DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (20230018402).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al discloses, a first vehicle node device (abstract, fig. 1-9), comprising:
a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (fig. 8, ¶ 0199, processors may be included in modules stored in the memory 804G and executed via a Central Processing Unit CPU 804E.), the operations comprising:
receiving authentication data from a second vehicle node device (¶ 0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR);
in response to the receiving the authentication data, generating estimation data representative of an estimate of a direction of the second node vehicle device (¶ 0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR);
establishing a first wireless connection between the first vehicle node device and a stationary node device (¶ 0082, 0101, the process 230 includes determining a RSU is available or not. At a block 233, the process 230 includes receiving service advertisement on CCH. If a vehicle has only one DSRC radio, it may tune to the CCH at a regular basis to receive system management messages and WSAs, and then at a block 235, the process 230 includes switching to SCHs that provide services the vehicle has interests); and
in response to the establishing the first wireless connection and based on the estimation data, transmitting the authentication data to the stationary node device to facilitate a second wireless connection between the second vehicle node device and the stationary node device (¶ 0101, The Geo-dissemination of MBR may also be performed at the RSU level. A RSU may either receive a MBR from the original sender or a forwarder. The RSU may validate the MBR and perform relevance checking for the MBR.).
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al discloses, wherein the estimation data comprises speed data representative of a speed of the second vehicle node device (¶ 0099, The relevance can be affected by misbehavior types, the target misbehaving vehicle's speed, heading, acceleration and communication range, etc. Before forwarding the MBR).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al discloses, wherein the speed is a first speed, and wherein the generating the estimation data is in response to a second speed of the first vehicle node device being determined to be greater than the first speed of the second vehicle node device (¶ 0099, 0127, Definition of vehicle relevance—vehicles that are or will be receiving V2X messages from the target misbehaving vehicle within time frame <t, t+Δt>, where t is the current timestamp, Δt is application specific parameter that controls the forwarding range. The relevance can be affected by misbehavior types, the target misbehaving vehicle's speed, heading, acceleration and communication range, etc. Before forwarding the MBR, the sender (or the forwarder) may perform relevance checking to determine the target receivers as the following: {circle around (1)} identify misbehavior types and attack types; {circle around (2)} calculate geographic area that is or will be impacted by the misbehavior; {circle around (3)} forward the MBR to vehicles that are in the affected area).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al discloses, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to establishing a third wireless connection between the first vehicle node device and a third vehicle node device, transmitting the authentication data to the third vehicle node device to facilitate a fourth wireless connection between the second vehicle node device and the third vehicle node device (¶ 0116-0117, fig. 4, the RSU to create the local CRL. For a first approach, the RSU receives the global CRL from the DC (or multiple global CRLs from different DCs if the V2X system adopts a decentralized framework). Note that the global CRL is signed by the DC (or other backend authority that is responsible for the creation of the CRL). The RSU may verify the global CRL and the signature it carries. If the verification succeeds, the RSU extracts the CA revocation entries and vehicle revocation entries that are relevant (e.g., those vehicles should be within the RSU's coverage area), and then compiles them into a local CRL. The local CRL is signed by the RSU with its own signing certificates. It is assumed that vehicles who receive the local CRL should trust the RSU. For a second approach, the RSU sends a vehicle list of those vehicles that are within its coverage area to the DC (or other backend authority that is responsible for the creation of the CRL). The DC customizes a local CRL for the RSU by putting the entries of revoked CAs and revoked vehicles that are also on the RSU's vehicle list together. The local CRL is then signed by the DC with the corresponding authority certificate. The signed CRL is then sent from the DC to the RSU, which then distributes it to the vehicles in the RSU's neighborhood. Here it is assumed that the vehicles should trust DC and may not trust the RSU).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al discloses, wherein the authentication data is encrypted by the first vehicle node device prior to transmitting to the stationary node device (¶ 0125, 0230-0231, The process may further include, at a block 1103, generating a misbehavior report, e.g., by the vehicle detecting the misbehavior, or by another entity (such as another neighboring vehicle or a RSU) assisting the vehicle detecting the misbehavior. The misbehavior report may include an indication of the misbehavior event. The process may further include, at a block 1105, encoding the misbehavior report for transmission. In some embodiments, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to a misbehavior authority by the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR, or by relay through one or more other vehicles or RSUs assisting the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR. Additionally/alternatively, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to one or more vehicles in the proximity of the misbehaving vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al discloses, wherein the estimate of the direction is based on a traffic condition experienced by the first vehicle node device (¶ 0097-0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al discloses, a method, comprising (fig. 1-9, abstract):
receiving, by a first vehicle node device comprising a processor, authentication data from a second vehicle node device (¶ 0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR);
establishing, by the first vehicle node device, a first wireless connection between the first vehicle node device and a stationary node device (¶ 0082, 0101, the process 230 includes determining a RSU is available or not. At a block 233, the process 230 includes receiving service advertisement on CCH. If a vehicle has only one DSRC radio, it may tune to the CCH at a regular basis to receive system management messages and WSAs, and then at a block 235, the process 230 includes switching to SCHs that provide services the vehicle has interests); and
in response to the establishing the first wireless connection and based on estimation data that comprises speed data representative of a speed of the second vehicle node device, transmitting, by the first vehicle node device, the authentication data to the stationary node device to facilitate a second wireless connection between the second vehicle node device and the stationary node device (¶ 0101, The Geo-dissemination of MBR may also be performed at the RSU level. A RSU may either receive a MBR from the original sender or a forwarder. The RSU may validate the MBR and perform relevance checking for the MBR.).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al discloses, in response to the receiving the authentication data, generating, by the first vehicle node device, the estimation data (¶ 0101, The Geo-dissemination of MBR may also be performed at the RSU level. A RSU may either receive a MBR from the original sender or a forwarder. The RSU may validate the MBR and perform relevance checking for the MBR.).
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al discloses, wherein the speed is a first speed, and wherein the generating the estimation data is further in response to a second speed of the first vehicle node device being determined to be greater than the first speed of the second vehicle node device (¶ 0099, 0127, Definition of vehicle relevance—vehicles that are or will be receiving V2X messages from the target misbehaving vehicle within time frame <t, t+Δt>, where t is the current timestamp, Δt is application specific parameter that controls the forwarding range. The relevance can be affected by misbehavior types, the target misbehaving vehicle's speed, heading, acceleration and communication range, etc. Before forwarding the MBR, the sender (or the forwarder) may perform relevance checking to determine the target receivers as the following: {circle around (1)} identify misbehavior types and attack types; {circle around (2)} calculate geographic area that is or will be impacted by the misbehavior; {circle around (3)} forward the MBR to vehicles that are in the affected area).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al discloses, further comprising: in response to establishing a third wireless connection between the first vehicle node device and a third vehicle node device, transmitting, by the first vehicle node device, the authentication data to the third vehicle node device to facilitate a fourth wireless connection between the second vehicle node device and the third vehicle node device (¶ 0116-0117, fig. 4, the RSU to create the local CRL. For a first approach, the RSU receives the global CRL from the DC (or multiple global CRLs from different DCs if the V2X system adopts a decentralized framework. Note that the global CRL is signed by the DC (or other backend authority that is responsible for the creation of the CRL. The RSU may verify the global CRL and the signature it carries. If the verification succeeds, the RSU extracts the CA revocation entries and vehicle revocation entries that are relevant e.g., those vehicles should be within the RSU's coverage area, and then compiles them into a local CRL. The local CRL is signed by the RSU with its own signing certificates. It is assumed that vehicles who receive the local CRL should trust the RSU. For a second approach, the RSU sends a vehicle list of those vehicles that are within its coverage area to the DC or other backend authority that is responsible for the creation of the CRL. The DC customizes a local CRL for the RSU by putting the entries of revoked CAs and revoked vehicles that are also on the RSU's vehicle list together. The local CRL is then signed by the DC with the corresponding authority certificate. The signed CRL is then sent from the DC to the RSU, which then distributes it to the vehicles in the RSU's neighborhood. Here it is assumed that the vehicles should trust DC and may not trust the RSU).
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al discloses, wherein the authentication data is encrypted by the first vehicle node device prior to transmitting to the stationary node device (¶ 0230-0231, The process may further include, at a block 1103, generating a misbehavior report, e.g., by the vehicle detecting the misbehavior, or by another entity such as another neighboring vehicle or a RSU assisting the vehicle detecting the misbehavior. The misbehavior report may include an indication of the misbehavior event. The process may further include, at a block 1105, encoding the misbehavior report for transmission. In some embodiments, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to a misbehavior authority by the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR, or by relay through one or more other vehicles or RSUs assisting the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR. Additionally/alternatively, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to one or more vehicles in the proximity of the misbehaving vehicle).
Regarding claim 14, Liu et al discloses, wherein the estimation data is based on a traffic condition experienced by the first vehicle node device (¶ 0097-0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR).
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al discloses, wherein the stationary node device comprises roadside equipment (RSU1 AND RSU2, fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al discloses, wherein the roadside equipment comprises a camera, a radar detector, or a microwave detector (¶ 0003, enabling cars to understand the surrounding environments beyond the immediate range reachable by onboard sensors such as radar, Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) and camera etc. V2X communication facilitates information sharing between vehicles, e.g., vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V), pedestrians, and RSUs in the proximity through V2X messages.).
Regarding claim 17, Liu et al discloses, non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a first vehicle node device, facilitate performance of operations (abstract, fig. 1-9), the operations comprising:
in response to a receiving of authentication data from a second vehicle node device, generating estimation data representative of an estimate of a direction of the second node vehicle device (¶ 0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR);
establishing a first wireless connection between the first vehicle node device and a stationary node device, wherein the stationary node device comprises a camera, a radar detector, or a microwave detector (¶ 0082, 0101, the process 230 includes determining a RSU is available or not. At a block 233, the process 230 includes receiving service advertisement on CCH. If a vehicle has only one DSRC radio, it may tune to the CCH at a regular basis to receive system management messages and WSAs, and then at a block 235, the process 230 includes switching to SCHs that provide services the vehicle has interests, ¶ 0003, enabling cars to understand the surrounding environments beyond the immediate range reachable by onboard sensors such as radar, Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) and camera etc. V2X communication facilitates information sharing between vehicles, e.g., vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V), pedestrians, and RSUs in the proximity through V2X messages.); and
in response to the establishing the first wireless connection and based on the estimation data, transmitting the authentication data to the stationary node device to facilitate a second wireless connection between the second vehicle node device and the stationary node device (¶ 0101, The Geo-dissemination of MBR may also be performed at the RSU level. A RSU may either receive a MBR from the original sender or a forwarder. The RSU may validate the MBR and perform relevance checking for the MBR.).
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al discloses, wherein the operations further comprise encrypting the authentication data prior to transmitting to the stationary node device (¶ 0125, 0230-0231, The process may further include, at a block 1103, generating a misbehavior report, e.g., by the vehicle detecting the misbehavior, or by another entity such as another neighboring vehicle or a RSU assisting the vehicle detecting the misbehavior. The misbehavior report may include an indication of the misbehavior event. The process may further include, at a block 1105, encoding the misbehavior report for transmission. In some embodiments, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to a misbehavior authority by the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR, or by relay through one or more other vehicles or RSUs assisting the entity detecting the misbehavior or the entity generating the MBR. Additionally/alternatively, the misbehavior report may be encoded for transmission to one or more vehicles in the proximity of the misbehaving vehicle).
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al discloses, wherein the estimate of the direction is based on a traffic condition experienced by the first vehicle node device (¶ 0097-0098, The vehicle-based forwarding use case is illustrated in FIG. 3(b). After detecting misbehavior at a vehicle V1, a vehicle V2 generates a MBR and sends it to a vehicle V3. After receiving the MBR from V2, V3 validates it. If the MBR passes the verification, V3 determines the relevant vehicles and forwards this MBR to them. As V1 is travelling to the left, V4 and V5 are the relevant vehicles that are in the direction V1 is travelling to and may meet V1 in the near future. Therefore, V3 forwards the MBR to V4 and V5. Note that if V3 also detects the same misbehavior at V1, it may add its own evidence to the forwarded MBR).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (20230018402) in view of Li et al (20200198782).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Liu et al discloses, authenticity and integrity of messages exchanged over V2X communication may potentially be enhanced by digital signatures. A credentials management infrastructure, such as the Secure Credentials Management System (SCMS) in the U. S, may involve certificate authority (CA) to distribute V2X security certificates to the legitimate users. A sender vehicle signs a message using a secret key associated to a security certificate. A receiver can verify the authenticity and integrity of a message by verifying the validity of the security certificate and the signature (¶ 0004) and A vehicle may submit a misbehavior report (MBR) to the misbehavior authority (MA) at the backend or the infrastructure to report another vehicle having misbehavior at its neighborhood or proximity. After verifying the misbehavior upon receiving misbehavior reports, the misbehavior authority may determine that a misbehaved vehicle shall be included in a certificate revocation list (CRL) to have its certificate revoked. Furthermore, after collecting MBRs and making a decision to revoke a misbehaving participant, e.g., a compromised CA or a malicious vehicle, a distribution center (DC) at the backend may distribute a CRL to the end road users (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians). Since it may be safety-critical to detect and evict malicious road participants from the V2X system, the reporting of misbehavior vehicles and the distribution of CRL are potential important components of a V2X security framework (¶ 0005).
Liu et al does not specifically disclose performing a two-way authentication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al discloses, performing a two-way authentication between the first vehicle node device and the second vehicle node device (¶ 0052, through two-way encrypted data link between the ground vehicle 10 and the flight vehicle 20, the ground vehicle 10 can provide guidance for the precise landing of the flight vehicle 20. The two-way encrypted data link between the ground vehicle 10 and the flight vehicle 20 has wireless data transmission, high bandwidth, high speed and strong anti-electromagnetic interference capability.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Liu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the system utilizes a pilot onboard to increase load capacity, thus use two-way encrypted data link and increasing efficiency of the system as taught by Li et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643