DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 04AUG2026 have been entered and considered.
Claims 4, 6, 17, & 19 have been amended.
Claim 20 has been canceled by applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the Specification Objections have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the objection. Therefore, the specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the Drawing Objections have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the objection. Therefore, the drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and have been found to be not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below:
Applicant states (see Pages 12-13 of the Remarks):
Each claim is implemented on a cardiac implantable medical device, which is a specific machine, as described throughout Applicant's specification, including implantable cardiac monitoring device, implantable cardiac pacemakers, and implantable cardiac defibrillators. This class of implantable medical devices is a very particular device type having specific details that integrate the claimed ideas into a practical exception. This should be sufficiently apparent on its face to overcome the 101 rejections. Further to this end, at step 2A, Prong 2, the additional limitations recited in claims 3, 8- 12, 15 and 19, specify particular aspects of cardiac implantable medical devices. The sensing and calculation of cardiac rate, which is compared to thresholds to set tachycardia and other zones, and which result in the counters noted in claims 3, 15 and 19, particularly integrate the subject matter into the cardiac IMD context with even more specificity than the independent claims. Likewise the recited elements of claims 8-12 integrate each dependent claim to a specific practical application. These are limitations that narrow the scope of the exclusive right and prevent field and other preemption concepts from coming into play. For this additional reason, the rejection of these claims should be withdrawn.
However, the argument is not persuasive. As stated previously, the following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea: “an implantable medical device”, “a communication circuit”, and “a processor” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)]; “RM session”, “RM session data”, “sensing quality”, “data”, “plurality of counters”, “drop in signal quality”, and “alert” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)]; “Operating a communication circuit” - mere instructions to apply the exception in a generic way see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(a). The abstract ideas as previously noted in the 101 analyses are not implemented in a physical structure in a meaningful manner that would improve the sensing technology, the functioning of the physical components, or any data processing. The dependent claims do not further integrate the abstract ideas because they also refrain from any improvement to the technology or treatment for a patient, and only further the concepts of the abstract ideas without providing an application of the processing or any improvements to technology. Therefore, recitation of something such as a implantable cardiac medical device or communication circuit is not sufficient to integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application merely because they are present in the claim limitations.
On page 8, the Examiner incorrectly alleges the dependent claims are directed to generic component functions necessary to implement the abstract idea. Applicant disagrees; there is nothing about any of claims 3, 8-12, 15 and 19 that would be "necessary" to implement the purported abstract idea at all, nor are any of these dependent claims merely generic circuitry or devices. To the contrary, the mental processes of the independent claims could plainly be performed without the practical applications recited in each of these dependent claims. Moreover, the details in these dependent claims are not generic to cardiac implantable devices.
However, the argument is not persuasive. Limiting an abstract idea to a specific medical field or device does not automatically make it patent eligible. The dependent claims provide further details for the concept of claim 1 but does so using generic structures and functional language rather than providing an improvement to hardware or functionality of sensing, processing, or data analysis. The mere execution of an abstract process using standard components performing their expected functions is not enough to arrive at an inventive concept, and the dependent claims do not sufficiently provide the inventive concept such that it can be considered more than an abstract idea applied to known technology to generate alerts based on thresholds and data counters. Since this does not provide any technological improvement, when the independent claims are considered alone or with clarification from the dependent claims, the Examiner maintains that the claims are not patent eligible.
Applicant's arguments filed 04AUG2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) (See Pages 13-14 of the Remarks) have been fully considered and have been found to be not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below:
Applicant states (see Page 14 of the Remarks):
Nothing in these passages indicates that the analysis described is part of a remote monitoring session, as recited in Applicant's independent claims; instead, Brisben is directed to ambulatory monitoring of signal quality in the implant itself.
However, the argument is not persuasive because Brisben cites performing the methods as a part of remote monitoring in citations such as Brisben ¶0021 “The canister 12 may further include such components as would be appropriate for communication (such as RF communication, inductive telemetry or other suitable communication linkage) with an external device such as a programmer 22, or remote monitoring device…. the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”. This citation shows that the device is intended to be used in remote monitoring sessions. The citations of Figure 8 and ¶0062-¶0063 are cited by the Examiner to show further features of the invention disclosed by Brisben where the system processing is being highlighted. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that Brisben teaches the claim limitations.
Next, the counter here is the signal quality counter itself, and it is populated by the device analyzing the cardiac signal directly using the various described blocks for signal analysis (306, 308, 310). The signal quality is not determined by analysis of counter data received in the remote monitoring system, as recited in Applicant's independent claims. That Brisben notes the possibility of a programmer or remote monitor downloading patient history is a separate aspect of the disclosure therein; the discussion in Figure 8 is focused on the implantable device activity. These are not remote monitoring activities in Brisben. Instead, these are part of the ongoing signal analysis in the implanted device.
However, the argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 broadly requires analyzing data from a plurality of counters to determine if the device has experienced a drop in signal quality and generating an alert. Figure 8 of Brisben explicitly discloses method steps that monitors signal metrics for multiple sensing vectors using a plurality of tracking loops and conditional counters such as for noise and counter evaluation before preceding to determine signal quality. Because tracking these metrics provides a functional measure of the data signal quality and all are demonstrated in Figure 8 to lead to signal quality determinations, the Examiner maintains that Brisben teaches all of the claim limitations as cited.
Claim 2 recites performing the remote monitoring analysis of signal quality without receiving cardiac signal representations; Brisben's analysis in Figure 8 relies on cardiac signal representations.
However, the argument is not persuasive because the Applicant argues portions of Brisben are not relied upon for the claim. Claim 2 is rejected by Brisben Figure 12 as discussed in ¶0091-¶0092; ¶0092 “Rate mismatch 542 can also be a trigger, where a mismatch can be found if a cardiac cycle rate calculated by a given sensing configuration or vector does not match a rate as calculated using a different sensing vector, or a rate as calculated by a different method (autocorrelation instead of cardiac cycle detection), or using different data (using heart sounds, blood pressure changes or pulse oximetry, for example),” Where the mismatch can be determined by non-cardiac waveform analysis. The Examiner maintains that Brisben therefore teaches the claim limitations as previously cited.
Claim 3 recites the analysis using a tachy counter; Brisben indicates at [0064] that the analysis is bypassed if a tachy condition is present.
However, the argument is not persuasive because the Applicant is arguing a non-relevant citation for Brisben as compared to the Examiner’s citation of (Brisben ¶0079 discussing trigger types, such as elevated heart rate (i.e. tachycardia) which would be tracked by Figure 8 methods which counts events and determines a signal quality with qualifying events; where this episode is indicative of tachycardia rather than other events; ¶0038 “For example, a rate validation trend may determine how closely a cardiac cycle or beat based rate analysis matches a validation analysis from another vector, source or method; absolute mismatch or a trend away from matching may be observed. In other examples, the frequency with which a poor signal quality marker (such as low SNR or amplitude, or identified noise, saturation, baseline wander, or over detection) occurs may be tracked; increasing frequency would indicate a loss of signal quality.”). Claim 3 requires that there is a tracked portion of data pertaining to Tachycardia and Brisben Figure 8 and the citations of Brisben above show that tachycardia is accounted for in the stepped analysis, even when considering that Tachycardia moves the process of Figure 8 into a looped step rather than continuing on to step 340. Since Brisben tracks the occurrences of tachycardia among other variables, and Claim 1 requires a plurality of data counters, with claim 3 specifying that one variable should be tachycardia and not that only tachycardia should be considered in the analysis, the Examiner maintains that Brisben discloses the claim limitations regardless of how the tachycardia data is treated in Figure 8 of Brisben.
Claims 8-12 recite specific counters, none of which are addressed in Brisben as being used by a remote monitoring device.
However, the argument is not persuasive because Brisben cites performing the methods as a part of remote monitoring in citations such as Brisben ¶0021 “The canister 12 may further include such components as would be appropriate for communication (such as RF communication, inductive telemetry or other suitable communication linkage) with an external device such as a programmer 22, or remote monitoring device…. the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”. This citation shows that the device is intended to be used in remote monitoring sessions. The citations cited by the Examiner are used to show further features of the invention disclosed by Brisben where the processing system is being highlighted with the consideration that as disclosed by Brisben, the ,methods are being performed by a remote device such as is discussed in ¶0021. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that Brisben teaches the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. MPEP 2106(III) outlines steps for determining whether a claim is directed to statutory subject matter. The stepwise analysis for the instant claim is provided here.
Step 1 – Statutory categories
Claims 1 & 19 are directed to a method and thus meets the step 1 requirements.
Claim 13 is directed to a system and thus meets the step 1 requirements.
Step 2A – Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Regarding claims 1, 13, & 19 the following step is an abstract idea: “analyzing the RM session data to determine sensing quality for the IMD, wherein: the RM session data includes data for a plurality of counters present in the IMD”, “monitoring operation of a cardiac implantable medical device (IMD)”, “maintaining a plurality of counters for events that the IMD identifies”, “analyzing data in the plurality of counters;”, “determining from the data in the plurality of counters that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality”, “wherein the plurality of counters includes a Tachy counter, the data in the Tachy counter indicating how frequently the IMD transitions between a first state in which cardiac rate is characterized as non-Tachycardia, and a second state in which the cardiac rate is characterized as Tachycardia or Fibrillation”, “the determining step is performed by comparing the data in the Tachy counter to one or more thresholds.” and “modifying an operating parameter of the IMD.”; which are mental processes when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), the mental process grouping includes observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions.
In this case, a human could monitor and analyze sensing quality in data to determine signal quality by observing the data acquired for changes in trends, tracked by counting events that occur as compared to a value limit. This can be done using a pen and paper by a human, and amounts to no more than tracking data trends of a plurality of data sets and noting when a change is needed.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 19, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
“an implantable medical device”, “a communication circuit”, and “a processor” are recited at a
high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
“RM session”, “RM session data”, “sensing quality”, “data”, “plurality of counters”, “drop in signal quality”, and “alert” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)];
“Operating a communication circuit” - mere instructions to apply the exception in a generic way
see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(a).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
“an implantable medical device”, “a communication circuit”, and “a processor” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
“RM session”, “RM session data”, “sensing quality”, “data”, “plurality of counters”, “drop in signal quality”, and “alert” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)];
“operating a communication circuit” - mere instructions to apply the exception in a generic way, see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(a).
The additional elements of claims 1, 13, and 19, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more (ie. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the implantable medical device, processor, and communication circuit, along with their associated functions, are recited at a high level of generality and simply amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Dependent claims 2-12 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 1. The dependent claim limitations are directed to generic component functions necessary to implement the abstract idea (Claims 2-8) amounting to mere instructions to apply the exception in a generic way, see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(a)., further defining data analysis limitations (Claims 4) data analysis (Claims 8 & 10-12), and displaying results or information (Claims 9 & 11-12) which amounts to data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)].
Dependent claims 14-18 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 13. The dependent claim limitations are directed to generic component functions necessary to implement the abstract idea (Claim 16-18) amounting to mere instructions to apply the exception in a generic way, see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(a)., and further defining data analysis limitations (Claims 14-15) which amounts to data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)].
In summary, claims 1-19 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and, therefore, are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brisben et al. (US Publication No. 20170113053; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Brisben discloses method of monitoring operation of a cardiac implantable medical device (IMD) (Brisben Abstract “monitoring of cardiac signal quality for external and/or implantable cardiac devices.”) operating a communication circuit configured to communicate wirelessly with the IMD in a remote monitoring (RM) session that generates RM session data (Brisben ¶0021 “The canister 12 may further include such components as would be appropriate for communication (such as RF communication, inductive telemetry or other suitable communication linkage) with an external device such as a programmer 22, or remote monitoring device. “); analyzing the RM session data to determine sensing quality for the IMD (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”) wherein: the RM session data includes data for a plurality of counters present in the IMD (Brisben Figure 8 as described in ¶0062-¶0064 showing multiple counters being used in the diagram); and the step of analyzing the RM session data to determine sensing quality for the IMD is performed by: analyzing data in the plurality of counters (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 322, 340, & 342); determining from the data in the plurality of counters that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 344 & 346); and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 block 350).
Regarding claims 2, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the counter data does not include cardiac signal representations, such that analysis of RM session data to determine sensing quality occurs without reviewing cardiac signal representations (Brisben Figure 12 as discussed in ¶0091-¶0092; ¶0092 “Rate mismatch 542 can also be a trigger, where a mismatch can be found if a cardiac cycle rate calculated by a given sensing configuration or vector does not match a rate as calculated using a different sensing vector, or a rate as calculated by a different method (autocorrelation instead of cardiac cycle detection), or using different data (using heart sounds, blood pressure changes or pulse oximetry, for example),” Where the mismatch can be determined by non cardiac waveform analysis. ).
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the RM session data comprises data from a Tachy counter, the data in the Tachy counter indicating how frequently the IMD transitions between a first state in which cardiac rate is characterized as non-Tachycardia, and a second state in which the cardiac rate is characterized as Tachycardia or Fibrillation. (Brisben ¶0079 discussing trigger types, such as elevated heart rate (i.e tachycardia) which would be tracked by Figure 8 methods which counts events and determines a signal quality with qualifying events; where this episode is indicative of tachycardia rather than other events; ¶0038 “For example, a rate validation trend may determine how closely a cardiac cycle or beat based rate analysis matches a validation analysis from another vector, source or method; absolute mismatch or a trend away from matching may be observed. In other examples, the frequency with which a poor signal quality marker (such as low SNR or amplitude, or identified noise, saturation, baseline wander, or overdetection) occurs may be tracked; increasing frequency would indicate a loss of signal quality.”).
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the step of analyzing data in the plurality of counters occurs in a processor of a remote monitoring device for the IMD , the remote monitoring device including the communication circuit (Brisben ¶0021 showing that programmer 22 functions as both a processor by controlling signal analysis, and a communication component as it communicates with the implanted device and the medical practitioner remotely).
Regarding claim 5, claims 1 & 4 are anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses the remote monitoring device instructing the IMD to take a corrective action in response to an alert to modify a setting or parameter in the IMD. (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”; Figure 8 block 352).
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the communication step is performed by a remote monitoring device which is communicatively coupled to a remote server or a cloud-based database/server (Brisben ¶0021 “the programmer 22 may be used to activate the canister 12 and/or direct/observe diagnostic or operational tests. After implantation, the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”).
Regarding claim 7, claims 1 & 6 are anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses the remote monitoring device instructing the IMD to take a corrective action in response to an alert to modify a setting or parameter in the IMD. (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”; Figure 8 block 352).
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein: the IMD is configured to analyze the cardiac signals and determine whether a sensing circuit of the IMD becomes saturated by the cardiac signals (Briben ¶0038 “ In other examples, the frequency with which a poor signal quality marker (such as low SNR or amplitude, or identified noise, saturation, baseline wander, or overdetection) occurs may be tracked; increasing frequency would indicate a loss of signal quality.”), and the IMD includes a saturation counter for counting how frequently the sensing circuit becomes saturated by the cardiac signals; the RM session data includes saturation counter data; and the analyzing step is performed by: determining whether the saturation counter data crosses a saturation counter data threshold (Brisben Figure 8 wich shows a general tracking of trends affecting signal quality, which includes triggering events(¶0063 “The data may be analyzed as it is gathered and accumulated or analysis may take place in response to a triggering condition. “). and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality. (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 9, claims 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses the IMD is configured to analyze the cardiac signals to sense detected events, to analyze the detected events to identify noise, and includes a noise counter that counts how frequently detected events are identified as noise (Brisben ¶0040 “In an illustration, repeated identification of noise or overdetection may be used as a trigger to perform an overall signal quality analysis in which sensing may be reconfigured.”); the RM session data includes noise counter data (Brisben Figure 8 block 322 where the trends include noise (as described in ¶0062-¶0063); and the analyzing step is performed by: determining whether the noise counter data crosses a noise counter data threshold (Brisben Figure 8 Block 322 where the parallel analysis track blocks 306-310 identify noise (¶0063) and categorize trend types according to a threshold (block 322)) and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality. (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein: the IMD is configured to analyze the cardiac signals to sense detected events, to analyze the detected events to identify noise, and includes a persistent noise counter that counts how frequently sets of consecutive detected events are all identified as noise (Brisben ¶0040 “In an illustration, repeated identification of noise or overdetection may be used as a trigger to perform an overall signal quality analysis in which sensing may be reconfigured.”); the RM session data includes persistent noise counter data; and the analyzing step is performed by: determining whether the persistent noise counter data crosses a persistent noise counter data threshold (Brisben Figure 8 which shows a general tracking of trends affecting signal quality, which includes triggering events(¶0063 “The data may be analyzed as it is gathered and accumulated or analysis may take place in response to a triggering condition. “).and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality. (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein: the IMD is configured to analyze the cardiac signals to sense detected events, to analyze the detected events by comparison to a template, and includes a persistent mismatch counter that counts how frequently sets of consecutive detected events are all identified as not matching the template; the RM session data includes persistent mismatch counter data (Brisben ¶0090 “Another trigger may be mismatch to a template at 534. Template mismatch 534 can include persistent failure of detected cardiac cycles to match a static (fixed and stored) or dynamic (continuously changing or changing from time to time as for example where the template is simply a copy of a previously detected cardiac cycle) template.”); and the analyzing step is performed by: determining whether the persistent mismatch counter data crosses a persistent mismatch counter data threshold (Brisben Figure 8 wich shows a general tracking of trends affecting signal quality, which includes triggering events(¶0063 “The data may be analyzed as it is gathered and accumulated or analysis may take place in response to a triggering condition. “).and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality. (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further teaches wherein: the IMD is configured to analyze the cardiac signals to sense detected events, and to analyze the detected events to identify over detection, and includes an over detection counter that counts how frequently the IMD identifies over detected events: the RM session data includes over detection counter data(Brisben ¶0062 “A signal analysis track is shown at 306/308/310 as including event detection 306, certification of the event at 308 (which may include the identification and elimination of noise or overdetection, for example), and calculation of the heart rate 310.”); and the analyzing step is performed by: determining whether the over detection counter data crosses a over detection counter data threshold (Brisben Figure 8 wich shows a general tracking of trends affecting signal quality, which includes triggering events(¶0063 “The data may be analyzed as it is gathered and accumulated or analysis may take place in response to a triggering condition. “)and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality. (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 13, Brisben discloses a system for remotely monitoring a cardiac implantable medical device (IMD) (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”; Abstract), the system comprising: a communication circuit configured to communicate wirelessly with a cardiac IMD in a remote monitoring (RM) session that generates RM session data (Brisben ¶0021 “The canister 12 may further include such components as would be appropriate for communication (such as RF communication, inductive telemetry or other suitable communication linkage) with an external device such as a programmer 22, or remote monitoring device. “) configured to analyze RM session data to determine sensing quality for the IMD (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”), wherein: the RM session data includes data for a plurality of counters present in the IMD (Brisben Figure 8 as described in ¶0062-¶0064 showing multiple counters being used in the diagram); and the processor is configured to analyze RM session data to determine sensing quality for the IMD by: analyzing data in the plurality of counters (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 322, 340, & 342); determining from the data in the plurality of counters that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 344 & 346); and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 step 350).
Regarding claim 14, Claim 13 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the counter data does not include cardiac signal representations, such that the processor analyzes the RM session data to determine sensing quality without reviewing cardiac signal representations. (Brisben Figure 12 as discussed in ¶0091-¶0092; ¶0092 “Rate mismatch 542 can also be a trigger, where a mismatch can be found if a cardiac cycle rate calculated by a given sensing configuration or vector does not match a rate as calculated using a different sensing vector, or a rate as calculated by a different method (autocorrelation instead of cardiac cycle detection), or using different data (using heart sounds, blood pressure changes or pulse oximetry, for example),” Where the mismatch can be determined by non cardiac waveform analysis. ).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 13 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the RM session data comprises data from a Tachy counter, the data in the Tachy counter indicating how frequently the IMD transitions between a first state in which cardiac rate is characterized as non-Tachycardia, and a second state in which the cardiac rate is characterized as Tachycardia or Fibrillation. (Brisben ¶0079 discussing trigger types, such as elevated heart rate (i.e tachycardia) which would be tracked by Figure 8 methods which counts events and determines a signal quality with qualifying events; where this episode is indicative of tachycardia rather than other events; ¶0038 “For example, a rate validation trend may determine how closely a cardiac cycle or beat based rate analysis matches a validation analysis from another vector, source or method; absolute mismatch or a trend away from matching may be observed. In other examples, the frequency with which a poor signal quality marker (such as low SNR or amplitude, or identified noise, saturation, baseline wander, or overdetection) occurs may be tracked; increasing frequency would indicate a loss of signal quality.”).
Regarding claim 16, Claim 13 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the processor and communication circuit are both contained in a remote monitoring device. (Brisben ¶0102 “The programmer 22 and implantable device 12 may communicate with one another using, for example and without limitation, inductive or RF telemetry, or any other suitable communication solution. The present invention may be embodied in a system having any such characteristics.”; ¶0021 “The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”).
Regarding claim 17, Claim 13 is anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the communication circuit is contained in a remote monitoring device which is communicatively coupled to a remote server or a cloud-based database/server (Brisben ¶0021 “The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”).
Regarding claim 18, Claims 13 & 17 are anticipated by Brisben. Brisben further discloses wherein the remote monitoring device is configured to communicate to the IMD to take a corrective action in response to an alert. (Brisben ¶0021 “ the programmer 22 (or remote monitoring device, such as a bedside monitor) may be used to non-invasively determine the status and history of the implanted device. The programmer 22 in combination with the canister 12 may also allow reporting of statistics, errors, history and potential problems to the user/medical practitioner, and may also allow for updating of programming in the canister 12.”; Figure 8 block 352).
Regarding claim 19, Brisben discloses method of monitoring operation of a cardiac implantable medical device (IMD) (Brisben Abstract “monitoring of cardiac signal quality for external and/or implantable cardiac devices.”), the IMD maintaining a plurality of counters for events that the IMD identifies, the method comprising: analyzing data in the plurality of counters (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 322, 340, & 342); determining from the data in the plurality of counters that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 blocks 344 & 346); and, if so, generating an alert indicating that the IMD has experienced a drop in signal quality (Brisben Figure 8 step 350)or modifying an operating parameter of the IMD. (Brisben Figure 8 step 352), wherein the plurality of counters includes a Tachy counter, the data in the Tachy counter indicating how frequently the IMD transitions between a first state in which cardiac rate is characterized as non-Tachycardia, and a second state in which the cardiac rate is characterized as Tachycardia or Fibrillation, and the determining step is performed by comparing the data in the Tachy counter to one or more thresholds. (Brisben ¶0079 discussing trigger types, such as elevated heart rate (i.e tachycardia) which would be tracked by Figure 8 methods which counts events and determines a signal quality with qualifying events; where this episode is indicative of tachycardia rather than other events; ¶0038 “For example, a rate validation trend may determine how closely a cardiac cycle or beat based rate analysis matches a validation analysis from another vector, source or method; absolute mismatch or a trend away from matching may be observed. In other examples, the frequency with which a poor signal quality marker (such as low SNR or amplitude, or identified noise, saturation, baseline wander, or overdetection) occurs may be tracked; increasing frequency would indicate a loss of signal quality.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796