DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control system of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, the word “an” should be placed between “with” and “aspirating”
Claim 2, line 4, the word “an” should be placed between “with” and “aspirating”
Claim 2, line 5, standpipe should be plural.
Claim 3, line 4, the word monitor should be plural
Claim 3, line 6, the word monitor should be plural
Claim 3, line 7, standpipe should be plural
Claim 7, line 2, the word monitor should be plural
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the aspirating foam nozzle and an water monitor assemblies" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mardikan (6,168,481).
Regarding claim 1 Mardikan shows a spraying assembly comprising: at least one standpipe (the vertical pipe in figure 11 connected to pipe 136) extending from a fluid trunk line (136), a water monitor 70 with aspirating foam (foam is sucked in through pipe 78) nozzle assembly fluidly connected to each of the at least one standpipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenci (3,339,516) in view of Mardikan (6,168,481).
Regarding claims 1-3, Lenci shows a spraying assembly comprising: two standpipes (43 and 15) extending from a fluid trunk line (12, 11): at least one branching pipe extending from each of the two standpipes (17 and 18 extend from 15 and 48 and 47 extend from 43),
But fails to disclose two water monitors with aspirating foam nozzle assemblies each of which is fluidly connected to each of the two standpipes;
and two water monitors with aspirating foam nozzle assemblies each of which fluidly connected to each of the at least one branching pipe.
Mardikan shows a two water monitors (70) with aspirating foam nozzle assemblies (foam is sucked in through pipe 78), each monitor located on a separate standpipe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add a water monitor with an aspirating foam nozzle assembly to each of the standpipes and each of the branching pipes, in order to be able to direct a spray of foam form each outlet.
Regarding claim 4, including a water hose (54) fluidly connected to the fluid trunk line.
Regarding claim 5, including a foam delivery tube (78 of Mardikan) fluidly connected to each of the aspirating foam nozzle and the water monitor assemblies.
Claim(s) 1-4, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenci (3,339,516) as modified by Mardikan (6,168,481) above, further in view of Steingass et al. (6,102,308).
Regarding claim 7, Lenci as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 3, but fails to disclose that each of the water monitors with aspirating foam nozzle assemblies comprises a quick release mechanism.
Steingass et al. shows an aspirating foam nozzle that has a quick release mechanism (threads 42 are a quick release compared to a solid connection)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the aspirating foam nozzles of Steingass on the monitors of Lenci as modified above, in order to have them easily removable from the monitors.
In the alternative, regarding claims 1-4 and 5, using the nozzle of Steingass will also provide the monitors with an aspirating foam nozzle if the applicant disagrees that Mardikan teaches an actual aspirating foam nozzle.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenci (3,339,516) as modified by Mardikan (6,168,481) above, further in view of Haviland (2011/0186657)
Regarding claim 6, Lenci as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 3, but fails to disclose a control system in communication with each of the water monitors with aspirating foam nozzles assemblies.
Haviland teaches a control system that controls the monitor (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use a control system to control each monitor in order to automatically control the position of the nozzles.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenci (3,339,516) as modified by Mardikan (6,168,481) and Steingass et al. (6,102,308) above, further in view of Haviland (2011/0186657)
Regarding claim 6, Lenci as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 3, but fails to disclose a control system in communication with each of the water monitors with aspirating foam nozzles assemblies.
Haviland teaches a control system that controls the monitor (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use a control system to control each monitor in order to automatically control the position of the nozzles.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 2/10/2026