DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaraja (PCT/US19/17868) in view of Edge et al. (US 10,805,784).
Regarding claim 1, Nagaraja teaches a method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: receiving, using a receiver, a message from a core network, the message identifying a first geographic region associated with an emergency alert broadcast by an emergency alert originator (i.e., a method may include receiving, at a user equipment, a first message including a wireless emergency alert with coordinates for an alert area and a reference to at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert. The method may also include receiving, at the user equipment, a second message including the at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert with display text [0010]-[0012]); and displaying, using a display, a message body of the emergency alert when the electronic device is located in a geographic region that is larger than the first geographic region and including the first geographic region (i.e., For the special case where the device is unable to determine its own location, the device can follow the current logic and go ahead and display the text even if that results in an overshooting. [00481 Because there is some small real-time delay (value is based on the SI- Periodicity which is set in the eNB), the enhancement made within the devices will define a new field referred in this disclosure as Enable Display Indicator (EDI). When the enhanced device receives the special WEA message, it will set the EDI field to ON when the device location is within the location determined by the affected area coordinates. It will reset the EDI (to OFF) if the device location is outside the location determined by the affected area coordinates. When the referenced WEA message that carries the display text is received, the enhanced device would display the text if and only if the EDI field is set to ON [0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0056]).
Nagaraja (PCT/US19/17868) does not specifically teach the electronic device is located in a second geographic region, the second geographic region being larger than the first geographic region and including the first geographic region.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Edge teaches In an example, a CBC 410 (e.g. CBC 410a or CBCF 410b) may be configured to determine whether a cell that is at least partly within the target area is an interior or exterior cell and then include a flag (e.g., a Boolean or other variable type) associated with each cell to indicate the classification. The flag can be interpreted by the base stations to indicate when each base station broadcasts the alert message whether the broadcast is for an interior or exterior cell ( the exterior is interpreted as the second region larger the interior/first region). In another example, the indication of the interior-exterior classification may be conveyed by the inclusion or exclusion of a definition for the target area (e.g. such as the coordinates of the vertices for a polygon or the coordinates of the center and length of a radius for a circle) in the alert message. For example, inclusion of the definition may indicate an exterior cell and exclusion of the definition may indicate an interior cell (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24 and col. 12, lines 25-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Edge within the system of Nagaraja in order to reduce panic among unaffected populations, prevent mobile network congestion, and accurately match Ireless Emergency Alert coverage to exact emergency zones.
Regarding claim 2, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Nagaraja further teaches the message identifies the first region by a set of vertices (As shown in Figure 1, there can be an alert polygon that can overlap with cell-1. In this case, the alert polygon can include part of sector A, part sector C, and complete sector C, and the affected area co-ordinates can be sent to the mobile devices in a new dedicated WEA message that can carry just the coordinates. A new message identifier can be defined to identify this special new WEA message. The new message identifier may be added only to the new enhanced devices ([0042]-[0045]) and (fig. 3 of Edge).
Regarding claim 3, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Nagaraja further teaches the second region comprises a hull that encloses a set of polygons, each polygon in the set of polygons surrounding a respective vertex in the set of vertices (As shown in Figure 1, there can be an alert polygon that can overlap with cell-1. In this case, the alert polygon can include part of sector A, part sector C, and complete sector C, and the affected area co-ordinates can be sent to the mobile devices in a new dedicated WEA message that can carry just the coordinates. A new message identifier can be defined to identify this special new WEA message. The new message identifier may be added only to the new enhanced devices [0042]-[0045]) and (fig. 3 of Edge).
Regarding claim 4, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches each polygon in the set of polygons has an augmented radius (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24, col. 10, lines 25-60).
Regarding claim 5, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the augmented radius is based on an expiration time of the emergency alert (col. 16, line 64 to col. 17, line 65).
Regarding claim 6, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the augmented radius is based on a severity level of the emergency alert (i.e., optionally display an alert message based on other factors such as the severity of the emergency, user preferences, CMSP preferences, and/or an uncertainty of the position of the mobile device col. 9, lines 20-67).
Regarding claim 7, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the augmented radius is based on an area of the first geographic region (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24, col. 10, lines 25-60, and col. 26, lines 35-65).
Regarding claim 8, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the augmented radius is based on a speed of the electronic device (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24, col. 10, lines 25-60 and col. 26, lines 35-65).
Regarding claim 10, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches discarding, using one or more processors, the message when the electronic device is located outside the second region (discarding the message if outside the coordinates [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the message comprises a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) message (inherently present in providing broadband Internet access to mobile stations, col. 29, lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 13, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches discarding, using one or more processors, the message when the similarity score is less than the threshold value region (discarding the message if outside the coordinates [0052]).
Regarding claim 14, Nagaraja teaches a method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: receiving, using a receiver, a first message from a core network, the first message identifying a first geographic region associated with an emergency alert broadcast by an emergency alert originator (i.e., a method may include receiving, at a user equipment, a first message including a wireless emergency alert with coordinates for an alert area and a reference to at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert. The method may also include receiving, at the user equipment, a second message including the at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert with display text [0010]-[0012]); receiving, using one or more antennas, a second message from a cellular network different from the core network, the second message identifying a second region associated with the emergency alert (i.e., a method may also include receiving, at the user equipment, a second message including the at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert with display text [0010]-[0012]); and displaying, using a display, a message body of the emergency alert when the first region and the second region exhibit similarity (i.e., For the special case where the device is unable to determine its own location, the device can follow the current logic and go ahead and display the text even if that results in an overshooting. [00481 Because there is some small real-time delay (value is based on the SI- Periodicity which is set in the eNB), the enhancement made within the devices will define a new field referred in this disclosure as Enable Display Indicator (EDI). When the enhanced device receives the special WEA message, it will set the EDI field to ON when the device location is within the location determined by the affected area coordinates. It will reset the EDI (to OFF) if the device location is outside the location determined by the affected area coordinates. When the referenced WEA message that carries the display text is received, the enhanced device would display the text if and only if the EDI field is set to ON [0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0056]).
Nagaraja (PCT/US19/17868) does not specifically teach displaying, using a display, a message body of the emergency alert when the first geographic region and the second geographic region exhibit more than a threshold level of similarity.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Edge teaches The alert message may include an indication of an impacted area such as a target geographic area defined by a polygon, circle, ellipse, or some other shape (or shapes)… referring to FIG. 2B, the mobile device 208 may execute the WEAapp to display an alert message 209. The alert message 209 may include (in this example) a polygon area 210 representing a geographic boundary line of the impacted area included in the alert message. In an embodiment, the process of displaying the alert message on the mobile device 208 may be based on the current location of the mobile device. For example, if the mobile device 208 is located in a first geographic region 212 that is within the polygon area 210, then the mobile device 208 will display the alert message 209. Conversely, if the mobile device 208 is located in a second geographic region 214 which is outside the polygon area 210, the alert message may not be displayed. In an example, a boundary area 218, also referred to as a “border area” 218, outside of and surrounding the polygon area 210 may be defined. The boundary area 218 may extend the polygon area 210 outward by a predetermined value (e.g., by outwardly extending the boundary of the impact area by 0.1, 0.2 or 0.5 miles in one, some, or all directions). (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24 and col. 12, lines 25-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Edge within the system of Nagaraja in order to reduce panic among unaffected populations, prevent mobile network congestion, and accurately match Ireless Emergency Alert coverage to exact emergency zones.
Regarding claim 15, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches wherein the first message identifies the first geographic region by a first set of vertices, the second message identifies the second geographic region by a second set of vertices, and displaying the message body comprises displaying the message body when each vertex in the second set of vertices is less than a threshold distance from at least one vertex in the first set of vertices (col. 13, lines 5-20, col. 14, line 54 to col. 15, line 35).
Regarding claim 16, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the first geographic region has a first area, the second geographic region has a second area, and displaying the message body comprises displaying the message body when an area of overlap between the first geographic region and the second geographic region, divided by a larger of the first area or the second area, exceeds a threshold value (col. 13, lines 5-20, col. 14, line 54 to col. 15, line 35).
Regarding claim 17, Nagaraja in view of Edge teaches all the limitations above. Edge further teaches the message comprises a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) message (inherently present in providing broadband Internet access to mobile stations, col. 29, lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 18, Nagaraja teaches an electronic device comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a core network, a first message identifying a first geographic area associated with an emergency alert broadcast by an emergency alert originator (i.e., a method may include receiving, at a user equipment, a first message including a wireless emergency alert with coordinates for an alert area and a reference to at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert. The method may also include receiving, at the user equipment, a second message including the at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert with display text [0010]-[0012]); one or more antennas configured to receive, from a cellular network different from the core network, a second message identifying a second geographic area associated with the emergency alert (i.e., a method may also include receiving, at the user equipment, a second message including the at least one subsequent wireless emergency alert with display text [0010]-[0012]); and a display configured to display, based on the geographic area, a location of the electronic device, and a velocity of the electronic device, a message body of the emergency alert after receipt of the second message by the one or more antennas (i.e., For the special case where the device is unable to determine its own location, the device can follow the current logic and go ahead and display the text even if that results in an overshooting. [00481 Because there is some small real-time delay (value is based on the SI- Periodicity which is set in the eNB), the enhancement made within the devices will define a new field referred in this disclosure as Enable Display Indicator (EDI). When the enhanced device receives the special WEA message, it will set the EDI field to ON when the device location is within the location determined by the affected area coordinates. It will reset the EDI (to OFF) if the device location is outside the location determined by the affected area coordinates. When the referenced WEA message that carries the display text is received, the enhanced device would display the text if and only if the EDI field is set to ON [0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0056]).
Nagaraja (PCT/US19/17868) does not specifically teach a display configured to display, based on the geographic area, a location of the electronic device, and a velocity of the electronic device, a message body of the emergency alert after receipt of the second message by the one or more antennas.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Displaying the location of a mobile device in the device is very known in the art of communications. Edge teaches The alert message may include an indication of an impacted area such as a target geographic area defined by a polygon, circle, ellipse, or some other shape (or shapes)… referring to FIG. 2B, the mobile device 208 may execute the WEAapp to display an alert message 209. The alert message 209 may include (in this example) a polygon area 210 representing a geographic boundary line of the impacted area included in the alert message. In an embodiment, the process of displaying the alert message on the mobile device 208 may be based on the current location of the mobile device. For example, if the mobile device 208 is located in a first geographic region 212 that is within the polygon area 210, then the mobile device 208 will display the alert message 209. Conversely, if the mobile device 208 is located in a second geographic region 214 which is outside the polygon area 210, the alert message may not be displayed. In an example, a boundary area 218, also referred to as a “border area” 218, outside of and surrounding the polygon area 210 may be defined. The boundary area 218 may extend the polygon area 210 outward by a predetermined value (e.g., by outwardly extending the boundary of the impact area by 0.1, 0.2 or 0.5 miles in one, some, or all directions). (col. 8, line 55 to col. 9, line 24 and col. 12, lines 25-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Edge within the system of Nagaraja in order to reduce panic among unaffected populations, prevent mobile network congestion, and accurately match Ireless Emergency Alert coverage to exact emergency zones.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643