DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9: The claim recites in part “…and an axis of the slide rod…” However, this limitation has previously been recited in claim 7. For examination purposes, this is considered to be the same axis as recited in claim 7. Subsequent recitations should be preceded by “the” or “said” as antecedence has been established.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dale (US Patent No. 5185958).
In regards to claim 1, Dale discloses
a knife grinding assembly, comprising:
a positioning portion (table end plate 51, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 10-13),
a slide rod (pivot post 43, fig. 1),
a pull rod (guide rod 21, fig. 1),
a slide block (block 40, fig. 1),
a grinding stone (grinding stone 12, fig. 1; col. 2 lines 30-33: a cartridge system wherein stones of at least two abrasive grades are supplied) and
a universal connector (bore receiving pull rod within block 40, fig. 1);
wherein the positioning portion (table end plate 51, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 10-13: fixedly connected when knob holds rod in position ) is fixedly connected to the slide rod (pivot post 43, fig. 1),
the slide block (block 40, fig. 1) is slidably provided on the slide rod (pivot post 43, fig. 1),
the pull rod (guide rod 21, fig. 1) is provided on the slide block (block 40, fig. 1) through the universal connector (bore receiving pull rod within block 40, fig. 1), and
the grinding stone (grinding stone 12, fig. 1; col. 2 lines 30-33) is provided on the pull rod (guide rod 21, fig. 1).
In regards to claim 2, Dale discloses
the knife grinding assembly of claim 1, wherein, the grinding stone (grinding stone 12, fig. 1; col. 2 lines 30-33) includes several grinding surfaces with different grinding coefficient (col. 2 lines 30-33: at least two different abrasive grades), and the grinding surfaces are provided along (longitudinally) a circumference of the pull rod (guide rod 21, fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, Dale discloses
the knife grinding assembly of claim 2, wherein, a slide block limiting post (block 41, fig. 1) is protrudingly provided on one side of the slide rod (pivot post 43, fig. 1) away from the positioning portion (table end plate 51, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 10-13).
In regards to claim 6,
a knife grinding apparatus, comprising:
a base (base 70, fig. 1),
a bracket (leg 71, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 51-55),
a clamper (blade carriage 60, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 28-40) for clamping a knife and the knife grinding assembly of claim 1,
the bracket (leg 71, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 51-55) is detachably (col. 4 lines 51-55: secured through bolts that could be removed) provided above the base and disposed on one side of the base (see fig. 1 – ann. 1),
the clamper (blade carriage 60, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 28-40) is provided on another side (see fig. 1 – ann. 1; col. 4 lines 32-34) of the base away from the bracket (leg 71, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 51-55), and the positioning portion (table end plate 51, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 10-13) is detachably connected to the bracket (leg 71, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 51-55).
Claim(s) 7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Primak (US Patent No. 2191899).
In regards to claim 7, Primak discloses
a knife grinding apparatus, comprising:
a base (at least foot 34 and supporting base 16, fig. 1-2);
a bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2) provided above the base and extends upwards from one side of the base (see fig. 2 – ann. 1);
a clamper (at least elements 17-27, see fig. 1 - ann. 1) provided above the base and away from the bracket (see fig. 2 – ann. 1);
a knife grinding assembly, including
a positioning portion (adjustable block 35, fig. 1-2),
a slide rod (laterally extending bracket 36, fig. 1-2),
a pull rod (guide rod 45, fig. 1-2),
a slide block (traveling nut 43, fig. 1-2),
a grinding stone (sharpening stone 54, fig. 1-2) and
a universal connector (outstanding ears 44, fig. 1-2), wherein the positioning portion (adjustable block 35, fig. 1-2) is fixedly connected to the slide rod (laterally extending bracket 36, fig. 1-2),
the slide block (traveling nut 43, fig. 1-2) is slidably provided on the slide rod (laterally extending bracket 36, fig. 1-2),
the pull rod (guide rod 45, fig. 1-2) is movably (pivotable) connected to a lower end (below the top surface) of the slide block (traveling nut 43, fig. 1-2) through the universal connector (outstanding ears 44, fig. 1-2) and
disposed under the slide rod (laterally extending bracket 36, fig. 1-2), the grinding stone (sharpening stone 54, fig. 1-2) is provided on the pull rod (guide rod 45, fig. 1-2),
an axis of the slide rod is perpendicular to an extension direction of the bracket (90 degree angle between the two; see fig. 1 and 2), the positioning portion (adjustable block 35, fig. 1-2) includes a connector (block 35 housing, see fig. 2) and a clamping bolt (thumbscrew 42, fig. 1-2),
the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2) passes through the connector (block 35 housing, see fig. 2),
an axis of the clamping bolt is perpendicular (90 degree angle between two, see fig. 2) to the extension direction of the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2), the clamping bolt (thumbscrew 42, fig. 1-2) is threadedly connected to the connector (block 35 housing, see fig. 2), an end of the clamping bolt (thumbscrew 42, fig. 1-2) abuts on the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 9, Primak discloses
the knife grinding apparatus of claim 7, wherein,
a clamper connecting block (upright post 15, fig. 2) and a connecting bolt (adjusting screw 30, fig. 1-2) is provided on the base (at least foot 34 and supporting base 16, fig. 1-2), the clamper (at least elements 17-27, see fig. 1 - ann. 1) is provided on the clamper connecting block (upright post 15, fig. 2) above the base (at least foot 34 and supporting base 16, fig. 1-2) through the connecting bolt (adjusting screw 30, fig. 1-2), and
an axis of the connecting bolt (adjusting screw 30, fig. 1-2) is perpendicular to the extension direction of the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2) and an axis of the slide rod (see fig. 2 – ann. 2).
In regards to claim 10, Primak discloses
the knife grinding apparatus of claim 9, wherein,
the clamper (at least elements 17-27, see fig. 1 - ann. 1) includes a clamping bolt (support screw 22, fig. 1-2), a first clamping block (lower portion of rib 20, fig. 2) and a second clamping block (upper portion of rib 20, fig. 2),
an axis of the clamping bolt (support screw 22, fig. 1-2) is perpendicular to the axis of the connecting bolt, the clamping bolt (support screw 22, fig. 1-2) passes through the first clamping block and the second clamping block in sequence (passes from bottom to top, see fig. 2),
at least one of the first clamping block and the second clamping block is threadedly connected (both have threading to receive support screw 22) to the clamping bolt (support screw 22, fig. 1-2), and a clamping slot (threaded opening 21, fig. 1) is formed between the first clamping block and the second clamping block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dale in view of Levine (US Patent No. 4714239).
In regards to claim 4, Dale discloses
the knife grinding assembly of claim 3, wherein, a handle (handle 22, fig. 1) is protrudingly provided on one side of the pull rod (guide rod 21, fig. 1) away from the slide block (block 40, fig. 1).
However, Dale fails to disclose anti-slip stripes are provided on the handle.
Levine, which discloses a knife sharpener, teaches a handle (post 11), with knurled portion (9) to “provide a person with a better grip relative” to the rest of the sharpener body (col. 2 lines 41-47).
Dale and Levine are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, knife sharpeners, and Levine address the problem of providing adequate grip for the tool user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle of Dale and apply the knurled surface taught by Levine to the handle in order to provide anti-slip stripes to assist the user in maintaining a proper grip on the tool during use (Levine col. 2 lines 41-47).
In regards to claim 5, Dale as modified discloses
the knife grinding assembly of claim 4, wherein, the positioning portion (table end plate 51, fig. 1; col. 4 lines 10-13) includes
a connector (slot that receives the knob 52, fig. 1) and
a clamping bolt (knob 52, fig. 1), the clamping blot is threadedly connected to the connector and inserted into an inside of the connector, and the slide rod (pivot post 43, fig. 1) is fixedly provided on one side of the connector.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Primak in view of Mclean (WO 8912529).
In regards to claim 8, Primak discloses
the knife grinding apparatus of claim 7, wherein,
an external thread (threaded) is provided on the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2); the positioning portion (adjustable block 35, fig. 1-2).
Primak fails to disclose “a fixing nut, the fixing nut” is sleeved on an outside of the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2) and threadedly connected to the bracket (threaded standard 32, fig. 1-2), and the fixing nut is disposed under the connector (block 35 housing, see fig. 2).
Mclean teaches uses nuts (44) on threaded brackets for securing parts.
Primak and Mclean are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, knife sharpeners.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Primak and provide a fixing nut (44) as taught by Mclean in order to ensure a more stable mounting of the connector, assisting in proper sharpening of the tool by providing stable support.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723