DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6, 11, 14-15, 17, and 20, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/26.
Applicant elected Group VI: Fig. 22 (Figs. 1-12, generic)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 12, 16, and 18-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawson (GB 2,213,854).
In respect to claim 1, Dawson discloses a sign assembly comprising: a traffic cone 13; a sign 14; and a mounting assembly; the mounting assembly comprising: a top coupler 19 coupled to the sign and a top ring 22 coupled to the top coupler (Fig. 2); a bottom coupler 21 coupled to the sign and a bottom ring 23 coupled to the bottom coupler (Fig. 2); the top ring 22 positioned around an upright portion 24 of the traffic cone and the bottom ring 23 positioned [also] around the upright portion 24 (Fig. 1).
In respect to claims 7 and 8, Dawson discloses that the top and bottom rings 22 and 23 are rope which is flexible (Pg. 2, 16-25); the term “rigid” is broad, and includes the rope which is thick and is immediately ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art to have at least some degree of rigidity.
In respect to claim 9, Dawson discloses that the upright portion is conical (Fig. 1).
In respect to claims 12 and 18, Dawson discloses all of the claimed elements (top ring = first ring; bottom ring = second ring) and functionalities for the reasons detailed above.
In respect to claims 16 and 19, Dawson discloses that at least the first (top) ring is formed of a flexible yet rigid rope, which is adjustable i.e. it may form different cross-section shapes to fit different cross-sections such as a pyramidal portion of a traffic cone (“a traffic panel”) (although this is not explicitly shown, the structure is capable).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spray (US 2012/0186511).
In respect to claim 1, Spray discloses a sign assembly comprising: a traffic cone 208; a sign “reserved”; and a mounting assembly, the mounting assembling comprising: a top coupler 302 coupled to the sign and a bottom coupler (opposite 302) coupled to the sign; and a top ring 102 coupled to the top coupler (via link 304) (Fig. 3) and a bottom ring 104 coupled to the bottom coupler (via link 304 and arm 110) (Fig. 3).
In respect to claims 2 and 4, Spray discloses that the mounting assembly comprises a rigid link 304 coupled to the top ring and bottom ring (see above) (Figs. 3-4).
In respect to claim 3, Spray discloses two links, wherein the opposite link from the sign may be construed as the “link” of the claim, which is opposite to the “reserved” sign detailed above (Fig. 3).
In respect to claim 5, Spray discloses that the links 304 are rigid pieces of metal, however, they are at least “flexible” to some degree as is ascertained by one of ordinary skill, as broadly claimed. For instance, one “alignment flange” (link) 304 may be used, however using two increases stability (0032), which infers low stability/flexibility with one.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wicken et al. (US 10,679,529).
Wicken et al. disclose a mounting assembling comprising: a first coupler and a scond coupler coupled to a flag 5 (but structurally capable of coupling to a “sign”) (Fig. 1A); a first ring 8 (comprising a biasing member, spring) coupled to the first coupler and a second ring 8 (comprising a biasing member, spring) coupled to the second coupler (Figs. 1B-1C). The first and second rings are springs and thus may fit different sized cross-sections, and thus are configured to couple to an upright portion of a traffic cone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson (GB 2,213,854).
Dawson substantially discloses the claimed invention for the reasons stated above including a traffic cone with a conical upright portion, but does not disclose that the traffic cone has a pyramidal upright position, however this would be obvious. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, namely, applying the mounting assembly shown for a conical traffic cone to a pyramidal traffic cone, which is similar in shape and well known in the art. The mounting assembly is flexible and would accommodate any known traffic cone, particularly one of very similar shape (both a cone and a pyramid being a tapered construction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murphy (US 2,383,881), Kuo (US 2006/0266274), Henderson (US 2013/0255122), Hopkins et al. (US 5,335,889), Inventor (KR-20-0394478), McIIlwaine et al. (GB 2,338,017), Birchumshaw (WO 2004/103770), and Sato et al. (JP 2024-29325), disclose similar inventions.
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637