CTNF 18/772,817 CTNF 82294 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 10-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0212438) in view of Baier (DE 10059891 in which a machine translation in English is incorporated herein) . PNG media_image1.png 478 284 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 19, and similarly claims 1 and 10, Kim discloses in Fig 1 above a platform ( i.e. vehicle 100 ) comprising: a body ( i.e. vehicle 100 ); one or more first sensors ( i.e. “…the vehicle 100 requires both a Long-Range Radar (LRR) and a Short-Range Radar (SRR). The vehicle 100 may implement the LRR and the SRR as separate radar devices…” ) ([0052]) disposed within the body ( i.e. “…the radar sensor according to the present embodiment may include a radar housing for accommodating a circuit and a substrate including transmission/reception antennas and a radome for configuring the exterior of the radar housing. At this time, the radome is formed with a material which can reduce attenuation of a transmitted/received radar signal, and may constitute a front/rear bumper of the vehicle, a grille, a side frame, or the exterior surface of components of the vehicle.” ) ([0047]-[0048]), the one or more first sensors having a first modality and configured to obtain first sensor data as to a target with respect to the platform ( i.e. Long-Range Radar (LRR) ) ([0052]); one or more second sensors disposed within the body, the one or more second sensors having a second modality that is different from the first modality and configured to obtain second sensor data as to the target with respect to the platform ( i.e. Short-Range Radar (SRR) ) ([0052]); and a processor disposed within the body, the processor coupled to the one or more first sensors and to the one or more second sensors and that is configured to at least facilitate localizing the target, using the first sensor data and the second sensor data, in which the second sensor data is utilized to enhance the first sensor data based on an effectiveness of the first sensor data, and that is based on a distance of the target from the platform ( i.e. “The radar sensor or the radar system may process data by analyzing a transmission signal and a reception signal and detect information on an object according to the processed data, and may include an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) or a processor therefor. Data transmission or signal communication from the radar sensor to the ECU may be performed through a communication link such as an appropriate vehicle network bus.” ) ([0035]; [0063]; [0070]; [0072]; [0092]; [0103]; [0141]-[0143]). In addition, Kim also discloses in Fig 1 above wherein the one or more first sensors of the first modality are configured for detecting the target at a relatively larger distance from the platform as compared with the one or more second sensors of the second modality ( i.e. Long-Range Radar (LRR) ) ([0052]). Kim does not explicitly the second sensors of the second modality are configured for detecting the target at a relatively greater accuracy from short distances as compared with the first sensors of the first modality as claimed. Baier teaches in the same field of endeavor the second sensors of the second modality are configured for detecting the target at a relatively greater accuracy from short distances as compared with the first sensors of the first modality ( i.e. “Because then it is particularly important that a vehicle or object driving ahead is recognized at an early stage so that a corresponding motor vehicle regulation can be carried out in good time. This applies in particular to motor vehicle journeys on the motorway. The motor vehicle reduces its speed, e.g. B. to a speed less than 100 km / h, the opening angle is increased accordingly (opening angle β .sub.2 ), preferably to a minimum of 8 °, z. B. in a range between 10 ° to 15 °. The vehicle C can be detected. At lower speeds, a more curvy route and / or other neighboring vehicles, here vehicle C, are more likely. Therefore, in this case it makes sense to provide a detection area that is enlarged in width so that a vehicle or object that approaches laterally can also be recognized at an early stage.” ) (page 4, paragraph 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Baier by incorporating the second sensors of the second modality are configured for detecting the target at a relatively greater accuracy from short distances as compared with the first sensors of the first modality as taught by Baier to gain advantage of effectively detecting the target(s) surrounding a vehicle and properly controlling the vehicle based on the detected target(s) in order to protect the safety of the vehicle and/or occupant(s) of the vehicle; and also since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz , 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972). Regarding claim 2, and similarly claims 11 and 20, Kim discloses the processor is further configured to at least facilitate performing a control action with respect movement of the vehicle based on the localizing of the target with respect to the vehicle ( i.e. driving assistance system ) ([0011]; [0051]; [0123]; [0136]). Regarding claims 3-4, and similarly claims 12-13, Kim does not explicitly disclose the one or more second sensors of the second modality comprise ultra-wide band (UWB) sensors and the one or more first sensors of the first modality comprise RSSI sensors. However, both UWB and RSSI sensors are well known for their use in the radar art for target detection; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate UWB and RSSI sensors based on user preference and design to Kim’s radar system for detecting and localizing the target since such sensors are well-known in the radar art. For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0061424 discloses a vehicle includes a camera provided to obtain image data, radar provided to obtain radar data, Lidar provided to obtain Lidar data, and a controller configured to process the image data, the radar data, and the Lidar data to generate a first sensor fusion track, where the controller calculates reliability of at least one sensor in which an event does not occur among a plurality of sensors including the camera, the radar and the Lidar when the event for the sensor is detected, and changes from the first sensor fusion track to a second sensor fusion track based on the at least one sensor when the reliability is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, and where the controller is configured to control a braking amount or a deceleration amount of the vehicle based on the first sensor fusion track or the second sensor fusion track. US 12,025,728 discloses an object detection radar apparatus is installed in a vehicle and is configured to detect an object. The object detection radar apparatus includes a transceiver configured to: transmit a radar signal to the outside of the vehicle based on a first mode or a second mode different from each other in terms of detection range, and receive a radar signal reflected from the object; and a processing unit configured to: detect the object based on the reflected radar signal when the first mode is activated, and recognize the object based on the reflected radar signal when the second mode is activated. US 2022/0055657 discloses methods and systems for implementing enhanced autonomous vehicle features. The present invention details an effective and secure methodology to implement the external management and control of autonomous vehicles by authorized personnel specifically allowing the restriction, management, and/or shutdown of an AV or other mechanism that employ non-deterministic artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms. US 10,605,911 discloses a system includes a controller having a processor and a memory. The processor executes computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to operate the controller. The instructions cause the controller to determine at least two beam patterns for separate scanning receive beams that operate within a field of regard to be scanned by a Radio Detection and Ranging (RADAR). The instructions cause the controller to generate beam pattern commands to form the separate scanning receive beams based on the determined beam patterns, the beam pattern commands specify an azimuth beamwidth and a pointing direction for each of the separate scanning receive beams that operate within each portion of the field of regard. US 7,724,180 discloses an example radar system for a vehicle comprises a radar antenna, operable to produce a radar beam, and a lens assembly including at least one active lens, the radar beam passing through the lens assembly. The radar beam has a field of view that is adjustable using the active lens. In some examples, the active lens comprises a metamaterial, the metamaterial having an adjustable property such as an adjustable negative index, the field of view being adjustable using the adjustable property of the metamaterial. US 2008/0266169 discloses a radar device capable of detecting a target object by itself only in a range required by a vehicle control system by changing the detection angle depending on the distance without changing the hardware structure. The radar device includes transmitting means for transmitting an electromagnetic wave as a transmission signal, receiving means for receiving the electromagnetic wave reflected from the target object as a reception signal, and signal processing means for detecting a target object existing around the vehicle from the transmission signal and the reception signal, and calculating the relative position and the relative speed between the object and the vehicle. The detection angle is changed depending on the distance for measurement, so that the target object is detected only in a region necessary in operating the vehicle control system. DE 10011263 discloses an object detection system, especially for a motor vehicle. The detection system includes a radar sensor with large and small detection ranges covering wider and close-up areas in two different operating modes. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHUONG P NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3445. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 10:00-10:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JACK KEITH can be reached at (571) 272-6878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHUONG P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 2 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 3 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 4 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 5 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 6 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 7 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 8 Art Unit: 3646 Application/Control Number: 18/772,817 Page 9 Art Unit: 3646