DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 7/15/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14, 20.
Currently, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/17/26 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 16,-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2018/0369693) in view of Eric Richards (NPL: A Terrain Minimap with SlimDX and DirectX 11).
Re Claim 1,
Rong discloses a method for selecting a virtual object on a user interface of a terminal, performed by the terminal (¶¶0004, 0058-0061, 0064), the method comprising:
displaying a user interface corresponding to a virtual environment, wherein the user interface includes a first virtual object located in the virtual environment (Fig 2, ¶0038; the user interaction interface includes a first virtual character, i.e., a first virtual object);
obtaining a predefined execution area of a first operation of the first virtual object within the virtual environment (¶0034; the system determines a predetermined distance range for skill release, i.e., a predefined execution area);
a visible boundary scope of the virtual environment, the visible boundary scope containing contents that are visible on the user interface (Fig 2, ¶¶0034, 0038; the user interaction interface includes targeted virtual characters, wherein each virtual character is visible to the player);
determining, based on an intersection area of the predefined execution area and the visible boundary scope, an effective execution area of the first operation within the virtual environment; and determining, based on the effective execution area, a target virtual object (Fig 1-2, ¶¶0034, 0038; the system determines a second control event for the target selection control that a virtual character is selected in real time from a predetermined distance range, which may not only be an area reachable for skill release but also a range reachable for a visual field of the player, in other words, an effective execution area where the predetermined distance is a range reachable for a visual field).
Rong does not explicitly disclose determining, based on parameters of a virtual camera of the virtual environment, coordinates of feature points of a visible boundary scope of the virtual environment and obtaining the visible boundary scope based on the coordinates of the feature points.
However, Richards teaches determining, based on parameters of a virtual camera of the virtual environment, coordinates of feature points of a visible boundary scope of the virtual environment and obtaining the visible boundary scope based on the coordinates of the feature points (pg 2-13; intersection points are calculated and store them in points[], wherein points define the main camera’s viewing extent and terrain minimaps for games, in addition, the user can use the minimap to move around the terrain). Richards further teaches such a configuration allows the user to move around the terrain very quickly and easily (pg 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Richards into the virtual environment of Rong in order to allows the user to move around the virtual environment very quickly and easily.
Re Claims 2, 12,
Rong discloses identifying the intersection area of the predefined execution area and the visible boundary scope as the effective execution area of the first operation (Fig 2, ¶¶0034, 0038).
Re Claims 6, 16,
Rong discloses obtaining the location information of the first virtual object within the virtual environment; and, determining, based on the location information and a predefined execution distance of the first operation, the predefined execution area of the first operation in the virtual environment (Fig 2, ¶¶0034, 0038).
Re Claims 7, 17,
Rong discloses determining a second virtual object within the effective execution area as a candidate virtual object; selecting the target virtual object from one or more candidate virtual object based on an object selection criteria (Fig 2, ¶¶0034, 0038).
Re Claims 9, 19,
Rong discloses when the first operation is identified as an attack operation, identifying a virtual object, which belongs to a different camp from the first virtual object, in the effective execution area as the candidate virtual object (Fig 2, ¶¶0034, 0038).
Re Claims 11, 20,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2018/0369693) in view of Eric Richards (NPL: A Terrain Minimap with SlimDX and DirectX 11), further in view of Tsutsumizaki et al. (2020/0197809).
Re Claim 10,
Rong as modified by Richards discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on when the first operation is identified as a gain operation, identifying a virtual object which belongs to the same camp with the first virtual object. However, Tsutsumizaki teaches when the first operation is identified as a gain operation, identifying a virtual object which belongs to the same camp with the first virtual object (Fig 9-12, ¶¶0086-0090, 0095-0097, 0104-0107; the system determines a friend character in the virtual field, i.e., a virtual object which belongs to the same camp, wherein the player character can select a game message command such as attack or defend, i.e., a gain operation). Tsutsumizaki further teaches such a configuration improves the cooperation between players (¶¶0004-0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tsutsumizaki into the game system of Rong as modified by Richards in order to improve the cooperation between players.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 13-15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715