DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a well asserted utility or a well-established utility.
Claim 6 recites use of a solder paste but fails to recite steps. "Use" claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. Although a claim should be interpreted in light of the specification disclosure, it is generally considered improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims. One cannot rely on the specification to impart limitations to the claim that are not recited in the claim.
Claim 6 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a well asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
In Claim 6, it is unclear what limitations are included or excluded from “use of a solder paste,” which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (US 2018/0339371 A1).
Inoue et al teaches a soldering flux comprising an acrylic resins (A) and (B) by polymerizing a monomer mixture containing alkyl (meth)acrylate [0021-0022]. The acrylic resins have an average molecular weight of 30,000 or less [0030], which overlaps the claimed range. Acrylic resin (B) has an acid value of 30 to 230 mg KOH/g [0028], which reads on one acidic (meth)acrylic copolymer. Resin (B) is 10-30% by mass [0040], which overlaps the claimed range. A base resin is present 0-20% [0041]. The organic solvent is 0-35% [0044]. Other components include thixotropic agent 0-13% [0043]. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, Inoue et al reads on the claimed ranges of the acid number and the weight average molecular weight, since Inoue et al teaches overlapping ranges.
Regarding Claim 3, Inoue et al teaches a flux with overlapping properties as stated above. However, Inoue et al does not recite the glass transition temperature in the range of > 0 °C to ≤ 105 °C. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. In this case, the flux in Inoue et al would have the same or overlapping properties as recited in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Inoue et al teaches a flux with overlapping properties as stated above. However, Inoue et al does not recite the flux has a flux acid number in the range of 100-200 mg KOH/g. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. in this case, the flux in Inoue et al would have the same or overlapping properties as recited in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, the solder paste is 85-92% solder and 8-15% flux [0047].
Regarding Claim 6, the soldering fluxes and solder paste compositions are used for solder joining electronic circuit components and is used on a substrate surface [0002].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/772,915 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims teach overlapping ranges for weight-average molecular weight and the acid number. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. However, one carrying out product in accord with the Application No. 18/772,915 claims would in fact carry out product fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between the product as presently claimed and product as defined in the claims of Application No. 18/772,915
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733