DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 were previously canceled. Claims 22-43 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24, 26, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 and 26 recites the limitation “the topology.” Claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter. A claim is indefinite if the scope of the claim is not clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art. One cannot ascertain whether “the topology” recited in claims 23 and 26 are the same as or different than “a topology” previously recited in claim 22. Claim 24 which depends from claim 23 are similarly rejected.
Claim 43 recites the limitation “the 3D model.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no earlier recitation of the limitation. MPEP 2173.05(e). For compact prosecution, the limitation has been examined as if it read --a 3D model--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 30 and 37 each depend upon claim 22. However, claim 37 recites the same limitation as claim 30.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 30, 32-33, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeyama (JP-2019142148-A - of record, citing US 2019/0255765 A1 as equivalent).
Regarding claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method for 3D printing a part with an additive manufacturing system, the method comprising: printing a first portion of a part in a layerwise manner (lower layer Ln-1); analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part (analyzing fabrication data including image data of each of layers; shape measurement data obtained by three-dimensionally measuring the fabricated structure); determining a tool path for printing a second portion of the part on a surface of the first portion of the part (movement path (tool path) of the discharge module); pre-heating the first portion of the part along the tool path according to a local thermal management (LTM) profile, as a function of the topological analysis of the first portion of the part (fabrication data analysis unit 112 analyzes the fabrication data D for each of layers and appropriately determines a range (reheating range) of reheating in the lower layer Ln-1 with respect to the upper layer Ln being formed and a condition (reheating condition) on each of positional coordinates at reheating within the reheating range; the reheating range and the reheating condition may preferably be determined in consideration of the fabrication data of one or more lower layers; after the reheating range and the reheating condition are determined by the fabrication data analysis unit 112, the heating controller 110 adjusts the output of the laser light source 21 in accordance with the relative position coordinates of the heating module 20 with respect to the fabricating table 3 (a predetermined position to be heated by the heating module 20 is determined according to these coordinates); adjustment of output of the laser light source 21 makes it possible to reheat the lower layer within a predetermined temperature range); and printing the second portion of the part along the tool path (one or more lower layers; upper layer) (Fig 1-4 and ¶0048,0055-0058,0068-0167).
Regarding claims 30 and 37, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein pre-heating includes varying power of a laser source heater (¶0102).
Regarding claims 32-33, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein the pre-heating is provided at a temperature at or above a material-specific bonding temperature of materials of the first portion of the part layer and the second portion of the part and wherein the pre-heating is provided at a temperature below a thermal degradation temperature of the materials of the first portion of the part and a second portion of the part (¶0070,0145).
Regarding claim 38, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein printing the first portion of the part uses a first material and printing the second portion of the part uses a second material that is different from the first material (¶0079-0083).
Regarding claim 39, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method performed in an out-of-oven environment (Fig 1-2 ¶0048,0055).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeyama (JP-2019142148-A - of record, citing US 2019/0255765 A1 as equivalent).
Regarding claim 42, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method for printing a part with an additive manufacturing system, the method comprising: printing a first portion of a part in a layerwise manner (lower layer LN-1); determining a tool path for printing a second portion of the part on a surface of the first portion of the part (movement path (tool path); pre-heating the first portion of the part along the tool path while controlling an energy flux, energy duration or pulses along the tool path (the heating controller 110 can change one or both of the drive time of the laser light source 21 per unit time and the drive current of the laser light source 21 so as to control the heating amount by the laser light source 21 via pulse width modulation); and printing the second portion of the part along the tool path (upper layer Ln) (Fig 1-4 and ¶0048,0055-0058,0068-0167).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyama (JP-2019142148-A - of record, hereinafter Takeyama ‘148, citing equivalent US 2019/0255765 A1).
Regarding claims 23-29 and 31, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 does not teach a method explicitly wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises analyzing a predicted surface and volumetric topology based upon a 3D model; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part further comprises utilizing scans of actual surface topography; wherein the topological analysis of the first portion of the part is used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises utilizing a priori knowledge together with sensed topological information that accounts for shrinkage, warp and/or curl; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein the a priori knowledge includes a predicted surface and volumetric topography based upon a 3D model; wherein the LTM power profile shaped by the topological analysis of the first portion of the part includes an adjustment to an energy flux, energy duration and/or pulses along the tool path; nor wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises: utilizing feed forward to control to provide local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model; and utilizing feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path; wherein the feed forward control and the feedback control are utilized to adjust an energy flux, energy duration or pulses along the tool path.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method of using the temperature sensor 104 to sense the lower layer temperature during reheating and performing energy input from the laser to the lower layer until the sensing result becomes a predetermined temperature or more, wherein reheating the surface of the lower layer would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction; wherein he fabrication material layer is heated by light energy using a laser device, the heating controller 110 can change one or both of the drive time of the laser light source 21 per unit time and the drive current of the laser light source 21 so as to control the heating amount by the laser light source 21 via pulse width modulation; The heating controller 110 includes a fabrication data analysis unit 112 that performs data analysis on an input solid model; wherein the solid model data includes image data of each of layers when the solid model is sliced at predetermined intervals (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Takeyama ‘148 such that analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises analyzing a predicted surface and volumetric topology based upon a 3D model; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part further comprises utilizing scans of actual surface topography; wherein the topological analysis of the first portion of the part is used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises utilizing a priori knowledge together with sensed topological information that accounts for shrinkage, warp and/or curl; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein the a priori knowledge includes a predicted surface and volumetric topography based upon a 3D model; wherein the LTM power profile shaped by the topological analysis of the first portion of the part includes an adjustment to an energy flux, energy duration and/or pulses along the tool path; nor wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises: utilizing feed forward to control to provide local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model; and utilizing feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path; wherein the feed forward control and the feedback control are utilized to adjust an energy flux, energy duration or pulses along the tool path with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reheat the surface of the lower layer that would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments that would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
Claims 34-36 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyama (JP-2019142148-A - of record, hereinafter Takeyama ‘148, citing equivalent US 2019/0255765 A1), as applied to claim 22, and in further view of Takeyama (JP-2020082628-A - of record, hereinafter Takeyama ‘628).
Regarding claims 34-36 and 40-41, as applied to claim 22, Takeyama ‘148 does not explicitly teach a method of pre-heating a first segment of the tool path on the first portion of the part to a different temperature than pre-heating a second segment of the tool path on the first portion of the part; wherein the first segment is located on a first area of the first portion and the second segment is located on a second area of the first portion wherein the first area is of a different material composition than the second area; nor analyzing material composition of first and second areas of the first part layer and pre-heating the first part portion along the first and second segments of the tool path as a function of the composition analysis.
However, in the same field of endeavor, modeling methods and apparatus, Takeyama ‘628 teaches the known technique of a part in which a molding material does not exist and is a space with a gap and wherein heating unit selectively heats the contacts of the modeling layer, thereby suppressing excessive heating of the modeling layer and preventing burnout of the modeling layer and deterioration of modeling accuracy (Fig 5 and Translation, ¶0012,0037-0038,0052).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Takeyama ‘148 by applying the known technique of a part in which a molding material does not exist and is a space with a gap and a heating unit that selectively heats the contacts of the modeling layer disclosed in Takeyama ‘628 to the method disclosed in Takeyama ‘148 such that pre-heating a first segment of the tool path on the first portion of the part to a different temperature than pre-heating a second segment of the tool path on the first portion of the part; wherein the first segment is located on a first area of the first portion and the second segment is located on a second area of the first portion wherein the first area is of a different material composition than the second area; analyzing material composition of first and second areas of the first part layer and pre-heating the first part portion along the first and second segments of the tool path as a function of the composition analysis; wherein the first portion of the part includes a first area having a material at a surface and a second area of the first portion that that is void of material, pre-heating the first area to higher temperature than pre-heating the second area, the first portion of the part includes a first area having a material at the surface and a second area of the first portion that is void of material at the surface, and pre-heating the first portion and not heating the second portion with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyama (JP-2019142148-A - of record, hereinafter Takeyama ‘148, citing equivalent US 2019/0255765 A1).
Regarding claim 43, as applied to claim 42, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein the preheating step comprises: utilizing a combination of feedback control and feed forward control wherein and wherein the feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path (Fig 1-4 and ¶0048,0055-0058,0068-0167).
Takeyama ‘148 does not explicitly teach a method wherein the feed forward control providing local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method of using the temperature sensor 104 to sense the lower layer temperature during reheating and performing energy input from the laser to the lower layer until the sensing result becomes a predetermined temperature or more, wherein reheating the surface of the lower layer would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction; wherein he fabrication material layer is heated by light energy using a laser device, the heating controller 110 can change one or both of the drive time of the laser light source 21 per unit time and the drive current of the laser light source 21 so as to control the heating amount by the laser light source 21 via pulse width modulation; The heating controller 110 includes a fabrication data analysis unit 112 that performs data analysis on an input solid model; wherein the solid model data includes image data of each of layers when the solid model is sliced at predetermined intervals (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Takeyama ‘148 such that the feed forward control providing local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reheat the surface of the lower layer that would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments that would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
Double Patenting
Claims 22-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7, and 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,631 B2 (reference patent) in view of Takeyama ‘148 (of record). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 22, 27, 29-30, 34-38, and 40-41, the limitations recited in claims 1-2, 7, and 9-15 of the reference patent disclose a similar method. The reference patent does not explicitly disclose a local thermal management power profile.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches the known technique of pre-heating the first portion of the part along the tool path according to a local thermal management power profile (see rejection of claim 22 above). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in the reference patent by applying the known technique of a local thermal management power profile disclosed in Takeyama ‘148 to the method disclosed in reference patent with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claims 23-26, 28 and 31, as applied to claim 22, the reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 does not teach a method explicitly wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises analyzing a predicted surface and volumetric topology based upon a 3D model; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part further comprises utilizing scans of actual surface topography; wherein the topological analysis of the first portion of the part is used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises utilizing a priori knowledge together with sensed topological information that accounts for shrinkage, warp and/or curl; wherein the a priori knowledge includes a predicted surface and volumetric topography based upon a 3D model; nor wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises: utilizing feed forward to control to provide local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model; and utilizing feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path; wherein the feed forward control and the feedback control are utilized to adjust an energy flux, energy duration or pulses along the tool path.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method of using the temperature sensor 104 to sense the lower layer temperature during reheating and performing energy input from the laser to the lower layer until the sensing result becomes a predetermined temperature or more, wherein reheating the surface of the lower layer would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction; wherein he fabrication material layer is heated by light energy using a laser device, the heating controller 110 can change one or both of the drive time of the laser light source 21 per unit time and the drive current of the laser light source 21 so as to control the heating amount by the laser light source 21 via pulse width modulation; The heating controller 110 includes a fabrication data analysis unit 112 that performs data analysis on an input solid model; wherein the solid model data includes image data of each of layers when the solid model is sliced at predetermined intervals (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Takeyama ‘148 such that analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises analyzing a predicted surface and volumetric topology based upon a 3D model; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part further comprises utilizing scans of actual surface topography; wherein the topological analysis of the first portion of the part is used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises utilizing a priori knowledge together with sensed topological information that accounts for shrinkage, warp and/or curl; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path, wherein the sensed temperature is further used to shape the LTM power profile; wherein the a priori knowledge includes a predicted surface and volumetric topography based upon a 3D model; wherein the LTM power profile shaped by the topological analysis of the first portion of the part includes an adjustment to an energy flux, energy duration and/or pulses along the tool path; nor wherein analyzing a topology of the first portion of the part comprises: utilizing feed forward to control to provide local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model; and utilizing feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path; wherein the feed forward control and the feedback control are utilized to adjust an energy flux, energy duration or pulses along the tool path with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reheat the surface of the lower layer that would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments that would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
Regarding claims 32-33, as applied to claim 22, the reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein the pre-heating is provided at a temperature at or above a material-specific bonding temperature of materials of the first portion of the part layer and the second portion of the part and wherein the pre-heating is provided at a temperature below a thermal degradation temperature of the materials of the first portion of the part and a second portion of the part (¶0070,0145).
Regarding claim 39, as applied to claim 22, the reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method performed in an out-of-oven environment (Fig 1-2 ¶0048,0055).
Regarding claim 42, the limitations recited in claims 1-2, 7, and 9-15 of the reference patent disclose a similar method. The reference patent does not explicitly disclose controlling pulses along the tool path.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches the known technique of controlling pulses along the tool path (see rejection of claim 42 above). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in the reference patent by applying the known technique of controlling pulses along the tool path disclosed in Takeyama ‘148 to the method disclosed in reference patent with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claim 43, as applied to claim 42, the reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method wherein the preheating step comprises: utilizing a combination of feedback control and feed forward control wherein and wherein the feedback control comprising sensing a temperature of the first portion along the tool path (Fig 1-4 and ¶0048,0055-0058,0068-0167).
The reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 does not explicitly teach a method wherein the feed forward control providing local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model.
However, Takeyama ‘148 teaches a method of using the temperature sensor 104 to sense the lower layer temperature during reheating and performing energy input from the laser to the lower layer until the sensing result becomes a predetermined temperature or more, wherein reheating the surface of the lower layer would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction; wherein he fabrication material layer is heated by light energy using a laser device, the heating controller 110 can change one or both of the drive time of the laser light source 21 per unit time and the drive current of the laser light source 21 so as to control the heating amount by the laser light source 21 via pulse width modulation; The heating controller 110 includes a fabrication data analysis unit 112 that performs data analysis on an input solid model; wherein the solid model data includes image data of each of layers when the solid model is sliced at predetermined intervals (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by the reference patent in view of Takeyama ‘148 such that the feed forward control providing local thermal management as the 3D part is printed with predicted surface and volumetric topography of the 3D part based upon the 3D model with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reheat the surface of the lower layer that would reduce the temperature difference between the lower layer and the filament FM discharged onto the surface of the lower layer, and a mixture of the lower layer and the discharged filaments that would enhance the adhesion in the stacking direction (¶0070-0072,0096-0102).
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743