DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this Final Rejection. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Application 18/773,043 filed 07/15/2024 claims priority to provisional application 63/513,398 filed 07/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method, or product which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method and computing device for tracking charitable donations. For Claims 1 and 11 the limitations of (Claim 1 being representative):
[…]:
generate, using input received […], a […] contract, the […] contract being configured to define, for at least one party of the […] contract, obligations for performing one or more tasks;
generate, in response to receiving a first data object indicating completion of a corresponding task of the one or more tasks, at least one […] token, wherein the at least one […] token indicates a completed milestone of the […] contract;
receive a second data object indicating that an obligation associated with the corresponding task has been performed by the at least one party of the […] contract; and
transmit, based on the second data object, the at least one […] token […] associated with the at least one party of the […] contract, as drafted, are processes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions, commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) but for recitation of generic computer components. The Examiner notes that “certain method[s] of organizing human activity” includes a person's interaction with a computer (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)). That is, other than reciting a system implemented by a processor, memory, interface (computer), smart contract, and non-fungible token the claimed invention amounts to commercial/legal interactions; and more specifically sales activities or behaviors and/or managing personal behavior or interaction between people. For example, but for the processor, memory, interface (computer), smart contract, and non-fungible token, this claim encompasses a person to receive input of a contract to define obligations of tasks, generate a token in response to a task being completed, receive an indication that the obligation was completed by a party of the contract, and send the token associated with the party of the contract in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers commercial/legal interactions such as sales activities or behaviors and/or managing personal behavior or interaction between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, Claims 1, and 11 recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, and 11 recites the additional elements of a processor (Claim 1), a memory (Claim 1), interface (Claims 1, and 11), non-fungible token (Claims 1, and 11), smart contract (Claims 1, and 11), a computing device (Claims 1, and 11) that implements the identified abstract idea. These additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., one or more generic computers performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Alternatively or in addition, the implementation of a non-fungible token merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, and 11 are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor (Claim 1), a memory (Claim 1), interface (Claims 1, and 11), non-fungible token (Claims 1, and 11), smart contract (Claims 1, and 11), a computing device (Claims 1, and 11), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Alternatively or in addition, the implementation of a non-fungible token merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even when considered separately and as an ordered combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such claims 1, and 11 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent Claims 2-9, and 11-20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claims 1, and 11 as discussed above. Claim(s) 2 & 12 merely describe(s) the one or tasks including a charitable task. Claim(s) 3 & 13 merely describe(s) the obligation including a transfer of a charitable gift. Claim(s) 4 & 14 merely describe(s) the transfer of the charitable gift being electronically transferred. Claim(s) 5 & 15 merely describe(s) the NFT being associated with a unique work of art. Claim(s) 6 & 16 merely describe(s) the NFT being associated with a logo. Claim(s) 7 & 17 merely describe(s) the NFT being associated with a digital item. Therefore claims 2-6, and 12-17 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Dependent Claim(s) 8-10, and 18-20 recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, and 11. In addition, it recites the additional element of a blockchain. The blockchain is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 5-10, and 15-20 include the additional elements of non-fungible token, smart contract, and computing device. The non-fungible token, smart contract, and computing device are analyzed in the same manner as the non-fungible token, smart contract, and computing device in the independent claim and do not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons above. Alternatively or in addition, the implementation of the non-fungible token merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(l) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application significantly more. Therefore claims 2-9, and 11-20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 20240152580 A1), in view of "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." .
Regarding Claim 1, and Claim 11,
Singh discloses, A system comprising: (Singh Par. 0022) A method comprising: (Singh Par. 0002)
a processor; and (Singh Par. 0019, 0022)
a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Singh Par. 0022).
generate, using input received at a corresponding interface, a smart contract, the smart contract being configured to define, for at least one party of the smart contract, obligations for performing one or more tasks; "The blockchain based compliance module is further configured to determine and ensure compliance with laws applicable to varying jurisdictions and equivalent regulations of a corresponding governing body for compliance using one or more inputs upon identifying the transaction related data. The system also includes a royalty distribution module operatively coupled with the blockchain-based compliance module. The royalty distribution module is configured to calculate a plurality of royalties based on a predetermined percentage embedded in a smart contract on the blockchain platform using a distribution algorithm" (Singh Par. 0006). "The royalty distribution module 50 is configured to calculate a plurality of royalties based on a predetermined percentage embedded in a smart contract on the blockchain platform using a distribution algorithm. The royalty distribution module 50 is also configured to assign the plurality of royalties to one or more recipients, during a minting process of non-fungible tokens (NTTs) upon calculation of the plurality of royalties" (Singh Par. 0028).
receive a second data object indicating that an obligation associated with the corresponding task has been performed by the at least one party of the smart contract; and "The fundraising module 60 is also configured to perform minting non-dynamic or dynamic non-fungible tokens (NFTs) with corresponding fundraising labels to enable a user to buy, trade, and sell social entities to generate interest and donations. As used herein, dynamic NFTs (dNFT), also known as programmable or interactive NFTs, are a type of non-fungible token (NFT) that can change or respond to various inputs, conditions, or external factors, allowing for interactivity and evolution over time. The dynamic NFT (dNFT) is a Non-Fungible Token (NTT) with encoded smart contract logic that enables it to automatically change its metadata based on external conditions" (Singh Par. 0034).
transmit, based on the second data object, the at least one non-fungible token to a computing device associated with the at least one party of the smart contract. "Currently, if you want to distribute multiple royalties you have to receive the payment, then manually send it to each royalty recipient, this feature may make it, so the royalties are distributed automatically upon payment. Royalty percentages are embedded in the smart contract on the block chain the user has chosen along with the payment details and the amount. If the NTT reaches a point of sale the amounts may be embedded into the contract and trigger payment or wallet ids to share the portion of the sale. This may be calculated once the point of sale is made within, or another system based on the platform marketplace the user is using" (Singh Par. 0033). "The management module is configured to create and distribute digital wills for the digital assets, by minting the digital Wills on the blockchain platforms, and modify the digital wills using dynamic non-fungible token (NFT) technology, thereby managing the digital assets" (Singh Par. 0006).
Singh discloses a system to generate smart contracts, non-fungible tokens, receiving indication about tasks being performed, and transmitting non-fungible tokens based on a second data object. Singh fails to explicitly disclose generating, in response to receiving a first data object indicating completion of a corresponding task of the one or more tasks, at least one non-fungible token wherein the at least one non-fungible token indicates a complete milestone of the smart contract. Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps – Phyllo - YouTube, however, teaches,
generate, in response to receiving a first data object indicating completion of a corresponding task of the one or more tasks, at least one non-fungible token wherein the at least one non-fungible token indicates a complete milestone of the smart contract; ("Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo.")
Examiner Note: The data object is the amount of followers, and the task is reaching a number of defined followers and/or tweets
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing digital assets for fundraising using non fungible tokens of "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo.", to motivate creators [users] through their own journey and help engage with their audience at every step of the way ("Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo.").
Regarding Claim 2, and Claim 12,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein the one or more tasks includes one or more charitable tasks. “The method further includes performing, by the fundraising module, minting dynamic non-fungible tokens (NFTs) with corresponding fundraising labels to enable a user to buy, trade, and sell social entities to generate interest and donations” (Singh Par. 0007).
Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 13,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein the obligation include transferring a charitable gift. “Moreover, the processing subsystem 25 includes a fundraising module 60 operatively coupled with the royalty distribution module 50” (Singh Par. 0034). “The nature of the post, the organization you are raising funds for the amount, and the cause or campaign behind the post. Multiple post or content could be generated and sold one time or editions as tactics to generate interest and give more than one person to donate buy purchased the NFT. The NET will generate and or server also a transaction on record on the block chain and the public ledger so others may know that the transaction proceeds and mount have been assigned to the charity, organization or NGO. The amount may be displayed and the likes, replies, and shares numerical value may be displayed dynamically on the post. Users engaging with the NFT social media post may have the option to earn points for their choice of interaction by sharing it to other social media platforms or emailing or downloading it. A copy of the NFT will be given to the buyer and be able to store in a digital wallet or email receipt of the transaction. Fundraising may track the amount raised, the time period, and assign numbers to the digital NFTSs. Each NFT may help organizations raise funds at the same time royalties could be shared with the content creator and the organization during the minting process as referred. Donations can be given at the time of the sale of a NFT to a charity so that if NFT is not fundraising, but the creator wishes to give it to charity. A database of charities based on location will be shared and the user can donate a portion or all of the NFT to the organization by email or directly to their wallet” (Singh Par. 0035).
Regarding Claim 4, and Claim 14,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 3, and method of claim 13, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein transferring the charitable gift includes electronically transferring the charitable gift. “ A blockchain may be used as a public ledger or private ledger to store transactional information within a database. Transactions are executed within a blockchain database when it is determined that certain conditions are satisfied. The results of the transaction are stored in a database which is replicated (i.e., distributed) across multiple blockchain nodes. Because any individual or entity can provide information to a public blockchain, this information should be reviewed and confirmed” (Singh Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 7, and Claim 17,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein the at least one non-fungible token is associated with a digital item. “The system further includes a management module operatively coupled to the score generation module. The management module is configured to create and distribute digital wills for the digital assets, by minting the digital Wills on the blockchain platforms, and modify the digital wills using dynamic non-fungible token (NFT) technology, thereby managing the digital assets” (Singh Par. 0006).
Regarding Claim 8, and Claim 18,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein the smart contract is registered on a blockchain. “The royalty distribution module is configured to calculate a plurality of royalties based on a predetermined percentage embedded in a smart contract on the blockchain platform using a distribution algorithm” (Singh Par. 0006).
Regarding Claim 9, and 19
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to, validate, using a blockchain and the second data object, that the obligation associated with the corresponding task has been performed by the at least one party of the smart contract. "The solution may include a new transaction method for digital assets, including minting NFTs on the fly, capturing a last will and testament within a digital asset, and fundraising. As used herein, “a non-fungible token is a unique digital identifier that is recorded on a blockchain and is used to certify ownership and authenticity. It cannot be copied, substituted, or subdivided. The ownership of an NFT is recorded in the blockchain and can be transferred by the owner, allowing NTTs to be sold and traded" (Singh Par. 0021). "The fundraising module 60 is also configured to perform minting non-dynamic or dynamic non-fungible tokens (NFTs) with corresponding fundraising labels to enable a user to buy, trade, and sell social entities to generate interest and donations. As used herein, dynamic NFTs (dNFT), also known as programmable or interactive NFTs, are a type of non-fungible token (NFT) that can change or respond to various inputs, conditions, or external factors, allowing for interactivity and evolution over time. The dynamic NFT (dNFT) is a Non-Fungible Token (NTT) with encoded smart contract logic that enables it to automatically change its metadata based on external conditions" (Singh Par. 0034).
Regarding Claim 10, and Claim 20,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo." disclose the system of claim 9, and method of claim 19, as shown above. Singh further discloses, wherein transmitting, based on the second data object, the at least one non-fungible token to the computing device associated with the at least one party of the smart contract is further based on "Currently, if you want to distribute multiple royalties you have to receive the payment, then manually send it to each royalty recipient, this feature may make it, so the royalties are distributed automatically upon payment. Royalty percentages are embedded in the smart contract on the block chain the user has chosen along with the payment details and the amount. If the NTT reaches a point of sale the amounts may be embedded into the contract and trigger payment or wallet ids to share the portion of the sale. This may be calculated once the point of sale is made within, or another system based on the platform marketplace the user is using" (Singh Par. 0033). "The management module is configured to create and distribute digital wills for the digital assets, by minting the digital Wills on the blockchain platforms, and modify the digital wills using dynamic non-fungible token (NFT) technology, thereby managing the digital assets" (Singh Par. 0006).
validating using the blockchain and the second data object, that the obligation associated with the corresponding task has been performed by the at least one party of the smart contract. "The solution may include a new transaction method for digital assets, including minting NFTs on the fly, capturing a last will and testament within a digital asset, and fundraising. As used herein, “a non-fungible token is a unique digital identifier that is recorded on a blockchain and is used to certify ownership and authenticity. It cannot be copied, substituted, or subdivided. The ownership of an NFT is recorded in the blockchain and can be transferred by the owner, allowing NTTs to be sold and traded" (Singh Par. 0021). "The fundraising module 60 is also configured to perform minting non-dynamic or dynamic non-fungible tokens (NFTs) with corresponding fundraising labels to enable a user to buy, trade, and sell social entities to generate interest and donations. As used herein, dynamic NFTs (dNFT), also known as programmable or interactive NFTs, are a type of non-fungible token (NFT) that can change or respond to various inputs, conditions, or external factors, allowing for interactivity and evolution over time. The dynamic NFT (dNFT) is a Non-Fungible Token (NTT) with encoded smart contract logic that enables it to automatically change its metadata based on external conditions" (Singh Par. 0034).
Claim(s) 5-6, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 20240152580 A1), in view of "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" , and in further view of Ayyagari (US 20230385791 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, and Claim 15,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" fail to disclose the non-fungible token being associated with a unique work of art. Ayyagari discloses providing embedded purchase links for non-fungible tokens can leverage the generation of software packets. The systems and methods can obtain digital asset data associated with a non-fungible token. Ayyagari teaches, wherein the at least one non-fungible token is associated with a unique work of art. “The tokens 174 can include one or more non-fungible tokens. The non-fungible tokens can be minted on a blockchain associated with the blockchain computing system 170. A non-fungible token (NFT) can be a certificate of authenticity of a digital asset. NFTs can be non-interchangeable thus making their worth depend on the price anyone may be willing to pay for the asset. NFTs can be printed on blockchains such that their scarcity and authenticity can be maintained. A digital asset can be defined as anything that is stored digitally and can be uniquely identifiable that organizations can use to realize value. Examples of digital assets can include a tweet, a social media comment, documents, audio, images, videos, logos, website domains, slide presentations, spreadsheets, CSS files and formats, executable code, and/or websites” (Ayyagari Par. 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing digital assets for fundraising using non fungible tokens of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" with the at least one non-fungible token being associated with a unique work of art of Ayyagari to provide a certificate of authenticity (Ayyagari Par. 0052).
Regarding Claim 6, and Claim 16,
The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" disclose the system of claim 1, and method of claim 11, as shown above. The combination of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" fail to disclose the non-fungible token being associated with a logo. Ayyagari discloses providing embedded purchase links for non-fungible tokens can leverage the generation of software packets. The systems and methods can obtain digital asset data associated with a non-fungible token. Ayyagari teaches, wherein the at least one non-fungible token is associated with a logo. “The tokens 174 can include one or more non-fungible tokens. The non-fungible tokens can be minted on a blockchain associated with the blockchain computing system 170. A non-fungible token (NFT) can be a certificate of authenticity of a digital asset. NFTs can be non-interchangeable thus making their worth depend on the price anyone may be willing to pay for the asset. NFTs can be printed on blockchains such that their scarcity and authenticity can be maintained. A digital asset can be defined as anything that is stored digitally and can be uniquely identifiable that organizations can use to realize value. Examples of digital assets can include a tweet, a social media comment, documents, audio, images, videos, logos, website domains, slide presentations, spreadsheets, CSS files and formats, executable code, and/or websites” (Ayyagari Par. 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing digital assets for fundraising using non fungible tokens of Singh and "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo" with the at least one non-fungible token being associated with a logo of Ayyagari to provide a certificate of authenticity (Ayyagari Par. 0052).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 with respect to the Claim Objections and Drawings, have been fully considered, and they are persuasive. The Objections to the Claims and Drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 101, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has not provided specific arguments regarding the eligibility of the claims under 101, therefore, the claims remain rejected in view of the updated rejection in the present office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered but are now moot in view of updated rejection above which now included the teachings of Singh, "Milestone NFTs|Sample Apps - Phyllo", and Ayyagari. Please see the rejection above for the full rejection statement and explanation. The 103 Rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626