based on viewer quantity order. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the most popular perspectives to be listed first, which could improve user satisfaction and engagement by showing users what view was the most popular at a given time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are rejected. Claims 15-17 are objected to.
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 April 9, 2026