DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/15/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 07/15/2024are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt et al. (US 20240073794 A1), hereinafter “Kneckt”; and in further view of Tachibana et al. (US 20230011936 A1), hereinafter “Tachibana”.
Regarding claim 1, Kneckt teaches A method comprising:
associating, by an Access Point (AP) with a client device [Fig. 5]; and
sending, by the AP to the client device, a status report in a status report frame [Fig. 22; Par. 130 teaches of status report from AP in trigger frame].
However, Kneckt does not teach a status report frame comprising a protected management frame.
Nevertheless, Tachibana, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches
a status report frame comprising a protected management frame [Tachibana: Fig. 3- 6; Par. 26- 29 and 42 teaches of using PMF frame for establishing communication between communication devices]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tachibana for sending information using PMF. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tachibana in the Kneckt system in order to enhance encrypted and secure sending information [Tachibana: Par. 6].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein the status report comprises information about policies applied by a network [Kneckt: Fig. 24].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein the status report frame comprises a fixed length format [Kneckt: Fig. 24].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein the status report frame comprises a Type Length Value (TLV) records format [Kneckt: Fig. 24].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. The combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein sending the status report comprises receiving the status report unsolicited by the client device [Kneckt: Par. 117 teaches of unsolicited response].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. The combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein sending the status report comprises sending the status report in response to an exchange between the client device and the AP [See Tachibana Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. The combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein associating with the client device comprises establishing a Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) secure connection [See: Tachibana: Abstract].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. The combined Kneckt in view of Tachibana further teaches wherein associating with the client device comprises establishing a full association [See Tachibana Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 9, Kneckt teaches A system comprising:
a memory storage; and a processing unit disposed in an Access Point (AP) and coupled to the memory storage, wherein the processing unit is operative to [Fig. 5]; and
associate, by the AP, with a client device; and send, by the AP to the client device, a status report in a status report frame [Fig. 22; Par. 130 teaches of status report from AP in trigger frame].
However, Kneckt does not teach a status report frame comprising a protected management frame.
Nevertheless, Tachibana, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches
a status report frame comprising a protected management frame [Tachibana: Fig. 3- 6; Par. 26- 29 and 42 teaches of using PMF frame for establishing communication between communication devices]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tachibana for sending information using PMF. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tachibana in the Kneckt system in order to enhance encrypted and secure sending information [Tachibana: Par. 6].
Regarding claim 10 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 11 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 13 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, Kneckt teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions which when executed perform a method executed by the set of instructions comprising [Fig. 5]; and
associating, by an Access Point (AP) with a client device; and sending, by the AP to the client device, a status report in a status report frame [Fig. 22; Par. 130 teaches of status report from AP in trigger frame].
However, Kneckt does not teach a status report frame comprising a protected management frame.
Nevertheless, Tachibana, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches
a status report frame comprising a protected management frame [Tachibana: Fig. 3- 6; Par. 26- 29 and 42 teaches of using PMF frame for establishing communication between communication devices]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tachibana for sending information using PMF. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tachibana in the Kneckt system in order to enhance encrypted and secure sending information [Tachibana: Par. 6].
Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412