DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-47 of U.S. Patent No. 12066677. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the present claims are found in the claims of the subject patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,7-10,17,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher(US4976163) in view of Tian(US10135519).
[claim 1] Schumacher teaches an assembly(fig 4), comprising: a payload(42); at least one rotational actuator(51,70,75); and a rotation sensor(50) coupled to detect a rotation of the payload; wherein a controller(computer fig 3, C3 L28-43) is coupled to a sensor(41) and an associated rotational actuator and the controller is operable to adjust the rotational actuator based on the position of the payload detected by the sensor, and wherein the rotation sensor is an inertial measurement unit(C3 L49-50) spaced away from the rotational actuator(fig 4). While Schumacher does disclose a rotation sensor in the form of an inertial measurement unit(50) attached to the payload, Schumacher does not specifically state that the controller is coupled to the rotation sensor and that the controller adjusts the rotational actuator based on the rotation of the payload detected by the rotation sensor, or what the rotation sensor is used for. Tian teaches a similar assembly with a payload(108) having an attached rotation sensor in the form of an inertial measurement unit(1090) which is coupled to a controller(128), with the controller operable to adjust a rotational actuator(1082, 118) based on rotation of the payload detected by the rotation sensor(C6 L4-19), the arrangement allowing the controller to compensate for sudden movements of the payload(C6 L10-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use to couple the rotation sensor of Schumacher to the controller of Schumacher, and configure the controller to adjust the rotational actuator based on the rotation of the payload detected by the rotation sensor, as this would allow the controller to compensate for sudden movements of the payload, as taught by Tian.
[claim 2] further comprising: a first member(72) operable to attach to the payload; and a second member(41) coupled to support the first member rotatably around an axis of rotation(44).
[claim 4] wherein at least one of the first member and the second member includes a flywheel(71,52).
[claim 5] wherein the flywheel is coupled to the rotational actuator that is operable to rotate the flywheel(fig 4).
[claim 7] further comprising: a rotational support(41) including a gimbal, hinge or a ball joint that defines a rotational axis(44).
[claim 8] wherein the rotational actuator(70) is located above the rotational support(fig 4).
[claim 9] wherein the rotational actuator(75) is located below the rotational support(fig 4).
[claim 10] wherein the rotational actuator(70) is located between the rotational support and the payload(fig 4).
[claim 17] Schumacher in view of Tian when arranged as above further teaches a method comprising detecting a rotation of the payload(42) of the assembly of claim 1 with the rotation sensor(50) and based on the detected rotation of the payload, adjusting the rotational actuator(C6 L4-19 of Tian).
[claim 18] wherein the inertial measurement unit is spaced radially away from a rotational axis(44) of the rotational actuator and is outside a housing of the rotational actuator(fig 4).
Claim(s) 3,6,11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher in view of Tian as applied to claims 1,2 and 4 above, and further in view of Loewenthal(US5751078).
[claim 3,11] Schumacher in view of Tian teaches an apparatus as detailed above, and further teaches the apparatus is for supporting instruments in space applications(C1 L9-19). However Schumacher and Tian may not teach that the second member is coupled to a robot or robot arm that can control a position of the payload. Loewenthal teaches a similar assembly, and further teaches that the assembly can be coupled to a robot or robot arm that can control a position of the payload(fig 7 of Loewenthal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the assembly of Schumacher in view of Tian coupled to a robot or robot arm, as this would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
[claim 6] Schumacher in view of Tian teaches an apparatus as detailed above, however Schumacher and Tian may not teach that the flywheel is coupled to a brake that is operable to inhibit rotation of the flywheel. As noted above, Loewenthal teaches a similar apparatus, and further teaches the use of brakes operable to inhibit rotation of flywheels(C8 L39-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use brakes, such as taught by Loewenthal, to further control the motion of the flywheels of Schumacher, as this would provide greater control over the motion of the flywheels in the apparatus.
[claim 12] when arranged as above, the assembly further comprising: a first member(72) operable to attach to the payload; a second member(41) coupled to support the first member rotatably around an axis of rotation(44), wherein at least one of the first member and the second member includes a flywheel(71,52); and wherein the controller is operable to adjust the flywheel to reduce a payload vibration(ABS) in response to translating by the robot arm.
[claim 13] Schumacher in view of Tian teaches an assembly as detailed above and discloses the assembly is used in space applications(C1 L9-12), Schumacher however may not teach that the assembly further comprising a drone that can control a position of the payload. As noted above, Loewenthal teaches a similar assembly, where when the assembly is attached to aircraft(fig 8, C9 L65-67). Loewenthal however does not specifically state that the aircraft could be a drone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the assembly Schumacher with any known aircraft, such as a drone, as a matter of obvious design choice, as one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select from known aircraft to make use of the assembly.
[claim 14] when arranged as above, further comprising: a first member(72) operable to attach to the payload; and a second member(41) coupled to support the first member rotatably around an axis of rotation(44), wherein at least one of the first member and the second member includes a flywheel(71,52); and a controller operable to adjust the flywheel to reduce a payload vibration(ABS) in response to translating by the drone.
[claim 15,16] Schumacher in view of Tian teaches an assembly as detailed above, wherein the payload is an optical element, such as a telescope(C1 L30-35) used in a space application. Schumacher and Tian however may not teach that the payload includes a portion of an optical beam system, or an optical beam source, or an optical element that is operable to receive and direct an optical beam to a target. Loewenthal teaches a similar assembly as detailed above for optical elements in a space application(Loewenthal C1 L6-10) and further teaches that the supported payload can be a portion of an optical beam system(C5 L4-5), including an optical element operable to receive and direct an optical beam to a target(laser instrument at C4 L4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the assembly of Schumacher in view of Tian with an optical element including an optical element operable to receive and direct an optical beam to a target, as taught by Loewenthal, as this would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632