Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 July 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakashima et al. (US 2019/0044257; hereafter ‘Nakashima’).
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima, in at least figs. 1-5, discloses an electrical connection device, comprising:
a resin base (at least 20; as seen in at least figs. 1-3);
a terminal (at least 3; as seen in at least figs. 1-5) including an insert part (at least; as seen in at least fig. 3; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0036]) located in the resin base (20; as seen in at least fig. 3); and
a sealing portion (at least 4; as seen in at least fig. 3; as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0039-0041] interposed between the insert part (30) and the resin base (as seen in at least fig. 3), the sealing portion (4) being a thermally shrunk heat shrink tube in a state covering the insert part (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakashima discloses the electrical connection device of claim 1, wherein: the terminal (3) includes a first end part (31; fig. 3; at least paragraph [0036]) and a second end part (also 31, but at the opposite end of the terminal 3; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0036]; as seen in at least fig. 3) and the insert part (30) is located between the first and second end parts (as seen in at least fig. 3), and the insert part (30) is located in the resin base with the first and second end parts exposed from the resin base (as seen in at least fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Nakashima discloses the electrical connection device of claim 1, wherein the entire sealing portion (4) is covered in the resin base (20) (as seen in at least fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima as modified by Hirooka (US 2023/0275369; hereinafter ‘Hirooka’).
Regarding claim 3, Nakashima discloses the claimed invention as indicated above, and the terminal is so supported in the resin base that the first end part is facing outward of the device case and the second end part is facing inward of the device case through the connection opening with the resin base mounted on the device case (as seen in at least figs. 1-3).
Nakashima does not specifically disclose the electrical connection device of claim 2 with a mounting portion.
Hirooka teaches a similar electrical connector device including a mounting portion (22) formed in the base (as seen in at least fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make Nakashima’s resin base (20) with Hirooka’s mounting portion to be mounted on Hirooka’s device case to close a connection opening of the device case.
One would have been motivated to do so to secure Nakashima’s device in place preventing undesired movement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited as teaching similar electronic connection devices including at least resin and/or heat shrinking materials.
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831