DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cackett et al. (US 2011/0077102).
Regarding claim 1, Cackett et al. discloses a club head having a face portion having a striking face and an aft body wherein the aft body includes a crown, sole, and skirt portion (See Figure 1). The aft body is made of polycarbonate, PPS, PEKK, PEEK, and similar materials (See Paragraph 0054). The face portion would inherently include an x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis and is further confirmed by the club head having inertias about x, y, and z axes (See 0050 and 0051).
Regarding claim 7, see the above regarding claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claim 8, see the above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cackett et al. (2011/0077102) in view of Nelson et al. (USPN 10035049).
Regarding claim 2, Cackett et al. does not disclose the material being polyethersulfone. Nelson et al. discloses a club head having an aft body made of a polyethersulfone (See Paragraph bridging columns 39 and 40). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the aft body made of polyethersulfone, as taught by Nelson et al., in order to improve the stiffness of the club head while improving the club head sound.
Regarding claim 3, Cackett et al. inherently discloses a skirt portion in the form of a ribbon 90 being that it’s created by the perimeters of the sole and crown portions and due to incorporation of US 7320646.
Regarding claim 4, Cackett et al. discloses the crown and sole portions having a thickness of 0.020 to 0.08 inch, or 0.5 to 2mm (See Paragraph 0054) considering the aft body includes the crown and sole.
Regarding claim 9, see the above regarding claim 2.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cackett et al. (2011/0077102) in view of Nelson et al. (USPN 10035049) further in view of Myrhum et al. (US 2003/0148818).
Regarding claim 5, Cackett et al. discloses the aft wall having a variable thickness but does not disclose the sole being thicker than the crown. Myrhum et al. discloses a club head having a crown and sole of variable thickness. One embodiment discloses the sole having a thickness greater than the crown in which the center of gravity is lowered (See Figure 2 and Paragraph 0026). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the sole thicker than the crown, as taught by Myrhum et al., in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head.
Regarding claim 6, Cackett et al. discloses the crown and sole portions having a thickness of 0.020 to 0.08 inch, or 0.5 to 2mm (See Paragraph 0054) considering the aft body includes the crown and sole.
Regarding claim 10, see the above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, Cackett et al. inherently discloses a skirt portion in the form of a ribbon 90 being that it’s created by the perimeters of the sole and crown portions and due to incorporation of US 7320646.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12714918 in view of Cackett et al. (US 2011/0077102). US Patent 12714918 claims the same subject matter except for having a face portion. Cackett et al. discloses a club head having a face portion having a striking face and an aft body wherein the aft body includes a crown, sole, and skirt portion (See Figure 1). The face portion would inherently include an x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis and is further confirmed by the club head having inertias about x, y, and z axes (See 0050 and 0051). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a face portion, as taught by Cackett et al., in order to facilitate the club head hitting a golf ball.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711