DETAILED ACTION
Amendment received on December 10, 2025 has been acknowledged. Therefore, claims 22-26, 42-47 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim status should be “currently amended”. Also line 10 contains an extra “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-23, 42, 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gueret (US 5,301,697).
Regarding claim 22, Gueret teaches an applicator assembly (1) for delivering a chemical composition in an active state (Col 2, Ln 28-37; since the disclosure does not define active, active is interpreted as chemical composition that is not deteriorated before use), comprising an insert (4) comprising an insert body (Fig 1), a handle portion (41) and an applicator portion (42), the insert body made of a first material (Col 2, Ln 44-45) and separable from the applicator assembly (Col 3, Ln 50-51); a chemical composition (P) applied to the insert body (Col 3, Ln 42-49), wherein the chemical composition comprises one or more of a cosmetic (Col 1, Ln 14), a health, or a hygiene product; a wrapper enclosing the insert body (121, 122, 150), wherein the wrapper protects the insert body (Col 3, Ln 55-63); wherein the handle portion is isolated from the chemical composition and remains clean for handling when the applicator assembly is opened (Col 3, Ln 32-46; therefore the handle portion is isolated from the chemical composition and remains clean for handling); and a substantially sealed border (33 & 32 Fig 1 or 103 & 102, Fig 3) a wherein the substantially sealed border aligns with the applicator portion to maintain the insert body in position within the wrapper (as shown in Fig 1 or 3).
Gueret further teaches in claim 23 wherein the chemical composition is dispensed in an active state during manufacturing and remains in the active state when the applicator assembly is opened (Col 2, Ln 28-37 and Col 3, Ln 64-68; since the disclosure does not define active state, active state is interpreted as chemical composition that is not deteriorated before use, and since the applicator is sealed, the chemical composition is considered remaining in active state);
in claim 42 wherein the substantially sealed border (33 & 32 Fig 1 or 103 & 102, Fig 3) aligns with the applicator portion to maintain the insert body in an offset position within the wrapper (as shown in Fig 2 & 3, insert body is in an offset position within the wrapper and cannot be moved);
in claim 45 wherein the insert body comprises a plastic substrate (Col 2, Ln 44-45), and the applicator portion is configured to transfer the chemical composition from a surface of the plastic substrate (Col 3, Ln 32-49);
in claim 46 wherein the applicator portion of the insert comprises a set amount of the chemical composition (Col 1, Ln 59-68 to Col 2, Ln 1-3); and
in claim 47 wherein the chemical composition contains one or more of an amorphous silica, a white adhesive agent, a coloring agent, an aromatic preservative agent, a bulking agent, a sealing agent and a preservative agent (Col 2, Ln 28-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gueret, in view of Khan et al (US 9,113,692, cited in IDS), hereinafter Khan.
Regarding claims 24, Gueret teaches substantially all features of the claimed invention except for a set amount of the chemical composition corresponding to a single dose, applied to the applicator portion of the insert body, which comprises multiple cyclic groups for even distribution of the chemical composition across a surface of the first material.
Attention is directed to Khan that teaches in claim 24 a set amount of the chemical composition corresponding to a single dose, applied to the applicator portion of the insert body, which comprises multiple cyclic groups (14a-14e) for even distribution of the chemical composition across a surface of the first material (Col 5, Ln 51-56);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a set amount of multiple cyclic groups of the single chemical composition corresponding to a single dose for even distribution of the chemical composition across a surface of the first material, in view of Khan's teaching. Multiple cyclic groups are often used in cosmetic compositions for aesthetic effects.
Regarding claim 25, in addition to the limitations of claim 22, the already modified applicator assembly further teaches wherein the chemical composition includes an aromatic preservative agent that comprises aromatic properties configured to control scent and prevent growth of microorganisms (Khan: Col 9, Ln 23-25);
Regarding claim 26, in addition to the limitations of claim 22, the already modified applicator assembly further teaches wherein the chemical composition is applied to the first material during manufacturing and undergoes controlled evaporation (Khan: Abstract).
Claim(s) 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gueret.
Regarding claim 43, Gueret fails to teach an embossed border formed by substantially sealing a top sheet material to a bottom sheet material. Instead, Gueret teaches a basic border formed by sealing a top sheet material to a bottom sheet material (Fig 3).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an embossed border formed by substantially sealing a top sheet material to a bottom sheet material. Applicant has not disclosed the embossed border provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gueret’s packaging method and the applicant’s invention to perform equally well because both types of packaging are equally capable of sealing an applicator assembly.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gueret to obtain the invention as claimed because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Gueret.
Regarding claim 44, Gueret fails to teach wherein the insert comprises a single body without a separately defined handle portion or applicator portion. Instead, Gueret teaches an insert body with defined handle and applicator portions (4, Fig 1).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an insert with undefined applicator and handle portions. Applicant has not disclosed that having this feature provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gueret and the applicant’s invention to perform equally well as claimed because both are equally capable of performing as an applicator insert.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gueret to obtain the invention as specified in claim 44 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Gueret.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Shim does not teach the amended limitations as recited in the amended claims. See remarks section. Nevertheless, applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754