DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 16, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 9, 12 – 15 and 18 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 18, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's following arguments, filed June 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues “As another example, the Office Action alleges that col. 8 lines 59-64 and col. 13 lines 46-51 of Woosley disclose pre-amendment [2]. While the relied upon aspects of Woosley disclose that "[a]udio" can be "injected into the stream of the call so that the local and remote users can hear the digital assistant acknowledge the user's request and announce the action it is taking in response to the request", the Applicant's attorney submits that such "acknowledge[ment]" of the "the user's request" and "announce[ment]" of "the action" fails to anticipate "rendering, during the ongoing call, synthesized speech audio data that includes synthesized speech corresponding to ... the value" as set forth in the amended independent claims. Put another way, the Applicant's attorney submits that Woosley's "acknowledge[ment]" does not include any "value" associated with the "action" being taken "in response to the request".”.
However, Woolsey et al. (US Patent No. 9,462,112), hereinafter Woolsey, recites, in column 9, line 58 - column 10, line 7, "FIGS. 19 and 20 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a messaging conversation 210 between local and remote parties. UIs 1905 and 1910 are respectively exposed by messaging apps on the local and remote devices. Chains of text messages are shown in each UI with outgoing messages being shown on the right side and incoming messages from the other party being shown on the left side. While text messages are used in this particular illustrative example, it is noted that other forms and types of messages, including multimedia messages, voice, and video messages, may be supported by the present use of a digital assistant in communications. Accordingly, the term “messaging” can be considered as referring to all such forms and types of messages unless otherwise stated. In addition, while the present example shows a chain of messages, it is emphasized that the digital assistant can also interact with the user on a per-message basis.", and recites, in column 10, lines 41-52, "In a similar manner as with the phone call example above (in which the remote user is enabled to hear what the digital assistant is saying when interacting with the local user at the local device), here the remote user is provided with an incoming text message 1925 that shows the interaction between the local user and the digital assistant. As shown in FIG. 20, the digital assistant provides the contact information in a text message 2005 on the local device as well as an incoming text message 2010 at the remote device. In this example, the text message includes the name and address of the restaurant of interest as a link that may be followed for more information.", disclosing “causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, synthesized speech audio data that includes synthesized speech corresponding to the value”. Providing the contact information in a message on the local device and the remote device, where the message can be a voice message, reads on causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, synthesized speech audio data that includes synthesized speech corresponding to the value, and the contact information including the name and address of the restaurant reads on the value.
Applicant’s remaining arguments, filed June 16, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 3, 6 – 9, 12 – 15 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 9, 12 – 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the disclosure does not provide adequate support for the claim limitation "in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call: causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter" because the specification does not disclose causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The specification recites, in paragraph 0117, lines 1-9, “In some other versions of those implementations, the automated assistant can also proactively provide the value(s) for the parameter(s) identified during the ongoing call, in response to determining value(s) for the parameter(s), and without receiving any user input that includes a request for the information associated with the parameter(s). The automated assistance can cause synthesized speech that includes the value(s) to be rendered at the additional client device of the additional user responsive to determining the value(s). For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, assume the automated assistant determines the value for the frequent flier number parameter responsive to identifying the request, from the additional user, for the value for the frequent flier number parameter in the audio data 552C2.”, disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call, but not disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user or the additional user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The introduction of claim changes which involve narrowing the claims by introducing elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure is a violation of the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph (see MPEP § 2163.05, subsection II).
Claims 2 – 3 and 6 are also rejected as they depend from claim 1, and thus recite the limitations of claim 1, and therefore contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the disclosure does not provide adequate support for the claim limitation "in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call: cause the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter" because the specification does not disclose causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The specification recites, in paragraph 0117, lines 1-9, “In some other versions of those implementations, the automated assistant can also proactively provide the value(s) for the parameter(s) identified during the ongoing call, in response to determining value(s) for the parameter(s), and without receiving any user input that includes a request for the information associated with the parameter(s). The automated assistance can cause synthesized speech that includes the value(s) to be rendered at the additional client device of the additional user responsive to determining the value(s). For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, assume the automated assistant determines the value for the frequent flier number parameter responsive to identifying the request, from the additional user, for the value for the frequent flier number parameter in the audio data 552C2.”, disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call, but not disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user or the additional user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The introduction of claim changes which involve narrowing the claims by introducing elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure is a violation of the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph (see MPEP § 2163.05, subsection II).
Claims 8 – 9 and 12 are also rejected as they depend from claim 7, and thus recite the limitations of claim 7, and therefore contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the disclosure does not provide adequate support for the claim limitation "in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call: causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter" because the specification does not disclose causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The specification recites, in paragraph 0117, lines 1-9, “In some other versions of those implementations, the automated assistant can also proactively provide the value(s) for the parameter(s) identified during the ongoing call, in response to determining value(s) for the parameter(s), and without receiving any user input that includes a request for the information associated with the parameter(s). The automated assistance can cause synthesized speech that includes the value(s) to be rendered at the additional client device of the additional user responsive to determining the value(s). For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, assume the automated assistant determines the value for the frequent flier number parameter responsive to identifying the request, from the additional user, for the value for the frequent flier number parameter in the audio data 552C2.”, disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call, but not disclosing the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter without receiving any user input from the given user or the additional user that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. The introduction of claim changes which involve narrowing the claims by introducing elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure is a violation of the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph (see MPEP § 2163.05, subsection II).
Claims 14 – 15 and 18 are also rejected as they depend from claim 13, and thus recite the limitations of claim 13, and therefore contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 9 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al. (US Patent No. 9,462,112), hereinafter Woolsey, in view of Raanani et al. (US Patent No. 10,586,539), hereinafter Raanani.
Regarding claim 1, Woolsey discloses a method implemented by one or more processors (Column 18, lines 31-32, "The illustrated device 110 can include a controller or processor"), the method comprising:
detecting, at a client device, an ongoing call between a given user of the client device and an additional user of an additional client device (Column 1, lines 40-44, "A digital assistant supported on a device such as a smartphone, personal computer, or game console is configured to be engaged as an active participant in communications between local and remote parties by listening to voice and video calls and participating in messaging sessions."; A digital assistant supported on a device listening to voice calls reads on detecting an ongoing call between a given user of the client device and an additional user of an additional client device.);
processing a stream of audio data, that captures at least one spoken utterance during the ongoing call, to generate recognized text, wherein the at least one spoken utterance is of the given user or the additional user (Column 5, lines 60-65, "As shown in FIG. 4, the digital assistant 350 can employ a natural language user interface (UI) 405 that can take voice commands 410 as inputs from the user 105. The voice commands 410 can be used to invoke various actions, features, and functions on a device 110, provide inputs to the systems and applications, and the like."; Column 7, lines 34-36, "As shown, the UI includes a box 810 that is configured for showing a textual representation of a received voice command or other user input."; A natural language user interface that takes voice commands as inputs from the user and shows a textual representation of a received voice command reads on processing a stream of audio data that captures at least one spoken utterance during the ongoing call to generate recognized text, where the at least one spoken utterance is of the given user or the additional user.);
identifying, based on processing the recognized text, that the at least one spoken utterance requests information for a parameter (Column 1, lines 44-50, "The digital assistant typically can be initiated by voice using a key word or phrase and then be requested to perform tasks, provide information and services, etc., using voice commands, natural language requests, or gestures in some cases. The digital assistant can respond to the request and take appropriate actions."; Column 8, lines 56-61, "After the local user initiates the digital assistant with the key phrase in this example, the user requests that the digital assistant send contact information for a restaurant to the remote user. The digital assistant responds at point 2 in the call at block 1210 in FIG. 12 by saying that the contact information will be sent to the remote user as a message."; The digital assistant responding to a request and taking appropriate actions reads on identifying that the at least one spoken utterance requests information for a parameter, and the example of the user requesting that the digital assistant send contact information demonstrates requesting information for a parameter, where the contact information reads on the information.);
determining, using access-restricted data that is personal to the given user, that a value for the parameter is resolvable (Column 6, lines 27-55, "FIG. 6 shows an illustrative taxonomy of functions 600 that may typically be supported by the digital assistant 350. Inputs to the digital assistant 350 typically can include user input 605 (in which such user input can include input from either or both the local and remote parties to a given communication), data from internal sources 610, and data from external sources 615. For example, data from internal sources 610 could include the current geolocation of the device 110 that is reported by a GPS (Global Positioning System) component on the device, or some other location-aware component. The externally sourced data 615 includes data provided, for example, by external systems, databases, services, and the like such as the service provider 130 (FIG. 1). The various inputs can be used alone or in various combinations to enable the digital assistant 350 to utilize contextual data 620 when it operates. Contextual data can include, for example, time/date, the user's location, language, schedule, applications installed on the device, the user's preferences, the user's behaviors (in which such behaviors are monitored/tracked with notice to the user and the user's consent), stored contacts (including, in some cases, links to a local user's or remote user's social graph such as those maintained by external social networking services), call history, messaging history, browsing history, device type, device capabilities, communication network type and/or features/functionalities provided therein, mobile data plan restrictions/limitations, data associated with other parties to a communication (e.g., their schedules, preferences, etc.), and the like."; Column 9, lines 12-23, "FIG. 15 depicts a screen capture of a UI 1500 that is displayed on the device of the remote user at point 3 in the call at block 1215 in FIG. 12. Here, the contact information sent by the digital assistant comes in as new message notification 1505 which is displayed at the top of the UI on the remote user's device. In this illustrative example, the notification shows the sender and a snippet of the content that is contained in the message. Typically, the remote user can launch the texting application to see the full content of the message which can include various kinds of contact information such as street address, link to website, phone number, map, etc."; The digital assistant performing functions using contextual data including the user’s stored contacts reads on using access-restricted data that is personal to the given user, and the example of the user requesting that the digital assistant send contact information demonstrates determining that a parameter is resolvable using data that is personal to the given user, where providing the contact information reads on determining that a parameter is resolvable.);
and in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, [that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call]: causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter (Column 8, lines 56-61, "After the local user initiates the digital assistant with the key phrase in this example, the user requests that the digital assistant send contact information for a restaurant to the remote user. The digital assistant responds at point 2 in the call at block 1210 in FIG. 12 by saying that the contact information will be sent to the remote user as a message."; Column 9, lines 12-23, "FIG. 15 depicts a screen capture of a UI 1500 that is displayed on the device of the remote user at point 3 in the call at block 1215 in FIG. 12. Here, the contact information sent by the digital assistant comes in as new message notification 1505 which is displayed at the top of the UI on the remote user's device. In this illustrative example, the notification shows the sender and a snippet of the content that is contained in the message. Typically, the remote user can launch the texting application to see the full content of the message which can include various kinds of contact information such as street address, link to website, phone number, map, etc."; The digital assistant sending contact information to the remote user reads on automatically resolving the value for the parameter in response to determining that the value is resolvable and without receiving any user input from the given user or the additional user.);
and causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, synthesized speech audio data that includes synthesized speech corresponding to the value (Column 9, line 58 - Column 10, line 7, "FIGS. 19 and 20 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a messaging conversation 210 between local and remote parties. UIs 1905 and 1910 are respectively exposed by messaging apps on the local and remote devices. Chains of text messages are shown in each UI with outgoing messages being shown on the right side and incoming messages from the other party being shown on the left side. While text messages are used in this particular illustrative example, it is noted that other forms and types of messages, including multimedia messages, voice, and video messages, may be supported by the present use of a digital assistant in communications. Accordingly, the term “messaging” can be considered as referring to all such forms and types of messages unless otherwise stated. In addition, while the present example shows a chain of messages, it is emphasized that the digital assistant can also interact with the user on a per-message basis."; Column 10, lines 41-52, "In a similar manner as with the phone call example above (in which the remote user is enabled to hear what the digital assistant is saying when interacting with the local user at the local device), here the remote user is provided with an incoming text message 1925 that shows the interaction between the local user and the digital assistant. As shown in FIG. 20, the digital assistant provides the contact information in a text message 2005 on the local device as well as an incoming text message 2010 at the remote device. In this example, the text message includes the name and address of the restaurant of interest as a link that may be followed for more information."; Providing the contact information in a message on the local device and the remote device, where the message can be a voice message, reads on causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, synthesized speech audio data that includes synthesized speech corresponding to the value, where the contact information including the name and address of the restaurant reads on synthesized speech corresponding to the value.).
Woolsey does not specifically disclose: in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call: causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter.
Raanani teaches:
in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call: causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter (Column 5, lines 43-51, "Embodiments are also disclosed for an in-call virtual assistant system. In some embodiments, a virtual assistant is an application that can understand voice commands and/or monitor and interpret events and execute tasks for a user. The in-call virtual assistant system monitors a real-time call, e.g., a call that is in progress, between multiple speakers, identifies a trigger and executes a specified task in response to the trigger. The virtual assistant system can be invoked by an explicit trigger or an implicit trigger."; Column 6, lines 24-38, "The virtual assistant system can analyze the conversation to identify the triggers and/or determine the necessary data for performing the task based on the extracted features of the conversation. The features can include language-based features or video features, such as facial expression or body language of the speaker. For example, a representative speaker may ask “Do you want a list of action items?” to which the customer speaker may respond with a nod of his head or other facial expression or body language that indicates that the customer speaker wants the list of action items, which can be used an implicit trigger to invoke the virtual assistant for generating a list of action items. The virtual assistant system can analyze both the speech uttered by the customer and the facial expression of the customer in determining the implicit triggers."; Column 17, lines 15-36, "The virtual assistant component 725 can also be triggered implicitly. In some embodiments, an in-call implicit trigger 735 is an event that occurred in the call. For example, an event such as a speaker dropping off the call suddenly can be in-call implicit trigger 735 that implicitly invokes the virtual assistant component 725 to perform an associated task, such as notifying the remaining speakers on the call that one of the speakers dropped. In another example, a speech in the call such as “we'll find time towards the end of the call to review action items” can be an event that implicitly triggers the virtual assistant component 725 to perform an associated task, such as suggesting the speakers a few minutes before the call ends to review action items. In yet another example, a speech in the call such as “let me check if John is going to join the meeting” can be an event that implicitly triggers the virtual assistant component 725 to perform an associated task, such as sending an email or a text message to John reminding him of the meeting. In still another example, a speech in the call such as “hmm . . . I'm not sure about that . . . ” can trigger the virtual assistant component 725 to assist the speaker in finding out the necessary information."; Invoking an in-call virtual assistant to generating a list of action items in response to an implicit trigger, where the in-call virtual assistant system monitors a real-time call between multiple speakers, reads on causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter in response to determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and without receiving any user input, from the given user or the additional user, that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call, where generating a list of action items reads on determining that the value for the parameter is resolvable and automatically resolving the value for the parameter, and responding to an implicit trigger reads on resolving the value without receiving any user input that requests an automated assistant resolve the value for the parameter during the ongoing call. In this example, action items read on the parameter, and a list of specific action items reads on a value for the parameter.).
Raanani is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of call assistance systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey to incorporate the teachings of Raanani to invoke an in-call virtual assistant to generating a list of action items in response to an implicit trigger, where the in-call virtual assistant system monitors a real-time call between multiple speakers. Doing so would allow for helping users improve and guide the outcome of conversations with other users (Raanani; Column 2, lines 26-35).
Regarding claim 2, Woolsey in view of Raanani discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Woolsey further discloses:
wherein causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, the synthesized speech audio data that includes the synthesized speech corresponding to the value is further in response to the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter (Column 2, lines 25-33, “A variety of tasks may be performed and actions taken by the digital assistant during communications. These include, for example, interacting with the user (which may involve the digital assistant asking clarifying questions, and/or following up with the user), performing various tasks, providing services, gathering information (e.g., by accessing a search service), operating the device, and performing various other functions to assist the user during a communication session whether it be voice, video, or messaging.”; Column 9, line 58 - Column 10, line 7, "FIGS. 19 and 20 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a messaging conversation 210 between local and remote parties. UIs 1905 and 1910 are respectively exposed by messaging apps on the local and remote devices. Chains of text messages are shown in each UI with outgoing messages being shown on the right side and incoming messages from the other party being shown on the left side. While text messages are used in this particular illustrative example, it is noted that other forms and types of messages, including multimedia messages, voice, and video messages, may be supported by the present use of a digital assistant in communications. Accordingly, the term “messaging” can be considered as referring to all such forms and types of messages unless otherwise stated. In addition, while the present example shows a chain of messages, it is emphasized that the digital assistant can also interact with the user on a per-message basis."; Column 10, lines 41-52, "In a similar manner as with the phone call example above (in which the remote user is enabled to hear what the digital assistant is saying when interacting with the local user at the local device), here the remote user is provided with an incoming text message 1925 that shows the interaction between the local user and the digital assistant. As shown in FIG. 20, the digital assistant provides the contact information in a text message 2005 on the local device as well as an incoming text message 2010 at the remote device. In this example, the text message includes the name and address of the restaurant of interest as a link that may be followed for more information."; Providing the contact information in a message on the local device and the remote device, where the message can be a voice message, reads on causing the automated assistant to automatically render, during the ongoing call, the synthesized speech audio data that includes the synthesized speech corresponding to the value in response to the automated assistant automatically resolving the value for the parameter, where the contact information including the name and address of the restaurant reads on synthesized speech corresponding to the value, and performing the task of retrieving the contact information reads on automatically resolving the value for the parameter.).
Regarding claim 3, Woolsey in view of Raanani discloses the method as claimed in claim 2.
Woolsey further discloses:
wherein causing the automated assistant to automatically resolve the value for the parameter comprises: analyzing metadata of the ongoing call between the given user and the additional user (Column 6, lines 27-55, "FIG. 6 shows an illustrative taxonomy of functions 600 that may typically be supported by the digital assistant 350. Inputs to the digital assistant 350 typically can include user input 605 (in which such user input can include input from either or both the local and remote parties to a given communication), data from internal sources 610, and data from external sources 615. For example, data from internal sources 610 could include the current geolocation of the device 110 that is reported by a GPS (Global Positioning System) component on the device, or some other location-aware component. The externally sourced data 615 includes data provided, for example, by external systems, databases, services, and the like such as the service provider 130 (FIG. 1). The various inputs can be used alone or in various combinations to enable the digital assistant 350 to utilize contextual data 620 when it operates. Contextual data can include, for example, time/date, the user's location, language, schedule, applications installed on the device, the user's preferences, the user's behaviors (in which such behaviors are monitored/tracked with notice to the user and the user's consent), stored contacts (including, in some cases, links to a local user's or remote user's social graph such as those maintained by external social networking services), call history, messaging history, browsing history, device type, device capabilities, communication network type and/or features/functionalities provided therein, mobile data plan restrictions/limitations, data associated with other parties to a communication (e.g., their schedules, preferences, etc.), and the like."; Contextual data including time/date, the user's location, language, schedule, applications installed on the device, the user's preferences, the user's behaviors, stored contacts, call history, messaging history, browsing history, device type, device capabilities, communication network type, and data associated with other parties to a communication reads on metadata of the ongoing call.);
identifying, based on the analyzing, an entity associated with the additional user (Column 8, lines 56-61, "After the local user initiates the digital assistant with the key phrase in this example, the user requests that the digital assistant send contact information for a restaurant to the remote user. The digital assistant responds at point 2 in the call at block 1210 in FIG. 12 by saying that the contact information will be sent to the remote user as a message."; Column 9, lines 12-23, "FIG. 15 depicts a screen capture of a UI 1500 that is displayed on the device of the remote user at point 3 in the call at block 1215 in FIG. 12. Here, the contact information sent by the digital assistant comes in as new message notification 1505 which is displayed at the top of the UI on the remote user's device. In this illustrative example, the notification shows the sender and a snippet of the content that is contained in the message. Typically, the remote user can launch the texting application to see the full content of the message which can include various kinds of contact information such as street address, link to website, phone number, map, etc."; The digital assistant sending contact information to the remote user in response to a user request that the digital assistant send contact information to the remote user reads on identifying an entity associated with a user, where the user’s contact information reads on an entity associated with the user.);
and resolving the value based on the value being stored in association with the entity and the parameter (Column 8, lines 56-61, "After the local user initiates the digital assistant with the key phrase in this example, the user requests that the digital assistant send contact information for a restaurant to the remote user. The digital assistant responds at point 2 in the call at block 1210 in FIG. 12 by saying that the contact information will be sent to the remote user as a message."; Column 9, lines 12-23, "FIG. 15 depicts a screen capture of a UI 1500 that is displayed on the device of the remote user at point 3 in the call at block 1215 in FIG. 12. Here, the contact information sent by the digital assistant comes in as new message notification 1505 which is displayed at the top of the UI on the remote user's device. In this illustrative example, the notification shows the sender and a snippet of the content that is contained in the message. Typically, the remote user can launch the texting application to see the full content of the message which can include various kinds of contact information such as street address, link to website, phone number, map, etc."; The digital assistant sending contact information for a restaurant reads on resolving the value based on the value being stored in association with the entity and the parameter, where the user’s contact information reads on an entity associated with the user and sending the contact information for a restaurant reads on resolving the value based on the value being stored in association with the entity.).
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. In addition, Woolsey discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to be operable (Column 14, line 65 – Column 15, line 1, “Computer system 3300 includes a processor 3305, a system memory 3311, and a system bus 3314 that couples various system components including the system memory 3311 to the processor 3305.”; Column 17, lines 34-37, “More specifically, the CPU 3402 may operate as a finite-state machine, in response to executable instructions contained within the software modules disclosed herein.”) to perform the steps of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to claim 2 are applicable.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to claim 3 are applicable.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. In addition, Woolsey discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to be operable to perform operations (Column 18, lines 61-65, “The memory 3520 may also be arranged as, or include, one or more computer-readable storage media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data.”), the operations comprising the steps of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 2 are applicable.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to claim 3 are applicable.
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey in view of Raanani, and further in view of Segalis et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0358296), hereinafter Segalis.
Regarding claim 6, Woolsey in view of Raanani discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose further comprising: determining, based on processing the stream of audio data for a threshold duration of time after the at least one spoken utterance that requests information for the parameter, whether any additional spoken utterance, of the given user and received within the threshold duration, includes the value, and wherein automatically rendering, during the ongoing call, the synthesized speech audio data that includes the synthesized speech corresponding to the value is further in response to determining that no additional spoken utterance, of the given user, is received within the threshold duration of time.
Segalis teaches:
determining, based on processing the stream of audio data for a threshold duration of time after the at least one spoken utterance that requests information for the parameter, whether any additional spoken utterance, of the given user and received within the threshold duration, includes the value, and wherein automatically rendering, during the ongoing call, the synthesized speech audio data that includes the synthesized speech corresponding to the value is further in response to determining that no additional spoken utterance, of the given user, is received within the threshold duration of time (Paragraph 0183, lines 1-13, "In other implementations, the system hands off the phone conversation to the human user who requested the task. The system can alert the user of the in-progress phone call. The system can let the user know when there is a problem with completing the task or when the bot has been asked a question to which the bot does not know the answer. The bot may text, email, or in some other way communicate the details of the conversation for which the bot needs user input. In some implementations, the bot will wait a threshold amount of time, i.e., 5 seconds, for the user to respond before continuing the conversation without user input. Since the conversation is happening in real-time, the bot cannot wait a long period of time for user response."; The bot waiting a threshold amount of time for the user to respond when the bot has been asked a question to which the bot does not know the answer reads on determining whether an utterance is spoken for a threshold duration of time after a spoken utterance that requests information for a parameter, and continuing the conversation without user input when the user does not respond in the threshold amount of time reads on rendering synthesized speech audio data in response to determining that no additional spoken utterance is received within the threshold duration of time.).
Segalis is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of call assistance systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey in view of Raanani to incorporate the teachings of Segalis to implement a bot waiting a threshold amount of time for the user to respond when the bot has been asked a question to which the bot does not know the answer and continuing the conversation without user input when the user does not respond in the threshold amount of time. Doing so would allow for a semi-automated system to independently conduct conversations with a human during calls (Segalis; Paragraph 0039, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 6 are applicable.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to claim 6 are applicable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES BOGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 2657