DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 27-28, 35-36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Andrea (US PG. Pub. 2013/0302132). Relative to claims 21-22, D’Andrea discloses:
Claim 21) A system (10)(Fig. 1) for use in directing an article sorting operation, the system comprising:
a server comprising a memory, a processor, and a routing engine (management module 15 inherently includes server, memory 91, processor 90, routing engine may include the route planning module 94 and segment reservation module 96; Para. 0056);
a grid comprising a plurality of nodes for a plurality of computer-controlled vehicles to travel thereon, each node allocating a grid cell area (see grid 12 associated with workspace, cells 14 may be considered nodes allocating a grid cell area, mdu’s 20 travel along cells 14 of grid; Para. 0044)(Fig. 5),
each node (14) assigned as occupied when a computer-controlled vehicle (20) is occupying at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (cells 14 of a workspace segment 17 are occupied or unavailable if another drive unit if a drive unit 20 is or will be traversing a segment or positioned on the segment 17, or will otherwise impede a segment 17; Para. 0090; 0177);
the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles (20) comprising a first size vehicle (Para. 0136; 0143);
a destination container (destination container may be inventory holder 30 in a station 50 that received items from another inventory holder 30 that was moved to the station 50; Para. 0041);
a plurality of articles (items) to be sorted to the destination container (30), the plurality of articles comprising a first article (Para. 0041); the system is configured to:
receive, at the server (included with Ref. 15), article information corresponding to the first article (management module receives inventory requests involving inventory items to be retrieved or stored; 0046);
assign, by the server, the first article to be transported by the first size vehicle (20) to the destination container (management module assigns tasks to retrieve specific items based on an inventory request and assigns vehicles to transport the holders with the items Para. 0046-0047);
assign, by the routing engine (see Ref. 94, 96 of management module 15), a first count of nodes N corresponding to a clearance area for avoiding collision for the first size vehicle as occupied (route planning module 94 generates and assigns paths comprised of segments 17 of a number of count of cells 14 for the mobile drive unit 20 to travel along, Para. 0093; reservation module 96 identifies starting and ending coordinates of a segment and can grant a reservation of the segment 17 so that other drive units 20 cannot occupy or reserve it, thereby avoiding collision; 0093-0094; 0090);
claim 22) the system is further configured to: assign, by the routing engine, as unoccupied a plurality of nodes that are not assigned as occupied (cells 14 that do not or will not include a drive unit 20 are considered available or unoccupied and may be traversed; Para. 0090;0094);
Claim 27) the system is further configured to assign a node (14) as occupied when the first size vehicle (20) is about to occupy at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (segment of cells 14 that will be traversed by a mobile drive unit 20 are occupied and may not be available, Para. 0090; 0177);
Claim 28) the system is further configured to assign a node (14) as occupied when the first size vehicle (20) is heading towards at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (Para. 0090; 0176-0177);
Relative to claims 35-36, and 39-40, the disclosure of D’Andrea includes:
Claim 35) A method of directing an article sorting operation, the method comprising:
receiving, at a server (included in management module 15), article information corresponding to a first article (management module receives inventory requests involving inventory items to be processed, 0046);
assigning, by the server (included in management module 15), the first article to be transported by a first size vehicle to a destination container (management module assigns tasks to retrieve specific items based on an inventory request and assigns vehicles to transport the holders with the items Para. 0046-0047);
assigning, by a routing engine, a first count of nodes N corresponding to a clearance area for avoiding collision for the first size vehicle as occupied (route planning module 94 generates and assigns paths comprised of segments 17 of a number of count of cells 14 for the mobile drive unit 20 to travel along, Para. 0093; reservation module 96 identifies starting and ending coordinates of a segment and can grant a reservation of the segment 17 so that other drive units 20 cannot occupy or reserve it, thereby avoiding collision; 0093-0094; 0090),
the nodes (14) forming part of a grid for the first size vehicle (20) to travel thereon (Para. 0044), each node (14) allocating a grid cell area (Para. 0044)(Fig. 5),
each node (14) assigned as occupied when the first size vehicle (20) is occupying at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (Para. 0090; 0093, cell is occupied when a mobile drive unit is traversing or will traverse along, or will be positioned on a particular segment of cells);
claim 36) assigning, by the routing engine, as unoccupied a plurality of nodes that are not assigned as occupied (cells 14 that do not or will not include a drive unit 20 are considered available or unoccupied and may be traversed; Para. 0090;0094);
claim 39) assigning, by the routing engine, a node (14) as occupied when the first size vehicle (20) is about to occupy at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (if a mobile drive unit 20 will traverse a segment, then the segment is considered occupied, Para. 0090; 0094; 0102); and
claim 40) assigning, by the routing engine (included in Ref. 94, 96), a node (14) as occupied when the first size vehicle (20) is heading towards at least a portion of the grid cell area allocated to the node (if a cell 14 in a segment will be traversed by a mobile drive unit, then the cell of segment is unavailable or occupied; Para. 0090; 0102 0176).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Andrea ‘2132. Relative to claim 26, D’Andrea discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose the node is circle shaped.
D’Andrea teaches: the node may be circle shaped as a matter of design choice based on the user’s preference since the cells 14 may be of any appropriate shape, including a square, rectangular, or polygons, and other shapes (Para. 0044). MPEP §2144.04 IV.(B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of D’Andrea so that the node is a circle as an obvious matter of design choice since the node may comprise any appropriate shape based on the needs of the system.
Claim(s) 23-25 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Andrea in view of Kawano (US PG. Pub. 2014/0058556). Relative to claims 23-24, and 37-38, D’Andrea discloses all claim limitation mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
Claim 23) the node comprises a fiducial marker;
Claim 24) the fiducial marker operates as a rotational center for the first size vehicle when turning to change direction or to divert;
Claim 25) the system is further configured to direct the first size vehicle to stop at or about the rotational center to commence deposition of the first article into the destination container;
Claim 37) the node comprises a fiducial marker;
Claim 38) directing, by the routing engine, each of the first size vehicle to stop at or about the fiducial marker to commence deposition of the first article into the destination container.
Kawano teaches:
Claim 23) the node comprises a fiducial marker (22)(Fig. 2)(Para. 0023);
Claim 24) the fiducial marker (22) operates as a rotational center for the first size vehicle (20) when turning to change direction or to divert (fiducial marker 22 is in center of cell, mobile drive unit 20 travels to center of cell with the marker and rotates to rotate an inventory holder 30 in a cell to face a station to transfer inventory items from the holder to another holder in the station or vice versa; Para. 0030; 0025-0026)(Fig. 4);
Claim 25) the system is further configured to direct the first size vehicle (20) to stop at or about the rotational center to commence deposition of the first article into the destination container (another inventory holder 30)(Para. 0030, mobile drive units 20 move to position of marker 22 of one cell to the position of the marker 22 of another cell, the markers 22 are in the center of the cells and also serves as a rotational center; Para. 0030; when mobile drive units 20 are moved to and rotated to face the inventory station 50, items can be transferred from the inventory holder 30 facing the inventory station 50 to another inventory holder 30 in the station 50 which is a destination container, the transferring the items is a task; Para. 0025-0026);
Claim 37) the node comprises a fiducial marker (22)(Fig. 2)(Para. 0023); and
Claim 38) directing, by the routing engine, each of the first size vehicle (20) to stop at or about the fiducial marker (22) to commence deposition of the first article into the destination container (mobile drive unit 20 travels to center of cell with the marker, and stops to rotate an inventory holder 30 in a cell to transfer items to another inventory holder; Para. 0030)(Fig. 4).
Kawano teaches: the node comprises a fiducial marker, fiducial marker operating as a rotational center, and directing each of the first size vehicle to stop at or about the fiducial marker to commence deposition of the first article as described above for the purpose of providing a modern inventory system that can fill multiple orders of diverse items at or near the same time that is efficient and less costly (Para. 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of D’Andrea so that the node comprises a fiducial marker, fiducial marker operating as a rotational center, and directing each of the first size vehicle to stop at or about the fiducial marker to commence deposition of the first article as taught in Kawano for the purpose of a modern inventory system that can fill multiple orders of diverse items at or near the same time that is efficient and less costly.
Claim(s) 29-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Andrea in view of Hoffman et al (US PG. Pub. 2013/0103552). Relative to claims 29-34, D’Andrea discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
Claim 29) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on at least one of a shape and size of the first article;
Claim 30) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a number of computer-controlled vehicles traveling on the grid;
Claim 31) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a distance between nodes;
Claim 32) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a geometry of the grid;
Claim 33) the system is further configured to calculate the first route such that there is no physical contact between: articles and the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles, between articles, and among the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles; or
Claim 34) the system is further configured to calculate the first route based on a number of computer-controlled vehicles on the grid.
Hoffman teaches:
Claim 29) the system is further configured to assign a node (76) as occupied based on at least one of a shape and size of the first article (Para. 0063-0064, system considers the total volume segment 17 to place a reservation of the space adjacent to the space that the mobile drive unit plans to rotate to ensure no collision, meaning the adjacent spaces, or nodes, are considered occupied based on the volume of the mobile robot with the inventory holder 30,32)(Fig. 4B);
Claim 30) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a number of computer-controlled vehicles (20, 22) traveling on the grid (48)(based on reservation policy, portions of a workspace or workspace region 78, that includes nodes 76 within the region, may limit the number of mobile drive units 20 in an area such that when the number of mobile drive units exceeds this number, the nodes 76 in the region 78 are restricted and considered occupied, Para. 0028; 0052);
Claim 31) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a distance between nodes 76 (system considers whether mobile drive units have sufficient space to move and therefore reserve nodes, sets minimum distances between stopping points Para. 0061; 0064);
Claim 32) the system is further configured to assign a node as occupied based on a geometry of the grid (system considers a given state of workspace volume 75 or cells 76, and footprints of objects, Para. 0050; 0051; 0054);
Claim 33) the system is further configured to calculate the first route such that there is no physical contact between: articles and the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles (20, 22), between articles (see items on holders or holders 30, 32), and among the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles (20, 22)(Para. 0041; 0063); and
Claim 34) the system is further configured to calculate the first route based on a number of computer-controlled vehicles on the grid (48)(reservation policies are used to generate paths, including considering the number of drive units on the grid or area of the grid; Para. 0051-0052; 0028).
Hoffman teaches: assigning a node as occupied based: on a shape or size of the first article; a number of computer-controlled vehicles traveling on the grid; geometry of the grid; calculating the first route such that there is no physical contact between articles and/or the plurality of vehicles described above, for the purpose of providing an improved modern inventory management system that is capable of processing complex and diverse inventories that efficiently utilizes resources of time, space, manpower, and equipment, increased throughput, and minimizes delays (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of D’Andrea with the assigning a node as occupied based: on a shape or size of the first article; a number of computer-controlled vehicles traveling on the grid; geometry of the grid; calculating the first route such that there is no physical contact between articles and/or the plurality of vehicles described above, as taught in Hoffman for the purpose of providing an improved modern inventory management system that is capable of processing complex and diverse inventories that efficiently utilizes resources of time, space, manpower, and equipment, increased throughput, and minimizes delays.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
D’Andrea (US 7,873,469); AI, Xin (EP 3 958 085 A1); AI (US 2022/0057812); Aggarwal (US 11,126,944); Mehta et al (US Patent No. 11,230,435).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651