DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31, 34, 35, 37, 39, 40, 43, 46, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. Publication 2015/0131405).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou teaches a solvent mixing system (figure 1) comprising: a mixing tee (item 78) comprising at least two solvent input ports (openings receiving materials from items 76 and 80) and a solvent output port in fluid communication with one another (outlet of item 78 feeding into item 82) and configured to eliminate stratification of at least two solvent flow streams (the mixing tee item 78 is considered capable of eliminating stratification based on the flowrate of material and the speed at which they are pumped via pump items 70 and 72); a mixing device (receptacle item 12 with mixing zone 11 going from items 20 to the outlet feeding into item 30) in comprising a mixing device input port (item 20) and a mixing device output port (opening in item 12 that feeds to item 30), wherein the mixing device input port is in fluid communication with the solvent output port of the mixing tee (item 20 is in fluid communication with item 78 via item 78); and a blending mixer in fluid communication with the mixing device output port (item 33 which receives material from the outlet of item 12), wherein the blending mixer is a single inlet mixer (item 33 has a single inlet) and comprises: a mixer input port in fluid communication with the mixing device output port (input port is considered the topmost portion of item 33 that receives material from item 12); a mixing chamber (inner volume of item 33); and a mixer output port in fluid communication with the mixing chamber (outlet of item 33 that feeds to item 31).
Regarding claim 34, Zhou teaches wherein the mixing device comprises a centrifugal mixing path configured to impart a centrifugal force to a combined solvent flow stream received from the mixing tee (the spiral shape of item 12 imparts a centrifugal force on the fluids being mixed).
Regarding claim 35, Zhou teaches wherein the centrifugal mixing path is contoured and shaped to impart a centrifugal force to a high velocity solvent mixture passing between the mixing path inlet and the mixing path outlet at a velocity between about 150 to 17,000 inch/min (the flow rate is considered intended use of the mixer, paragraph 21 teaches picking a flow rate and therefore the mixing apparatus is considered capable of operating at a flow velocity of 150-17,000 inch/min via pump items 70 and 72).
Regarding claim 37, Zhou teaches wherein the mixing chamber is a bead packed mixing chamber (items 24 coated by item 25 are considered beads packed into item 12).
Regarding claim 39, Zhou teaches wherein the blending mixer can operate in a range between 0.5 cycles/minute to 80 cycles/min (the cycles/minute are a function of the flow rate which is considered intended use, paragraph 21 teaches picking a flow rate and therefore the mixing apparatus is considered capable of operating between .5 cycles/minute and 80 cycles/minute).
Regarding claim 40, Zhou teaches a method for mixing solvent streams (figure 1, paragraph 11 teaches mixing two fluids, paragraph 25 teaches a ratio of two solvents) comprising: directing at least two solvent flow streams to a low volume mixing tee (paragraph 25 teaches two solves, item 78 is considered reading on a low volume mixing tee); mixing the at least two solvent flow streams within the low volume mixing tee to create a combined solvent stream (the solvent stream is considered the stream of fluid feeding into item 82); guiding the combined solvent stream through a mixing device (solvent stream passes through item 12); and further mixing the combined solvent stream using a blending mixer located downstream of the mixing device (the solvent stream passes through and is further mixed in item 33).
Regarding claim 43, Zhou teaches wherein the mixing device comprises a centrifugal mixing path configured to impart a centrifugal force to a combined solvent flow stream received from the mixing tee (the spiral shape of item 12 imparts a centrifugal force on the fluids being mixed).
Regarding claim 46, Zhou teaches wherein the blending mixer is a single inlet mixer (item 33 has a single inlet) and comprises: a mixer input port in fluid communication with the mixing device output port (input port is considered the topmost portion of item 33 that receives material from item 12); a mixing chamber (inner volume of item 33); and a mixer output port in fluid communication with the mixing chamber (outlet of item 33 that feeds to item 31).
Regarding claim 47, Zhou teaches wherein the mixing chamber is a bead packed mixing chamber (items 24 coated by item 25 are considered beads packed into item 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 33, 36, 41, 42, 44, 45, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. Publication 2015/0131405).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou is silent to the specific size of the mixing tee. Regarding claim 32, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing tee in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 33, Zhou is silent to the specific diameter of the mixing tee. Regarding claim 33, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing tee in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 36, Zhou is silent to the specific diameter of the mixing tee. Regarding claim 36, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing tee in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 41, Zhou is silent to the specific size of the mixing tee. Regarding claim 41, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing tee in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 42, Zhou is silent to the specific diameter of the mixing tee. Regarding claim 42, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing tee in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 44, Zhou teaches choosing a flow rate (paragraph 21 teaches picking a flow rate, the centrifugal force is a function of the flow velocity). Regarding claim 44, Zhou is silent to the specific flow velocity. Regarding claim 44, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the flow speed to obtain the desired degree of mixing since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 45, Zhou is silent to the specific diameter of the mixing path. Regarding claim 45, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the mixing path in order to obtain the desired amount of mixed product since It is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 49, Zhou teaches choosing a flow rate (paragraph 21 teaches picking a flow rate, the cycles are a function of the flow rate). Regarding claim 49, Zhou is silent to the specific cycles/time. Regarding claim 49, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the flow speed to obtain the desired degree of mixing since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claim 31 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 31 is broader regarding the mixing path, blending mixer and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 32 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 32 the difference of the size of the mixing tee is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 33 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 33 the difference of the size of the mixing tee is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 34 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 34, the difference being the broader blending mixer language is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 35 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 35, the flow rate range is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 36 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 36, the size of the mixing path is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 37 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 37, the bead packed mixing chamber is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 38 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 38, the diffusion bonded chamber is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 39 is rejected for being nonstatutory double patenting of claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,059,659 to Almeida. Claim 39, the cycles/minute range is not considered patentably distinct and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774