DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of Species 3 in the reply filed on 16 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 October 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 2, “on opposite sides” should be deleted (since it superfluous).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawahara (WO 2008129972 A1 - see attached copy and translation).
In reference to claim 1
Kawahara discloses:
A player wearable game apparatus (i.e., supporter 1 - see Figure 1)(note: the term(s) player and/or game do not structurally limit the claimed invention) comprising:
an elastic panel (i.e., one of net-shaped members 2) configured to exhibit a trampoline effect when struck by a ball (note: the recitation exhibit a trampoline effect when struck by a ball is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f); each net-shaped member 2 is formed of a stretchable material and, thus, is capable of being used in the claimed manner); and
at least one arm-engaging component (i.e., band-shaped uniting members 3) on opposite sides of said elastic panel configured to engage at least two forearms of a player (note: the recitation configured to engage at least two forearms of a player is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f)).
In reference to claim 2
Kawahara discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 1, wherein said elastic panel (2) is formed of a stretchable material (see Abstract) configured to be stretched by the arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on an the amount that the panel is stretched (note: the recitation configured to be stretched by the arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on the amount that the panel is stretched is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f); each net-shaped member 2 is formed of a stretchable material and, thus, is capable of being used in the claimed manner).
In reference to claim 3
Kawahara discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 1, wherein said panel (2) is formed of netting (see Abstract).
Claims 1-3 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahler (US 2,328,385).
In reference to claim 1
Mahler discloses:
A player wearable game apparatus (i.e., girdle)(note: the term(s) player and/or game do not structurally limit the claimed invention) comprising:
an elastic panel (i.e., the assembly of panels 1 and 2, which are made from power net fabric (elastic) - see page 2, left column, lines 22-35) configured to exhibit a trampoline effect when struck by a ball (note: the recitation exhibit a trampoline effect when struck by a ball is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f); the panels 1 and 2 are formed of a stretchable material and, thus, are capable of being used in the claimed manner); and
at least one arm-engaging component (i.e., bones B) on opposite sides (see Figure 3) of said elastic panel configured to engage at least two forearms of a player (note: the recitation configured to engage at least two forearms of a player is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f)).
In reference to claim 2
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 1, wherein said elastic panel (1 & 2) is formed of a stretchable material (i.e., power net fabric, which is elastic - see page 2, left column, lines 22-35) configured to be stretched by the arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on an the amount that the panel is stretched (note: the recitation configured to be stretched by the arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on the amount that the panel is stretched is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f); the panels 1 and 2 are formed of a stretchable material and, thus, are capable of being used in the claimed manner).
In reference to claim 3
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 1, wherein said panel is formed of netting (i.e., power net fabric - see page 2, left column, lines 22-35).
In reference to claim 12
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 1, wherein: said elastic panel (1 & 2) is formed as a tubular body sized to receive at least the forearms of the player (note: the girdle is capable of receiving two forearms).
In reference to claim 13
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 12, wherein said at least one arm-engaging component (B) on opposite sides includes an elongated strip (see Figure 2 and page 1, right column, lines stating “The usual flexible bone insert B is located in a pock which is provided by a strip of fabric 19”) that is relatively more rigid (due to being substantially thicker) than said elastic panel.
In reference to claim 14
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 13, wherein said elastic panel (1 & 2) is formed of a stretchable material (i.e., power net fabric, which is elastic - see page 2, left column, lines 22-35) configured to be stretched by arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on an amount that the panel is stretched (note: the recitation configured to be stretched by the arms of the player to exhibit different trampoline effects when struck by a ball based on the amount that the panel is stretched is considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of the applied prior art is capable of performing the claimed use - see MPEP 2103(I)(C) and/or FP 7.37.09 in MPEP 707.07(f); the panels 1 and 2 are formed of a stretchable material and, thus, are capable of being used in the claimed manner).
In reference to claim 15
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 14, wherein said panel (1 & 2) is formed of netting (i.e., power net fabric - see page 2, left column, lines 22-35).
In reference to claim 16
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 15, wherein each strip (B) has a width sufficient to engage a side of the arms (note: the recitation a width sufficient to engage a side of the arms does not imbue a particular structural limitation - a strip of any width can engage a side of an arm) of the player and a length (see Figure 2) sufficient to extend at least along most of the length of the forearms of the player (note: there is no absolute measure for length of the forearms of the players).
In reference to claim 17
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 16, wherein each strip (B) is bendable, to adjust to a contour of the arms of the player.
In reference to claim 18
Mahler discloses:
The game apparatus of claim 17, wherein each strip (B) is disposed on an inside (see Figures 2 and 3) of the tubular body (1 & 2) for direct contact with the arms of the player.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Thompson (US 8,517,794) and Gibbons (US 11,445,773) each disclose a garment having a netting material.
All other cited references disclose an apparatus for use in a rebound game.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711